Darlene’s Fear

I search Jeff’s face for sincerity.

My past has unraveled into a taunting illusion.  I’m afraid to build a future on lies, but truth could render me a stranger in my own skin.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

TrifectaPicture11-1This is my response to Trifecta’s weekend prompt:

Katherine Paterson, author of Bridge to Terabithia, wrote, “It’s like the smarter you are, the more things can scare you.”  We are looking for a 33-word explanation of what scares you (or your character).”

Check out the link above to read other responses, or even better – submit your own.  It’s only 33 words!

NOTE:  This is another community-voted challenge, which means that readers have the opportunity to vote on their three favorites by visiting Trifecta’s site after the challenge closes on Sunday, at 8PM Eastern time.

Since I haven’t written anything on Darlene’s Story for a while (since September 23, to be exact) I decided to address her fear.  She could turn away and not explore whether or not her father is involved in illegal drug testing, or if he’s responsible for her mother’s death, but if she does that, the not knowing will nag her forever.  If she continues her quest and uncovers the truth, it could make her past a lie and leave her uncertain of who she really is.  Further complicating the matter is whether to trust Jeff (her father’s ex business partner) to help her.

Click here for Darlene’s Story page if you want to read the entire piece.  Thanks for stopping by!

82 thoughts on “Darlene’s Fear

  1. Kir Piccini October 18, 2013 / 8:13 AM

    Congratulations on the win Janna!
    I liked this one too…sometimes we can’t help but love someone even in spite of the lies.
    HAPPY FRIDAY!

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:22 AM

      Thanks, Kir! I’m beyond shocked, but it’s a pleasant surprise 🙂 Thanks for reading this one, too.

  2. howanxious October 18, 2013 / 8:24 AM

    The game of truth and lies… Powerful writing. 🙂
    -HA

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:23 AM

      Thanks, HA. Darlene has to decide if she’s content living with suspicions or if the truth is worth the cost.

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:24 AM

      You got it, Renee! There is comfort in the lies…the truth can leave her standing on shaky ground.

  3. SAM October 18, 2013 / 8:39 AM

    Love is more powerful than lies, and it is scary to lose yourself, especially to the lies. Great writing.

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:25 AM

      Thanks for taking time to read it, Sam! If her father did do treacherous things, it would take some healing before Darlene could accept it.

  4. joetwo October 18, 2013 / 8:43 AM

    Everything you know being lies. Now that would be scary! Good one!

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:26 AM

      Thanks, Joe. Thank goodness in this case, it’s a fictional fear 🙂

  5. Lance October 18, 2013 / 8:54 AM

    exactly for Darlene. This was spot on….I need 3,333 more

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:26 AM

      I appreciate your enthusiastic support of this story, Lance 🙂

  6. Grace Black October 18, 2013 / 9:17 AM

    Ready for the rest now! Great 33 words.

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:27 AM

      Thanks for reading, Grace! Still waiting for the right prompt to write the finale to the blog portion of this story.

  7. Quickstepp October 18, 2013 / 10:46 AM

    Sometimes the truth is far scarier.

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:27 AM

      That is true, Quickstepp! (Scarier than roaches :))

        • jannatwrites October 21, 2013 / 9:32 PM

          Hahaha….depends on how big the roaches are?

  8. nrhatch October 18, 2013 / 11:38 AM

    We want more! We want more! We want more!

    How dare you post a 33 word teaser after leaving us hanging for almost a month?! Who do you think you are?! Get back to writing.

    We want more of the Darlene saga!!! :mrgreen:

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:28 AM

      Your comment made me smile, Nancy! I’ve been a very bad writer…I’ve not written a single word of Darlene’s Story over the last month (busy life and some wasting time) but I’m ready to get back into it this weekend 🙂

  9. lumdog October 18, 2013 / 1:10 PM

    Disturbing self-refelection for Darlene. I think you’ve gotten so deeply into her character you are able to convey incredible nuances of her whole being. I’m not sure what I just said makes sense but you’ve really created a fully developed charater here. Very well done.

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:30 AM

      I appreciate your thoughtful comment, Lumdog. It makes sense to me, and I’m glad this character feels “real”…that’s historically been a weakness and through writing with these prompts, I think I’ve been able to pay more attention to character.

  10. ly October 18, 2013 / 1:38 PM

    Never ask a question without being prepared for the answer. A Life Lesson.

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:30 AM

      Very true, Ly. I never, ever ask my husband if an outfit makes me look fat 🙂

  11. Momo October 18, 2013 / 2:57 PM

    A stranger in my own skin… excellent writing. Well done!

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:31 AM

      Thanks, Momo! It was hard to break it down to 33 words this time.

      • Momo October 19, 2013 / 12:47 AM

        I know, I struggle with that part too, which is one reason I love this challenge. It is really good discipline and practice for me. Plus I am meeting and reading a community of writers I wouldn’t know otherwise. Yay!

        • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 10:09 AM

          Totally agree, Momo. The challenges are fun, but the community is awesome!!

  12. KymmInBarcelona October 18, 2013 / 3:35 PM

    The past unraveling – definitely a scary place to be!

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:31 AM

      Yep. Between the past unraveling and an uncertain future, she feels vulnerable. Thanks for reading, Kymm!

  13. Debbie October 18, 2013 / 5:53 PM

    Great job, Janna!

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:32 AM

      I appreciate you stopping by, Debbie!

  14. @annbennett12 October 18, 2013 / 8:43 PM

    Well done, good description of complex emotion and thought.

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:32 AM

      Thanks, Ann! I’m glad you stopped by to read it.

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 10:10 AM

      And that is a big issue for her, Bjorn 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  15. Eric Alagan October 19, 2013 / 5:02 AM

    Truth is not a destination – but a travelling companion. Careful who you ask along, is what I say.

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 10:11 AM

      Most of the time, it’s a daily quest, but Darlene has a lot of catching up to do, so it kind of is a destination. She does need to be careful who she lets in, though. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts, Eric!

  16. Draug419 October 19, 2013 / 8:17 AM

    Great work!

  17. Tina October 19, 2013 / 8:28 AM

    I guess if you’ve found out that your world was built on lies, it would be difficult to trust anyone again–even yourself.

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 10:13 AM

      Exactly. She doesn’t know what to believe and can’t trust her instincts anymore. Thanks for stopping by, Tina!

  18. summerstommy2 October 19, 2013 / 1:39 PM

    Well done Janna, a real journey into life and fear.

  19. Glynis October 19, 2013 / 3:56 PM

    Nothing works when conceived in lies, Know thy self and learn the truth.
    Another lovely write and congratulation!

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 10:14 AM

      Thanks for reading and for sharing your thoughts, Glynis!

  20. Suzanne October 19, 2013 / 4:56 PM

    Nice to see Darlene again! Great choice of fear – that’s the kind of fear that can truly immobilize us.

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 10:15 AM

      She doesn’t know if she can handle the truth, but isn’t sure she can live with not knowing. Glad I haven’t been in that position 🙂 I appreciate you stopping by, Suzanne!

  21. mademoisellemv October 20, 2013 / 2:35 AM

    Great take on the prompt. Well written.
    I always have problem to trust people because of that…

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 10:16 AM

      Thanks for reading, Mademoisellemv. I’m sorry you can relate to this.

  22. Valerie October 20, 2013 / 7:35 AM

    That moment, when it all starts to come undone. It’s terrifying, and I’ve been there one too many times. Excellent, Janna!

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 10:16 AM

      Thanks for reading, Valerie! Darlene’s in a tough spot, that’s for sure.

  23. Sandra October 20, 2013 / 8:58 AM

    No turning back once you know. You can’t un-know, unfortunately.

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 10:17 AM

      Too bad there isn’t a way to unknow something…there are a few things I could use that on 🙂

  24. pattyabr October 20, 2013 / 10:40 AM

    even your cover picture is eerie. nice job on Darlene’s fear

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 7:51 PM

      Hehe…I thought it was a good header for October, Patty. I’m looking through my autumn leaves photos for my November header.

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 7:53 PM

      Thanks, Phil. I appreciate you stopping by!

  25. seablackwithink October 20, 2013 / 12:38 PM

    You so eloquently put into words what we have all probably felt at one time or another.
    Your talent for words truly amazes me…nicely done lady.

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 7:57 PM

      I really appreciate your kind words, SBWI. Thanks so much for reading and relating!

      • seablackwithink October 21, 2013 / 10:10 AM

        Thanks for writing Janna…you give me lots of inspiration.

        • jannatwrites October 21, 2013 / 9:33 PM

          What a nice thing to write. Thanks, SBWI 🙂

        • seablackwithink October 22, 2013 / 8:59 AM

          It was completely deserved 🙂

  26. dailyshorts October 20, 2013 / 1:04 PM

    It’s interesting how we distort reality in the stories we tell and can no longer distinguish fact from fiction. It’s true we become a “stranger in our own skin.” Love “taunting illusion”.

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 8:09 PM

      Thanks for reading and sharing your comments, DS! Appreciate you stopping by.

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 8:13 PM

      You haven’t missed much, lately, but the entire story is on the “Darlene’s Story” page. Thanks for stopping by.

  27. trifectawriting October 20, 2013 / 3:21 PM

    This is what true fear is. Thanks for linking up! Be sure to come back and vote for your favorites.

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 8:15 PM

      Thanks! I’m having trouble narrowing my ‘likes’ down, but I’ll get there 🙂

  28. Linda Vernon October 20, 2013 / 3:38 PM

    I have a feeling she has to search quite well to find any sincerity in Jeff’s face, though she’ll never stop trying anyway! 😀

  29. Michael October 21, 2013 / 4:15 AM

    Her past is unraveling, she’s afraid of the future, and the present’s not that great either….not a good place to be.

    • jannatwrites October 21, 2013 / 9:29 PM

      I sure wouldn’t want to be there, Michael!

  30. troy P. October 21, 2013 / 5:18 AM

    I loved every damned word of this one. Outside of the first line (because my name is troy, of course), this one really spoke to me Janna.

    • jannatwrites October 21, 2013 / 9:30 PM

      I’m so glad you could relate to it. Thanks for taking time to read it, Troy!

  31. pattisj October 27, 2013 / 12:44 PM

    Insight into Darlene’s feelings. I like. 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

