Too Much Of A Good Thing

I’m all for making myself conscious of the little moments each day so my eyes are opened to something I might have otherwise overlooked.  Lately, it seems I’ve lost that knack because bigger projects have rooted themselves and required a lot of my time.  I think being busy is good for a mind, but like everything else, it’s possible to have too much of a good thing.

Over the last few weeks, much spare time has been devoted to researching pellet burning stoves for heating our home and french horns, since that’s what my older son wants to play in band.  Overwhelmed, I shelved both projects more than once.  I know that procrastination isn’t a viable solution.  Too.  Many.  Decisions.

Thank goodness my younger son (remember “Pickles”?) isn’t shy about reminding me to pay attention.  We were walking outside and he yelled at me to “stop!”  I did.  He pointed to a caterpillar crossing our driveway.  When I looked closer, I noticed the little guy expanded and bunched up like an accordion as he moved.  See:

Why did the caterpillar cross the driveway?  Uh... I don't know, why?
Why did the caterpillar cross the driveway?   Uh… I don’t know, why?

In another recent rare moment of awareness, I caught sight of what would be a wonderful cloud picture.  Of course, I hadn’t brought my good camera with me- all I had was my cell phone.  I kept glancing at the sky and finally, snapped this photo, before my lack of concentration on my driving caused my demise:

The Arizona desert is enlightened...literally
The Arizona desert is enlightened…literally

It may not be professional quality, but I thought it was pretty good for being taken at 65mph with a cell phone camera 😛

As I sit here this early Sunday morning, with “to-dos” and ideas swirling in my head, I’m reminded of the importance of taking time to relax- to just “be.”  I’m hoping that spilling the words out in black and white will give me permission to do this.

I want to relax like that.  Sammy, can you help me find my inner cat?
I want to relax like that.   Sammy, can you help me find my inner cat?

I hope you have a beautiful (and relaxed) Sunday!

23 thoughts on “Too Much Of A Good Thing

  1. vishalbheeroo August 18, 2013 / 3:47 AM

    hey Jannat, proscrastination takes the hell of our life and we often fall in a situation of less time at hands.Amazing clicks:)

    • jannatwrites August 18, 2013 / 8:11 PM

      Procrastination is bad, bad, bad! I try not to fall prey to it, but it does happen, Vishal 🙂

  2. GodGirl August 18, 2013 / 4:26 AM

    I’ve neve seen a caterpillar do that – how amazing! Great shots, all of them.
    I too have been forgetting to stop, breathe and notice my surroundings. A great reminder to be mindful and alert to the little things (which actually are the big things).

    • jannatwrites August 18, 2013 / 8:12 PM

      That caterpillar was fascinating. I don’t believe I’ve ever looked that closely. You are so right, GodGirl – the little things are actually the big things!

  3. Catherine Johnson August 18, 2013 / 5:55 AM

    Wishing you a relaxing Sunday, Janna!

    • jannatwrites August 18, 2013 / 8:13 PM

      Thanks, Catherine! It was a nice Sunday, but I’ll be up later than I should doing chores 🙂

  4. nrhatch August 18, 2013 / 8:32 AM

    Here’s to finding your Inner Cat! Love that middle shot and the caterpillar accordion.

    Good luck finding the right pellet stove and French Horn. Maybe procrastination will open up the right door.

    • jannatwrites August 18, 2013 / 8:21 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! I didn’t discover my inner cat, but I did a fair amount of relaxing today.

      I ended up buying a French Horn online for less than the cost of half a year of rental. There are some scratches and a couple dents, but it seems okay. Decisions are made on the pellet stoves…just waiting on contractors now. Ugh!

  5. pattisj August 18, 2013 / 10:01 AM

    Sammy looks so comfy–truly taking a day of rest. That’s an excellent picture of the clouds/sky/desert. One has to love a camera that can do that when we’re doing all the things we shouldn’t do!

    • jannatwrites August 18, 2013 / 8:23 PM

      We joke around that we can’t figure out what the cats do to be so tired. They are lazy all the time! I’m glad you liked that photo, too, Patti. I’m bringing my camera with me from now ow (which will pretty much guarantee I won’t find another shot 🙂

  6. Debbie August 18, 2013 / 11:54 AM

    Sounds as if we’re living the same life, Janna — best of luck to you in learning to relax like a cat!

    • jannatwrites August 18, 2013 / 8:27 PM

      I think so, Debbie! I didn’t read your last post until after I scheduled this one to post, but I laughed because I could sure relate to it 🙂

  7. Widdershins August 18, 2013 / 1:38 PM

    One can never have too many of those sorts of good things!

    • jannatwrites August 18, 2013 / 8:28 PM

      Maybe, Widdershins. One can never have too much chocolate, either!

  8. Eric Alagan August 18, 2013 / 7:20 PM

    “Stop!” – love what your son said, Janna.

    I think all of us need that every so often.

    Oh, that light burst through the clouds – lovely.

    Have a great week ahead,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites August 18, 2013 / 8:30 PM

      Yes, a seven-year-old is pretty persuasive, Eric! I’m glad you liked that light/clouds photo. I’m still disappointed I didn’t have my good camera with me, but I carry it on that drive now in case another opportunity crops up.

    • jannatwrites August 19, 2013 / 10:02 PM

      I’m glad you liked the caterpillar – I was afraid it would make some squeamish. Thanks for stopping by, Phil!

  9. Diane Turner August 20, 2013 / 3:15 PM

    Great photos, especially love the caterpillar. Here’s to finding our respective inner cats. Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites August 20, 2013 / 11:52 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed the photos, Diane! Finding our inner cat isn’t as easy as it would seem. There always seems to be something to do!

  10. agjorgenson August 20, 2013 / 7:26 PM

    I always find it interesting that when I take time to pause, I am more effective in my busy times; and when i don’t I was time in busy-ness.

  11. Imelda August 21, 2013 / 9:08 AM

    Isn’t it the thing – there are too many ideas and things to do, they all get jumbled in the head, get confused, and as a result, nothing is done (at least for me). Your cloud photo is good. I like the beams of light cutting through the clouds.

    • jannatwrites August 21, 2013 / 9:26 PM

      I’ve been there, too, Imelda. Right now, there are just too many things to do and it all comes down to a bunch of have-to-dos by Friday. (Of course, Friday will pass and then a new set of to-dos and deadlines will arrive :))

Got an opinion? Share it!

