Sunshine Blooms

05-15 Yellow Collage2

Debbie (at Musings by an ND Domer’s Mom) recently did a Spring post, which inspired me to put together sort of a spring post of my own.  All of the photos were captured on a Mother’s Day hike my husband led.  Despite the fact the hike ended up being over four miles and we nearly ran out of water, I’m convinced he wasn’t trying to kill us 🙂  (Next time we’ll have the kids wear their water backpacks.)

Yellow is such a happy color.  During one phase of my childhood, I had a yellow-themed room.  Pale yellow walls, yellow-flowered bedspread and canopy, and a bright yellow valance over the window.  I later changed my room to girly pink, but my yellow room holds a special place in my heart.  I still think yellow is a sunshine-y color and it makes me smile.

I hope you have a yellow Wednesday!

22 thoughts on “Sunshine Blooms

  1. Debbie May 15, 2013 / 12:35 PM

    Thanks for the shoutout, Janna, and I LOVE your sunshiny yellows! Recently I found some pale lavender Iris in bloom, and it was spectacular. I can’t wear yellow, but oh, how beautiful and happy it is!

    • jannatwrites May 15, 2013 / 11:56 PM

      I’m glad you liked the yellows, Debbie! Purples are pretty in nature, too. I’m with you on the not wearing yellow. For clothing, red is my go-to happy color 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 15, 2013 / 11:57 PM

      Yay! Another yellow fan 🙂 Thanks for dropping in, Becca!

  2. philosophermouseofthehedge May 15, 2013 / 1:54 PM

    Can’t help but smile with the color yellow. Don’t those little flowers look just like early spring? Sturdy and simple and jumping suddenly into sight. They always look happy.
    Thanks for taking us along on the hike ( and always always take extra water…and a snack…even if they say you won’t need it….too many times without! Glad you survived in good humor.)

    • jannatwrites May 15, 2013 / 11:58 PM

      We normally have more than enough water, but it was supposed to be a ‘quick hike’ – lesson learned, Phil 🙂 I’m glad you stopped to by to check out the yellow flowers!

  3. punnypalaver May 15, 2013 / 4:07 PM

    I love yellow, too. Definitely a picture of happiness to me!

    • jannatwrites May 15, 2013 / 11:59 PM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who brightens when yellow is around. Glad you stopped by!

  4. pattisj May 15, 2013 / 4:17 PM

    It is a yellow Wednesday!

    • jannatwrites May 15, 2013 / 11:59 PM

      I’m glad you had a yellow Wednesday, Patti!

  5. nrhatch May 15, 2013 / 6:10 PM

    Yellow flowers are my favorite. 😀

    • jannatwrites May 16, 2013 / 12:00 AM

      I’m glad there are so many yellow-lovers around here – I’m in good company 🙂 Thanks for stopping by and checking out the flowers, Nancy!

  6. Eric Alagan May 16, 2013 / 6:20 AM

    Yellow is a bright cheerful colour, Janna.

    Your husband trying to kill you guys – LOL – he better stick to loving you, because he is doing a poor job of all that killing stuff 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 16, 2013 / 9:35 PM

      Haha! Good thing he’s not very good at killing me, Eric 🙂 Even though I’m a pain in the neck, I know he loves me!

  7. diannegray May 16, 2013 / 12:43 PM

    Oh dear – I’m so glad you survived the Mother’s Day hike! I can just see it now , every time you go on a hike from now on you’ll be saying, “Make sure it’s not a Mother’s Day hike” LOL 😉

    I love the flowers. Very pretty yellow 😀

    • jannatwrites May 16, 2013 / 9:39 PM

      I know I won’t take his word for it if he says it’s a ‘short’ hike, Dianne 🙂 I’m glad you stopped by to check out the happy flowers!

  8. coyotero2112 May 18, 2013 / 1:32 PM

    Yellow – the color of 🙂 and 😀 and orange juice commercials, and…so many spring flowers. If husband carried the necessary water supply the hikes might be a reasonable length…just a thought.
    Later…

    • jannatwrites May 18, 2013 / 9:35 PM

      We normally do carry plenty of water, but since we had a late start, we expected a short one (we had extra bottles in our truck, though!) We’re trying another trail tomorrow, and I’ll not be lazy and bring my snackpack (backpack with snacks and extra water).

  9. Sandra May 21, 2013 / 8:42 PM

    I think yellow in nature is so very stunning. From daisies to dandelions, yellows bring such a bright splash of color to our eyes. It IS such a fresh, joyful color!

    • jannatwrites May 21, 2013 / 9:25 PM

      I’m glad you see yellow the same way I do, Sandra! The color makes me smile 😀

    • jannatwrites May 22, 2013 / 10:50 PM

      Thanks for stopping by, Nancy…I’m glad you enjoyed the photos!

Got an opinion? Share it!

