A Moment’s Notice

06-26 Sunset1

A moment is

a breath,

a heartbeat-

a moment waits for  no one.

A moment slips

through fingers,

fades away-

Another moment takes its place

06-26 Sunset2

A couple nights ago, my older son told me about this “really awesome sunset” (his words, not mine.)  He doesn’t normally admire sunsets, so I figured I’d better check it out.  I agreed it was pretty, so I ran inside (yes, I actually ran,) put on slippers, and grabbed my camera.  I snapped the first photo right when I got outside.  The second photo was taken after several minutes of unsuccessfully searching for higher ground.  The sun had already dropped below the horizon.  A moment waits for no one…no matter how pretty the sunset.

*****

Speaking of photos, I’m still sifting through 629 photos from our Washington DC trip, so I’ll post on that soon.  Thank goodness we are in the digital age – that would have been 26.2 rolls of 35mm film,  I would’ve had to buy another carry-on bag just to get it home!  In the meantime, here’s a funny vacation story about names, kids and GPS navigation:

During our vacation to Washington DC, we used GPS quite a bit.  The woman was quite bossy and had to recalculate often (apparently, hubby listens to her about as well as he does me :razz:)

Periodically, we heard the boys break out in laughter, the giddy kind that comes from being over-tired.  After a couple days of this, I finally asked them what was so funny.

When my older son caught his breath, he explained that the GPS lady said a bad word.  Brace yourself for this…here’s a peek into the minds of my children:

What the GPS lady said:  Turn right on Harry S. Truman Dr.

What the kids heard:  Turn right on Hairy A$$ Truman Dr.

Why, oh why, did Harry Truman have to use his middle name?

(Out of curiosity, I researched Truman’s middle name.  I had no idea that the “S” didn’t stand for a name – his middle name was just “S”, in honor of both grandfathers (one with the first name of Solomon, and the other with the last name of Shippe.))

It was a test of my parental strength to not give in and laugh with them whenever the GPS directed us to turn onto that street.  But the damage is already done.  I’ve been ruined.  I may forever think of our 33rd President as “Hairy.”

Sigh.

SuziCate (at The Water Witch’s Daughter) recently got a laugh, compliments of voice commands.  Have you had a funny (or frustrating) encounter with technology?  If so, please tell about it in a comment. 

We can never laugh too much 🙂 Have a beautiful Wednesday!

30 thoughts on “A Moment’s Notice

  1. Eric Alagan June 26, 2013 / 4:37 AM

    That captivated me, Janna dear – the way you spoke re “moment” – made me think. I simply love it when people make me think – I don’t mean the “I found god” type of stuff – but really make me think. You did it today with this post and I thank you.

    Peace,
    Eric
    P/s Oh, please say thanks to your boy too, if you don’t mind 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2013 / 12:51 AM

      Thank you for your kind comment, Eric. I am glad this made you think (I’m surprised, but pleased by that :))

  2. GodGirl June 26, 2013 / 4:38 AM

    This is funny, Janna! 🙂 Glad your kids took a moment to laugh, and you took the opportunity to capture that beautiful sunset with your son… I really like the poem. Kids often push us to live in the moment don’t they.

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2013 / 12:53 AM

      Kids do have a way of getting us to live in the moment, GodGirl. Maybe because that’s how they roll and once in a while we take their hands and enjoy the ride.

  3. SuziCate June 26, 2013 / 5:34 AM

    Gorgeous sunset!
    Funny what your son heard! You don’t even want to know some of the lyrics I’ve sang for years to find out they are totally wrong!

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2013 / 12:54 AM

      Thanks, SuziCate! Oh, I can relate to the wrong lyrics…this happens to me often 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2013 / 12:55 AM

      Thanks for taking a moment to check out this post, Vishal!

  4. nrhatch June 26, 2013 / 7:29 AM

    Wonderful sunset, Janna.

    Being in the digital age increases the number of snapshots we take . . . in a (futile) effort to hang on to special moments before the next moment shoves it aside and takes its place.

    “America loves you . . . Hairy A$$ Truman!” :mrgreen:

    Hope that you will share some of the best snaps from D.C. We’ll let you pick and choose which pics to share.

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2013 / 1:01 AM

      Thanks, Nancy! Another great thing about the digital age is that you can find out immediately if the picture is horrible. Nothing like picking up pics from the one-hour photo only to find your finger ended up in half the pictures!

      I’m glad you stopped by to have a laugh with me. I will certainly do a few DC posts. Some of my nature type pictures will sneak in on other posts as well. I’ll work on picture selection this weekend.

  5. Debbie June 26, 2013 / 10:22 AM

    I love your sunset photos, Janna, and I know just how hard it is to get good ones! Some towns are like that — blink, and you’ve missed them!
    Your boys’ comment about the GPS lady was spot on, too. “Lola,” that’s the name Domer tagged ours with, is also quite bossy and invariably leads us way out of the way (kind of like those Irish cabbies, ha!)

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2013 / 1:03 AM

      I’ve checked every night since this photo and the sunsets haven’t been as colorful. Lola – I like that name. Maybe she was trained by Irish cabbies? It’s a conspiracy 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to enjoy the sunset and a laugh at GPS’ expense.

  6. Widdershins June 26, 2013 / 12:41 PM

    I love how kids can deflate the ego of most technology!

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2013 / 1:06 AM

      Yeah, the lady tries to enunciate and she still can’t win 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Widdershins. I’m so far behind, I’ve got at least a couple of your posts I haven’t read yet…I’ll get to them – I promise!

  7. Tessa June 26, 2013 / 1:07 PM

    Great sunset pics as always. And I love the GPS story. I would like to throw mine out the window on many occasions. I think I am turning where it said, but then it announces “re-calculating” and so I go with the flow. It is only me and I obviously don’t read that thing right because I get lots of re-calculatings. 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2013 / 1:09 AM

      Haha, ours recalculates a lot, too, Tessa! I had to cover the speaker while we were on the Bay Bridge in MD because it kept telling us to turn around the whole time we were on the bridge. She was fine with our route once we were on land again, so we think she didn’t like the side of the bridge we were on. So strange.

  8. pattisj June 26, 2013 / 1:53 PM

    Sunsets don’t last long at all, glad you captured this one–and that your son noticed!
    Too funny about the GPS. I imagine everyone who has used GPS has either a funny or frustrating story. We were trying to find a Starbucks on a road trip. One of the places she took us was a field! We call “the other woman who nags my husband” Jane. My iPhone has Siri, but she and Jane must be twins, because they sound identical.
    I’m so glad to have digital photography.

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2013 / 1:13 AM

      A field – that’s pretty funny. On more than one occasion, our GPS has taken us to a residential neighborhood. I San Francisco a couple years ago, we were looking for a Safeway grocery store. We were puzzled when we arrived at our destination only to find it was a house. We back-tracked to the main road, where we found the Safeway. We were looking for a restaurant in the Rehoboth Beach area and it did the same thing- we ended up at someone’s house.

      I’ve heard that Siri and Jane are sisters, Patti 🙂

  9. diannegray June 26, 2013 / 2:54 PM

    I love the Hairy A$$ joke, Janna – this is something my kids would pick up on as well. I don’t have a misunderstanding of words in the tech world, but when we were driving here (3,500 kms) at Christmas time our GPS lady kept giving us directions that we would ignore. After about 10 hours driving she refused to speak! It was almost as if she got cranky with us and just shut up completely. When we eventually followed the directions on the screen, she started talking again – it was weird! 😀

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2013 / 1:15 AM

      For some reason, the kiddos are tuned in to ‘bad’ words, Dianne! That’s funny that your GPS got an attitude and gave you the silent treatment. My husband and I have joked that it would be funny if the GPS talked back to us when we ignored her directions. (If we didn’t turn and she had to keep recalculating, she would say, “I said, make a right turn, you idiot!”) That would get our attention for sure!

      • diannegray June 27, 2013 / 2:14 PM

        LOL – someone should invent something like that 😀

        • jannatwrites June 27, 2013 / 11:29 PM

          Maybe some programmer with a wicked sense of humor will do it 🙂

  10. Lance June 27, 2013 / 1:30 PM

    I know I have a long way to go but recognizing the “moments” when my kids and or wife discover something, teach me something, or share something meaningful with me, I document it.

    If that passes for maturity, then so be it.

    I’m glad I have a writing friend like you that does the same thing. You’re a good mom.

    • jannatwrites June 27, 2013 / 11:28 PM

      Well, some days are better than others for recognizing moments. There are times I’ve been too busy with something to go see what they want me to look at. Later, I tell myself that I should’ve stopped. We’re all works in progress.

  11. Sandra June 28, 2013 / 5:42 PM

    I’ve done this, too, Janna, where I’ve seen a beautiful sunset, and I keep walking to find a better view to capture it, and by then, it was too late. I guess sometimes these moments need to be enjoyed just by our eyes rather than on film or camera. And now I’ll never forget Truman’s middle name, or that he’s hairy. Thanks for the laugh!

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2013 / 7:01 AM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who has missed sunsets this way. You’d think I’d learn 🙂 You may have a point about needing to just enjoy them with our eyes sometimes

  12. pattyabr June 28, 2013 / 9:24 PM

    I was frustrated at Siri on my IPhone after three times I said “call home” and Siri couldn’t understand it. I cussed at Siri and she repeated my cuss word and said “would you like me to search for it?”

    • jannatwrites June 30, 2013 / 7:12 AM

      This cracked me up, Patty! I’d be ready to toss the phone out the window by then. Thanks for sharing you’re frustrating experience 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

