Roses

“Everything’s coming up roses,”

She heard friends whisper

Behind her back.


If only they knew…


Colicky baby in her arms,

All she could smell

Was the manure

Underneath;

Blood drawn

By angry thorns.

I know these aren't roses (I don't have rose photos), but you should still be careful when touching these flowers!
I know these aren’t roses (I don’t have rose photos), but you should still be careful when touching these flowers!

~~~~-~~~~-~~~~-~~~~-~~~~-~~~~-~~~~-~~~~-~~~~-~~~~-~~~~-~~~~-~~~~-~~~~-~~~~-

TrifectaPicture11-1This was written for the Trifecta weekend challenge, which was to write exactly 33 words including an idiom somewhere within.  I wanted to break away from Darlene’s story for a bit, because I miss writing about other things.  Hope this idiom didn’t turn cliche!

If you want to try the challenge yourself, or read other entries, click the tricycle picture to get to Trifecta’s site.  I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

70 thoughts on “Roses

  1. lumdog (@lumdog2012) March 29, 2013 / 8:34 AM

    A complete story in 33 words with a well strung set of idioms. Nice job!

    • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:19 PM

      Thanks, Lumdog! For some reason, roses got stuck in my head (and now my brain keeps playing, ‘Every Rose Has Its Thorn’.) Somebody help me 🙂

  2. diannegray March 29, 2013 / 9:03 AM

    There is so much feeling here, Janna. This is a great story in only 33 words – well done! 😉

    • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:19 PM

      Thanks, Dianne. I don’t have babies anymore, but I do remember the overwhelmed feeling when the rest of the world thought life would be just peachy!

  3. Debbie March 29, 2013 / 9:05 AM

    Yikes, those cacti certainly don’t want anybody picking their blooms, do they?! Good job on your story, too!

    • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:21 PM

      You know, Phoenix doesn’t exactly have an abundance of rose bushes on public property…and I’m reluctant to sneak into someone’s yard for a photo (there really are a lot of nutty people with firearms :)) Thanks for stopping by, Debbie!

    • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:22 PM

      They’re red? 🙂 Glad they get your vote, Phil!

    • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:22 PM

      Thanks, Bjorn – I appreciate you reading!

  4. Lance March 29, 2013 / 10:10 AM

    i like how you used it at the beginning. It set a mood. good job.

    • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:23 PM

      It’s funny how outsiders view lives differently than the one living it. Thanks for reading, Lance!

  5. nrhatch March 29, 2013 / 10:17 AM

    Having a baby is not always a bed of roses. Well done, Janna.

    • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:25 PM

      Yeah, sometimes it’s just the thorny stems, Nancy 🙂

  6. tedstrutz March 29, 2013 / 11:37 AM

    You crack me up with your photo comment! Nice work with the ids…

    • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:26 PM

      It’s kind of funny that I couldn’t find a single rose picture amongst thousands of landscape pictures I’ve taken. Glad you stopped by, Ted!

  7. pattyabr March 29, 2013 / 1:13 PM

    I think I’d like to give the Trifecta a try I’ll have to check out the website

    • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:27 PM

      I hope you do give it a try – it’s lots of fun. Once you post on your blog, all you have to do is add the link to Trifecta’s page. Can’t wait to see what you come up with 🙂

  8. Suzanne March 29, 2013 / 2:01 PM

    This is fantastic Janna! Love the story in this. Great use of the prompt!

  9. Maggie March 29, 2013 / 2:50 PM

    Both my husband and I (both intelligent) did not grasp the meaning of your last phrase. I sensed anger. After reading through the comments, I understand it as anger/disillusionment with life. Strong feelings. Am only stating because, for me, would have been excellent with words I could grasp. BTW, I searched “blood drawn by angry thorns” thinking it might be an idiom and your story came right up on Google. Are they on top of things, or what?

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2013 / 11:10 PM

      Geez, Google is efficient…kind of scary! I don’t think understanding a poem has anything to do with intelligence, I think it’s more a matter of context; whether you can relate it to yourself. Of course, I’m a little bummed that line didn’t ‘reach’ you, but I am glad the comments were able to clear it up a bit.

      I appreciate you taking time to share your reaction to the piece, Maggie. I do like to know how others honestly feel about my writing 🙂

  10. Kir Piccini March 29, 2013 / 3:21 PM

    Oh Janna, sometimes you just say it the way I want to. Roses above and manure underneath. (Vital to growing for sure, but sometimes it stinks)

    LOVED it.
    xo

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2013 / 11:11 PM

      You’re so kind, Kir! You’ve summed it up well. I’d had a rough couple days with the kiddos, so I think this was a result of that. Even with the beauty of having children, there’s ‘crap’ and pain involved….sometimes just have to plug my nose and focus on the blooms 🙂

      • Kir Piccini April 2, 2013 / 5:57 AM

        AMEN, my friend. Some days are just harder than others and the manure takes over.
        Hoping today is a little better. 😉
        HUG

        • jannatwrites April 2, 2013 / 11:56 PM

          Today was a good day, Kir. Thanks 🙂

  11. barbara March 29, 2013 / 4:43 PM

    a great picture of motherhood . . . we know we’re blessed, but, oh the manure (heh) mixed in with the flowers.

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2013 / 11:12 PM

      Absolutely, Barbara. The blooms really are pretty, though!

  12. Cobbie's World March 29, 2013 / 7:19 PM

    Nobody who has yet to experience the birth of a child can appreciate what a life-altering experience it is. You captured that very well.

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2013 / 11:13 PM

      Thanks, Cobbie. Life is never the same after having children. Mostly, it’s a beautiful thing…but some days, the wind blows just right…. 🙂

  13. pattisj March 29, 2013 / 7:29 PM

    That might be worse than a thorn!

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2013 / 11:14 PM

      🙂 Glad you stopped by, Patti! I’m way behind on reading your posts, but the emails are waiting for me… with no Cub Scout stuff this week, I just might catch up. (I probably just jinxed it by putting that in writing.)

  14. ramblingsfromamum March 29, 2013 / 8:33 PM

    Janet agreed with the others – a complete story in 33 words..the joys and not so of young ones… walks off singing “Every Rose has it’s Thorn” 😉

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2013 / 11:16 PM

      It’s good to know that others can relate to the emotion here, Ramblings. I think we can sing the song together…it comes to mind whenever I think of this post 🙂

  15. Draug419 March 29, 2013 / 8:43 PM

    Have some of those friends babysit for a few hours and let’s see what idiom they use then (: Great piece!

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2013 / 11:17 PM

      Hehe…tad bit evil, but entertaining plan, Draug. I like it!

  16. Cheney March 29, 2013 / 9:08 PM

    Nice little story, kind of weird and creepy, which i love!

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2013 / 11:17 PM

      Thanks, Cheney…I appreciate you taking time to read and share your thoughts!

  17. Eric Alagan March 30, 2013 / 2:29 AM

    Beautiful Janna – a few words tell a story.

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2013 / 11:18 PM

      Thanks, Eric. I appreciate you stopping by. (I’m behind on your posts, but expect to catch up in the next day or two!)

  18. ann bennett March 30, 2013 / 3:19 PM

    So true, even when things are good, there are thorns.

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2013 / 11:18 PM

      Exactly, Ann! Things are hardly ever as perfect as they seem to outsiders.

  19. agjorgenson March 30, 2013 / 5:19 PM

    You nicely frame an important truth here. Congrats!

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2013 / 11:19 PM

      Thanks, Ag. It’s up to us whether we admire the beauty or dwell on the ‘stinky’ stuff 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2013 / 11:20 PM

      I appreciate you taking time to read and comment, Shreya!

  20. Marie Nicole March 31, 2013 / 9:54 AM

    Great job of rendering a full story! Nicely done…

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2013 / 11:22 PM

      Thanks, Marie. I can’t always get a story in 33 words, but it’s nice when it does happen 🙂

  21. atrm61 March 31, 2013 / 10:46 AM

    Every rose has some thorns & I did not mine at all(hardly pricked);-)Loved the reference to manure below,Janna,well done:-)

  22. atrm61 March 31, 2013 / 10:47 AM

    *mind not mine-oops!

    • jannatwrites March 31, 2013 / 11:22 PM

      Thanks, Atreyee. The flesh wounds recover, but the blooms don’t fade where children are concerned 🙂

      • atrm61 March 31, 2013 / 11:27 PM

        True:-)I feel blessed to have a gem of a daughter-I was a real pain to my parents though they loved me the most 😛

        • jannatwrites March 31, 2013 / 11:41 PM

          Really? I can’t imagine you causing your parents grief!

        • atrm61 March 31, 2013 / 11:48 PM

          I was such a rebel-never wanted to toe the line & boy,the lip I gave-especially to my mom!And had a furious temper to match,ha!ha!

        • jannatwrites April 1, 2013 / 10:47 PM

          Oh my! Glad your daughter didn’t return the favor for you 🙂

        • atrm61 April 2, 2013 / 4:17 AM

          Ha!ha!Well,I am a Dragon-only now she has started coming into her own & we have a great relationship-am sure lucky:-)

        • jannatwrites April 2, 2013 / 11:55 PM

          That’s so cool, Atreyee!

        • atrm61 April 3, 2013 / 12:02 AM

          🙂

  23. kymminbarcelona March 31, 2013 / 4:25 PM

    Blood and manure bringing up roses. Nice one, Janna!

  24. lovethebadguy March 31, 2013 / 5:00 PM

    A great spin on a well-known phrase. Well done!

  25. rashmenon April 1, 2013 / 1:21 AM

    Some really lovely lines in there. Loved esp ‘blood drawn by angry thorns’.

    • jannatwrites April 1, 2013 / 10:48 PM

      Thanks, Rashmenon. I’m glad you stopped by to read it!

  26. Imelda April 1, 2013 / 5:27 PM

    Hi, Janna. I hope things are coming up roses with you, I mean, in a beautiful way, not in the poem way. 🙂 You are happily settled in your new place, I pray. 🙂

    • jannatwrites April 1, 2013 / 10:53 PM

      Your comment made me smile, Imelda. A couple weeks ago, it was mostly manure, but things are better now. My husband is moved in, but I won’t be fully moved in until the weekend. Still stuck “in between” so the kids could finish a couple things at school. I’m looking forward to going ‘home’.

Got an opinion? Share it!

