Not-So-Brilliant Idea – Speakeasy #135

I heard the three knocks on my door and knew my best friend, Beth, had come to rescue me.  The thumps reverberated in my head as I swayed and stumbled to the door.  Three more raps sounded, only louder.

“I’m coming, I’m coming!” I hollered, palms on my throbbing temples.  I fumbled with the chain lock until my thumb and index finger decided to coordinate with each other.  I opened the door.

“Oh my heavens!  You look like–” Beth leaned forward and sniffed.  “Laura, how much rum have you had?”

I shrugged.  I honestly didn’t know.

She stepped inside, closed the door and guided me to the couch.  On the coffee table, she noticed the Captain Morgan.

Glass bottle in hand, Beth asked, “You didn’t drink this whole thing tonight did you?”

I grabbed it and lifted it to my lips.  With a tilt of my head, the last swigs of sweet liquid drained down my throat.  “I did now,” I said, passing the empty to her with one hand and wiping my mouth with the back of my other.

She shook her head and set the bottle on the table.  “So what happened?  You sounded so upset; I got here as fast as I could.”

I groaned.  I’d hoped I downed enough rum to dull the humiliation, but I didn’t.  “I was listening to my Sarah McLachlan CD…”

Beth put her hand on my arm.  “It wasn’t ‘Angel’ was it?  Did you swallow any pills?”

The alarm in her voice sent me into a fit of drunken giggles.  Finally, I caught my breath.  “No.  ‘I Will Remember You’.”

Her eyes widened and she let out a long sigh.  “No… you didn’t call Chas,” she checked her watch, “at two a.m.”

“It was probably closer to one.  But I had to- I made a big mistake.  I shouldn’t have broken up with him.”

“Laura, that was three years ago!”

My cheeks colored.  “Well, I told him I still loved him and wanted to feel his skin against mine again.  I said I wanted to be his only one.”  I gulped.  “Then I think I sang him the chorus.”

She winced.  After several seconds, she asked, “Aaaand what did he say?”

I burst into tears and leaned into Beth’s offered hug.  After a few minutes, I raised my head from my best friend’s tear-soaked t-shirt.  “He didn’t say anything.  But his wife took the phone and told me to never call him again.”

“Oh God, he’s married?”  Beth’s jaw hung slack.

I nodded.  My senses dulled, but the sting of embarrassment wasn’t the least bit affected by the rum.

She shook her head and frowned.  “I can’t believe you called him in the first place.”

“At the time, it seemed like a brilliant idea,” I snapped.

Beth’s voice took on a soothing tone.  “Oh, honey, I’m sorry.  We all make mistakes.” She added, “I hope you’ve learned your lesson, though.”

“Uh-huh.”  I closed my eyes to the blurring room and moaned.  “I’ll never mix alcohol with Sarah McLachlan again.”

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my response to the Speakeasy prompt which was to write a piece in 750 words or less (mine is 509) using “At the time, it seemed like a brilliant idea.” anywhere AND make some sort of reference to the music prompt (“I Will Remember You” by Sarah McLachlan.)

Click the badge below to check out the Speakeasy submission guidelines.  You’re invited to submit your own response.  (Come on, you know you want to :))

speakeasy2(Thanks to everyone who read, commented, or voted for my story, “Revenge” last week.  It was voted in first place and was the Editor’s Pick as well.  It was fun to write, and I’m so glad you enjoyed the story!)

50 thoughts on “Not-So-Brilliant Idea – Speakeasy #135

  1. Deborah November 12, 2013 / 4:29 AM

    I love this! What a great response to the prompt! I love what she “learned” from it. I really enjoyed the read!

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:01 AM

      Something tells me she may not have learned that much, but only time will tell 🙂 Thanks for reading, Deborah! I figured after my last story, a little humor was in order.

      • Deborah November 12, 2013 / 5:40 PM

        Good point! And you are such a versatile writer, you do those kinds of transitions so beautifully. 🙂

        • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:00 PM

          You are so nice, Deborah – I’m glad you think it works. I kind of just write what I’m feeling at the time (which is why it tends to be so random!)

  2. nrhatch November 12, 2013 / 5:06 AM

    Perfect tale for the prompt . . .

    “Don’t let your life pass you by
    Weep not for the memories.”

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:02 AM

      Very true, Nancy. The past is often the past for a reason…best not resurrecting old ghosts (or as an old Randy Travis song says, “diggin’ up bones”!)

  3. I Am Jasmine Kyle November 12, 2013 / 5:40 AM

    You are an AMAZING writer! Thank you for sharing this! Can’t wait to read other little short stories by you!

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:03 AM

      You are so sweet Jasmine – thanks (as always for reading!) I haven’t been by your site lately, so I will make a point of doing so today 🙂

      • I Am Jasmine Kyle November 12, 2013 / 11:45 AM

        Oh your so sweet to think of me!

  4. pattyabr November 12, 2013 / 6:16 AM

    Great job and congrats on your first
    place win last week!

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:03 AM

      Thanks, Patty! I appreciate you reading this 🙂

  5. Kir Piccini November 12, 2013 / 6:45 AM

    it always seems like a good idea at the time. Goodness knows we’ve all done it.
    I liked how she finished off that bottle, that was a perfect description of it. Wiping her mouth etc.

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:06 AM

      I think there should be a 24-hour waiting period on emotional decisions….especially ones made after midnight 🙂 Thanks so much for reading, Kir! (I have a few posts of yours to read still…not sure when I’ll get caught up from my computerless weekend…)

  6. Lance November 12, 2013 / 7:15 AM

    Rum and sappy Sarah means the emotions are leading while the logic takes the night off.

    I liked the rhythm of this.

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:07 AM

      Yeah, I think logic was nowhere to be found! Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, Lance 🙂

  7. Calamity Rae November 12, 2013 / 7:31 AM

    This is really funny and a great piece of flash fiction. And it sounds like something I may have done once (or maybe twice).Thanks for sharing this.

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:12 AM

      I’m sorry if you’ve ever lived this, Calamity Rae! (The closest I came was a letter I sent to my high school sweetheart after he went into the Air Force. We’d broken up the year before but kept in touch…and he’d told me he still had feelings for me before he left. I couldn’t admit it to his face, so I sent him a letter telling him I still loved him. Our letters crossed in the mail, and as he was reading that, I was reading his letter telling me he was sorry- he chose to be with his last ex. I was so embarrassed…if there was any way I could’ve gotten that letter back before he read it, I would have done it!)

  8. Debbie November 12, 2013 / 8:40 AM

    Oh, the poor dear! We’ve *all* done things that, looking back, we shouldn’t have. At least she knows the truth now — and won’t be calling this poor guy any more!

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:14 AM

      Yeah, she needs to lose his number for sure! And you’re right – there are things that make me cringe when I think back (which is why I choose not to reflect on my past too much :)) Thanks for reading, Debbie.

  9. tedstrutz November 12, 2013 / 9:53 AM

    I had to read this story first to see, to see how much competition last week’s winner would be… Dammit! Nice story Janna.

    Good line… the sting of embarrassment wasn’t the least bit affected by the rum… I’ve been there.

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 9:58 AM

      Hahaha! Keep reading, Ted…there are some awesome stories this week. I’ve read the first ten and already have a list of five I’d like to vote for. (We only get three votes.) Yep, I’ll have some narrowing down to do!

      I very rarely have a drink, so I was hoping this story would come across as authentic.

  10. Sean November 12, 2013 / 10:02 AM

    This was a fun story to read. Although there have been instances where alcohol and whatever else did not mix. This brings back some interesting memories.

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:02 PM

      Hehe, any memories you care to share? 😛 Only kidding.

      From what I’ve seen, alcohol doesn’t go with much of anything 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to read this story, Sean!

      • Sean November 13, 2013 / 11:57 AM

        You don’t want to read any of that crazy talk although some may surprise you. It’s amazing how easy it is for some to talk when they have been drinking and how stuff that they would normally not say because of their quiet nature comes out. Nope not me, I know nothing. lol

        • jannatwrites November 14, 2013 / 12:04 AM

          I dunno, Sean…crazy talk can make for some interesting reading! 😛

  11. mandyblake95 November 12, 2013 / 10:46 AM

    I love your writing so much…this had me laughing the whole way thru.

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:03 PM

      I’m glad you found it humorous, Mandy! (And I’m glad you enjoyed the story, too :))

  12. Kathy Combs (@Kathy29156) November 12, 2013 / 12:56 PM

    Yes, calling an old flame when drunk is never a good idea. Wow. Your story pulled me in. You are a very gifted storyteller and I would thank my lucky stars if I could write anything even half as good as you do. Amazing. I am just getting acquainted with your work…and I am impressed!! Hopefully you will rub off on me! LOL Great story! ♥

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:06 PM

      I’d venture to say that calling an ex sober may not be a good idea either (usually they are exes for good reason, which we tend to forget when we’re lonely!) I’m so glad you enjoyed the story, Kathy, and I appreciate your compliments/kind words. I’ve only recently started reading you (with the Trifecta challenges) but I’ve enjoyed it so far.

      Writing is fun…having someone enjoy what is written makes it even more enjoyable – thanks for taking time to read and respond to my stories!

  13. Eric Alagan November 12, 2013 / 5:08 PM

    Ghosts buried should remain buried

  14. Sammy November 12, 2013 / 6:06 PM

    Oh dear, Sarah McLachlan and alcohol is a big no no. I get tears listening to her songs sober! Truly enjoyed this piece. It’s such a pain when you have troubles moving on. 😦

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:07 PM

      I’m glad it’s not just me, Sammy – I think Sarah has such a mournful voice. I’ve never purchased her music because I’d probably be put on suicide watch 🙂 It is much easier when the break is clean and there’s no looking back. Why can’t they all be that way, right?

  15. Stacie November 12, 2013 / 6:52 PM

    It’s the song, I swear! I have a story about remembering someone to this song too. But I can’t tell it unless a bunch of people die. So, It’ll probably go with me to the grave.

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:10 PM

      Hahaha! Your comment cracked me up, Stacie! You’ve piqued my interest…too bad you can’t share 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  16. J. Milburn November 12, 2013 / 10:14 PM

    So who’s going to invent the breathalyzer on the phone that shuts it off to prevent drunk-dialing? Great story!

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:16 PM

      Your comment made me laugh, J.! I think you should patent that device – it could save so much embarrassment 🙂

  17. Suzanne November 13, 2013 / 12:03 PM

    I giggled and cringed all the way through this. So good! Drunk-dialling is always a bad idea. Oh, and your last line is absolutely perfect! 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 14, 2013 / 12:05 AM

      Thanks, Suzanne! Giggling and cringing was kind of what I was going for with this. (And getting to the end and thinking, “that would’ve been so humiliating…thank goodness that wasn’t me!”)

  18. Peggy Smith November 13, 2013 / 5:24 PM

    Alcohol always stings when it hits an open wound…your story made that perfectly clear. And with a twist of Sarah on the side; point well taken..

    • jannatwrites November 14, 2013 / 12:06 AM

      Thanks so much for reading, Peggy! Alcohol probably wasn’t the best idea in this instance 🙂

  19. Karen November 13, 2013 / 9:35 PM

    This was so funny! I love the way you used the Sarah McLachlan prompt. I was dying at “It wasn’t ‘Angel’ was it?” and “Did you swallow any pills?” Hilarious.

    • jannatwrites November 14, 2013 / 12:08 AM

      I’m glad you ‘got’ the humor in this, Karen! Maybe it’s just me, but that song, ‘Angel’ is suicide watch material. It gets me every time.)

  20. Jyothi Nair November 14, 2013 / 1:28 AM

    That was not a brilliant idea at all. Actually my story could be a prequel to this one. 🙂 Sometimes we just want to get back to the people we loved the most. 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 12:59 AM

      Thanks so much for reading, Jyothi. Yes, your story very well could’ve led up to this 🙂

  21. Justice November 14, 2013 / 5:49 AM

    This had me cracking up! I loved that last line. Another great (and humorous) use of the prompts!

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 1:00 AM

      Thanks, Justice! I’m glad you enjoyed the humor in this one. (It’s always funnier if it’s not you, right? :))

  22. pattisj November 14, 2013 / 11:46 PM

    I really like this one, sobering, yet not so sober?

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 1:02 AM

      Haha! She should probably avoid alcohol in the future, Patti!

Got an opinion? Share it!

