Marcia Mackle’s Halloween

Marcia Mackle was a timid tween.

Locked herself away,

The night before Halloween-

Because she feared the spooky holiday.

“We’ll have none of that,”

Insisted wise Mama Mackle.

She got Marcia a pointy black hat,

Then taught her how to cackle;

And manage a straw-bristled broom,

Responsibly conjure a spell,

Stir a cauldron of bubbling stew-

Marcia took to training well.

Mama Mackle beamed

As Marcia’s confidence grew.

“Halloween doesn’t scare me,

“I know what to do!”

Marcia haunted Halloween night

With her beloved black cat, Boo.

Never did she squeal in fright,

But she scared a ghoul or two!

Okay, so she's a black tabby, but Cybil is scary!
Okay, so she’s a black tabby, but Cybil IS scary!

~~~-~~~-~~~- ~~~-~~~- ~~~-~~~- ~~~-~~~- ~~~-~~~- ~~~-~~~- ~~~-~~~- ~~~-~~~- ~~~-~~~-

I imagine those who regularly read my blog might be confused about how I went from soul gathering to childlike poem in the matter of 24 hours.  My mind is a strange place.  That’s all I can say!

My blogging friend, Nancy, at Spirit Lights the Way, wrote a 100-word story and helped spread the word about Susanna Hill’s 3rd Annual Halloweensie Contest.  I wrote something last year, so I decided to write again so I didn’t break my chain!  Click the link above to Susanna’s blog to read other responses, or check out the rules and submit your own story.

87 thoughts on “Marcia Mackle’s Halloween

  1. cherylsec October 28, 2013 / 9:56 PM

    This is delightful! I love this character, her wise mama and her beloved cat, Boo. 🙂 Well done!

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 12:03 AM

      Thanks, Cheryl! I normally don’t write for children, so I do enjoy the challenge in Susanna’s contests 🙂

  2. GodGirl October 29, 2013 / 2:10 AM

    This is great! Love the surprise reveal of the cat, and picture. Very cute and funny 🙂 (And we love your creative mind!)

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 2:29 PM

      Thanks, GodGirl! I’m glad my all over the place posts don’t leave you confused 🙂

  3. Susanna Leonard Hill October 29, 2013 / 3:44 AM

    What a fun idea, Janna! I love that the timid Marcia was able to overcome her fears thanks to Mama and her beloved cat Boo 🙂 And Cybil looks gorgeous in her hat 🙂 Thanks so much for not breaking your chain and joining in the Halloweensie fun once again!

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 2:31 PM

      I looked it up and I guess I just did it last year. I think the other story I wrote was for a different contest. (oops!) Still, there’s a chain to keep 🙂

      Thanks for doing these fun contests and being so welcoming to everyone, Susanna!

  4. suzicate October 29, 2013 / 4:55 AM

    Bravo! You guys are doing great with these entries.

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 2:31 PM

      I appreciate you reading it, Suzicate!

  5. Donna L. Sadd October 29, 2013 / 5:26 AM

    This was fun, Janna, a little witch in training! Loved it! :0)

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 2:32 PM

      Thanks for taking time to read it, Donna!

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 2:32 PM

      Thanks, Penny! I wouldn’t mind having a black cat named “Boo” 🙂

  6. Debbie October 29, 2013 / 8:28 AM

    Great story and well done, too — would make a perfect children’s picture book (think about it, okay?!)

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 2:37 PM

      Really? That’s a fun thought, Debbie 🙂

  7. Lance October 29, 2013 / 9:42 AM

    very smooth

    That’s the same look our cat Monki would give if we put a hat on her.

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 2:38 PM

      Thanks for reading, Lance! The hat is edited on her. Had I actually tried to put it on Cybil, I would have likely been bitten 🙂

  8. nrhatch October 29, 2013 / 10:34 AM

    Yay! You played . . . a two fisted rhyme time that flows with great grace and ease. And the bottom photo is PERFECT!

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 2:39 PM

      Of course, Nancy…I can’t resist a fun contest 🙂 Cybil was a fairly good subject, considering I woke her from a nap (she’s always napping!)

  9. Grannymar October 29, 2013 / 11:06 AM

    Timid tweeny witch training in time for Halloween. Wonderful!

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 2:39 PM

      I appreciate you stopping by to read it, Grannymar.

  10. Stacy Couch October 29, 2013 / 11:28 AM

    Sweet! I loved the focus on a witch-y, timid tween.

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 2:40 PM

      Thanks, Stacy. I had no idea what would happen when I started writing it.

  11. Joanna October 29, 2013 / 1:34 PM

    Love your tween character!

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 2:41 PM

      Thanks, Joanna! I appreciate you stopping by to read it.

  12. kirsticall October 29, 2013 / 2:46 PM

    This is a lot of fun…I love your rhyme for halloween!

  13. Cathy C. Hall October 29, 2013 / 2:56 PM

    Gotta love those timid tweens, turning things around! 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 9:22 PM

      🙂 Thanks for stopping by to read my story, Cathy!

  14. Catherine Johnson October 29, 2013 / 4:48 PM

    Oh that’s adorable! A shy witch. Lovely, Janna.

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 9:23 PM

      Thanks, Catherine! She finds her way by the end.

  15. Beth Stilborn October 29, 2013 / 6:53 PM

    Delightful story! I’d never thought before about how Halloween witches might feel when they’re just starting out. Great idea! And thanks for joining us.

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 9:24 PM

      It’s hard to learn to be a witch, but Marcia caught on quick. Thanks for reading, Beth. Everyone has been so welcoming 🙂

  16. Pamela Courtney October 29, 2013 / 8:50 PM

    I fell in love with your character. Love the way you set up your story. I am soooooo glad I stopped by to read your work. Fun, fun, fun!

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 9:25 PM

      Your comment made me smile, Pamela. I’m so happy you enjoyed the story…thanks for stopping by to read it!

  17. viviankirkfield October 29, 2013 / 9:39 PM

    What fun, Janna! Lovely rhyme and a sweetness to the mc…I think it is really interesting how many ‘nicer’ and ‘friendlier’ witches are haunting this Halloweensie contest.:) 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 10:01 PM

      Thanks for reading, Vivian! I just wanted to break the myth that all witches cook children in ovens 🙂

  18. Stacy S. Jensen October 29, 2013 / 9:56 PM

    This was fun, but I guess I need to search around for the soul gathering now too. 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 10:02 PM

      Rats – I meant to link that…it’s linked now 🙂 Thanks for taking time read this, Stacy!

  19. Margaret Greanias October 29, 2013 / 10:01 PM

    Fun! Love the timid tween witch-in-training — what a clever idea!

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2013 / 10:03 PM

      Thanks, Margaret! I appreciate you reading my story 🙂

  20. julie rowan zoch October 30, 2013 / 6:46 AM

    Reminds me of my own teen when she was tween! She wasn’t always keen!

    • jannatwrites October 31, 2013 / 7:22 AM

      Haha, I like your rhymes, Julie! Thanks so much for reading 🙂

  21. Sandra October 30, 2013 / 7:23 AM

    Wow, Janna! First, I love to see that you are writing for different writing groups–it’s nice to be welcomed into a new community, no? I haven’t had the galls (or time) to yet. Secondly, how awesome that you have been writing creepy stories in honor of Halloween! I always knew you were a talented writer, but I didn’t know that you are so brilliant a spooky writer, too! Do these stories just come to you? Does it take you a long time for each piece? Maybe that’s my problem–it takes me so long to write one thing that I’ll never eat or sleep if I tried more. I’m finally all caught up on your blog, I’m happy to say. 😉 Happy Halloween!

    • jannatwrites October 31, 2013 / 7:26 AM

      Thanks, Sandra! I hope you do have time to get back into more writing…I miss your Promptly I Write posts 🙂 I’m glad you think my stories have been spooky – that definitely isn’t my comfort zone, but I like the stretch. Sometimes story ideas just come to me throughout the day when I see something and think, “oh, what if that would’ve happened instead?” I like the short stories because there’s a definite beginning and end and a quick payoff (completion.) Novels take much more discipline, and I’m not very disciplined when life is busy! A short story can take anywhere from one hour to four hours, depending on edits, or if a word choice is bugging me.

      Thanks for taking time to read my blog. I know you are super busy, so I really do appreciate your visits 🙂

  22. laurimeyers October 30, 2013 / 7:32 AM

    I love this line “Responsibly conjure a spell,” for I imagine it is much easier for a tween to irresponsibly conjure one 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 31, 2013 / 7:27 AM

      Responsibility is a huge concept to grasp…don’t want her turning her frenemy into a cockroach or anything like that 🙂 Thanks so much for reading, Lauri!

  23. catherineconstance October 30, 2013 / 7:37 AM

    Love it..great story.. 🙂 Boo is very cute in the witches hat… 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 31, 2013 / 7:28 AM

      Thanks, Catherine! My cat, Cybil, isn’t a patient subject, so edited in the hat 🙂

  24. Rachel Schieffelbein October 30, 2013 / 8:18 AM

    How sweet! Great story!

    • jannatwrites October 31, 2013 / 7:29 AM

      I appreciate you stopping by to read it, Rachel!

    • jannatwrites October 31, 2013 / 7:34 AM

      Thanks for stopping by to read my attempt, Heather!

    • jannatwrites October 31, 2013 / 7:34 AM

      Thank, Pam! I’m glad you liked the idea 🙂

  25. pattisj October 30, 2013 / 9:47 PM

    You can write anything, Janna. And on a moment’s notice, at that! Nice work.

    • jannatwrites October 31, 2013 / 7:37 AM

      I’m glad you think so, Patti – I wish that were true 🙂 Thanks so much for reading!

  26. clarbojahn October 31, 2013 / 8:12 AM

    Hi Janna!

    I am so glad you joined the fun this year of Susanna’s contest. I often read your other stories and think you are real good so am glad you tried to do a children’s story ,too. I love it that I knew you from before.

    I think your story is great. A sympathetic witch is a wonderful way to bring on Halloween fun. 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2013 / 8:44 AM

      Thanks for taking time to read, Clar! Yes, we’ve known each other on the web for at least a couple years now! (Crazy, right??) I enjoyed reading your story as well. The children’s writers are a great group and I’m glad you all welcome me when I dabble in these contests. (You all are so talented, I definitely feel inferior in this genre :))

      • clarbojahn November 2, 2013 / 8:38 AM

        No need to feel inferior. You are great and just as good as the rest of us. I mean look at mine! Not to short change it but it isn’t a winner or anything. I just threw it together in one morning. I had a bad case of sciatica and even went to the ER with it before writing mine.

        Your’s is so good. Please don’t put your self down about it. 🙂

        • jannatwrites November 2, 2013 / 11:08 AM

          I’m sorry you had to go the ER, Clar. That’s not really conducive to creative writing. I do hope you’re feeling better now.

          I feel okay about my submission- it’s the best I could do….but I can’t help but notice that so many of the people write for children seriously – and in that respect, I don’t feel like I’m in the same league. It’s really okay, though – I didn’t have my eye on the prize(s)- I wanted to stretch different writing muscles and have some fun. Mission accomplished 🙂

        • clarbojahn November 3, 2013 / 6:20 AM

          Yes, fun was my reason too. I just love doing this. writing small stories within contest rules and joining a hop. I love it!! And yes, it stretches the writing muscles.

          I also half way am serious about my writing. And my second book, Edmund Pickle Chin, a Donkey Rescue Story is coming out next summer!! *Yay!*

        • jannatwrites November 3, 2013 / 9:31 AM

          I’m glad your second book is coming along so well, Clar. The release will be a celebration, I’m sure 🙂

        • clarbojahn November 3, 2013 / 10:04 AM

          This one is so much more fun than the first. I know what I’m doing. and the publisher is doing so much more, too. 🙂

        • jannatwrites November 3, 2013 / 4:04 PM

          Knowledge is a beautiful thing, Clar! Glad it’s making for a more enjoyable publishing experience 🙂

        • clarbojahn November 4, 2013 / 2:18 PM

          Thanks, Janna!

          Write ON! 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2013 / 8:44 AM

      Thanks, Jessie. I’m glad you stopped by to read it 🙂

  27. Laura Shovan November 1, 2013 / 7:48 AM

    I’m impressed that you wrote a coming-of-age story (really, narrative poem) in fewer than 100 words!

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2013 / 8:46 AM

      Thanks, Laura! I appreciate you taking time to stop by and read it 🙂

  28. pattyabr November 1, 2013 / 8:17 AM

    did you cat pose for the pic or was that a photo shopped hat and cauldron?
    Nice poem for All Hallowed Eve

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2013 / 8:47 AM

      Oh, it’s edited in. I imposed on her enough to wake her up…had I tried to dress and pose her I probably would’ve been bitten 🙂 (Her name is “Cybil” for a reason!) Thanks for reading, Patty.

      • pattyabr November 1, 2013 / 8:55 AM

        Lol I hope Cybil had a happy Halloween

  29. Doris Stone November 1, 2013 / 6:09 PM

    I love Marcia Mackle and the first two lines really drew me in.

    • jannatwrites November 2, 2013 / 11:09 AM

      Thanks so much, Doris. I’m glad you stopped by to read it and liked Marcia’s tale!

  30. ImeldaImelda November 1, 2013 / 8:15 PM

    Ah, that was charming, Janna. Good thing she tried or she would have missed on a lot of fun. 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 2, 2013 / 11:09 AM

      I could learn a bit from Marcia, I think 🙂 Thanks for reading, Imelda!

  31. Jarm Del Boccio November 2, 2013 / 2:04 PM

    The photo goes perfectly with the story, Janna. . .my entry, too, was based on a cat I once owned!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2013 / 9:27 AM

      Cats are wonderful inspiration, it seems! Thanks so much for stopping by to read this, Jarm 🙂

  32. Meg Miller November 3, 2013 / 7:19 AM

    Fun read Janna! Great story. 🙂

  33. Michelle November 3, 2013 / 1:15 PM

    Cute. I liked reading about a tween. That was a nice twist in itself. Getting over timidness and gaining confidence is a big issue at that age and you presented it in a very fun way 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2013 / 4:05 PM

      Thanks, Michelle! I’m glad you enjoyed the story. When I started it, I had no idea where it would go 🙂

  34. Beverly November 12, 2013 / 9:31 AM

    I love your story and the older protagonist! So much growth in 100 words… congratulations!

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2013 / 10:15 AM

      Thanks for reading, Beverly! It was fun to write the story 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

