Meandering Around Mount Vernon

Main house at Mount Vernon
Main house at Mount Vernon

George Washington had a beautiful plantation estate right by the Potomac River.  The views were amazing.  Maybe I’m weird (well okay, I know I am) but as I stood overlooking the river, I wondered if the views changed much since Washington’s time.  Was I looking at any of the trees that were rooted in Washington’s time?

Washington interested me because he had a vision for this country and led men into battle to fight for that vision.  Rallying against mighty England for freedom took courage.  I look at the leaders of today, and I wonder how many possess that kind of courage.  These original leaders weren’t in it for money, prestige, or power.  (My, how things have changed :))

Of course George Washington is one of the founders of the USA.  While looking at the Washington Monument, one of my sons said, “I don’t get why it’s called the Washington Monument.  It doesn’t look like him at all.”  True, I’m sure his head wasn’t that pointy.  No, I didn’t say that.  I had to tell him a phrase I use often:  “I don’t know.”

Kitchen with all the amenities of the day
Kitchen with all the amenities of the day
This view is enough to make one forget there is no microwave in that kitchen :)
This view is enough to make one forget there is no microwave in that kitchen 🙂

What do you think is most notable about George Washington or Mount Vernon?

26 thoughts on “Meandering Around Mount Vernon

  1. philosophermouseofthehedge July 10, 2013 / 4:51 PM

    Bet much of the basic view is the same. It looks like a pleasant haven. A place for meditation and inspiration.
    Brave men. How many now would be willing to risk all? Have a price on their head. Know nothing is certain, with failure meaning certain death. Willing to stand for idea of a more perfect nation. Currently there’s lots of speeches, lots of blustering, and self serving drama – how much truth and courage? Where are out statesmen?
    Maybe some field trips could remind them?
    Your son makes such observations. (It reaches for the skies like Washington did?)
    Really enjoying tagging along

    • jannatwrites July 12, 2013 / 12:26 AM

      I’m so glad you are following along with the presidential posts, Phil. It’s a bit of a departure from my norm, but I thought it would be a fun way to post about our vacation.

      When we were at Mount Vernon, they showed a short movie before the house tour and it portrayed Washington as brave and strong, at a point in the war where others considered giving up.

  2. Eric Alagan July 10, 2013 / 5:09 PM

    Thank you for that shot of the kitchen. So, that’s how they really lived (though it is all spruced up a bit, I’m sure)

    • jannatwrites July 12, 2013 / 12:28 AM

      I’m guessing this kitchen was probably better than the average kitchen. I couldn’t imagine not having a refrigerator…or even running water! Thanks for reading, Eric.

    • jannatwrites July 12, 2013 / 12:29 AM

      Thanks, Busy Girl Health! Mount Vernon is a beautiful place 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 12, 2013 / 12:29 AM

      I’ve read most of her books but hadn’t heard of this one. Thanks for the info, Nancy!

  3. Colline July 11, 2013 / 7:41 AM

    Those old kitchens always amaze me. I do prefer my more modern one 🙂

    • jannatwrites July 12, 2013 / 12:31 AM

      I like the modern kitchens, too, Colline! Sometimes technology is a pain, but sometimes it’s a huge benefit.

      • Colline July 12, 2013 / 4:42 AM

        It has certainly made cooking easier!

    • jannatwrites July 12, 2013 / 12:32 AM

      Thanks so much for stopping by, Newwhitebear!

  4. diannegray July 11, 2013 / 1:17 PM

    Wonderful pics here, Janna. That kitchen is looking far more modern than mine at the moment 😉

    • jannatwrites July 12, 2013 / 12:32 AM

      Oh, that doesn’t sound good, Dianne! I hope you’ll share pictures when it is modernized 🙂

  5. Carl D'Agostino July 11, 2013 / 5:24 PM

    Reading his letters gives such an insight as to the sophistication of the man.

    • jannatwrites July 12, 2013 / 12:33 AM

      He does seem to be a good man, Carl. Thanks for checking out this post!

  6. xsajid July 12, 2013 / 10:49 PM

    this iz called real living ..awesome ..(y)

    • jannatwrites July 13, 2013 / 12:07 PM

      I could definitely handle living with that view, Xsajid 🙂

      • xsajid July 13, 2013 / 5:05 PM

        same here ..:)

  7. Diane Turner July 15, 2013 / 7:32 PM

    We were there in March and had a fabulous experience. I was amazed particularly at the underground tunnel. Your photos are wonderful. Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites July 16, 2013 / 12:23 AM

      Thanks for checking out this post, Diane! I’m glad you got to visit- it looks eve prettier in person 🙂

  8. pattyabr July 17, 2013 / 5:50 PM

    I just love the grounds of Mt Vernon. When we lived in DC for a year I bet we visited there 5-6 times.

    • jannatwrites July 17, 2013 / 11:04 PM

      How fun! If I didn’t live across the country, I’d visit often, too. I don’t know that you can really experience it all in one trip, anyway.

Got an opinion? Share it!

