Tails or Heads

Nature’s mystery…

Just one question- will it be

Tails or heads today?

Tails?
Tails?
Or heads? (Aw, isn't he/she cute?!)
Or heads? (Aw, isn’t he/she cute?!)

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~–~~~-~~~-

This haiku is a much-needed break from the creepy that I’ve been writing for October.  I’ve taken to the disturbing stories a little too well and it scares me!  I just want to make sure I keep a tether to the softer side 😛

We have a tree in our yard that the squirrels call home.  Many times I walk by it and see some sort of squirrel activity.  Funny, though… when the kids run by, the squirrels disappear.  (Smart animals!)

For the longest time, I’d only see a little head poking out, wide eyes staring, making sure I wouldn’t take another step closer.  One day, I laughed when I saw our tree had a tail.  Unfortunately, all I had was my cell phone for that photo.  (Or, taking the glass-half-full approach:  thank goodness I had my cell phone with me so I could catch the photo op.)

In observing the squirrels over several weeks, I discovered that unlike a coin toss where we have to pick heads or tails, sometimes in nature, we don’t have to choose.  I finally captured a photo of the entire camera shy squirrel.  I swear he/she has the longest tail I’ve seen on the squirrels around here!

10-7 Squirrel

Have a marvelous Monday!!

26 thoughts on “Tails or Heads

  1. judithhb October 7, 2013 / 11:17 AM

    Very inquisitive creatures squirrels and the other day walking through the streets of London I saw a little fellow watching us coming towards im

    • jannatwrites October 7, 2013 / 8:44 PM

      They are inquisitive, Judith! It does worry me a little when they don’t run away when I get too close 🙂

  2. nrhatch October 7, 2013 / 11:45 AM

    That is an incredible tail . . . and great shots.

    • jannatwrites October 7, 2013 / 8:53 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed the photos, Nancy! I love watching the squirrels. If I walk too close to the tree, one of them ‘yells’ at me.

  3. Eric Alagan October 7, 2013 / 4:58 PM

    Heads or tails — oh, its simply the tree sticking out its tongue 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 7, 2013 / 8:54 PM

      It’s a feisty squirrel, Eric. Actually, there are at least two that occupy the tree – I saw both by the hole one time, but I had no camera with me.

  4. agjorgenson October 7, 2013 / 5:11 PM

    I could spend hours watching squirrels! We also have raccoons, which are equally adorable, but much more messy.

    • jannatwrites October 7, 2013 / 8:55 PM

      We don’t have raccoons, but I think they are pretty (though I’ve heard keeping a distance is a good idea!) I love watching them scurry up trees and leap from tree to tree. Thanks for reading, Allen!

  5. Sean October 7, 2013 / 5:26 PM

    We don’t have the nice Kiabab squirrels here. we have fat brown squirrels but not as fat as they are up north. anyways, it brought to mind what my son said. Dad, will my pellet gun kill a squirrel? I said, yes it would. Of course being a boy, he says, when can I shoot one. We only have a few at our house so he doesn’t shoot them. I told him that whatever he kills, he has to eat and there just isn’t enough meat on 1 squirrel to make it worth while. I think he’s been watching Mrs. Kay from Duck dynasty a little too much. Thanks for the change from creepy to SQUIRREL. UP just came to mind. lol Or maybe Christmas Vacation. Now that would be a site lol

    • jannatwrites October 7, 2013 / 9:01 PM

      Oh my goodness, I’m so glad my boys haven’t inquired about shooting the squirrels. (They want to take them in as pets!)

      Glad you liked the switch from creepy. I’ll try to keep alternating throughout the month so things don’t get too scary around here 🙂

  6. pattisj October 7, 2013 / 6:42 PM

    I love your tree with a tail! LOL

    • jannatwrites October 7, 2013 / 9:03 PM

      Thanks, Patti! I think of you when I see the squirrels because of all the photos you’ve posted.

      • pattisj October 7, 2013 / 9:05 PM

        I’m glad you have your very own. They are quite entertaining.

        • jannatwrites October 7, 2013 / 9:07 PM

          Me too, Patti! That’s another good thing about our move…I never saw a squirrel in Phoenix 🙂

  7. Widdershins October 7, 2013 / 10:01 PM

    My, what a long tail you have Grandma!

  8. Scriptor Obscura October 7, 2013 / 11:13 PM

    Love the photos, Janna, especially the one with the tail sticking out and the one with the face peeking out of the hole. Really nice photos.

    Speaking of squirrels, you might like this video, or at least get a laugh out of it:

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2013 / 2:59 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed the photos, Scriptor! Thanks for the video link. It was funny, but still I felt a little bad for the dizzy squirrel. I bet he wasn’t so hungry after that ride 🙂

    • Widdershins October 9, 2013 / 4:43 PM

      poor squirrel. It must’ve been really distressed until it’s brain stopped spinning and it could walk properly again. Hopefully it told all its squirrel friends to stay away from that evil hang-y thing!

      • jannatwrites October 9, 2013 / 9:25 PM

        The least he could do is spread the news to the other squirrels!

  9. Michael October 8, 2013 / 6:58 AM

    A tale about a tail….:)

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2013 / 3:00 PM

      Yes, indeed, Michael – A short tale about a long tail 🙂

  10. Debbie October 9, 2013 / 7:40 AM

    Ooh, you’ve got grey squirrels? How cool! We see them down South when we go, and you’re right — they are very active! Here, our squirrels tend to be mostly brown. And pudgy! Fall indeed is their time of year — if they don’t gather food for the winter, they’ll surely starve. Thanks for sharing them!

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2013 / 3:05 PM

      I haven’t seen any brown squirrels here, just the skinny grey ones, like the photos. I tried to identify the species online. They could be Arizona Grey Squirrels, but some of the photos on Google Images don’t match these guys, others do. Thanks for checking out my squirrely post, Debbie!

  11. Robin Leigh Morgan July 4, 2014 / 7:01 PM

    I love how you’re able to get these shots and have them on your doorstep. As a child I remember them climbing up my leg when I wore a pair of corduroy pants to get a peanut I held in my hand. My immediate take on Heads or Tails is the toss of a coin before a game.

    Heads or Tails

    A coin in air tossed
    Winning choice can decide fate
    If team wins or not

    • jannatwrites July 5, 2014 / 12:52 AM

      The squirrels are entertaining. I like your game-inspired haiku, Robin. Who hasn’t done a coin toss? 😀

Got an opinion? Share it!

