Sticks and the Bees

08-21 Bee_Flower

You’re busy

As a bee,

Growing up

And

Away

From me.

Eleven years ago,

A babe in my arms,

I dreamed you’d

Always

Stick

By me.

08-21 Walking Stick~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Is that a chorus of groans I hear?  As I was looking at my photos for inspiration, I think thoughts of my older son slipped in.  You see, he recently turned eleven.

This birthday wasn’t as hard for me as last year (reaching double-digits was like a kick in the gut) but I still recognize that as each year passes, ‘Mom time’ will fade into ‘friend time.’  He still likes to hang with me…but there are more conditions.  Here’s the conversation we had on the first day of school:

Him:  “Mom, are you going to wait for the bus with me?”

Me:  “You still want me to?”

Him:  “Yeah.  But you can go away when the bus comes.”

Me:  “So you want to spend time with me, but don’t want anyone to see?”

Him: “Right.”

Me:  “Ah, okay.  I just wanted to make sure I understood.”

And there it is… a sure sign he is growing normally.  The way I figure, I have one year- two tops, before he begs me to just wait inside and makes me promise not to even walk by the window.

20 thoughts on “Sticks and the Bees

  1. vishalbheeroo August 21, 2013 / 6:13 AM

    cute. kids are so smart and wanan grow up. Lovely poem as usual:)

  2. philosophermouseofthehedge August 21, 2013 / 6:25 AM

    Yep, you’ve reached that point…when the carpool jumps out of the car a block from school and walks the last way(“If you’d only buy a new cool car!”)…when you kid scooches down in the seat so someone won’t see them riding with you….when they are appalled you will walk out of the house wearing that – those shoes (‘Just don’t get out of the car – promise.”)
    But you’re obviously doing it right. Good job!
    (and of course the poem and pixs are perfect)

    • jannatwrites August 21, 2013 / 9:13 PM

      I know those days are coming, Phil! I don’t think I look that bad, but I’m an “old lady” so what do I know 😛 Somehow I think that even if the car were cool, there’d be another reason to not be seen with me. Probably my hair. Yeah, my hair can be a bit crazy!

  3. nrhatch August 21, 2013 / 7:47 AM

    Love the conversation . . . I remember similar ones with my mom. 😀

    • jannatwrites August 21, 2013 / 9:16 PM

      Too funny. I don’t remember ever coming out and saying anything because I didn’t want to hurt her feelings, so I’d come up with something lame, like I wanted to walk the last block to [insert location] so I could get some exercise 🙂

  4. Imelda August 21, 2013 / 9:03 AM

    It seems like a mother is ready and not ready, no? It is bittersweet. I have a few more years to find out for myself.
    By the way, your bee photo is so dreamy. I love it. 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 21, 2013 / 9:24 PM

      You’ll enjoy those few years too, I’m sure, Imelda! I’m glad you enjoyed the bee photo. It is a little blurry, but I confess I’m afraid of bees…I was only able to capture it with a telephoto lens, and even then, I couldn’t make myself stay still so close to it!

  5. Debbie August 21, 2013 / 10:15 AM

    How well I remember those days! Yep, I’d say he’s right on schedule. Glad you’re trying to mentally prepare yourself for the next big steps — turning 13, I imagine, will really change things!

    • jannatwrites August 21, 2013 / 9:28 PM

      I cringed at the mention of “13”. I’m definitely not ready, but hope to be there in two years because it’s happening ‘ready or not’! Thanks for the scare, Debbie 🙂

  6. Catherine Johnson August 21, 2013 / 1:09 PM

    I’ve been thinking about this a lot since my boy is coming up 8. I really appreciate that he’ll still hold hands when we are in a busy place.

    • jannatwrites August 21, 2013 / 9:31 PM

      It’s odd, Catherine, but once in a while my older son will grasp my hand in public. It shocks me, but I don’t say a word because I want to keep hold of this remaining piece of his youth. My younger son is seven and a half and he holds my hand regularly. Boy, how hard it will be when my ‘baby’ grows up 🙂

  7. Carl D'Agostino August 21, 2013 / 3:08 PM

    I went through that stage with my father until I grew up in an epiphany and asked myself why was I ashamed to be seen with my dad. He’s the best dad I could have asked for.

    • jannatwrites August 21, 2013 / 9:32 PM

      And that was a sweet and mature realization, Carl. It’s so strange that we go through that phase…everyone has parents so why all the embarrassment?

    • jannatwrites August 23, 2013 / 10:57 AM

      Good question, Tina. I think maybe we wouldn’t be so sensitive to the truth because we would expect it.

  8. GodGirl August 23, 2013 / 2:54 AM

    My boys are still young (7 and 4) so they haven’t reached that stage yet – but I can imagine it’d be hard to adjust to. “Growing up and away from me” is a poignant line… But, like you say, you can be reassured he is growing normally. And he’ll always love his mum to bits (just not in front of all his friends necessarily ;-))

  9. Sandra August 28, 2013 / 10:04 AM

    Awww, what a bittersweet moment captured. At least you are sensible enough to know that it’s he growing normally. I may not be so level-headed myself when that time comes! Happy belated birthday to your firstborn!

    • jannatwrites August 29, 2013 / 10:41 PM

      Thanks, Sandra! He’s happy to be 11.

  10. pattisj September 2, 2013 / 9:53 PM

    Each year brings something new, doesn’t it?

Got an opinion? Share it!

