Anticipation

Thoughts cast forward,

In pursuit of future finds;

Eyes closed to the

Present moment in time.

*

Dreams are expectations-

Hope burning a dim glow,

To illuminate a path for

Seeking hearts to follow.

 08-14 Sulight through trees

Anticipation is interesting to me because it can either encourage us to wish our lives away, or it can give us hope in such a way that we recognize and appreciate “right now.”  It’s like the gray area of emotions- it is neither good nor bad, and it can be both good and bad at the same time.

What?

I’m sure I’m not the only one that has said, “I wish it were Friday,” because I was ready for a weekend sans work.  Or, “I can’t wait until we meet for lunch next week.”   Those wishes and hopes, if they came true, would spin the hands of time even faster than they already move.  With such forward focus, so many non-anticipated moments are barely glanced at or are overlooked entirely.

On the other hand, anticipation can also prompt us to savor the moment because we feel even better moments will follow.  This is like when I eat chocolate cream pie.  (Yes, it always comes back to chocolate.)  I don’t anticipate the whole pie- er, I mean slice to be gone, but I do anticipate each bite, eating slowly- letting the cocoa sweetness roll over my tongue.  I can linger on each one because I know more delectable moments are coming.

At this point, you either see my point, or you’ve determined that I’m out of my mind.  (Whether you see my point or not, that latter assessment may be spot-on!)

Have a beautiful Wednesday!

What kind of anticipation do you usually experience?

Am I the only one who wants chocolate cream pie now?

28 thoughts on “Anticipation

  1. vishalbheeroo August 14, 2013 / 5:59 AM

    This beautiful poem exactly translate my mind over expectations and hope in the dullness presently experienced:)

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2013 / 10:04 PM

      I’m glad you could relate to the ideas here, Vishal! Thanks for stopping by. I’ll visit your blog soon (I’m getting behind on my reading again :()

      • vishalbheeroo August 15, 2013 / 2:59 AM

        hey, take ur time and no worry et u better catch up..lol:)

        • jannatwrites August 15, 2013 / 11:34 PM

          Thanks, Vishal…I’m getting closer to caught up, but it’s only temporary!

  2. Eric Alagan August 14, 2013 / 6:17 AM

    I’m not really into chocolates – I’m into the raw stuff (wink!)

    I know, I know – cave man! – or simply, Men!

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2013 / 10:06 PM

      Ah, raw stuff…like carrots? Sushi?
      Only kidding…I catch your meaning, Eric. Thanks for the laugh 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2013 / 10:07 PM

      Thanks, Phil! Anticipation not rushed is quite lovely.

  3. Debbie August 14, 2013 / 8:21 AM

    The sad thing is so many folks spend so much time in anticipation that they fail to enjoy and appreciate the present! And now you’ve got me craving chocolate, Janna!

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2013 / 10:09 PM

      Sometimes I get caught in the future anticipation (which is why I wrote this.) It is kind of a reminder to me to dwell less on the upcoming and enjoy the now. Sorry to induce chocolate cravings, Debbie!

  4. suzicate August 14, 2013 / 9:25 AM

    I hadn’t even thought of chocolate cream pie, but now I want it, too…thanks a lot!

  5. Sean August 14, 2013 / 10:08 AM

    Nice poem Janna. I’ve had anticipation all this week due to me getting a new tool, yes, It’s a guy thing. It’s not that the tool that I already have is not adequate, it is that this new one is better. Plus I can sell my old one and make up some of the money. As for the Chocolate Cream Pie, I enjoy desserts but not a huge chocolate person. Now if banana’s were mixed in with the chocolate, that may be another story. Thanks for the poem and have a wonderful week. Make sure to get out and enjoy the fresh air.

    • Sean August 14, 2013 / 11:50 AM

      It could be the anticipation of wanting to get up and talk to the person across the room but not wanting to interfere or interrupt what is going on. Then wonder if it would have made a difference down the road.

      • jannatwrites August 14, 2013 / 10:14 PM

        Anticipating a new tool? That sounds like work to me! I hope it lives up to your expectations (and anticipation.)

        We are hoping to go for a hike on Sunday. It’s been several weeks since we’ve been out because of visitors, work around the house, etc. I love the hikes because I’m sure to get at least a couple pictures that I like 🙂

        • Sean August 15, 2013 / 10:32 AM

          Well it is work in some ways but making sawdust is always fun. Plus it’s a way to be creative.

        • jannatwrites August 15, 2013 / 11:35 PM

          Creative outlets are very necessary, Sean. Have fun with your new tool toy!

  6. nrhatch August 14, 2013 / 11:32 AM

    We don’t have any Chocolate Cream Pie . . . BUT we didn’t let that stop us.

    Last night we capped off the evening with ANTICIPATION ~> toasted waffle, spread with Nutella, topped with vanilla Haagen Daz, strawberries, and bananas!

    Definitely worth savoring the flavors.

    Anticipation tempered with Patience and Present Moment Orientation work for me. I do look forward to things ahead of time . . . but try not to wish my life away.

    I’m Patient and allow life to unfold on a moment by moment basis.

    I remind myself, Life is Stirred with a Slow Spoon. 😀

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2013 / 10:15 PM

      How fun – you made up your own dessert, Nancy! You’ve got a balanced view of anticipation. I like the stirring of life with a slow spoon…

  7. Catherine Johnson August 14, 2013 / 11:55 AM

    Great post! Chocolate is the perfect example.

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2013 / 10:17 PM

      I’m glad you could ‘feel’ the chocolate example. Thanks for reading, Catherine!

  8. pattisj August 14, 2013 / 9:00 PM

    No, you’ll have plenty of company helping eat that pie!

    • jannatwrites August 14, 2013 / 10:18 PM

      Uh-oh, Patti…I’m not very good at sharing chocolate…I’ll have to practice 🙂

  9. GodGirl August 16, 2013 / 3:30 AM

    Great thoughts… do we choose ‘mindfulness’ or instant gratification…? I find that when I’m feeling calm and at peace I tend to enjoy slowing down and savouring. But when I’m stressed I run for the chocolate and have to have it ‘now’. No mindfulness whatsoever. But I think choosing to stop, slow down and savour definitely can have the affect of making us calmer. And we appreciate things more when we do that.
    There is so much wisdom in waiting for the gift, and appreciating its value when it comes (she says, who just downed a whole chocolate bar…)

  10. Sandra August 16, 2013 / 2:43 PM

    I think sometimes anticipation is better than the real thing–it happens a lot for me in terms of food, actually. Cuz I bet my current anticipation for chocolate pie is dreamier than if I were actually eating it. Maybe I’m just afraid of being let down? I dunno. Food for thought. 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 16, 2013 / 11:23 PM

      Sometimes the real thing is a let down. With food, my slowing metabolism has made me stop and ask, “do I love this?” If not, I just don’t eat it. Food for thought? Was the pun intended? 😛

  11. Imelda August 17, 2013 / 3:51 PM

    Beautiful photo and words, Janna. 🙂 I anticipate the next piece of delicious gooey chocolate cake (especially one I don’t have to make.) 🙂

    • jannatwrites August 17, 2013 / 11:57 PM

      😀 Imelda, it’s a fact that chocolate cake (and pretty much anything) tastes better if you don’t have to make it!

Got an opinion? Share it!

