Different

05-29 Tall Trees

The expected

Can sometimes become-

Commonplace.

 Tall spines,

Lined at attention-

Yawn.

*

Senses awaken

To a new tune-

Unique.

 Imagination captured

By the unusual-

Intrigued.

05-29 Twisted Tree Collage~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

I’ve seen curved trees before, but nothing like this.  This guy either has a bad case of scoliosis, or is rebelling against the tall masses around it.  Or, perhaps it’s practicing yoga.  Then again, maybe it saw a pretzel and dreamed of twisting just like that.  (So close!)

I have no idea what causes a tree to grow like this, but it makes for some interesting photos (and suppositions as to why it is how it is 🙂  What story do you imagine for this twisty tree?

I hope you have a fantastic Wednesday, whether you decide to be straight or limber!

43 thoughts on “Different

    • jannatwrites May 30, 2013 / 12:39 AM

      It was a fun one! I thought it was another stump or dead tree, so I was surprised to find out it was quite rooted and alive.

  1. philosophermouseofthehedge May 29, 2013 / 9:37 AM

    Terrific find. Do you think a large tree fell on this one when it was a flexible seedling? The big tree rotted finally? How wierd. Looks like some sort of petrified dragon – or one that crossed a magical being at some point?

    • jannatwrites May 30, 2013 / 12:40 AM

      Oooh, petrified dragon – I like that, Phil. Thanks for stopping by to check out the twisty tree 🙂

  2. coyotero2112 May 29, 2013 / 9:43 AM

    Those photo-sensative trees will do anything to get their share, or more than their share, of light…or, maybe the world is as unexplainable as it appears. Some people react with logic, and some people react with wonder. I’m a logic refugee, and live in a jungle full of twisted trees and monkeys that sound like lions, and frogs that trumpet like mad geese. Is it really Wednesday? Open mike night at PasaTiempo…thanks for reminding me.
    Later…

    • jannatwrites May 30, 2013 / 12:42 AM

      Well, Coyotero, straining for light does make sense…but it’s not very imaginative. I’ll just pretend the tree wanted to be pretzel, okay? 🙂

      • coyotero2112 May 30, 2013 / 9:06 AM

        The world needs unimaginative drones, too. The pretzel thing works. A contrarian tree, spinning tails instead of straining for the light. A Dr. Seuss story in waiting.
        Later…

        • jannatwrites May 30, 2013 / 10:11 PM

          Oh, now I didn’t mean to imply that unimaginative equated to being drones. We do need analytical thinkers to keep the heads-in-the-clouds people grounded.

        • coyotero2112 May 31, 2013 / 8:59 AM

          Sorry…I just cut his body down. The thought of being so “normal” and mundane was too much for him. He takes, or used to take, everything SO seriously. I’ll be taking over his blog now.
          The wife – I mean, widow – of a crushed blogger. 🙂

        • jannatwrites May 31, 2013 / 10:09 AM

          😛 I’m so sorry to contribute to his demise. We’ll miss him around here!

        • coyotero2112 May 31, 2013 / 10:26 AM

          He’s cat-like. I’m sure he’s got a few lives lift…or left.
          Todo es bien…todo es bien…

  3. Debbie May 29, 2013 / 10:16 AM

    Fascinating, Janna! I suspect this twisty tree was simply trying to survive, to get its share of sunlight and rainfall, though I can’t imagine what contortions it had to go through to do that. Sure speaks loudly to its determination, doesn’t it?

    • jannatwrites May 30, 2013 / 12:43 AM

      It does seem determined, Debbie. The way you described it reminds me of the little kid trying to get an adult’s attention. “Hey!” “Over here!” “Look at me!”

  4. djmatticus May 29, 2013 / 2:44 PM

    We twist in all kinds of directions and manners in search of what we need to survive… I imagine this tree bending this way and that in search of little pools of sunshine as it grew from a sapling, it had to change directions as the towering canopy above it shifted year and year. That… or it just wanted to be different… straight trees are boring! 😉

    • jannatwrites May 30, 2013 / 12:45 AM

      Straight trees are a little boring, DJ. The search for light sounds reasonable, but I like to think it wanted to be different. More of a story in that, I think 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 30, 2013 / 12:46 AM

      Could be, Widdershins! Maybe it’s contemporary or interpretive dance.

  5. diannegray May 29, 2013 / 3:46 PM

    That tree looks like it’s trying to torture itself! Great pics 😀

    • jannatwrites May 30, 2013 / 12:48 AM

      I think the kids climbing on it just might make the tree wish it hadn’t gone the torture route, Dianne!

    • jannatwrites May 30, 2013 / 12:48 AM

      That would tend to go with the peaceful setting, wouldn’t it, Nancy?

  6. Eric Alagan May 29, 2013 / 9:45 PM

    I think he is an anaconda wannabe 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 30, 2013 / 12:53 AM

      Great ambition for a tree, Eric. As long as it doesn’t start slithering, I’m okay with that!

  7. pattisj May 29, 2013 / 10:19 PM

    I think it’s looking for its contact lens.

    • jannatwrites May 30, 2013 / 12:53 AM

      Haha! Could be, Patti…that’s about what I look like when I drop something on the floor and I can’t see where it went.

  8. knotrune May 30, 2013 / 2:34 AM

    I would imagine that a native American tied it into that shape when it was a sapling as a secret message whose meaning has been lost in the mists of time. Or maybe as a gateway to another world… if you step through the circle you go back in time and join him on his adventure! Or maybe that’s what the tree wants you to think and really it’s carnivorous 😮

    • jannatwrites May 30, 2013 / 10:13 PM

      A carnivorous tree – that is hysterical, Knotrune! Good thing I didn’t climb through the loop – I may not have lived to post about it, or I could be roaming around the sixteenth century wondering how on earth I’ll make it back 🙂

  9. jannatwrites May 30, 2013 / 10:14 PM

    Thanks, Joanne! I appreciate you stopping by 🙂

  10. Sandra May 31, 2013 / 1:06 PM

    You really take some fantastic and unique pics of nature! I wouldn’t have thought this tree grew this way and is still alive. I do wonder how it did that. I do like the pretzel hypothesis!

    • jannatwrites June 2, 2013 / 9:46 PM

      I’m glad you like the pretzel idea too, Sandra! I was surprised to find it was still alive as well. I’ve never seen one that messed up 🙂

  11. agjorgenson June 1, 2013 / 10:04 PM

    Dancing. Doing the twist. Obviously.

    • jannatwrites June 2, 2013 / 9:47 PM

      The twist – very clever, Allen! Thanks for the laugh 🙂

  12. GodGirl June 4, 2013 / 1:03 AM

    I love the poem Janna – what a surprise the tree would’ve been!
    To me it looks kind of sad and forsaken, like it’s given up on life…

    • jannatwrites June 4, 2013 / 10:44 PM

      Thanks for stopping by, GodGirl! It might have had a hard life, but it hasn’t quite given up yet 🙂

  13. Tessa June 6, 2013 / 3:33 PM

    I saw one yesterday on a walk that looked like a serpent. Didn’t’ think to snap a picture of it though.

    • jannatwrites June 6, 2013 / 11:10 PM

      If you’re like me, you see the best photo ops when you don’t have a decent camera with you. (Sorry, but sometimes the cell phone camera just doesn’t cut it :)) Glad you stopped by, Tessa. Hope you are doing well.

      • Tessa June 7, 2013 / 7:46 AM

        Hanging in there. My cell phone will take decent photos most of the time and sometimes they are very clear. I only ever have the cell phone with me and never think to snap pics although I am getting better at thinking about the camera.

        • jannatwrites June 7, 2013 / 9:50 PM

          I didn’t used to take many pictures, either, Tessa 🙂

        • Tessa June 8, 2013 / 7:05 AM

          🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

