The Devil Made Me Do It

My plan lured Greed from your soul.

I, condemned “Eden’s Serpent;”

You, the perfect victim, got off scot free.

I sit in prison.

You suffer in poverty.

Forever entwined, we are the Devil.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

TrifectaPicture11-1This is my response to Trifecta’s weekend challenge, which was to write 33 words inspired by the Rolling Stones’ song, “Sympathy for the Devil.”  I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I’ve never heard the song before.  I’m even more reluctant to admit that I couldn’t understand half of the words, so I had to seek out a version that displayed the lyrics.  Age sucks, but at least it still allows me to read (even if there are nose prints on my laptop screen :))

For some reason, as I heard the song, my first thought was to write about a ponzi schemer.  Playing devil’s advocate (pun intended!) I decided to write as if the devil played on himself, and greed was equally guilty as the schemer.

If you want to check out other responses, or submit your own, click here to view Trifecta’s site.

Have a beautiful weekend!

62 thoughts on “The Devil Made Me Do It

  1. Lance October 11, 2013 / 8:24 AM

    two people, one hell. I love it. an entire story. excellently told.

    • jannatwrites October 11, 2013 / 9:22 AM

      Exactly what I hoped to convey, Lance! Thanks so much for reading and summing it up so nicely.

  2. Mike October 11, 2013 / 8:26 AM

    As a ‘child of the 60’s’ I also should have recognised this song …. but didn’t!
    I enjoyed your take on i.

    • jannatwrites October 11, 2013 / 9:23 AM

      Thanks, Mike! I appreciate you reading it 🙂

  3. Kir Piccini October 11, 2013 / 8:54 AM

    “lured Greed from your soul” what a powerful, intelligent, telling line.
    As if , if I give you everything will you still want more?

    Janna, I love the way you write and what you give us in terms of thoughtful prose. I’ve missed visiting you here but I’m always reading, always happy that I get to read your words.

    Have a great weekend

    • jannatwrites October 11, 2013 / 9:27 AM

      Kir, I appreciate you reading this and for taking time to really “get” the words. Greed was always there, the get-rich opportunity just brought it out of hiding. And it’s true, it will never be satiated.

      Thank you for your kind words. My writing is not for everyone, but it’s good to know it appeals to some 🙂

  4. Gina October 11, 2013 / 10:20 AM

    This was an entire story in so few words. We saw both sides of it! Nicely done.

  5. Ivy (Mommy Dourest) October 11, 2013 / 2:06 PM

    I love the first and last lines. Very powerful. The lines in between are great, too. 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 12, 2013 / 7:45 AM

      Thank, Ivy! It’s nice to hear when certain lines strike a chord. I appreciate you reading/sharing your thoughts.

  6. howanxious October 11, 2013 / 2:25 PM

    Forever entwined… now that was the major statement for me. Very well-written.
    -HA

    • jannatwrites October 12, 2013 / 7:45 AM

      The ramifications from our bad choices stick with us. Thanks for taking time to read and comment, HA!

    • jannatwrites October 12, 2013 / 7:45 AM

      I’m glad you liked this one, Susan! Thanks for reading 🙂

  7. consciouscacophony October 11, 2013 / 6:21 PM

    Amazing how so few words can tell so much and conjure emotion so beautifully. Great job!

    • jannatwrites October 12, 2013 / 7:46 AM

      Your comment made me smile, Consciouscacophony. I’m glad you ‘felt’ this story 🙂

  8. Diane Turner October 11, 2013 / 6:38 PM

    A story in a few words. Chilled my bones, it did. Excellent. Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites October 12, 2013 / 7:47 AM

      Great! I appreciate you taking time to read it and let me know that this story had impact, Diane!

  9. tmwhickman (@fercryinoutloud) October 11, 2013 / 7:02 PM

    The good thing about hell is that it is way too heavily populated. Or maybe that’s a bad thing. But your words put the word marriage in my mind, of all things!

    • jannatwrites October 12, 2013 / 7:49 AM

      Marriage? Really? Hahaha! Thanks for reading and sharing your reaction, Tina!

  10. DonettaS October 11, 2013 / 7:21 PM

    I love this. I swear I had not read your post before writing about the garden. This take is wonderful. The seven deadly sins is what came to mind when I read Greed. Vanity always comes to mind when I picture the one in the pit, thinking the greedy one got off scot free. I love how this makes me stop and think.

    • jannatwrites October 12, 2013 / 7:52 AM

      Now I’m curious about yours, Donetta. I’m only a few entries away from it, so I should get to it before I have to sign off 🙂 I’m glad this one made you think. The seven deadly sins do lead us to evil!

  11. Draug419 October 11, 2013 / 8:41 PM

    Very cool!

  12. Widdershins October 11, 2013 / 9:50 PM

    Had to think about that one … very well written!

    • jannatwrites October 12, 2013 / 7:53 AM

      Thanks for reading, Widdershins! Contemplation is good 🙂

  13. Valerie October 12, 2013 / 7:44 AM

    I’m blown away by what you packed into 33 words here! Excellent!!

    • jannatwrites October 12, 2013 / 7:54 AM

      Thanks, Valerie! I’m glad you enjoyed this one 🙂

  14. Debbie October 12, 2013 / 10:49 AM

    Well done, Janna (though I don’t recall hearing this song before either!)

    • jannatwrites October 12, 2013 / 10:01 PM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who missed this one 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Debbie!

  15. Dana October 12, 2013 / 10:57 AM

    This is awesome, so powerfully written. And in your note: “greed was equally guilty as the schemer” – perfection. Excellent, Janna! 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 12, 2013 / 10:01 PM

      Thanks so much for taking time to read it, Dana. Glad you liked it 🙂

  16. seablackwithink October 12, 2013 / 10:57 AM

    Janna, a novel packed into a few words….amazing. Donetta’s entry combined with yours would play lovely together….as I told her I am reminded of the song “Adam and Eve” by Ani DiFranco and “East of Eden” by Steinbeck….you two were totally in sync…both doing a chilling job.

    • jannatwrites October 12, 2013 / 10:27 PM

      I read Donetta’s response this morning – it is strange how we seemed to be so in synch! I think they worked well together, too 🙂 Thanks for reading and for your thoughtful comment, Seablackwithink!

    • jannatwrites October 13, 2013 / 7:51 AM

      Thanks so much, Vishal! I’m glad you stopped by to read it.

    • jannatwrites October 13, 2013 / 7:52 AM

      😛 Thanks, Bjorn- appreciate you stopping by!

  17. Liquid Poet October 12, 2013 / 2:46 PM

    Very good. I agree with my fiance (seablackwithink), your post & Donetta’s are symbiotic. It would be cool to see the two of you co-write something. Great job!

    • jannatwrites October 13, 2013 / 7:53 AM

      That’s a fun idea, LP! Thanks for taking time to read it.

  18. cobourgcobbieCobbie's World October 12, 2013 / 4:45 PM

    Terrific and intelligent telling of quite a tale. It is an honour to read such excellent work. 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 13, 2013 / 7:53 AM

      Thanks for your kind words, Cobbie. I appreciate you stopping by 🙂

  19. Glynis October 12, 2013 / 5:37 PM

    Most excellent !

  20. Suzanne October 12, 2013 / 6:40 PM

    Ooh, this is great Janna! Love that last line in particular. Beautifully done!

    • jannatwrites October 13, 2013 / 7:54 AM

      Thanks, Suzanne. I’m glad you enjoyed this one 🙂

  21. whimsygizmo October 13, 2013 / 8:27 AM

    Love that “forever entwined,” Janna.

    • Ann Bennett (@AnnBennett12) October 13, 2013 / 8:32 AM

      Bulwinquel, what is it about foo foo dogs and affectations. I have a dog name joie and we use the french pronunciation. Well the french that comes out of a Southerner’s mouth.
      Anyway in the words of Bulwinquel and Joie, “It’s mine all mine.”
      Devil is a complex concept and topic to tackle. You did a great job.

      • jannatwrites October 13, 2013 / 9:52 PM

        Well, Bulwinquel’s name made a little more sense when we had Rockie (our other Yorkie mix.) (The joke was Rocky and Bulwinkle, like the old cartoon, but we didn’t want to spell the names the same.) I know, it’s goofy. Thank goodness we were kinder when naming our children!

        Thanks for reading, Ann. I’m smiling at the Southern-French pronunciation of Joie 😛

    • jannatwrites October 13, 2013 / 9:52 PM

      Thanks, Joanne! I’m glad I’m not the only one who got stuck on the lyrics.

  22. trifectawriting October 13, 2013 / 10:59 AM

    I love the idea of greed also being at fault. Very cool.

    • jannatwrites October 13, 2013 / 9:53 PM

      Thanks for reading (and offering the Trifecta prompts!)

  23. Michael October 14, 2013 / 4:35 AM

    I hadn’t heard that song either. Before my time, I guess. …and I really liked your take on the prompt. Very tragic.

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:26 PM

      Thanks, Michael. I appreciate you reading it!

  24. Eric Alagan October 14, 2013 / 4:45 AM

    A complete story – and yes, the devil made me do it 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 14, 2013 / 9:26 PM

      Good excuse for bad behavior, eh? 🙂 Thanks for reading, Eric!

  25. pattisj October 16, 2013 / 9:05 PM

    I wasn’t familiar with the song, either, having never been a fan of the Rolling Stones.

    • jannatwrites October 16, 2013 / 9:45 PM

      I don’t really care for them, either, Patti 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

