Revenge – Speakeasy #134

She closed her eyes and took in a deep breath.  The white flowers had no scent and the tea wasn’t to her liking, so she lost interest in the tray.  A lame peace offering, she decided.  Torn between revenge and conciliation, Deidre circled around the bed to his side.  Her heart led her to nestle her body into the fluffy white comforter and wait for her Victor to come home.

Her head rested delicately on his pillow as his Calvin Klein aftershave beckoned sleep.  In the absence of his body, she felt comfort in the lingering aroma of him.  Lately, he spent less time with her- some nights he didn’t even come home.  Deidre struggled to keep her man from drifting away.  She’d overheard him complain to friends that she was too independent and did as she pleased, but she needed him.  Why couldn’t he see?  As dreams lulled her consciousness to rest, she vowed to do whatever it took to keep him.

The deadbolt click made her heart lurch.  She blinked with sleepy eyes and noticed the last traces of daylight sneaking through the mini blinds.  She stretched and waited for him to come to her.  His keys slid across the wooden table in the entryway.  She knew his routine.  He’d hang up his jacket and then get a glass of water.  It won’t be long now.  Her breath caught when she heard a female voice.

“Oh, Victor, that was a romantic dinner.  How about dessert?”

Deidre vacillated between hurt and anger, but she refused to surrender her claim to his bed.

“Mmmm.  What did you have in mind?” He teased.

Their slurping kisses, followed by the long friction of a zipper made Deidre want to scratch that woman’s eyes out, and let Victor have it, too.  In a few moments, they would likely enter the bedroom embroiled in the heat of passion.

They would have to answer to her, Deidre decided.

Jealousy flared when they stumbled through the doorway.  Groping in the dark, they fell onto the bed.  Victor ignored her, even as his elbow pinched her tail.

Deidre had enough.  She meowed and hissed before scampering off the bed.  She found an unfamiliar Coach purse on the floor in the living room.  It smelled of her, so she stopped to sharpen her claws.  Refusing to give up on her man, she knocked his gym bag off the chair.  She crawled onto it and began her bath.  She rubbed and snuggled into the bag until it was covered in her light fur.

If by chance he still didn’t pay attention, she had another plan.

Her whiskers twitched in satisfaction.

Deidre

conceived

her

best

revenge ideas

while

bathing.

*

There is no misery like the wrath of a kitty ignored...
There is no misery like the wrath of a kitty ignored…

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This was my response to theSpeakeasy #134 prompt, which has two parts:  In 750 words or less, (1) make reference to a photo prompt (posted on their site); and (2) the first sentence must be:  “She closed her eyes and took in a deep breath.”

This story is actually my second write.  I scrapped the first one because it felt too obvious.  In this one, my intent was for you to think Deidre was a woman up until the point where her tail was pinched and revenge got the better of her.  Hope I pulled it off.  This isn’t my first attempt writing from an animal’s POV.  Last year, I wrote one in first person.  It’s short – click here if you’d like to read it!

Click the badge below to read other responses.  It’s always interesting to see how others interpret the prompt!

speakeasy2Thanks so much for stopping by.  Have a beautiful day!

33 thoughts on “Revenge – Speakeasy #134

  1. nrhatch November 3, 2013 / 3:29 PM

    Terrific, Janna! I figured out that Deirdre was a cat just before her tail got pinched. The photo might have given me a hint. 😉

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2013 / 4:02 PM

      I was afraid it would give it away too soon. I changed the formatting so I don’t let the “cat out of the bag” too soon. (Even I’m groaning at that one…)

      Thanks for reading, Nancy!

    • jannatwrites November 4, 2013 / 9:09 AM

      Hehe, yes, they are, Eric. It may come down to hairballs and his Italian loafers if he’s not careful 🙂

  2. Debbie November 4, 2013 / 11:46 AM

    Good one, Janna! I figured out that Deidre was a cat before the tail came into the picture — I think it was her thoughts about scratching that woman’s eyes out!! Nevertheless, it’s a good read, and I was glad when the picture confirmed my suspicions.

    • jannatwrites November 4, 2013 / 10:01 PM

      I was afraid that might have been too much…my brain refused to come up with something else, though 😉 thanks for reading, Debbie!

    • jannatwrites November 5, 2013 / 10:13 PM

      Haha, cats always win 🙂 Thanks for reading, Mandy!

  3. Stacie November 5, 2013 / 1:24 PM

    Love it that she was a cat! Great ending.

    • jannatwrites November 5, 2013 / 10:15 PM

      Thanks, Stacie! I wanted to do something a little different this time.

  4. jacquelinecaseypoetry November 5, 2013 / 6:35 PM

    I guess I’m a little slow. I thought Victor was pinching YOUR tail, and this left me really confused! lol.

    • jannatwrites November 5, 2013 / 10:19 PM

      Oh, that would be a bit strange, Jacqueline! (I had to go double-check my pronouns…sometimes I slip into first person when I’m writing a character :))

  5. Christine November 5, 2013 / 10:24 PM

    Ha! Awesome! You totally pulled it off. I went back and reread it, and suddenly a lot of the details made a different kind of sense. Brilliantly done!

    • jannatwrites November 5, 2013 / 10:28 PM

      Yay! I’m glad someone read it and didn’t get the kitty reveal too soon 🙂 Thanks, Christine!

  6. camgal November 6, 2013 / 10:08 AM

    I’m ashamed to say I didn’t get the kitty reveal until I saw the picture of the cat. Good read all the same, well written 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 6, 2013 / 9:22 PM

      Haha, well, at least the picture filled in the pieces 🙂 Thanks for reading, Camgal!

  7. Justice November 7, 2013 / 6:59 AM

    I love how you built up to the kitty reveal. Great piece! 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 7, 2013 / 11:00 PM

      Thanks so much, Justice! I’m glad you liked the story 🙂

  8. Suzanne November 7, 2013 / 10:06 AM

    Hahaha! Love it Janna! I think you’ve captured the cat perspective perfectly—or perhaps purrfectly. 😉 Great take on the prompts!

    • jannatwrites November 7, 2013 / 11:01 PM

      Purrfectly – haha, cute 🙂 I have three cats, so I had some help with inspiration! Thanks for reading, Suzanne.

  9. scribblersnscribes November 7, 2013 / 12:52 PM

    I personally prefer dogs over cats, but I know a lot of cats and their humans and they are definitely like that. Spot on. 😀 At first I thought she was going to leave a little something extra special in his gym bag.

    • jannatwrites November 7, 2013 / 11:03 PM

      Hehe…I think that might be her plan “C” 🙂 Dogs have different ways of getting their attention. Thanks for stopping by to read, Scribbler!

  10. Diane Corriette November 7, 2013 / 2:11 PM

    Loved your story. Sounds very much like my cat!

    • jannatwrites November 7, 2013 / 11:04 PM

      Uh-oh – I hope kitty gets lots of attention 🙂 Thanks for reading, Diane!

  11. tedstrutz November 11, 2013 / 4:30 PM

    You and your pal Suzanne have inspired me to enter The Speakeasy… I dropped your name to enter… and I liked your prompt sentence.

    • tedstrutz November 11, 2013 / 4:31 PM

      p.s. Congrats on winning last week… please do not enter this week!

      • jannatwrites November 11, 2013 / 8:21 PM

        Hahaha! Thanks, Ted. You’re too funny! I did write a story that will post in the a.m. but I have no expectations of winning 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 11, 2013 / 8:21 PM

      Awesome, Ted! I’m so glad you decided to join in the fun…I can’t wait to see what you write 🙂

  12. pattisj November 14, 2013 / 11:34 PM

    When she nestled into the comforter, an animal came to mind. I still thought it might be a woman, until her tail got pinched.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2013 / 12:50 AM

      Hehe…I figured the tail would give it away 🙂 Thanks for reading, Patti!

Got an opinion? Share it!

