Presidential Life – Lincoln

When we went to Washington DC last month, we visited and toured the homes of 3 early US presidents:  Lincoln’s Cottage (Abraham Lincoln), Mount Vernon (George Washington), and Monticello (Thomas Jefferson.)  Unfortunately all of the places prohibited photos inside the main living quarters, but I do have some photos of the grounds I can share.

I’m going to do something different.  I will break this down into three posts, and I will publish one a day for the next few days.  Don’t worry- the daily posting is only for this week, for this series.  I will go back to my 3 or 4 posts a week after that!

Lincoln's Cottage (on right) on campus of Soldier's Home
Lincoln’s Cottage (on right) on campus of Soldier’s Home

Lincoln’s Cottage was the most modest of the three residences.  It was a smaller building on the campus of the Soldier’s Home, which houses retired soldiers even now.  To me, Abraham Lincoln is a fascinating president because of the incredible challenges he faced.  The Civil War had all the makings to divide a country, but he was determined to keep the union, well, united.  During the tour, the guide pointed out an interesting fact:  even staying away from Washington, in the cottage, he never could really get away from the presidency.  From one view of the house, he saw the capitol building, and from the view on the other side, he had clear sight of Arlington Cemetery and all the bodies being buried there – as many as thirty a day.

Lincoln did not  have a cushy run as president – he was in a no-win situation.  Whether he supported or opposed slavery, one side would despise him.  He acted how he felt was fair and honest, and he paid the price for it:  Lincoln was the first president to be assassinated.

Lincoln:  Remembered true to life (statue was made to reflect his actual height)
Lincoln: Remembered true to life (statue was made to reflect his actual height)
Lincoln remembered larger than life.  Lincoln Memorial is huge!
Lincoln remembered larger than life. Lincoln Memorial is huge!

A few of my favorite quotes by “Wise Lincoln”:

A house divided against itself cannot stand.

Am I not destroying my enemies when I make friends of them?

Fourscore and seven years ago our fathers brought forth on this continent, a new nation, conceived in Liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal.

A few of my favorite “Humorous Lincoln” quotes:

If I were two-faced, would I be wearing this one?

Marriage is neither heaven nor hell, it is simply purgatory.

I don’t like that man.  I must get to know him better.

What are your thoughts about Lincoln?  Do you have a favorite quote? 

15 thoughts on “Presidential Life – Lincoln

  1. Eric Alagan July 10, 2013 / 2:31 AM

    Thank you, Janna

    For this snippet on Lincoln and the photos.

    Peace,
    Eric

  2. vishalbheeroo July 10, 2013 / 2:38 AM

    love teh quotes and he was a quite a looker during his times..nice post..the quotes are indeed powerful:)

  3. Sean July 10, 2013 / 8:47 AM

    I think I visited that site when I was stationed there back many moons ago but can’t remember now. I think it is an age thing. The quote Four score and seven years ago has I typo in it. It should be to instead of go. I look forward to the next posts of your history trip. As I get older, I am getting more interested in history and how it has brought about this nation and also how it has slowly destroyed it. Thanks for the post.

    • jannatwrites July 12, 2013 / 12:20 AM

      Uh-oh…loss of memory…you’re definitely getting old, Sean 🙂 Thanks for the heads up on the typo. Between the “n” sticking on my keyboard, and a cut on my index finger, my already poor typing skills have suffered 🙂 It’s sad when we look at the conviction of the founding fathers and their ideals for the country and compare it to what it is right now.

  4. philosophermouseofthehedge July 10, 2013 / 10:58 AM

    More people should follow that last quote of his.
    You saw some really neat stuff on your trip – thanks for sharing

    • jannatwrites July 12, 2013 / 12:21 AM

      Maybe if we got to know people more we would find they weren’t enemies at all. We did see a lot, but there is much we missed. Eight days isn’t nearly enough to see it all, Phil.

  5. diannegray July 10, 2013 / 11:45 AM

    My favourite quote is “Am I not destroying my enemies when I make friends of them?” What a truly amazing man…

    • jannatwrites July 12, 2013 / 12:22 AM

      He was quite interesting, Dianne. I do not envy his position and responsibilities at all.

  6. nrhatch July 10, 2013 / 6:50 PM

    Wonderful post. We enjoyed the movie Lincoln, starring Daniel Day Lewis and Sally Field. It brought home to us just how challenging his presidency must have been.

    • jannatwrites July 12, 2013 / 12:23 AM

      I want to see that movie, too, Nancy. I’ve heard wonderful things about it.

  7. pattisj July 17, 2013 / 12:08 AM

    Presidents did seem larger than life back then.

    • jannatwrites July 17, 2013 / 10:57 PM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks so, Patti!

Got an opinion? Share it!

