At Our Fingertips

In a day, we can find patches of calm that soothe our nerves, put our soul at ease.

We discover a place where our mind and body rest in harmony.

In that place, our hearts soar and nourish our dreams;

At our fingertips, we encounter finite peace.

In the distance, looms another reality.

View from vista on Mogollon Rim
View from vista on Mogollon Rim

I had a post all ready to go today about my migraine-inducing weekend with my younger sons’ sleepover friend, but I decided to pull it, for now.  It was supposed to be funny, but in thinking about it, maybe I wrote it too close to the event…I think it may be too harsh on the kid.  Or maybe not 😛

At any rate, I decided to write something inspired by the date.  The world feels even more uncertain than it did twelve years ago.   Every day, I seek peace in my interactions with friends and strangers.  I don’t like conflict.  It makes me feel all jumbled inside.  In my life, I manage to co-exist with people who are unlike me- people with different backgrounds, those who don’t accept my God, people who eat bratwurst.

I don’t watch the news very much these days.  I find that isolating myself from world events allows me to enjoy my personal peace.  I know that it may be an illusion; that it’s built on unstable ground- but it’s the only way I know to keep anxiety at bay.  I can’t understand how people can exterminate one another.  I can’t fathom hatred for strangers so deep that killing seems a good option.  I can’t grasp why my country tries to take on the role of peacekeeper with brute force.

This is why I find solace among the trees.  Their size makes me feel safe.  They have managed to survive in an uncertain world, and they give me hope that I can do the same.

I appreciate you stopping by to read my ramblings.  May you find peace today, tomorrow, and every day.

32 thoughts on “At Our Fingertips

      • 1959duke September 11, 2013 / 7:39 PM

        For you I will do anything! I have said to my wife I have 2 sets of people on here. The first set are people like you who go back to before the break from writing and those who have started following me since.
        When you go back and look at the support I got from you guys before and after the surgeries. Its amazing.

        • jannatwrites September 13, 2013 / 12:52 AM

          That is very kind of you, Duke! I remember you waiting for that surgery. Hard to believe it was that long ago.

        • 1959duke September 13, 2013 / 6:08 AM

          To me the surgeries seem like they took place years ago. I spoke with a doctor a couple of weeks ago and he said in medical terms its not long at all. The shoulder will never get better. The neck is the big concern and that will never change.

        • jannatwrites September 13, 2013 / 9:30 AM

          Hi, Duke. I left a comment on a recent post with the link to a website with a pain therapy device that has had good results. I read an article in Reader’s Digest a while ago, and a mom had invented the device to help her daughter, who suffered chronic back pain from a car accident. It was really an interesting story.

          The comment went into moderation, possibly because of the link. This is the website: http://www.neurolumen.com/

  1. newwhitebear September 11, 2013 / 7:59 AM

    When we find those places, we can breathe the air of peace and we can calm anxiety daily.
    The image evokes this feeling

    • jannatwrites September 11, 2013 / 6:41 PM

      I’m glad you saw that in the image, too, Newwhitebear! Everyone needs a peaceful place.

  2. Debbie September 11, 2013 / 8:23 AM

    Very timely post, Janna, and I so agree. I think creative people are just “wired” differently. Anything that upsets our inner peace, our equilibrium, should be cast aside. Perhaps that’s why I, too, find it hard to watch TV news and see photos of people doing atrocious things to their fellow man. I know in my heart that God is in control, but as you said, not everybody believes in my God, and they don’t know or accept His ways. More’s the pity.

    • jannatwrites September 11, 2013 / 6:43 PM

      Thanks for your thoughtful response, Debbie. I do think we can coexist with diversity, it just takes a bit more work. I’d like to see widespread peace, but in the absence of that, personal peace must suffice 🙂

  3. Sean September 11, 2013 / 9:22 AM

    I can relate to the migraine. Both my kids had a sleepover this past weekend for their birthday. With migraines, we tend to want to seek out solace so we can relax and let the headache go away. Sometimes that is not possible. Sometimes we want to hide from what we see instead of looking at it to discover what we need to know. There is always a place to seek refuge but sometimes we need to look to find it.

    • jannatwrites September 11, 2013 / 6:44 PM

      Sometimes hiding does seem the best option. True, we must venture out, but it’s best to do so without a headache 🙂 Thanks for reading, Sean!

  4. nrhatch September 11, 2013 / 12:43 PM

    Peaceful post. Thanks, Janna.

    (BUT I want to read about the migraine-inducing kid . . . sounds like it might be good for a laugh. We promise not to tell him what you said about him.) 😉

    • jannatwrites September 11, 2013 / 6:47 PM

      I just may post it, with some revisions, Nancy 🙂 I’m glad you stopped by today.

  5. Widdershins September 11, 2013 / 2:26 PM

    The thing about ‘world events’ is that unless we subscribe to ‘alternate’ forms of news aggregate sites/magazines/papers, we’re only going to be exposed to what the policy of that particular source.
    The crap that we’re exposed to every day is only a tiny portion of what’s really going on out there.

    • jannatwrites September 11, 2013 / 6:48 PM

      You’ve got a good point, Widdershins. There’s so much spin, we all end up dizzy 🙂

  6. vishalbheeroo September 11, 2013 / 2:58 PM

    Powerful words in the realm of a conflicting world. Hope u are fine by now:)

    • jannatwrites September 11, 2013 / 6:48 PM

      My headache has subsided, but my memories of the weekend are still fresh 🙂 Thanks for reading, Vishal!

    • jannatwrites September 11, 2013 / 6:49 PM

      I’m glad you find comfort in them, too, Tina.

  7. agjorgenson September 11, 2013 / 9:03 PM

    Thanks for writing so frankly. it is a gift to recognize our limits and something to be thankful for!

    • jannatwrites September 13, 2013 / 12:54 AM

      Thanks for reading, Allen. This is one that I wrote and posted without a waiting period 🙂

  8. pattisj September 11, 2013 / 9:06 PM

    Sorry about the headache. I don’t follow the news much, either. Love the scenery!

    • jannatwrites September 13, 2013 / 12:55 AM

      It was beautiful and peaceful (as long as you didn’t get too close to the rocky cliff edge!) Thanks for reading, Patti 🙂

  9. Paula J September 12, 2013 / 10:17 AM

    Consider the lilies.

  10. SBhealy (@SBhealy) September 13, 2013 / 10:47 AM

    There was so much about this writing I liked and lots of common elements, although you might not expect this given my Trifecta story. But this line hits home for me.”I don’t watch the news very much these days. I find that isolating myself from world events allows me to enjoy my personal peace.”

    I also stopped watching news after being a CNN 24/7 kind of person and found my life was so much more peaceful for making the change and worth the occasional time I don’t know something BIG that happened.

    In addition, your words about trees resonated with me. I take lots of pictures of trees and fortunately live in a area with wonderful old oak trees. Their branches sweep the ground and moss sway gently in the higher branches.

    I hope your migraine is better. My younger daughter suffers from them and they can really knock you out.

    Thank you for this very peaceful read. It’s a perfect way to start my weekend:~)

    • jannatwrites September 13, 2013 / 3:06 PM

      Sometimes the isolation from media is needed for self-preservation.

      The oak trees near you sound like they are beautiful. I love really tall, old trees. I imagine they have lots of stories to tell. At any rate, they are wonderful photography subjects (unlike children who turn their heads at the last minute or make a goofy face :))

      My migraine is better- thanks for asking! I’m glad to know you found this post to be peaceful. I appreciate you stopping by to read it and taking the time to leave such a thoughtful comment. I hope you have a relaxing weekend, SBhealy.

  11. Eric Alagan September 13, 2013 / 5:27 PM

    A sad day that – as the man said, it will live as a day of infamy.

    Good that you backed off about cutting it close to the event – at least, I hope the boys had a good time. Migraine – bad news. Hope you’re feeling better.

    The news is so bad even NatGeo puts out all that macho crap – one can’t find even one good wildlife documentary without some idiot trying to show how brave (read, stupid) he is.

    Peace and blessings,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites September 14, 2013 / 11:31 PM

      Thanks for sharing your comment, Eric. I haven’t read National Geographic in years….maybe that’s not a bad thing 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

