Another Point of View

What I see,

I see every day.

It is what it is,

It refuses to change.

A look askew, a twisted view,

And it’s not the same.

The shift is in me-

I’ve observed another way.

07-23 Arizona Tree

Although I moved from the hot desert of Phoenix a few months ago to the cooler pines, I can’t escape the fact that Arizona is in a drought.  The vegetation is in varying states of not-quite-dead.  I’ve taken many photos of struggling trees, usually from afar, and often because the shapes of the branches are interesting.

This time, I decided to take the picture from under the tree. I literally bent over backwards to snap the photo.  I faced away from the tree and leaned back, with my head near the trunk (I didn’t rest it on the trunk because with my curly hair, I’d be picking bark out of it for a year!)

Another point of view allowed me to appreciate the curved and twisted branches in a new way.  The shift in focus in how I saw the tree rewarded me with a perspective that had previously gone unnoticed.

Now that I think about it, another point of view is something I need to consciously practice in daily life.  How often I have allowed myself to get worked up over something (or someone) I could not change.  Focusing on calming my reaction instead of stewing over a situation I cannot change would save me much aggravation.

If only it were as easy as tilting my head to the side or leaning over backwards!

38 thoughts on “Another Point of View

  1. Michael July 24, 2013 / 6:08 AM

    That’s a very profound thought for a Wednesday morning. 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 24, 2013 / 10:17 PM

      Thanks for reading, Michael. I thought of it on Tuesday night 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 24, 2013 / 10:18 PM

      Thanks for stopping by to check out this post, Sfox. I’ll be by to check out your site in the next few days (seems I’m always a few days behind!)

  2. nrhatch July 24, 2013 / 6:20 AM

    That’s using your noggin. 😉

    • jannatwrites July 24, 2013 / 10:20 PM

      😛 I’m lucky I didn’t throw my back out, Nancy!

  3. largerthanlifeblog July 24, 2013 / 8:29 AM

    This post is indeed intriguing, perhaps because I often get stuck by interesting shapes of trees, branches or simply logs. This May, I luckily found a few interesting ones while in Maine. You have beautifully captured this one. For me, the tree quite resembles ginger and its roots. Enjoyed the post 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 24, 2013 / 10:22 PM

      Now that you mention it, I see it does have a ginger look to it! I’m glad I’m not the only one interested by trees and their shapes. (My husband sometimes gets frustrated when I lag too far behind on hikes because I’m looking for just the right angle for a photo 🙂 Thanks for reading, LTL!

  4. yarnspinnerr July 24, 2013 / 8:50 AM

    How often I have allowed myself to get worked up over something (or someone) I could not change.

    It is such a familiar situation.

    Lovely post.

    • jannatwrites July 24, 2013 / 10:24 PM

      I’m glad you could relate to that, Yarnspinnerr 🙂

  5. Sean July 24, 2013 / 9:44 AM

    I think most of us have that same thought of looking at things from a different perspective. It is hard to do in some circumstances and very necessary to do in others. I find myself struggling at times with this especially when I do not want to look at things differently. then I usually get knocked up side the head to make me see a different perspective and the light then goes off to what is being seen. Thanks for the words, they are encouraging. I thought about taking a picture similar to that of a corn stalk to make it look larger than what it is. Thanks

    • jannatwrites July 24, 2013 / 10:26 PM

      That corn stalk picture sounds cool. I think you should do it! (I did one with a Saguaro cactus a couple years ago…I can’t find the photo now. It’s probably on one of my back up drives.)

      I’m glad you found my words encouraging, Sean. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts!

    • jannatwrites July 24, 2013 / 10:27 PM

      Thanks, SuziCate! I stopped short of laying on the ground to get the shot…too many ants!

  6. pattisj July 24, 2013 / 11:38 AM

    If I try that, will you help me get my neck back in alignment? Your thoughts and the photo prove what a difference can be made when we pause and reflect.

    • jannatwrites July 24, 2013 / 10:41 PM

      No kidding, right? I’m surprised I didn’t wrench by back, Patti. I like going through my pictures to see if they inspire any words – I appreciate you stopping by to read them 🙂

  7. Carol Ann Hoel July 24, 2013 / 1:48 PM

    Way to go! A slightly different perspective can change a frame of mind. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites July 24, 2013 / 10:42 PM

      It sure can, Carol Ann 🙂 So glad you stopped by today!

  8. diannegray July 24, 2013 / 2:42 PM

    It’s always a good thing to change perspective. Lovely picture! 😀

    • jannatwrites July 24, 2013 / 10:42 PM

      Thanks, Dianne! Perspective change can be the difference between peace and unrest.

  9. Widdershins July 24, 2013 / 4:10 PM

    Way to change your perspective by changing your perspective!

    • jannatwrites July 24, 2013 / 10:44 PM

      That’s right, Widdershins! Sometimes that’s all it takes to turn things around.

  10. Catherine Johnson July 24, 2013 / 5:16 PM

    Here, here and pic!

    • jannatwrites July 24, 2013 / 10:45 PM

      I’m glad you stopped by to check out this post, Catherine!

  11. Debbie July 25, 2013 / 4:42 PM

    Fascinating suggestion, Janna. I sympathize with your drought. Illinois had that last year, and it was terrible — huge cracks in our lawn, parched trees and shrubs, practically nonexistent flowers, and constant worry over whether our farmers would have crops so we all could eat!

    • jannatwrites July 26, 2013 / 12:50 PM

      I can’t remember when Arizona hasn’t been in a drought, but I hope your area is recovering, Debbie. The problem when we get rain is that it comes in short downpours. The ground is so dry from lack of rain, that the water doesn’t soak in and flash floods are pretty common. Gotta watch those low-lying areas!

  12. GodGirl July 26, 2013 / 5:30 AM

    I love the rhythm of the poem, Janna, and the words ‘the shift is in me’. So often we struggle to change circumstances rather than looking at how our response could be different. I’ve been doing my fair share of ‘stewing’ over a problem this week, and I really feel liberated by the idea that I have a choice in how I see things (regardless of the circumstances).

    • jannatwrites July 26, 2013 / 12:51 PM

      GodGirl, it often takes a period of time of me beating my head against a wall before I look at things differently. I suppose that’s fairly normal, right? I hope you are able to work around your problem by looking at it differently.

  13. coyotero2112 July 26, 2013 / 8:35 AM

    This is what I keep telling the wife…if she doesn’t come away from a photo session dirty or disheveled, she didn’t get a unique view of her subject. Her new Nikon has a viewer that extends in nearly every direction, so now she can shoot sand, shells, waves, etc. without getting down in the sand. She’s pretty darn proud of herself, getting around the grubbing for a photo aspect of her work.
    Later…

    • jannatwrites July 26, 2013 / 12:54 PM

      Sounds like a nice camera lens Coyotero! We do have to look at things differently to get a new perspective and photography is a good lesson in that. Applying it to other areas is the real challenge. Even harder than picking bark out of curly hair 🙂

  14. agjorgenson July 26, 2013 / 6:38 PM

    Lovely photo, fitting words, and a rich bit of prose to boot! Many thanks.

    • jannatwrites July 27, 2013 / 11:03 PM

      You are very kind, Allen. Thank you for taking time to read it!

  15. pattyabr July 29, 2013 / 9:09 PM

    what a great poem and point of view. your poem brought a perspective to my life greatly needed. thanks. As I have mentioned before we had a very old tree that we took down this year. We now have a new tree in its place that is so small in comparison. The perspective of our garden and yard has changed in the absence of that large tree.

    • jannatwrites July 29, 2013 / 11:48 PM

      I’m sure it is hard to accept a tiny tree in place of the mature one that was there. It is pretty cool to watch a tree grow, though. I like to take pictures of it when we first plant and then years later, marvel at how much it’s grown. I hope yours roots well and grows into its space, Patty.

  16. Eric Alagan July 29, 2013 / 11:09 PM

    Yes, there are always two sides and more to most things.
    Peace,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites July 29, 2013 / 11:54 PM

      Yep…at least two sides, Eric. All we have to do is choose to see what is not in front of our faces.

  17. Sandra July 31, 2013 / 9:42 PM

    Yes, it’s all about perspective, isn’t it? I tell myself that during certain difficult times, namely when I’m frustration and angry at the kids about something (probably not that serious) and think about when they were sick or hurt or in the ER, and then the madness in me just all magically implodes, almost as easily as exhaling. I don’t remember to do it all the time, but some is better than none. I love the look of the tree from so up close and upward. It’s not a common way to look at one. And this one definitely seems like it needs some water!

    • jannatwrites August 1, 2013 / 4:53 PM

      When we’re frustrated, that’s the hardest time to think of trying a new perspective. I’m with you there. The kiddos have a knack for getting me to that point, too! (That means they are doing their jobs well.)

      Thanks for reading, Sandra!

Got an opinion? Share it!

