Companionship and Randomness

04-11 Elk

When I first started toying with a caption for this picture, I came up with: “Joy:  having friends for breakfast.”  It’s amazing how swapping a couple words and changing their order can alter the intended meaning of an idea.  Hannibal Lecter no doubt would’ve found joy in having friends for breakfast, but I don’t intend to try it… I’m pretty sure I’d prefer to dine with friends rather than on them 🙂

The elk in the photo above actually crossed the road in front of us.  One dashed across first, which stopped traffic (us and 2 other cars) and the other two followed soon after.  I need more practice photographing living subjects; they usually run away before I find an angle I like.  This time, I snapped pictures even though I had glare from the sun.  Three pictures in, the elk got annoyed and moved behind a rock wall.  At least they were slower than my older son… he blocks his face before I can even get one shot!

The following photo doesn’t have anything to do with this post, and I can’t imagine what kind of post I’d write where I could use it.  I wanted to share it anyway because for some reason, I like it.

The tree didn't run away, but I think it died waiting for me to take the picture
The tree didn’t run away, but I think it died waiting for me to take the picture

What brings you joy?

31 thoughts on “Companionship and Randomness

  1. Eric Alagan April 9, 2013 / 11:02 PM

    Your comment about Hannibal Lector, brought a chuckle. We have this running joke about “Let us eat grandma” – sounds okay when you say it, but not when you write it less the comma.

    Re: The Tree, can I share these 33-words – I took your que about how the tree “died” 🙂

    Stripped naked of fineries, I stand
    For all to point and pass comment
    Why do you for an old tree lament
    I’ve lived a full life, am content
    Now sustenance for the ants

    Peace and blessings,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2013 / 6:26 AM

      Oh yeah, that comma makes a huge difference, Eric!

      I’m glad you shared your 33 words inspired by the photo. I like the message of celebrating contentment rather than mourning a life that has passed as nature intended. (Not unlike our own lives.)

  2. Eric Alagan April 9, 2013 / 11:03 PM

    “I’ve lived a full life, am content – correction 🙂

  3. BCIJo (aka Joanne Edith) April 10, 2013 / 5:32 AM

    I know what you mean…about the live subjects and the photos that you cant find a reason to use, but like anyway! we had a herd of deer go tramping through our yard on Sunday and thought they were in and out and about for several hours, I could only snap them from afar. And a final thought – I think your subject didn’t die waiting for you, it was waiting for you to arrive to fulfill its destiny, i.e. a striking photograph.

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2013 / 6:31 AM

      I think they are bit skittish because they fear ‘shooting’ of a different kind, Joanne 🙂 I’ve seen evidence of elk on our land but haven’t seen them just yet. I was going to get up early on Sunday to stake it out but decided to stay in my warm bed instead. Another day!

      Nice thoughts on the second picture – that is a poetic idea. I like it better than thinking it gave up on me getting the picture.

  4. SuziCate April 10, 2013 / 6:00 AM

    You’re funny!
    I’m glad you shared the second pic because it is a joy to see.

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2013 / 6:32 AM

      Sometimes my humor is only funny to me, so I’m glad you ‘got it’, SuziCate! I’m also glad you enjoyed the second photo. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  5. Katie April 10, 2013 / 7:32 AM

    I have to just take pictures of the grandsons, because the moment is gone if I try to compose the picture.
    Katie atBankerchick Scratchings

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2013 / 9:41 PM

      Yes, you have to be quick, Katie! I like to do the candid pictures, where they don’t know I’m going to take a picture, but they often hear me. That’s when my older son hides and my younger son hams it up, posing right in front of the lens. Extremes 🙂

  6. philosophermouseofthehedge April 10, 2013 / 9:26 AM

    Now that’s a great breakfast crowd!
    That’s not a tree- it’s sculpture. Nature’s performance art.
    (Glad you were there to catch it – Nature doesn’t have an ego and demand an audience)

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2013 / 9:43 PM

      That tree does look a bit like a sculpture. I’ve always got my eye out for something different (but I don’t always have my camera, unfortunately!) Glad you stopped by, Phil!

  7. diannegray April 10, 2013 / 3:12 PM

    LOL – your Hannibal Lector comment had me giggling 😀

    That tree is amazing and you did well catching the elk before they ran away!

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2013 / 9:46 PM

      I’m surprised they stayed as long as they did, but they kept an eye on us. If I ever get a zoom lens for the camera, that might help me out a bit.

      Silence of the Lambs was a pretty creepy movie. Some parts of it stick with me 🙂

  8. Lance April 10, 2013 / 4:47 PM

    This was was a lot lovelier than Dr. Lecter having my liver with some fava beans and a nice chianti.

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2013 / 9:51 PM

      Thanks, Lance! Anthony Hopkins played that part a little too well…whenever I see him in any movie, he’s Hannibal. I’ll decline if an old friend invites me for dinner 🙂

  9. pattisj April 10, 2013 / 5:25 PM

    LOL…”It died waiting.” I know exactly the age you speak of, as a nephew used to be “gone” by the time the camera flashed. That was one reason I gave up film…Thanks for the smile today.

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2013 / 9:52 PM

      Oh, film would be so frustrating, Patti. I can’t tell you how many blurred pictures I have of the back of his hand. Ugh!

  10. nrhatch April 10, 2013 / 6:11 PM

    Yes, breakfast with friends . . . not friends for breakfast. 😀

    I like the 2nd shot too.

    • jannatwrites April 10, 2013 / 9:54 PM

      I’m glad you liked the second photo, Nancy! And we’re on the same page about breakfast and friends 🙂

  11. Michael April 11, 2013 / 6:29 AM

    Of course, depending on how you interpret that first sentence, it could be referring to an actual person naming Joy, who’s decided to go cannibal for some reason or other. 😛

    • jannatwrites April 13, 2013 / 8:58 PM

      Should’ve known someone would come up that 🙂 Thanks for your comment and the chuckle today, Michael!

  12. Sean April 11, 2013 / 7:22 AM

    It is beautiful country there. We have a lot of deer here. I found out that my daughter hit a deer at some point. At least it didn’t mess up her truck. Speaking of my daughter, the tree kinda reminds me of her hair in the morning. Mine just isn’t long enough to have that appearance although I’m sure it would if it was.

    • jannatwrites April 13, 2013 / 9:00 PM

      I’m glad your daughter wasn’t hurt, Sean. Often, encounters with wildlife don’t end up so well. I won’t comment on crazy hair…my older son told me the other day when I woke up that my hair looked like I got electrocuted. Too many cartoons, I think 😉

  13. coyotero2112 April 12, 2013 / 10:43 AM

    While reading about your word change the English professor in me was thinking, “We’re going to Hannibal land.” And, there you went. Always edited student work where they claimed to be – “…Michael Jackson’s biggest fan…” or “…the biggest complainer..” among many others. Told them to prove they were there was none bigger. Mick Jagger always played around with commas in song titles, such as his idea for “Paint it, Black” to be outrageous, or “Pretty, Beat Up” changed to “Pretty Beat Up.” I could do an hour easy on the power of something as seemingly insignificant as a comma.
    Later…

    • jannatwrites April 13, 2013 / 9:07 PM

      Yeah, it was fairly obvious path to Hannibal land – but I went there without even realizing it until I read it over. Commas are little but quite important. I like the examples you gave on the drastic differences based on comma placement. I appreciate you stopping by and sharing your thoughts, Coyotero!

  14. Debbie April 12, 2013 / 11:19 AM

    Elk? Wow, I’ve never seen a real live elk — how fortunate you are, not only to have seen it but to have captured it on a photo!

    • jannatwrites April 13, 2013 / 9:12 PM

      One of these days, I might get a better photo, Debbie. For now, I’m thrilled I didn’t catch their backsides as they ran away 🙂

  15. agjorgenson April 13, 2013 / 6:06 PM

    I too like the second photo, but it might be because I am sweet on trees.

    • jannatwrites April 13, 2013 / 9:30 PM

      Trees are so cool, Allen. I’m liking the Alligator Juniper trees. The bark looks like an alligator’s back and it’s so interesting!

  16. Imelda April 13, 2013 / 7:59 PM

    Your photo is lovely, Janna. True, it is hard to take photos of animals. I think you have to lie in wait to get good photos of them, or be utterly lucky to have a great photo in the first try. 🙂
    By the way, I am also glad and relieved that you changed the caption. 😉 :-))

Got an opinion? Share it!

