Advice

Advice is like socks for Christmas: most people don’t ask for it, and they already have a drawer full- ignored and unused.

Advice should only be given when requested, and then, in moderation.

04-05 Socks

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~

TrifectaPicture11-1This is my response to the Trifecta weekend challenge:  We want you to give us thirty-three words of advice.  Your advice can be to anyone or about anything.  We only ask that you make it uniquely yours.

I have a policy against giving advice because I know enough to know I don’t know as much as I think I know.  Did you follow that? 🙂  Okay, I will give my opinion when prodded, but I prefer not to!

Have a beautiful weekend!  (Um, this is more of a suggestion than advice….)

93 thoughts on “Advice

  1. atrm61 April 5, 2013 / 7:40 AM

    This is so good-love it Janna:-)

    • jannatwrites April 5, 2013 / 9:31 AM

      I’m glad you like it, Atreyee! Giving advice makes me uncomfortable…no way could I go any way except the humor route on this one 🙂

      • atrm61 April 5, 2013 / 1:02 PM

        You did a great job Janna-I have a germ of an idea but am not sure if I want to enter this weekend-will think about it though 😉

        • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 9:12 PM

          I hope you did write something…I’m still working my way through the entries 🙂

        • atrm61 April 8, 2013 / 3:47 AM

          Yes I did & I see a comment from you on that-going there now 🙂

        • jannatwrites April 8, 2013 / 9:52 PM

          I’m glad you did it anyway. I think I’m going to skip the community judged ones this week. Doesn’t really seem fair to do it when I can’t read all the other entries.

        • atrm61 April 12, 2013 / 12:22 PM

          Will miss your pieces-do go check the comment I posted on the Trifecta home pg today-kind of passed on your message-am sure many of us feel the same:-)

        • jannatwrites April 13, 2013 / 9:13 PM

          I read the comment and added my two cents, Atreyee. I also saw others in agreement with you, and the extension of voting by two hours. Hope that helps you with your time difference. I’m looking forward to jumping back in on Monday!

        • atrm61 April 14, 2013 / 10:41 AM

          Yes,I saw that-thank you Janna & glad to have those two extra hours:-)Looking forward to seeing you back-missed your writing,tc xoxo

        • jannatwrites April 14, 2013 / 11:03 PM

          I do hope the prompt is one that inspires me…I miss the writing prompts already 🙂

        • atrm61 April 15, 2013 / 12:04 AM

          Good,that means,we will be treated to a feast in the coming weeks 😉

  2. Debbie April 5, 2013 / 7:51 AM

    Excellent “advice,” Janna!! I’d never looked at it that way, but you’re so right, advice IS like socks!

    • jannatwrites April 5, 2013 / 9:32 AM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who sees it that way, Debbie. I don’t want socks for Christmas and I don’t want unsolicited advice, either!

  3. coyotero2112 April 5, 2013 / 7:54 AM

    Wonderful advice, for a guy who owns no socks. How about advice being like flip-flops – they always seem to blow out when you hit the rough spots. That sounds a bit pessimistic, doesn’t it? Must find better flips and flops.
    Later…

    • jannatwrites April 5, 2013 / 9:37 AM

      Good one, Coyotero! Sometimes advice also rubs a blister, like that rubber part that goes between the toes. Ouch! Glad you stopped by to share your idea. I guess socks aren’t a priority in Costa Rica 🙂

  4. Draug419 April 5, 2013 / 8:11 AM

    Advice is like socks…
    That is such a great comparison! 😀

    • jannatwrites April 5, 2013 / 9:37 AM

      Thanks, Draug. I had hoped I wasn’t the only one who’d see it that way 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 5, 2013 / 9:38 AM

      Humor is what I was going for here, Sam! Thanks 🙂

  5. Kir Piccini April 5, 2013 / 9:19 AM

    oh Janna, you always say the right thing! Advice should be returnable, am I right? (do you have a receipt for that???)

    loved this

    • jannatwrites April 5, 2013 / 9:39 AM

      Haha! That would be hilarious – ask for a gift receipt when someone offers a silly bit of advice. I can’t tell you how much advice I wasted when my kids were babies. (I’m so glad my tongue has healed from all the biting I had to do as well :))

      Thanks for adding to the fun, Kir!

  6. Marie Nicole April 5, 2013 / 9:22 AM

    Best advice ever! And I love the comparison to socks. Greatly done!

    • jannatwrites April 5, 2013 / 9:41 AM

      I’m glad you like my non-advice, Marie! I’m looking forward to seeing what ‘real’ advice Trifectans offer this week 🙂

  7. Lance April 5, 2013 / 9:47 AM

    My advice to you is never stop writing. Becauss selfish jerks like me can’t get enough. good one Janna

    • jannatwrites April 6, 2013 / 8:25 AM

      Your comment cracked me up, Lance! I appreciate you reading what I write…and I don’t think you’re a selfish jerk 🙂

  8. Tessa April 5, 2013 / 10:00 AM

    I put all advice in the “closet” and take them out if they fit. HAH! I have been totally inspiration-less and don’t want to do anything, but sleep. Stupid meds, but the alternative of no meds wasn’t pretty. I still read you work though and enjoy it, just not up to commenting. This one I couldn’t resist. 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 6, 2013 / 8:29 AM

      At least the advice is there when/if you need it, Tessa! I was wondering where you’ve been…I’m sorry this is a time if little inspiration for you. I how you don’t get too discouraged and that your muse will visit soon. I’m glad you decided to comment- it was nice seeing one from you.

      • Tessa April 8, 2013 / 11:11 AM

        It is nice to be noticed even if it is that I have been missing. Very difficult time. No frenzied mania and no rapid swings, but I am missing out on life. There is nothing I want to do . I just got a BiPap machine for sleeping. They hope this helps. They upped my meds too. I only get on the computer every few days. Missed a few things. My “closet” is pretty inspirationless LOL!I have to pull it together. My daughter is taking me to Disney in Florida the end of the month. Right now I am the proverbial “party pooper.” 🙂

        • jannatwrites April 8, 2013 / 10:05 PM

          I’m sorry things are so difficult for you right now. Maybe the trip with your daughter will bring some kind of spark back. I’ll keep you in my prayers, Tessa.

        • Tessa April 9, 2013 / 10:26 AM

          Thank you Janna!

  9. pattisj April 5, 2013 / 10:29 AM

    I’d never have thought of this comparison, either.

    • jannatwrites April 6, 2013 / 8:30 AM

      my mind can be strange that way, Patti 🙂

  10. nrhatch April 5, 2013 / 12:45 PM

    Great advice . . . but as it is unsolicited, I shall ignore it. :mrgreen:

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 6:14 AM

      Probably a good idea, Nancy 😀 I said I wasn’t good at this advice thing!

  11. chlost April 5, 2013 / 3:29 PM

    As a person who gives advice for a living, I can see your point, but don’t have much choice. Of course, not everyone chooses to follow my obviously stellar advice!

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 6:17 AM

      Advice from someone professionally trained to give advice is a whole different story, Chlost. For instance, if Warren Buffett wants to give me advice on managing my retirement portfolio, I’d take note. Thanks for sharing your point of view on this one.

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 6:19 AM

      I thought of this because my brother used to always get socks for Christmas from my grandma. He hated it, but had to smile and say thank you. That’s what I did a lot when I got parenting advice with my kids 🙂 Glad you can relate, Renee!

  12. Paula J April 5, 2013 / 7:30 PM

    Socks. So true. And yet, sometimes you gotta have them.

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 6:20 AM

      True enough, Paula…it’s just nice to be able to get them only when you need them 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 6:21 AM

      Glad you see it, Eric! Glad you stopped by 🙂

  13. Donetta April 5, 2013 / 8:02 PM

    Wonderfully written and so true!! Some people may think they want advice but they don’t, and most never follow it.

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 6:22 AM

      You do hit on another point, Donetta…it is a bit annoying when someone asks for advice/an opinion and then they do the complete opposite!

  14. Trifecta April 5, 2013 / 9:00 PM

    And like socks, there is special advice for special occasions. They still probably go unused but…it’s the thought that counts!

    Thanks for linking up!

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 6:23 AM

      That’s another way to look at it 🙂 (Sometimes advice is given from lack of thought, but I’ll leave that one be!)

  15. Sharp Little Pencil April 5, 2013 / 9:28 PM

    Janna, your giving advice on giving (or not giving) advice, what a great idea for the prompt! As my husband always says, “Opinions are like a**holes: Everyone’s got one, and they all stink!” I receive advice all the time on my depression and mania: “Pull yourself up by your bootstraps, etc.” You’re right. Butt out, world; I’ll ask for advice when I want it! Love, Amy

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 6:24 AM

      Funny quote from your husband, Amy! It’s easy for someone to give advice like that when they’ve never experienced it….which is why we should keep that advice to ourselves!

  16. ramblingsfromamum April 5, 2013 / 9:58 PM

    So with you on the sock advice…how many more desperate, lonely and singular socks are out there already, set into the washing machine of life together never to be joined again…
    😉

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 6:25 AM

      Geez, I have a whole stack of single socks waiting for their lost mate. It makes me wonder where they ran off to!

  17. RogRites (aka BetaRules) April 5, 2013 / 11:05 PM

    No one likes a know it all.

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 6:25 AM

      True, RogRites….the problem with know-it-alls is that they usually know little.

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 6:26 AM

      Thanks, Dianne! Not sure about the ‘brilliant’ part, but hope it was good for a smile anyway 🙂

  18. Gina April 6, 2013 / 6:16 AM

    I shall never look at my pile of mismatched socks the same again! Great job, Janna!

  19. Suzanne April 6, 2013 / 7:25 AM

    Love this Janna! Especially the sock comparison. It’s good to know I’m not the only one with an abundance of neglected socks (never mind advice)… Well done!

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 6:28 AM

      I’m glad you liked it, Suzanne! I can barely close my sock drawer and I have no idea why I have so many socks. I have a fair amount of unused (unsolicited) advice as well 🙂

  20. KymmInBarcelona April 6, 2013 / 11:38 AM

    Oh, but I love new socks. No one ever gives me socks! Maybe it’s because I don’t take advice very well… Good one, Janna!

  21. Sini April 6, 2013 / 11:41 AM

    Well said….I too loathe people pointing out stuff and pushing you towards a direction…and I would love to find stuff out myself..but can’t help pushing my children though…

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 6:30 AM

      Funny you should mention children. As parents, we often have no clue what we’re doing, but we HAVE to give advice based on our own experience. If we don’t, our children won’t have the guidance they need. Thanks for pointing out this obvious disclaimer, Sini!

  22. Sarah Ann April 6, 2013 / 12:15 PM

    This is wonderful. I’d never made the connection before. I will never give a gift of socks.

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 6:31 AM

      If someone needs socks (or advice) giving could be the answer, though. Thanks for reading, Sarah Ann!

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 6:32 AM

      Aw, thanks, Rangewriter! Sometimes humor is the best way to go 🙂

  23. barbara April 6, 2013 / 11:51 PM

    where’d you get the picture of MY sock drawer? 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 9:11 PM

      Well, you did give me your address when you sent your birthday prize 🙂 Only teasing, of course, Barbara!

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 9:12 PM

      Oh, wow – that is so nice of you, Bee! I’ll be by to check out your post soon 🙂

  24. Sandra April 7, 2013 / 1:37 PM

    Oh, I love the twist on giving advice here! But these are the words of truth! (Ironically, I just asked for advice on social media on getting too much spam on my blog, but I’m not getting anything really useful, unfortunately.)

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 9:01 PM

      Yeah, I dislike giving advice because it implies I know what I’m talking about 🙂 I wish you would’ve gotten some advice you could use – especially since you requested it. Spam can sure be annoying, Sandra. Wish I had some tips for you (you know, since you didn’t ask!)

      • Sandra April 8, 2013 / 12:29 PM

        Awww, Janna, I only didn’t ask because we are on different platforms. But if you do have advice for me, I’d LOVE to hear it! Really! 🙂

        • jannatwrites April 8, 2013 / 10:08 PM

          I was just playing around (because of my piece about not giving advice.) I really don’t have any good suggestions for dealing with spam (except don’t ever use tags of ‘advertising’, ‘marketing’ or ‘shopping’ or anything related to the two. I wrote a humorous post about how I fell into a store’s marketing trap every time and bought more than I needed to…spam increased after that one and I’m pretty sure it was the tags I used.)

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 9:03 PM

      Glad you could relate to it, Lumdog. Here’s to not giving unsolicited advice (or socks)!

  25. brenda w April 7, 2013 / 5:22 PM

    Such wisdom in your words…!

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 9:03 PM

      Thanks for reading, Brenda. Sometimes humor can hold some truth 🙂

  26. Imelda April 7, 2013 / 7:53 PM

    I learned this the hard way. 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 9:04 PM

      Me too, Imelda. More than once I’m afraid. (What can I say, I’m a slow learner!)

  27. pattyabr April 7, 2013 / 8:35 PM

    ha ha
    Yes socks and underwear for Christmas are both unwanted

    • jannatwrites April 7, 2013 / 9:05 PM

      My goodness, Patty…I hadn’t thought about underwear. Thank goodness I never got that for Christmas!

  28. Sam Edge, Writer April 8, 2013 / 11:01 PM

    I am just getting to this now Janna but you certainly nailed it with this one 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

