Busted!

His eyes accuse.

“How could you?”

So do his words.

“I-I had a weak moment.”

My son looks at the empty brownie pan, shakes his head, walks away.

I never planned to share.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

TrifectaPicture11-1This is my response to the Trifecta weekend challenge, which was to write a thirty-three word confession.  I won’t say whether this is real or fictional.  What? Oh.  I have chocolate on my cheek?

Fine.  I did it.  And I’ll do it again.  Ghirardelli double chocolate brownies don’t stand a chance in our house.  I’m not prone to share their fudge-y goodness, even with the owners of the of the sweet hugs and kisses aimed to pry the brownie pan from my hands 🙂

If you want to read other responses, or try the challenge yourself, click on the tricycle picture to view Trifecta’s site.  Happy writing (and reading!)

Remember- this is a community-voted challenge, which means that readers have the opportunity to vote on their three favorites after the challenge closes on Sunday, at 8PM eastern time.  (Voting takes place on Trifecta’s site.)

107 thoughts on “Busted!

  1. braintomahawk May 24, 2013 / 7:36 AM

    Great one – I share the sweets I bake…well, sorta. I put out a tray or container with the amount I will share. My own stash is safely tucked away elsewhere 😉

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 7:47 AM

      You’re very kind to share, BT! I should clarify, that the kids often get brownies on the first day I bake them because they stalk the pan. I’m obligated to let them have some so I don’t look selfish. I guess it’s better to polish off the rest by myself and look like a pig 🙂

  2. Mike May 24, 2013 / 7:37 AM

    A great take on the prompt.
    There’s nothing worse than a ‘weak moment’!

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 7:48 AM

      Yep! My ‘weak moments’ are from the time the kids go to bed til about midnight! I don’t make brownies often because it’s not worth the shame I feel for eating 12 servings in one sitting. Thanks for reading, Mike!

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 7:49 AM

      Oh, their brownies are the best, Zennjennc! I can’t buy them often because I haven’t figured out self-control 🙂

  3. barbara May 24, 2013 / 8:13 AM

    right there with ya, Janna. Sigh

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 11:54 AM

      I love brownies so much, I can’t make them often. (And if they didn’t smell so good baking, the kiddos would never know when I did make them…more for me :)) Thanks for reading and commiserating, Barbara!

  4. Imelda May 24, 2013 / 9:10 AM

    I love this response, Janna. Poor boy. Mommy has weak moments. 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 11:55 AM

      I’m weaker after the kids go to bed, Imelda 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  5. Scriptor Obscura May 24, 2013 / 9:26 AM

    Oh, I LOVE brownies. I’m so hungry right now, I could eat two pans myself. 😦 Wish I could have a brownie now! Chocolate’s my favorite.

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 11:57 AM

      We are of the same mind, Scriptor (on the love of chocolate and lack of sharing :))

  6. Scriptor Obscura May 24, 2013 / 9:29 AM

    I wouldn’t share either. 🙂

  7. pattyabr May 24, 2013 / 9:52 AM

    you got me! hooked again into the story! bravo!
    I think I’ll make some brownies now 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 12:00 PM

      I’m glad you went with the story, Patty! Eat some extra brownies for me…I want some, but won’t buy any 🙂

  8. joetwo May 24, 2013 / 10:21 AM

    I’ve done the same with chocolate biscuits. I regret nothing!

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 12:01 PM

      Hmm…I’ve never had chocolate biscuits..but I haven’t met chocolate I haven’t liked 🙂 My only regret are the extra pounds added. Ergh! Thanks for stopping by, Joe.

  9. Scriptor Obscura May 24, 2013 / 10:47 AM

    Shared on Twitter.

  10. Scriptor Obscura May 24, 2013 / 10:49 AM

    You should have a share on Twitter button up there by the way. Just a suggestion. Makes it easier. 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 12:02 PM

      Thanks for sharing, Scriptor! I haven’t ever done anything with the share buttons so I went in and adding some missing ones. Thanks for the suggestion 🙂

  11. Ann Bennett (@AnnBennett12) May 24, 2013 / 10:54 AM

    What I don’t understand about brownies, they are so little, so quick to eat, How could something like that be fattening? It’s hard to eat a treat like that. Even with the pan washed and evidence hidden, I can hear a child saying. “I can smell brownies.”

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 12:03 PM

      That is one of life’s cruelties, Ann – small, yummy, fattening squares of chocolate. You are right about the kids – they can be a mile away, but once I’m baking, they’re hovering around the oven!

  12. nrhatch May 24, 2013 / 10:58 AM

    Why you greedy, self-indulgent, weak-willed brownie eater!!! (We must be twin daughters of different mothers.) :mrgreen:

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 12:05 PM

      Guilty on all counts, Nancy (Greedy, self-indulgent, weak-willed, brownie eater (in large quantities)) So I’m in good company? 😛 Thanks for making me laugh!

    • nrhatch May 24, 2013 / 8:17 PM

      Thanks for making me laugh. 😆

  13. Maya Bahl May 24, 2013 / 12:12 PM

    Nicely done Janna, the neighbor could have eaten the last brownie! 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 10:41 PM

      Ooh, that could backfire if he asked the neighbor why they ate our brownies. It might be better just to ‘fess up and have him disgusted with me 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and offering a cover up, Maya!

      • Maya Bahl May 25, 2013 / 8:29 AM

        Haha, owning up to things is definitely better too Janna!

        • jannatwrites May 25, 2013 / 1:23 PM

          I suppose so, even though I can see my kids’ disappointment in me for being a pig 🙂

  14. Carol Ann Hoel May 24, 2013 / 2:17 PM

    Great job, Janna. I was standing in line for a brownie, too. I feel your son’s pain. So you have chocolate on your cheek. Hm. Blessings to you…

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 10:45 PM

      I’m sorry I ate them all, Carol Ann 🙂 I think the chocolate is all gone now!

      I’m glad you stopped by again. I hope you are doing well.

  15. Valerie May 24, 2013 / 2:51 PM

    I’ve had so many of those weak moments:) This was cute!

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 10:46 PM

      I’m glad I’m not alone in that, Valerie. Boy do I wish I had brownies right now 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 10:47 PM

      Thank you, thank you! Somehow I feel stronger knowing that I’m not weak alone. (Huh?) Thanks for reading, Anne!

      • annesquared May 24, 2013 / 11:11 PM

        lol – that is why we have our fav checker at the grocery store – she knows what to put in the separate “mommy bag.” 🙂

        • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 11:13 PM

          A “mommy bag” – that’s brilliant, Anne!

        • annesquared May 24, 2013 / 11:28 PM

          😉 Stick w/ me – I have a million tricks up my sleeve hee hee.

        • jannatwrites May 25, 2013 / 12:11 AM

          I’d better take notes!

  16. Lane May 24, 2013 / 4:10 PM

    I enjoyed your little story. Congratulation on your last celebrated work!

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 10:50 PM

      Thanks, Lane! Brownies are a case of ‘do as I say, not as I do’ – I encourage sharing for them, but want to keep the brownies to myself 🙂

      I was surprised to find it placed, but I’m glad it did because it was close to my heart (as is my Pickles!) I appreciate everyone who read and voted. I’ll put a proper ‘thank you’ in Monday’s post!

      • Lane May 25, 2013 / 7:50 PM

        LOL! 🙂

  17. Tara R. May 24, 2013 / 4:12 PM

    If my son only knew how often I hide snacks from him and his dad.

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 10:53 PM

      You mustn’t tell him, Tara! I know nothing about hiding snacks. Those M&M’s? I wasn’t hiding them…it was just convenient to put them on the top shelf of the pantry behind the panko crumbs, where I need a step stool to reach them 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  18. pattisj May 24, 2013 / 4:30 PM

    Be sure you bring some of those on the bus–enough to SHARE!

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 10:54 PM

      Gasp! you said the “s” word, Patti. Share? Really? All right…better make a double batch then 🙂

  19. Sam Edge, Writer May 24, 2013 / 7:47 PM

    Sounds about right. Congratulations on the win this week.

    • jannatwrites May 24, 2013 / 10:56 PM

      Thanks, Sam! I do appreciate the votes (I was emotionally tied to that one, so I was unable to discern if it was decent or not.)

      Do you have any brownies?

  20. mairzeebp May 25, 2013 / 5:42 AM

    Man I love me a good brownie (um, is there a brownie that isn’t good??). Since having to go gluten free over a year ago, one of the things that I find tastes truest to what I know is a gluten free brownie. Thank Goodness!!

    • jannatwrites May 25, 2013 / 1:21 PM

      I’m so glad you found a decent gluten-free brownie, Mairzeebp! Life without brownies is….well, I can’t imagine what that would be like. *Shudders*

  21. mairzeebp May 25, 2013 / 5:42 AM

    Oh, and LOVED the Wonder Woman piece. Congrats Janna!!

    • jannatwrites May 25, 2013 / 1:22 PM

      Thanks for reading it, Mairzeebp! I almost sat the superhero challenge out, but then Wonder Woman inspired me 🙂

  22. whimsygizmo May 25, 2013 / 8:49 AM

    NICE. I’m late to the party, and I see all the brownies are gone. 😉

    • jannatwrites May 25, 2013 / 1:24 PM

      Sorry, Whimsy…you’d have to pretty much stalk the oven to get a brownie around here. I’m a terrible hostess!

  23. vishalbheeroo May 25, 2013 / 10:46 AM

    Hi m also a huge choco lover and it’s addictive. love the post:)

    • jannatwrites May 25, 2013 / 1:25 PM

      So addictive, Vishal. I swear I’ve gained three pounds just writing (and thinking) about brownies. Good thing I didn’t buy more… Thanks for stopping by!

      • vishalbheeroo May 25, 2013 / 1:26 PM

        same here and i need to munch..can’t really stop..happy i found ur blog:)

        • jannatwrites May 25, 2013 / 1:30 PM

          I’m glad you decided to read my blog, too, Vishal! I’ve to find some chocolate around here 🙂

        • jannatwrites May 25, 2013 / 1:31 PM

          Not really…I haven’t found any yet!

        • vishalbheeroo May 25, 2013 / 1:32 PM

          do share some wen u lay ur hands on the sinful choco..:)

        • jannatwrites May 25, 2013 / 1:35 PM

          Share? Sorry…I don’t even share with my kids 🙂
          Kidding…that’s not very nice of me!

        • jannatwrites May 25, 2013 / 2:05 PM

          My kids don’t agree!

        • vishalbheeroo May 25, 2013 / 2:10 PM

          Hhahhaa they are kids and they are bound to snatch choco..that wat they are supposed to do::)

  24. Sarah Ann May 25, 2013 / 11:30 AM

    Love this. It made me smile, hope it doesn’t make your boys cry.

    • jannatwrites May 25, 2013 / 1:26 PM

      I’m glad you got the humor of it, Sarah Ann. He didn’t cry, but he turned his nose up at the baby carrots I offered instead. I guess that’s not a fair trade!

  25. diannegray May 25, 2013 / 2:44 PM

    I love brownies! They make me weak too 😀

    • jannatwrites May 25, 2013 / 11:51 PM

      Yes, brownies have the power! I’m glad I’m not the only ‘weak one’, Dianne 🙂

  26. shannon May 25, 2013 / 5:13 PM

    Bahahaha! I’m quite sure I’ve never hidden in the bathroom to scarf down the last brownie for fear of accusing eyes…

    • jannatwrites May 25, 2013 / 11:53 PM

      I’m glad you’ve never hidden in the bathroom to polish off the brownies. That would just be….it would be absolutely brilliant. (Why didn’t I think of that? :razz:) Thanks for reading, and for your funny comment, Shannon!

    • jannatwrites May 25, 2013 / 11:54 PM

      I’m glad you found the humor in my selfishness (and being a pig), Renada 🙂

  27. Draug419 May 25, 2013 / 6:48 PM

    I’m more concerned about the fact that you ate a whole tray of brownies at once, alone xD This is so great.

    • jannatwrites May 25, 2013 / 11:58 PM

      Well, it wasn’t really at once, Draug…I went to the kitchen several times over several hours 😛

  28. trifectawriting May 25, 2013 / 8:06 PM

    The power of brownies can’t be denied. Their chocolate goodness demands not to be shared. Your son must learn that heart-breaking lesson sooner or later. (Except now you really can’t blame him if he steals from the cookie jar!)

    Thank you for linking up! Please don’t forget to return for the voting!

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2013 / 12:01 AM

      Well good thing we don’t have a cookie jar, then 🙂 I’m so glad my lack of self control can be blamed on the brownies. For a while there, I thought I was going to have to take responsibility for it!

  29. agjorgenson May 25, 2013 / 8:10 PM

    I love the “I never planned to share.”

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2013 / 12:02 AM

      Thanks, Allen. The kids seem to think that whats mine is theirs…not always the case!

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2013 / 11:37 AM

      Thank goodness all of us brownie lovers aren’t locked in the same room with a fresh-baked pan – fights would probably ensue 🙂

  30. GodGirl May 26, 2013 / 5:42 AM

    I love this Janna! Am smiling at the way the ending caught me by surprise.
    I had a similar exchange with my husband recently. Boys just don’t understand that a bite can never be just one bite when it comes to chocolate 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2013 / 11:39 AM

      That’s funny, GodGirl! I’m glad I’m not the only one with a weakness for chocolatey treats 🙂 My husband is allergic to chocolate, so I didn’t have to grasp the concept of sharing until the kids came along!

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2013 / 11:40 AM

      Yes, I am weak. (That’s another obvious confession this week!) Thanks for reading, Bjorn.

  31. Tina May 26, 2013 / 10:34 AM

    She who makes the brownies gets to eat the brownies, I say! In fact, I am going to make some right now. Thanks for the yummy idea!

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2013 / 11:41 AM

      That sounds fair, Tina! I hope you enjoy your brownies (in more than one sitting :))

  32. Rois May 26, 2013 / 2:05 PM

    I have these moments too. 😀

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2013 / 9:26 PM

      I wonder if brownie sales spiked this weekend? Thanks for reading, Rois!

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2013 / 9:27 PM

      Well, he didn’t bake the brownies, he just wanted to eat them 🙂 But I can’t resist brownies either way. Thanks for reading, Barbara!

  33. KymmInBarcelona May 26, 2013 / 4:58 PM

    I hate it when my kids shake their heads at me.
    Good one, Janna!

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2013 / 9:27 PM

      I know, right? Isn’t that what we’re supposed to do to them?! Glad you stopped by, Kymm!

  34. MissM May 26, 2013 / 8:32 PM

    I can so relate.. difficult to share indeed 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 26, 2013 / 9:28 PM

      I’d share my salad with you, though 🙂 Appreciate you taking time to visit, MissM!

  35. (RogRites) May 27, 2013 / 4:10 AM

    Yep. Me too. (RogRites)

  36. Tessa May 28, 2013 / 5:49 PM

    I loved this one. I have done similar before. 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 28, 2013 / 10:11 PM

      I’m so glad I’m not alone in that 🙂 Thanks for reading, Tessa!

  37. Sean May 29, 2013 / 6:13 AM

    I think we have all been there. I don’t eat a lot of sweets because they are never around long enough for me to get any. Of course at work, we do get spooled a bit especially around the holidays. My group usually gets sent a huge chocolate bar, one of the really big ones. It takes several days and a lot of people to eat. Somehow I could see you clutching it and saying “Mine, all Mine” lol

    • jannatwrites May 30, 2013 / 12:38 AM

      Oh, the holidays are just awful at work with all the food gifts that are sent in. I can resist the big chocolate bar (we got one of those, too.) I get a little weird about germs and the thought of whoever pawed over the chocolate before me makes me lose my appetite. The individually wrapped Cheryl’s cookies…those are a different story!

  38. Sandra May 31, 2013 / 1:21 PM

    I totally woulda, too!! 🙂 Mmmmm, brownies!

    • jannatwrites June 2, 2013 / 9:50 PM

      I hope all of us brownie lovers are never locked in a room with a pan of brownies…it could get ugly!

Got an opinion? Share it!

