Against Odds

Atop dried needles,

Beneath a rock of ages,

A flower blossoms.

04-30 Weed Flower

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

I know this “flower” is “just a weed” to many.  I think of anything that blooms as a flower- it doesn’t have to be deliberately planted and carefully nurtured to be pretty.  I’m drawn to life that flourishes where I wouldn’t expect it to.

Like this weed flower.  It seems that the weight of the rock would crush it’s roots, but still it blooms.

Like people who are expected to become nothing, but push themselves to rise above the doubt; like the abused who break the cycle and embrace gentleness instead; like the orphaned children of war who promote peace; like the grieving person who musters a smile for someone else in need.

Yes, every day I see the beautiful blooms of lives that flourish in a world that should be barren.

24 thoughts on “Against Odds

  1. GodGirl May 1, 2013 / 5:20 AM

    I love the imagery here Janna – the way you’ve related this tough flower to the strong people who bloom in the face of adversity. “Lives that flourish in a world that should be barren” – such a powerful line.

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2013 / 6:46 PM

      Thanks, GodGirl! I really appreciate you reading and sharing your reaction to it.

  2. SuziCate May 1, 2013 / 6:37 AM

    What a lovely find! I’d say it’s much more than a weed…it’s a life lesson.

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2013 / 6:48 PM

      We were on a hike and my poor husband had to keep stopping as I took oddball pictures of just about everything 🙂 Thanks for visiting, SuziCate!

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2013 / 6:50 PM

      And I’m glad we do bloom, Nancy.

      Thanks for the link – cool article! Eastern skunk cabbage? Oh boy, glad we don’t have those around here 🙂

  3. Eric Alagan May 1, 2013 / 7:05 AM

    The beauty of life can’t be smothered – this rang out to me as I read your post, Janna.

    Peace, Eric

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2013 / 6:51 PM

      Very true, Eric. Thanks for sharing your thought!

  4. Debbie May 1, 2013 / 7:53 AM

    This is lovely, Janna — and if you hadn’t told me it was a weed, I wouldn’t have known the difference!

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2013 / 6:51 PM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought it was pretty enough to be a ‘real’ flower, Debbie!

  5. Lance May 1, 2013 / 7:56 AM

    I saw a female punk band once at CBGBs in NYC called Gas Station Daisies. I know nothing about flowers but I thought that was a great name for anything because in the midst of nothingness – concrete/asphalt/etc. there’s little daisies that pop up because they can. That’s the heart of great music/writing/art, whatever.

    good piece

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2013 / 6:52 PM

      I like that name – Gas Station Daisies. Thanks for reading and sharing your story to go along with the post, Lance. Have a great Wednesday!

  6. newwhitebear May 1, 2013 / 8:37 AM

    A beautiful flower that can bloom in spite of nature is not benign

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2013 / 6:53 PM

      Beautiful statement, Newwhitebear. Thanks for reading and sharing it here!

  7. pattisj May 1, 2013 / 1:43 PM

    I agree with your thoughts that anything that blooms is a flower. This is a pretty specimen you featured.

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2013 / 6:53 PM

      Thanks, Patti! I have no idea what it is, but I like it 🙂

  8. diannegray May 1, 2013 / 3:26 PM

    What a beautiful and moving post, Janna. I like flowers as well and wonder who actually determines that something can actually be classified as a weed! 😉

    • jannatwrites May 1, 2013 / 6:55 PM

      I wonder who determines that, too. I picture some elite committee somewhere making the decisions 🙂

  9. Diane Turner May 2, 2013 / 1:27 AM

    It doesn’t look at all like a weed. It’s gorgeous, as are your words. Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites May 2, 2013 / 9:28 PM

      I’m relieved that there are so many wee-flower appreciators out there…makes me feel a little less crazy…just a little 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Diane!

  10. Paula J May 2, 2013 / 12:50 PM

    That is beautiful. Thanks for saying it.

    • jannatwrites May 2, 2013 / 9:29 PM

      And thank you for taking time to read it, Paula 🙂

  11. Sandra May 7, 2013 / 1:01 PM

    The life in this picture is amazing! It reminds me of a tiny pansy plant that grew in the cracks of my front doorsteps. It even made three or four flowers last summer. I wonder if I’ll see it again this season?! And I happen to like yellow dandelion flowers. 🙂

    • jannatwrites May 7, 2013 / 5:40 PM

      Oh, I hope the plant visits this season, Sandra. It would make an engaging photo, I’m sure. I like dandelions too – especially when there are many of them grouped together!

Got an opinion? Share it!

