Love Song

Duck!  Oops....
Duck! Oops….

Cathy stomped along the hiking trail, fury urging her to go faster.

Ethan huffed behind her.  “Come on, Cath, you’re over-reacting!”

She ducked under a low tree branch, and then giggled when she heard the thwack followed by a string of expletives.  Serves him right.

“Why can’t you believe me? I love you.”

She stopped and whirled around.  “Love.  Really?  What I heard is that you want to be a bachelor.”

“I never said that!”

“Your karaoke choice did.”

“You’re the one who asked me to sing.”

“A love song, ignoramus.  “Baby Got Back” is not a love song!”

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

If you are not familiar with “Baby Got Back“, this link will take you to a YouTube video.  If you have heard the song, you know why Cathy would be so upset!  This song was big when I was in high school, but it’s not a song I’d want my kids listening to, so listen at your own risk.  You’ve been warned 🙂

This is my response to Trifecta’s extra-special 99th challenge post.

TrifectaPicture11-1“This week we are giving you a page from the Oxford English Dictionary.  The ninety-ninth page, to be exact.  (Click to enlarge.)  From this page, you can choose any word, any definition, to use in your post.  (Please type your chosen word in bold, so we know.)  And instead of our typical 33-333 word limit, we are asking for 99 words exactly.”

If at least 99 writers link up, there will be a random drawing for a $99 Amazon gift card.  So why not join in?

Once again, this is a community-voted challenge, which means that readers have the opportunity to vote on their three favorites by visiting Trifecta’s site after the challenge closes on Thursday, at 8PM Eastern time.

110 thoughts on “Love Song

  1. Kir Piccini October 14, 2013 / 8:54 AM

    funny and well written..
    it’s funny how one person’s idea of “romance” is so far off isn’t it?

    the giggle was worth all 99 words. 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:40 PM

      Thanks for reading, Kir! Yes, they definitely have two different ideas when it comes to romance 🙂

  2. Lance October 14, 2013 / 9:14 AM

    hilarious

    what you mean Baby Got Back isn’t a love song. “you can do side bends and sit ups, please don’t lose that butt”

    seriously, well written

    BTW your Cybil looks just like our Monki

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:41 PM

      Haha! I guess it could be a compliment…

      I’m glad you enjoyed the humor, Lance. I was all set to write “serious” and then this happened, so I went with it 🙂

      Cybil is nuts. I hope your Monki is not!

      • Lance October 15, 2013 / 2:43 AM

        monki runs this place…

        • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:27 PM

          Ah, typical cat 🙂

  3. Sean October 14, 2013 / 9:19 AM

    That was a fun read. Of course I remember playing that song but it was more for the bass than anything else. He could have chosen a different sang and made matters even worse lol. Thanks for the story. Have a wonderful week.

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:43 PM

      Scary to admit, but I used to know the entire song- including the valley girl intro. I suppose he could’ve picked a worse song, but I can’t think of what that would be right now, Sean!

      • Sean October 15, 2013 / 9:54 AM

        I could but I won’t mention it. I used to listen to some crazy stuff back then also. 2 Live Crew comes to mind and it was not clean. Actually it was very vulgar. I guess as teens, we don’t think of how music can affect us. I look at what I listen to now and wonder why I didn’t listen to it back then. Most likely my friends all listened to somewhat of the same stuff. PLus I had a loud stereo in my truck so had to have that bass. lol.

        • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:36 PM

          Oh. 2 Live Crew. Say no more! I never listened to them – I mostly listened to country music at that time 🙂

  4. Tara R. October 14, 2013 / 9:59 AM

    Maybe he likes Big Butts and Cannot Lie?

    The dialogue here was great. Very realistic.

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:44 PM

      Haha! Maybe he does. She could be piqued because she doesn’t have a big butt. Or she could be offended he called her big butt out in front of everyone. Who knows 🙂 Thanks for reading, Tara!

  5. Grace Black October 14, 2013 / 10:26 AM

    This made me laugh! We can be so sensitive at times, as women. Well done!

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:45 PM

      I’m glad you liked the humor, Grace! We can be sensitive- that song was a no-win situation for Ethan.

  6. Quickstepp October 14, 2013 / 10:33 AM

    Haha! It could be a term of endearment….right??

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:45 PM

      That’s a stretch, Quickstepp 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  7. nrhatch October 14, 2013 / 10:42 AM

    Bwahaha! Now he’s gonna be singing Baby Come Back:

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:50 PM

      Hahaha! He could, Nancy. Or, he could cut his losses and sing “Go Your Own Way” 🙂

  8. Debbie October 14, 2013 / 10:57 AM

    HeeHee! Funny post, Janna. I guess it’s true that beauty is in the eye of the beholder, huh?

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:51 PM

      I’m glad you got a laugh from it, Debbie! Beauty comes in all sizes. I think Cathy is a little sensitive about her caboose, that’s all 🙂

  9. howanxious October 14, 2013 / 11:23 AM

    Poor guy… Ha! A lovely write. 🙂
    -HA

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:52 PM

      He probably could’ve chosen his song a little more carefully, HA. Live and learn 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:53 PM

      Thanks so much for reading, Windandlaughter! I’m glad you found the humor in it, too 🙂

  10. Mike October 14, 2013 / 12:15 PM

    Why is it us men have this habit of doing the wrong thing unintentionally?
    A great read – thanks.

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:55 PM

      Thanks for reading, Mike! My husband has done/said the wrong thing innocently, too. Of course, I have to call it out and make a big deal about it just for the fun of watching his reaction, but I don’t take offense 🙂 (I also know better than to ask him “Do I look fat in this dress?” because he’d tell me the truth…and I can’t handle the truth.)

  11. vishalbheeroo October 14, 2013 / 1:11 PM

    why love is such a contradiction. Well done:)

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:55 PM

      Minor misunderstandings happen all the time. Keeps us on our toes, I guess. Thanks for reading, Vishal!

  12. Jennifer Dillon October 14, 2013 / 2:05 PM

    Ha! I guess it depends! You should get extra points for not only using the wonderful word ignoramus, but making it funny.

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:56 PM

      I like that word, too, Jennifer 🙂 Thanks for reading and laughing along with this story!

  13. consciouscacophony October 14, 2013 / 4:42 PM

    What a fun post to read. Their evening probably won’t be Bringing Sexy Back 😉

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:58 PM

      Hahaha! Hilarious comment, Consciouscacophony. You’re probably right 🙂

  14. tmwhickman (@fercryinoutloud) October 14, 2013 / 6:30 PM

    Baby got back is TOO a love song! So it’s not about an actual person…more of an homage, actually. Lol! Thanks for giving me a belly laugh!

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:59 PM

      I’m glad you laughed, too, Tina! Imagine how the blender he got her for Christmas went over 🙂 Poor guy!

  15. lovethebadguy October 14, 2013 / 11:45 PM

    Heh heh. Brilliant. 😀

    I love the interaction between the characters, and the dialogue is perfectly written. Awesome work.

  16. KymmInBarcelona October 15, 2013 / 3:55 AM

    Hahaha (loved the thwack!)
    Apparently I missed the nineties entirely. Thank god for Urban Dictionary!

    • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:27 PM

      Urban Dictionary can come in handy 🙂 Thanks for reading, Kymm!

  17. Gina October 15, 2013 / 7:02 AM

    Hilarious due to choice of song! The age old issue of miscommunication (misunderstanding) between the sexes. Great, Janna!

    • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:29 PM

      Yes, it is a classic case of seeing things differently, Gina. Thanks for reading!

  18. Ivy (Mommy Dourest) October 15, 2013 / 7:38 AM

    As someone with um … back … I must disagree with Cathy. But if she’s lacking in that department, I could see why she’d get upset.

    Funny piece, Janna! Thanks for the smile. 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:31 PM

      I actually based this on a former co-worker of mine. She was obsessed with her butt and always complained it was too big (it wasn’t) – she would’ve been totally miffed if her boyfriend did that!

      Thanks for reading and laughing along, Ivy 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:32 PM

      You are so kind, Deborah – thank you! I’ll check out your post soon 🙂

  19. Anne Chia October 15, 2013 / 8:29 AM

    Hehehehe she’s such a girl! Funny piece, thanks for sharing

    • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:32 PM

      Thanks for reading, Anne! Life’s too short to be that sensitive 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:32 PM

      It’s a good song to clean with – keeps you moving 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:34 PM

      Me too- the song was quite popular! Thanks for reading, Tina 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:39 PM

      Oh, boy. Your poor wife – between the puns and love songs 🙂

  20. jwilliams057 October 15, 2013 / 11:24 AM

    Hilarious. And no, definitely not a song you would want a potential fiance to sing.

    • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:39 PM

      Thanks for stopping by to laugh a little, Jennifer!

  21. Valerie October 15, 2013 / 11:53 AM

    This is hilarious Janna! A love song in a way-for butt lovers;) Loved this!

    • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:40 PM

      Thanks, Valerie! I contemplated serious, but apparently my muse would have none of that this time 🙂

  22. Lauren October 15, 2013 / 1:06 PM

    Haha! I still know the words. It’s so fun to sing to.

    • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:41 PM

      Impressive, Lauren! I can still mumble through it, but some of it’s a little fuzzy now.

  23. Momo October 15, 2013 / 2:26 PM

    This is a great – so fun to read! I love how you used three of the words from the page too – and I, also, loved that you used ignoramus.

    • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:42 PM

      I like ignoramus, too, Momo. Thanks for stopping by!

  24. steph October 15, 2013 / 5:39 PM

    Ignoramus… what a great word. Funny, Janna. I love it.

    • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:43 PM

      Thanks, Steph! I appreciate you stopping by 🙂

  25. Draug419 October 15, 2013 / 8:19 PM

    …I think she’s overreacting haha

    • jannatwrites October 15, 2013 / 9:43 PM

      She just might be, Draug. If he wanted to flirt with death, he could ask her if it’s that time of month 🙂

  26. Sahm King October 16, 2013 / 4:20 AM

    Oh man…Oh man… Makes me think of my lady. Women. Great post, Janna.

  27. Jo-Anne Teal October 16, 2013 / 1:27 PM

    Such a fun take! Really enjoyed this, Janna :))

  28. Christine October 16, 2013 / 2:20 PM

    *hee hee* This cracked me up. Very funny, and I don’t think she’s overreacting at all. *grin*

    • jannatwrites October 16, 2013 / 9:52 PM

      I’m happy you found the humor in it, Christine! For some reason, serious and thoughtful just wasn’t going to happen for this challenge 🙂

  29. El Guapo October 16, 2013 / 2:30 PM

    The end was uexpected, and got a rapid intake of breath from me, followed by a laugh!

    And really, if she has to explain that to him…

    • jannatwrites October 16, 2013 / 9:53 PM

      Thanks, El Guapo! This cracked me up, so it’s good to know I’m not the only one who found it funny.

      And as for having to explain it to him….ignoramus. That’s all 🙂

  30. Ann Bennett (@AnnBennett12) October 16, 2013 / 6:05 PM

    Cute story, I’d be impressed with someone being able to spit that song out but it is not a love song. lol.

    • jannatwrites October 16, 2013 / 9:54 PM

      Thanks for reading, Ann! Yep, there are a lot of words to remember in that song 🙂

  31. pattisj October 16, 2013 / 9:18 PM

    Some guys just don’t get it.

  32. trifectawriting October 17, 2013 / 6:33 AM

    Now I have the song in my head. That song was huge!! And, I dunno, but I think JLo brought the ‘back’ back, no? Thanks for linking up. Don’t forget to vote at the end.

    • jannatwrites October 17, 2013 / 5:47 PM

      That song was everywhere. It’s got a fun beat to it 🙂

  33. atrm61 October 17, 2013 / 1:39 PM

    Ha!ha!Men will be men-at least he tried ;-)Better than what one fellow did when his new wife asked him to sing a song for her-he sang a song which said,how as a brother ,he loves his sister,lol!Great take on the prompt Janna .

    • jannatwrites October 17, 2013 / 5:51 PM

      Funny story, Atreyee. Almost feel sorry for the guy 🙂

      • atrm61 October 18, 2013 / 12:18 AM

        I know but poor wife! 😛

  34. lovelylici1986 October 17, 2013 / 4:17 PM

    Hahahaha. He’s goin’ dowwwwnnn. And he’ll wish he could’ve gone BACK.

    • jannatwrites October 17, 2013 / 5:52 PM

      You got it, Alicia! He might choose more wisely next time, or skip karaoke all together 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 17, 2013 / 5:52 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed the humor, Rog Rites! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  35. Cobbie's World October 17, 2013 / 6:11 PM

    Geez! What’s left to say after the million or so comments your piece has generated!? Very fresh and funny take on the prompt. The battle of the sexes is always fodder for great writing, isn’t it? Timeless song choice, btw. I used “back”, too, and didn’t think of that song or that usage at all so, props for creativity, for sure!

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:16 AM

      Men and women do think differently, and don’t always communicate the differences well (I’ve been known to use the “he should know” argument :)) Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this, Cobbie! (Oh, and I love comments. Can you ever have too many of them?!)

  36. Michael October 17, 2013 / 7:14 PM

    Alas, poor Ethan. Brownie points for trying, but bad choice of song. Maybe next time!

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:16 AM

      Hope he gets a next time, Michael. Lessons learned 🙂

  37. jeanmcurio October 17, 2013 / 7:50 PM

    Hahaha, oh that made me chuckle!

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:16 AM

      I’m glad – that’s what I hoped for this week 🙂

  38. Renada Styles October 17, 2013 / 8:44 PM

    And that perfectly states the ignorance of ‘man’. lol I remember when that song came out!

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:17 AM

      Sometimes we just don’t think when we need to, Renada. Thanks for reading!

  39. SAM October 17, 2013 / 11:19 PM

    So funny! Incidentally, Baby Got Back is on my playlist.

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:18 AM

      Haha! Great song for getting work done, Sam 🙂 I sometimes hear the song on the radio, but the single (cassette tape) I had is long gone.

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:19 AM

      Thanks for reading, Renee! We are different creatures, but somehow manage to live (with some amount of harmony.)

  40. BCIJo (aka Joanne Edith) October 18, 2013 / 3:38 AM

    Dialogue so true to life. We’ve all had similar conversations! Clever and entertaining, as always.

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:19 AM

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, Joanne! I’d hoped the conversation was realistic.

  41. Anita October 18, 2013 / 5:57 AM

    Oh Cool! The Bachelor got a lesson! 🙂 Choice of Song is important!!!

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:19 AM

      Yes, the choice mustn’t be taken lightly! Thanks for reading, Anita 🙂

  42. troy P. October 18, 2013 / 9:31 AM

    I was also sorta of wondering what about that ditty excluded it from being a love song… =)

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:20 AM

      Um, sorry Troy…I don’t think I can help you here 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2013 / 12:20 AM

      Glad you liked it – thanks for reading, DJ.

  43. pattyabr October 20, 2013 / 10:55 AM

    wow you got a lot of responses on this. I knew the song but didn’t know the title was Baby Got Back. Clever post.

    • jannatwrites October 20, 2013 / 7:51 PM

      This one did get a lot of reads, Patty. Thanks for stopping by to check it out (it was a silly one this week!)

Got an opinion? Share it!

