Art of Anticipation

Being able to observe our surroundings and anticipate its effect on us is a useful- even life-saving skill.  We do it every day without even thinking about it.  Our kids chase a ball toward the street and then we spot a car coming and tell the child to stop.  A stranger lingers outside the store observing shoppers and we don’t exit alone.  We know that when there is a mud puddle, our boys will stomp in it.  If there is chocolate in the house, I will eat it.  All of it.  Well, you get the idea!

Generally, my ability to anticipate is pretty keen, but the next few pictures are evidence that I have room for improvement 😛

Photo taken of waterfall from underneath the Natural Bridge (AZ)
Photo taken of waterfall from underneath the Natural Bridge (AZ)
Photo taken of waterfall from underneath the Natural Bridge (AZ) after a little breeze
Photo taken of waterfall from underneath the Natural Bridge (AZ) after a little breeze
Photo taken of waterfall from underneath the Natural Bridge (AZ) after the breeze gains strength...right before I stuffed the camera under my shirt and hunched over to keep it dry!
Photo taken of waterfall from underneath the Natural Bridge (AZ) after the breeze gains strength…right before I stuffed the camera under my shirt and hunched over to keep it dry!

To quote Nancy at SLTW, “Ah….that’s better!”

It’s going to be sunny and hot today, so I’m hoping the power of suggestion and the memory of being sprinkled with unexpectedly cold water will help.  Being one to look on the bright side (no pun intended); if I still lived in Phoenix I could expect 110 degrees.  Since our move a little north, we are blessed with a forecast in the mid-nineties.  We are even luckier to be heading to Washington DC tomorrow, where they are expecting temps in the eighties – and chances of rain!  Rain….I hope it rains – we don’t see much of that here in Arizona.  I’m even bringing my umbrella that has seen only sunshine since my visit to New Orleans in February 2012.  I know, this means it definitely won’t rain now.  Maybe someone will wash their car to counteract my preparation?

Monday is normally when I post a new segment to Darlene’s Story for the Trifecta writing challenge.  If you stopped by looking for that, I’m sorry to disappoint!  This week is a Community Judged week for the responses and I didn’t feel right posting a response when I know I probably won’t get to read much.  I’ll continue the story in two weeks, when I’m back and settled from vacation!

Have a beautiful day!

25 thoughts on “Art of Anticipation

  1. suzicate June 10, 2013 / 9:40 AM

    Sometimes those surprise splashes re welcomed! Glad you saved the camera.

    • jannatwrites June 10, 2013 / 8:20 PM

      I’m glad the camera survived, too, SuziCate. I don’t have the money to buy another one!

  2. Tessa June 10, 2013 / 10:04 AM

    I live in Jersey not far from DC and we have been having lots of rain so unless you chase it away you might see rain. 🙂

    • jannatwrites June 10, 2013 / 8:21 PM

      Rain would be nice. I might have a bad hair week, but oh well!

      • Tessa June 11, 2013 / 8:46 AM

        We had tornado warnings last night. Used to be they stayed mainly in the midwest. Now they’re everywhere. Last year it was the hurricane. I am not far from the shore. Have fun whatever whether you get. We just went to Disney not too long ago and it rained almost the whole time in Florida and Jersey was dry. Sometimes you just can’t win. We wore rain ponchos and went out anyway.

        • jannatwrites June 20, 2013 / 11:41 AM

          Figures it would rain on your trip to Disney World, Tessa! We did get some rain, but it didn’t hamper our plans too much. We cut short the zoo trip and I was cranky and soggy for a bit, but we managed the rest of the day. (I packed an umbrella but forgot it in the hotel room so ended up buying a rain poncho- when we finally found a place that wasn’t sold out :))

        • Tessa June 20, 2013 / 1:56 PM

          Glad the rain didn’t hamper your plans too much. We have had storms just about everyday for over a week. No storm so far today though.

        • jannatwrites June 21, 2013 / 10:28 PM

          Rain is a good thing, so I try not to be upset when it messes up my plans. Living in a desert for so long makes me appreciate rain even more.

        • Tessa June 26, 2013 / 5:54 PM

          Well we are getting plenty of it right now. A storm almost every day. 🙂

        • jannatwrites June 27, 2013 / 1:17 AM

          Nice! I’m still waiting for monsoon storms here. So far, all is dry 😦

  3. Debbie June 10, 2013 / 10:25 AM

    Happy vacation to you and your family, Janna! I hope you’ll get to enjoy the cooler temps and take lots of pictures (now that you saved your camera from a splashing!)

    • jannatwrites June 10, 2013 / 8:22 PM

      Thanks, Debbie. I got the memory card cleared off and backed up so I’m all set to be a tourist 😀

  4. nrhatch June 10, 2013 / 2:44 PM

    Have a fantastic time in DC, Janna! Hope the weather is perfect for you and your dehydrated umbrella. 😀

    (Delighted to see the SLTW sign off in your post.)

    • jannatwrites June 10, 2013 / 8:23 PM

      You crack me up, Nancy! I wouldn’t be surprised if the nylon on the umbrella dissolved once water hit it 🙂 I’m looking forward to the trip, except having to get the kids up at 2AM so we can catch our flight.

  5. Widdershins June 10, 2013 / 2:54 PM

    There’s a little lad who lives across the road from us. Every day, and sometimes several times a day, he and his dad, his main carer, trundle down to the lake with all sorts of playing-in-the-sand toys. This happens come rain or shine. When it rains he jumps in every puddle he can find. The beautiful thing is, his dad waits for him.

    • jannatwrites June 10, 2013 / 8:24 PM

      That’s a sweet story, Widdershins. I have to confess that I’m not so patient with the puddles. They ruin shoes so quickly as it is, I ask them to not stomp in them. I think maybe I should look the other way once in a while.

  6. diannegray June 10, 2013 / 4:03 PM

    Have a lovely vacation, Janna! I love the pics of the waterfall (and am glad you saved the camera!) 😀

    • jannatwrites June 10, 2013 / 8:25 PM

      Thanks, Dianne! The waterfall was nice, but the rocks were super slippery. I thought for sure I was going to fall, so I ruined my shorts by sliding on my rear much of the way 🙂

  7. Eric Alagan June 10, 2013 / 9:11 PM

    Enjoy your vacation, Janna,

    And I look forward to Darlene’s Story next week.

    Oh, I washed my car – but I suppose, Singapore doesn’t count 🙂

    Cheers,
    Eric
    P/s And to all you NSA guys reading this – I hope my comments are in English simple enough for you to decipher. Oops! Big word, decipher – I meant ‘understand’

    • jannatwrites June 20, 2013 / 11:38 AM

      Thanks, Eric! Vacation was wonderful, but I’m so glad to be back home 🙂 Someone must have washed cars because we got rained on twice. The first time was fine, but the second one, not so much. Guess I’d better be careful what I wish for, right? Haha!

  8. pattisj June 11, 2013 / 2:15 PM

    Nice shots of your Natural Shower! Enjoy your trip!

    • jannatwrites June 20, 2013 / 11:43 AM

      Thanks, Patti! The shower here was nothing compared to what we got in DC. I’ll be more careful with my wishes in the future 🙂

  9. GodGirl June 14, 2013 / 4:26 AM

    Hope you’re having a great vacation Janna! Great pics… and I agree – our ability to observe the presence of chocolate is a life-saving skill!

    • jannatwrites June 20, 2013 / 11:44 AM

      Hehe…yes, chocolate, I’m an excellent observer of…everything else is hit-or-miss 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, GodGirl!

  10. Imelda June 23, 2013 / 7:59 PM

    Are you still on a break? Happy vacation. 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

