Rudbeckia Hirta

2013 06-11 Flower2

Betty?

Susan?

Oh, please forgive me.

Are your eyes black?

Or brown?

Such beauty confounds me.

Yellow daisy?

Petite sunflower?

Ah, you are of that family.

Rudbeckia hirta?

That’s your name?

It does not seem fitting.

You exude happy,

More than that name allows-

May I just call you “Pretty”?

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

I’ve always stumbled over the “proper” name for the pretty yellow flowers with the dark centers.  To me, they look like tiny sunflowers, but I was curious if they were really Black-eyed Susans or Brown-eyed Susans.  I learned that the “proper” name is rudbeckia hirta.  And with that, this silly poem was born.

I hope it made you smile (as this flower with many aliases makes me smile.)  Have a beautiful Wednesday!

28 thoughts on “Rudbeckia Hirta

  1. nrhatch July 17, 2013 / 5:30 AM

    Fun poem, Janna. Yellow flowers are my favorite . . . so cheery. 😀

  2. Eric Alagan July 17, 2013 / 5:48 AM

    Pretty works – pretty is good – pretty is pretty 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 17, 2013 / 11:56 PM

      🙂 That’s the spirit, Eric! Thanks so much for reading. (I’m behind on reading, but I promise I’ll be by soon to catch up on your posts.)

  3. vishalbheeroo July 17, 2013 / 6:31 AM

    pretty poem for a pretty flower by a pretty lady, Jannat:)

  4. suzicate July 17, 2013 / 9:11 AM

    My favorite flower! I have lots of these and coneflowers planted in my gardens.

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2013 / 12:00 AM

      I bet your yard is a beautiful place, Suzicate!

  5. Carol Ann Hoel July 17, 2013 / 9:51 AM

    Yes, it made me smile, as does the Black-eyed Susan, also known as Rudbeckia hirta. I wonder if I’ll remember that name. I’m terrible at remembering names, but Black-eyed Susan stuck with me all through the years. Rudbeckia hirta. Hm. Blessings to you, Janna…

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2013 / 12:02 AM

      Smiles were what I hoped for today, Carol Ann! It was fun to be silly with poetry in this post. I’m glad you took time to share your thoughts…don’t worry, I don’t know that I’ll remember the proper name, either 🙂

  6. Diane Turner July 17, 2013 / 11:12 AM

    It’s bleak and cold this morning, but your poem and photo brightened my day. Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2013 / 12:03 AM

      I’m so glad, Diane! I hope things will warm up a bit, soon.

  7. Debbie July 17, 2013 / 12:18 PM

    We’ve got some of these in our yard and never knew what to call them, either. I’m with you — calling them “pretty” just makes a lot of sense!

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2013 / 12:04 AM

      I’m all for keeping it simple, Debbie. I was fascinated by all the names this flower has.

  8. pattyabr July 17, 2013 / 5:27 PM

    Love the poem my sentiments exactly

    • jannatwrites July 18, 2013 / 12:05 AM

      Thanks, Patty! I’m glad you enjoyed the poem (sometimes it’s fun to be silly.)

  9. pattisj July 17, 2013 / 10:08 PM

    Each one is like a little sunshine. My neighbor called them brown-eyed susans, I’d never heard that before. Only the black-eyed ones, and mine have brown.

  10. jannatwrites July 18, 2013 / 12:16 AM

    I love how you worded that, Patti – they are like sunshine!

  11. Kallan Annie July 18, 2013 / 6:56 PM

    You call the poem silly, I call it delightful! What a treat to read–I’m still smiling. And thanks for the proper introduction to these pretty flowers. I had no idea they were called rudbeckia hirta. 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 20, 2013 / 10:00 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed the poem, Kallan Annie. It was a fun, light-hearted one to write 🙂

  12. Imelda July 22, 2013 / 12:07 PM

    Nice poem, Janna. I agree with you – Pretty will be perfect for her.

    • jannatwrites July 22, 2013 / 9:03 PM

      Rudbeckia Hirta has many admirers, it seems. Thanks for stopping by, Imelda!

  13. Sandra July 22, 2013 / 9:04 PM

    The Lovely Imelda shared this poem on her blog FB page, so I came over and read it earlier today! Cute poem, and I agree with the name you settled on. 🙂

  14. jannatwrites July 22, 2013 / 9:08 PM

    Really?! I can’t believe it – I’m honored. Imelda is such a talented photographer/writer. Thanks for sharing your comment, Sandra. It made me smile 😛

Got an opinion? Share it!

