Over My Shoulder

Over my shoulder,

Snippets of my past

Reside,

Remind,

Rewind.

 Over my shoulder,

A different perspective

Anticipates,

Satiates,

Dissipates.

First glance , already changing
First glance , already changing
Second glance, colors fading...
Second glance, colors fading…

I’m not one to dwell too long on the past, mostly because it takes my attention away from now, and what lies ahead.  I can’t change what is done, but I can influence this breath, and my next.

Sometimes looking behind can provide insight, and a different perspective.  In the case of this sunset, I hadn’t noticed the brilliant colors at all, until I caught a glimpse in my rearview mirror.  When I looked over my shoulder, I gasped, then pulled the car over (twice- hence the two photos!)  In a sense, I relived the road already traveled, creating a new experience from previously-logged miles.

It didn’t take many peeks before the colors melted into dusk’s horizon, but it was a spectacular view while it lasted.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

I’ve got another busy, computerless weekend coming up, so once again, this will my last post until Monday.  We’ll be spending the weekend with my parents, and my kids are sooooo excited!  I hope you all have a beautiful weekend 🙂

30 thoughts on “Over My Shoulder

  1. steviepreater November 14, 2013 / 5:13 AM

    I really liked this.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 1:03 AM

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post, Nadine. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  2. SuziCate November 14, 2013 / 7:38 AM

    Beautiful. I loved that you pulled over and soaked in the sunset. Those are times worth reliving the road already traveled.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 1:04 AM

      SuziCate, hen I’m on my way home from work, I don’t stop for much of anything, so this was an unusual surprise 🙂

  3. Debbie November 14, 2013 / 8:41 AM

    I love it — TWO pictures of a sunset as it’s progressing! Safe travels, Janna. We’ll miss you here, but family visits are always opportunities to gather fodder for blog posts. (We readers are a selfish lot, aren’t we?!)

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 1:05 AM

      Thanks, Debbie! Sadly, nothing happened that was blog-worthy, so I’ll have to find post inspiration elsewhere 🙂

  4. Tori Nelson November 14, 2013 / 8:49 AM

    Reside, Remind, Rewind. You have a beautiful way with words, lady!

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 1:05 AM

      Thanks, Tori – I appreciate you stopping by to read this 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 1:06 AM

      Thanks, Kathy – I’m glad you liked this one!

  5. nrhatch November 14, 2013 / 11:02 AM

    Loved the poem, the pics, and the philosophy! Have a wonderful time with your parents. So good that the boys enjoy visiting them. Have FUN!

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 1:07 AM

      Thanks, Nancy! I’m glad you enjoyed the post. We had a nice visit, but I’m so not ready for the work week!

  6. Sean November 14, 2013 / 1:18 PM

    Sunsets and sunrises are awesome to watch in AZ. One of the things I truly miss from there. It’s like opening your front door and smelling the scent of pine. Thank you for the pictures and memories.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 1:08 AM

      I saw a great sunset on Friday…but I didn’t have my camera (grrr!) There was a dust storm coming in and the dirt in the air makes for some colorful sunsets. (Not so good for asthma sufferers, though…)

  7. theinnerzone November 14, 2013 / 4:49 PM

    The words and pictures are perfect together, Janna. I like the spacing between the words as if they are carrying the expectation attached to them.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 1:09 AM

      Thanks, Theinnerzone. Not many comment on the formatting, so I’m glad you recognized the flow of it!

  8. Eric Alagan November 14, 2013 / 6:58 PM

    Beautiful sunset

    And yes, we all need a technology-free weekend

    Enjoy 🙂
    Eric

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 1:09 AM

      Thanks, Eric! I’m glad you liked the sunset 🙂

  9. agjorgenson November 14, 2013 / 7:46 PM

    I love the way the glance can be both forward and backward. Well done!

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 1:10 AM

      Glances are interesting that way, Allen. Thanks so much for reading!

  10. pattisj November 14, 2013 / 11:49 PM

    Sunsets disappear all too quickly. Glad you captured this one.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 1:10 AM

      You’re right, Patti. I’ve missed so many sunsets because I waited too long to snap the photo.

  11. GodGirl November 15, 2013 / 3:54 AM

    This is a gorgeous sunset. And I love the concept of being surprised by what has already been seen. Experiencing the same thing, in a new way.
    Often, the most beautiful things are discovered on the second look…

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 1:11 AM

      There’s something to be said for slowing down once in a while for a second look. I’m glad you stopped by, GodGirl!

Got an opinion? Share it!

