Where Dreams and Water Flow

Crown of wildflowers atop raven silk, her toes flirted with the creek-

Mother’s sensibilities, her only tether.

White cotton billowed in the breeze, reality stashed in her mind’s loft-

For a rainy day.

09-06 Fossil Creek~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~

This is my response to Trifecta’s weekend challenge, which is to: write a total of 33 words, including the following:  tether, loft, crown.

This is another community-voted challenge, which means that readers have the opportunity to vote on their three favorites by visiting Trifecta’s site after the challenge closes on Sunday, at 8PM Eastern time.

Happy reading – and have a beautiful weekend!

95 thoughts on “Where Dreams and Water Flow

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2013 / 8:21 AM

      Thanks so much, Shanique! I didn’t realize I won…I had to go back and read the Trifecta post. I’m beyond surprised!

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2013 / 8:22 AM

      I wish I would’ve been so carefree. I was an anxious child, always worrying about something 🙂 Thanks for reading, Bjorn.

  1. Draug419 September 6, 2013 / 7:58 AM

    I was playing with the idea of a mind loft too. I think you do it better!

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2013 / 8:24 AM

      I doubt I did it better than you could, Draug…but thanks for the compliment, anyway 🙂

  2. paulmclem September 6, 2013 / 8:08 AM

    Nice spread of the prompt words in typically lyrical Janna style.

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2013 / 8:26 AM

      Thanks, Paul! I tried not to fall into the easier poetry format, but it still sort of fell that way 🙂 For me, loft was the most difficult word to incorporate.

      • paulmclem September 6, 2013 / 9:30 AM

        Agreed. Loft was the awkward wee bugger of the three. There’s always one!

        • jannatwrites September 6, 2013 / 11:34 AM

          True – thank goodness it was only one crazy word!

  3. Quickstepp September 6, 2013 / 8:30 AM

    Beautiful! I want to dip my toes in this creek!

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2013 / 11:35 AM

      It is beautiful and peaceful there (once you either hike four miles down, or travel 15 miles on a bumpy dirt road!) Thanks for reading, Quickstepp.

  4. Debbie September 6, 2013 / 8:44 AM

    I love this one, Janna. And your picture looks so restful!

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2013 / 11:36 AM

      Thanks, Debbie! This is where my son went on the overnight Boy Scout hike a couple weeks ago.

  5. Kir Piccini September 6, 2013 / 8:53 AM

    you had me at “Crown of wildflowers” ..what a beautiful image to take with us.

    and yes, I’d love to run away from reality once in a while…XO

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2013 / 11:37 AM

      Thanks, Kir. I’d hoped I described enough for readers to picture the scene. These days, it seems like escaping reality is like trying to fold an inflated air mattress. Not very successful 🙂

  6. coyotero2112 September 6, 2013 / 9:03 AM

    Your words have become as much a part of my morning wake-up as coffee. Thanks for being a positive influence. Congrats…you should win every one of these, in fact, they should name it the JannaT Trifecta Challenge.
    Later…

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2013 / 11:39 AM

      What a nice comment, Coyotero. I’m glad you enjoy reading what I write. (What’s the point of writing if no one reads it?)

      I read nearly all of the responses each week and I can say, I definitely should not win every one – but I appreciate you suggesting that!

      • coyotero2112 September 20, 2013 / 11:03 AM

        But, I insist…for what it’s worth.
        Later…

  7. shreyakashyap September 6, 2013 / 10:23 AM

    I just love the way your words ripple out, one after the another and this is no exaggeration …

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2013 / 11:40 AM

      Thank you for your nice comment, Shreya! I’m glad you stopped by to read and enjoyed it 🙂

  8. Joe Owens September 6, 2013 / 11:28 AM

    Such beautiful imagery Janna.

    • jannatwrites September 6, 2013 / 11:42 AM

      Thanks, Joe! It took me a bit to come up with the scene…I started with her twirling circles on fresh-cut grass, but I didn’t have a photo of that 🙂

  9. theinnerzone September 6, 2013 / 11:54 AM

    Lovely image – her toes flirted with the creek, the three words fit in perfectly!

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 12:15 AM

      I’m glad it seemed to flow well. Thanks for reading, innerzone!

  10. KymmInBarcelona September 6, 2013 / 12:29 PM

    Oh the things that can be stashed in the mind.
    Sweet!

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 12:17 AM

      🙂 my mind holds lots if things…I just can’t remember what right now. Thanks for reading, Kymm!

  11. Carl D'Agostino September 6, 2013 / 1:24 PM

    mind’s loft – As I get older now this seems where of most of my mind is. In boxes. And the attic full of cobwebs.

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 12:18 AM

      Haha, you’re too funny, Carl! Time to get the broom out, eh?

  12. nrhatch September 6, 2013 / 1:54 PM

    What a great spot to flirt with the creek. Beautiful images, Janna.

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 12:20 AM

      Thanks, Nancy. I love to dip my feet in cool creek water. It’s especially refreshing in heat of the summer sun.

  13. margitsage September 6, 2013 / 2:18 PM

    This is lovely. So is your haiku from Wednesday. I love your photos.

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 12:22 AM

      Thanks for checking out those posts! I’m so glad you like the photos 🙂

  14. Ivy (Mommy Dourest) September 6, 2013 / 2:25 PM

    Awww. I miss those carefree days of childhood. Adulthood is overrated.

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 12:25 AM

      In some ways it’s over rated. There is something to be said for relaxing by a creek, Ivy 🙂

  15. GodGirl September 6, 2013 / 4:17 PM

    Love it! So clever. Great imagery with the flirting toes. Perfect.

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 12:26 AM

      I’m glad you liked that part, GodGirl 🙂 She showed restraint by not jumping in.

  16. Lumdog September 6, 2013 / 5:22 PM

    I love “her toes flirted with the creek…” It reminded me of the first time I swam in a lake and the mud oozed between my toes. Cool memory and very nice writing.

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 12:29 AM

      I like that this brought up memories for you, Lumdog. Thanks for stopping by to read and share your comment.

  17. howanxious September 6, 2013 / 6:37 PM

    Musical verse, creating a beautiful picture. Loved the use of metaphors- mind loft, crown of wildflower…

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 12:30 AM

      Thanks, HA. I appreciate you reading it 🙂

  18. Imelda September 6, 2013 / 8:15 PM

    Beautiful, beautiful, Janna.

  19. pattisj September 6, 2013 / 9:21 PM

    Great photo, love the colors. And I can see the toes…

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 12:37 AM

      I’m so glad you could feel the scene, Patti!

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 12:38 AM

      🙂 I’m glad you felt it, JoAnne! Thanks for taking time to read it.

  20. DonettaS September 7, 2013 / 2:46 AM

    Mind’s loft for a rainy day, this line is amazingly beautiful. Congratulations on winning. 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 10:21 PM

      Thanks, Donetta – I’m glad you liked that line. Sometimes I’d like to stow away reality until a rainy day 🙂

  21. Suzanne September 7, 2013 / 6:28 AM

    This is gorgeous Janna! Reminds me of my childhood. Beautifully done. 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 10:22 PM

      I’m glad it felt familiar to you, Suzanne! Living in the desert most of my life, water has always been a once-in-a-while thing for me. Maybe that’s why I’m so entranced by it 🙂

  22. Dhriti September 7, 2013 / 8:13 AM

    Good one Janna! Loved it 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 10:22 PM

      Thanks so much for reading, Dhriti!

  23. tmwhickman (@fercryinoutloud) September 7, 2013 / 9:49 AM

    Gorgeous picture–I could see it in my mind. And why are you surprised that you would win the challenge? You are awesome!

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 10:23 PM

      😳 Thanks for the kind words, Tina! I’m glad you could see the scene…it makes me feel like this time, I chose the right words.

  24. lena de almeida September 7, 2013 / 10:09 AM

    This is so beautiful, Janna. Such a creative take on the prompt.

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 10:24 PM

      Thanks, Lena – I appreciate you reading it 🙂

  25. Gina September 7, 2013 / 12:35 PM

    Loft was a hard one but you pulled it off wonderfully. Great picture, too!

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 10:25 PM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who was stymied for a bit with that word. I’m glad you stopped by to read my response, Gina. (I want to go back to where we took the picture and stay longer next time :))

  26. Eric Alagan September 7, 2013 / 8:40 PM

    Weaved in all 3 words – and told a simple story with a profound truth too – excellent, Janna 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 7, 2013 / 10:27 PM

      Thanks, Eric! I appreciate you reading it. (I see you have another part to Daniel’s story done. I think I’ll finally have the quiet time to read it tomorrow night. 33-word posts I can read exhausted and amongst chaos…your story, I need to have my brain on concentration present!)

  27. Joanne September 8, 2013 / 3:52 AM

    Lovely imagery and seamless, unforced use of the three words.

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2013 / 12:11 AM

      Thanks, Joanne. I appreciate you reading!

  28. atrm61 September 8, 2013 / 6:23 AM

    “Mother’s sensibilities, her only tether.”Amazing observation-loved that Janna & hey congrats for your win-so glad one of my votes was on your wonderful tale:-)

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2013 / 12:12 AM

      I’m glad you liked this one, Atreyee! And thanks so much for voting for my last piece – I appreciate it 🙂

      • atrm61 September 9, 2013 / 1:12 AM

        :-)It was too good not to be voted on & I was thrilled to see that it was not only me who though that it was prize winning 😀

        • jannatwrites September 9, 2013 / 9:17 PM

          I do appreciate it, Atreyee 🙂

        • atrm61 September 13, 2013 / 5:15 AM

          🙂

  29. whimsygizmo September 8, 2013 / 9:43 AM

    Oooo. Love this. Especially:
    “reality stashed in her mind’s loft”

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2013 / 12:15 AM

      Thanks, Whimsygizmo! I’m glad that line stood out for you when you read it.

  30. tedstrutz September 8, 2013 / 12:06 PM

    whimsygizmo stole my line. I liked that use of loft. Very visual.

  31. Sandra September 8, 2013 / 3:35 PM

    Janna, this is so wonderful. I love the second line–I hope my children will always mind that tether! 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2013 / 12:17 AM

      🙂 It would be nice if your children did that, Sandra. Unfortunately, judging by the pull already, I have a feeling my children will be stretching that tether to the limit!

  32. trifectawriting September 8, 2013 / 5:16 PM

    I like flirting toes. A lot. Thanks for linking up. Don’t forget to vote!

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2013 / 12:18 AM

      Thanks, Trifecta! It is always nice when someone reads and finds a part that stands out from the rest.

  33. habibadanyal September 9, 2013 / 4:30 AM

    Nicely done! Now where is that vote button…. 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2013 / 9:17 PM

      Thanks, Habibadanyal – glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  34. Sean September 9, 2013 / 9:49 AM

    When I read this, I thought of being a parent and dangling their kids feet in the water as a baby to see the expression on their face. I did that with mine. Good tme, good times. thanks

    • jannatwrites September 9, 2013 / 9:18 PM

      I’m glad this brought back a pleasant memory for you, Sean. I like it when something I write does that!

  35. agjorgenson September 10, 2013 / 5:52 PM

    Ah, to stash aside reality for a day or so. I’m jealous!

    • jannatwrites September 11, 2013 / 6:38 PM

      It would be nice to stash away reality, wouldn’t it, Allen?

    • jannatwrites September 11, 2013 / 6:50 PM

      Thanks for reading, Tina! I hadn’t contemplated beyond this piece, but you’re right…something probably could come out of that 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

