The Mighty Fall

Indestructible:

A myth created by the weak;

An excuse for failings.

The oppressed can rise,

The frail find power

In numbers-

Because,

Even in an imperfect world,

The mighty fall:

Left to rot away

In self-created demise.

 04-17 Tree

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

It’s so fun to see what words form as a result of a photo.  For some reason, I get a little sad when I see tree graveyards.  On this day, there were some pretty large trees left here.  When I took the picture, I thought about how even the mighty can fall, and that’s how this poem came about.

I find hope in “David and Goliath”-like stories.  I like the idea that the powerless aren’t destined to always be powerless.  I also like the idea that the powerful can be stripped of it and returned to dwell among the masses. 

Life isn’t always fair, and there isn’t always justice that we see, but I find comfort in knowing that one day wrongs will be judged even if I’m not there to witness it.  Sometimes this is the only way I can cope with the ugliness in the world that leaves me feeling powerless to change it.

I hope you are able to find beauty and encouragement today!

30 thoughts on “The Mighty Fall

  1. SuziCate April 17, 2013 / 5:33 AM

    I like what you came up. I find tons of inspiration in photos.

    • jannatwrites April 18, 2013 / 12:09 PM

      Your photos are always amazing, SuziCate. I appreciate you stopping by to look at mine!

  2. GodGirl April 17, 2013 / 5:35 AM

    What great inspiration you took from that photo Janna. It’s so true that nothing is indestructible (except God, who holds everything together as part of his perfect plan) and that no power or influence we might lay claim to is certain to prevail if it’s apart from him. Thank God for the justice that will come in the end… And that Jesus paid the ultimate price for our wrongs.

    • jannatwrites April 18, 2013 / 12:10 PM

      You’re right about God, GodGirl. I wasn’t thinking that ‘big’ when I wrote this 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to share your thoughts!

  3. Eric Alagan April 17, 2013 / 6:23 AM

    So many lessons here for us humans. Thank you Janna, for sharing this with us – I simply love layered words and themes such as this post.

    • jannatwrites April 18, 2013 / 12:11 PM

      Thanks so much, Eric! I enjoy writing poetry with photo inspiration.

  4. nrhatch April 17, 2013 / 7:34 AM

    Thanks for the dose of POSITIVE. 😀

    • jannatwrites April 18, 2013 / 12:12 PM

      🙂 Positive is needed right now when the world seems absolutely crazy!

  5. Lance April 17, 2013 / 10:19 AM

    I like the multiple meanings and layered interpretations of the title and the picture. well done.

    • jannatwrites April 18, 2013 / 12:12 PM

      Thanks, Lance! I’m glad you enjoyed the post 🙂

  6. Debbie April 17, 2013 / 11:07 AM

    When I first glanced at your picture, I thought you were traveling Down Under. For all the world, that tree bottom looks like a kangaroo standing and watching you. Doesn’t it? Tell me I’m not imagining things! Good poem, too, and so timely when we all feel a bit powerless over circumstances!

    • jannatwrites April 18, 2013 / 12:15 PM

      Oh, I wish…I’d love to see Australia! I’m having trouble seeing the kangaroo, Debbie, but having a better imagination isn’t a bad thing. (It feels like those dot pictures where the picture is supposed to materialize if you keep staring at it…I never see the picture.)

  7. pattisj April 17, 2013 / 2:09 PM

    Photos, especially of nature, always seem to have something to say.

    • jannatwrites April 18, 2013 / 12:15 PM

      Nature does have lots to day, Patti…and we all interpret it differently. It’s so fun 🙂

  8. pattyabr April 17, 2013 / 7:34 PM

    We took down a very large cottonwood tree in our backyard in January. It was so sad because it was dying. Now we are looking a planting a tree in our yard and I am looking at every type of tree around. It’s funny how with no leaves on the tree how particular I am about the trunk and limbs of the tree. I always thought maple trees were pretty but I’m not sure how much I like the trunk. I am still favorable to an oak tree but my husband said they grow so slowly because it is a hard wood. It would take forever to get a tree to provide significant shade in the yard.

    • jannatwrites April 18, 2013 / 12:18 PM

      We are choosing trees, as well, Patty. It’s a difficult process and I’m thankful for helpful nursery people. We have quite a few oaks in our yard and will keep all that we can. There are a couple more dead ones that we need to take care of, but will plant something else in their place. Good luck in your tree search.

      P.S. We bought an autumn maple and I’m crossing my fingers that it grows well. I love the red leaves in the fall.

      • pattyabr April 18, 2013 / 12:24 PM

        We too are looking at an autumn maple they have spectacular color in the fall
        Maples grow fast and provide shade if you need it.
        I grew up in the Midwest so oaks are a staple of stability and trustworthiness 🙂 they just are slow growers

        • jannatwrites April 19, 2013 / 8:27 AM

          I imagine it would be quite expensive to get a well-established oak (if they even sell them!)

  9. Diane Turner April 17, 2013 / 10:48 PM

    Love the double meanings you’ve explored. Great interpretation of the photo. Thanks for sharing.

    • jannatwrites April 18, 2013 / 12:18 PM

      I appreciate you reading and sharing your thoughts, Diane. Hope you have a wonderful Thursday!

  10. Widdershins April 18, 2013 / 12:27 PM

    Lovely poem 😀

    Around here the Fallen Ones are called Nursery Trees, because so many other life forms draw sustenance from the trees as they return to the Earth

    • jannatwrites April 19, 2013 / 8:28 AM

      Nursery trees – I like that, Widdershins! The trees’ lives aren’t completely lost if means another part of nature lives.

  11. diannegray April 18, 2013 / 2:05 PM

    I believe in ‘natural justice’, Janna, and things rise and fall and rise again. I love what you’ve done for this challenge 😀

    • jannatwrites April 19, 2013 / 8:31 AM

      Thanks for checking out my poem, Dianne. I appreciate it 🙂

  12. agjorgenson April 18, 2013 / 2:13 PM

    Thanks for this. I love the way you have let hope shine through.

    • jannatwrites April 19, 2013 / 8:32 AM

      Even in the worst of times, I have to find hope, Allen 🙂

  13. Carl D'Agostino April 18, 2013 / 4:26 PM

    Another rel/phil matter discussed for ages. I have given up on understanding it and just try not to be the source of anyone’s misfortune.

    • jannatwrites April 19, 2013 / 8:33 AM

      Good idea, Carl. The world is filled with enough strife – no use causing more!

  14. Sandra April 22, 2013 / 8:27 PM

    It really makes you wonder what made those mighty trees fall… A storm? Struck by lightning? Disease? Whatever the case, your poem is inspirational–one doesn’t have to be might to stand tall. 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 22, 2013 / 10:31 PM

      I don’t know the cause, but I’m fairly sure it was natural. I didn’t see any cutting involved. I’m glad you ‘got’ the poem, Sandra. We can all stand tall (and we’re taller together!)

Got an opinion? Share it!

