Truth or Lies

Darlene kept the barrel of the gun aimed at Jeff.  While waiting for a deputy to arrive, she contemplated whether or not to trust him.  Her mind considered the facts:  he was a long-time family friend and her father’s business partner, but he also tore her family apart before faking his own death.

“It’s not me you should worry about, Dolly.  Your father is the evil you should fear,” Jeff said, interrupting her thoughts.

“Shut up!”

“I can prove it.  Give me chance.”

Darlene focused on the center of his chest.  Two to the chest; one to the head, she coached herself.

“Your husband has secrets of his own,” Jeff continued.  “Lucky break, him marrying you…”

She clenched her jaw, willing herself not to cry.  Stubbornness was a family trait that only sometimes worked to her advantage.  This would be one of those rare instances.

Jeff grinned with the smugness of a gambler laying down a royal flush.  “Do you really think a small courier business could pay for a home in Scottsdale, a cabin in the forest, and a vacation home in St. Thomas?”

Darlene’s mouth opened, but words refused to form.

“Didn’t know about that last one, huh?”  He laughed.

“I can’t!”  Darlene grabbed her purse and ran out of the cabin.  Jeff was right about one thing:  she couldn’t shoot him.  But she couldn’t listen to his lies any longer, either.

She fished her keys from the side pocket and fumbled with the remote.  Finally, she heard a beep and the click of doors unlocking.  She slipped the gun into her purse and tossed it in the passenger seat before flopping into the driver’s seat.  Through her tears, she managed to get the keys in the ignition.  She spun the car around to the dirt road, leaving a fog of gravel and dust behind her.

On Highway 87, she passed a Gila County Sheriff patrol car headed in the opposite direction.  Soon, Jeff would pay for his deceit.

Darlene smiled.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

TrifectaPicture11-1This is my response to Trifecta’s weekly challenge, which is to write a 33 to 333-word response (mine is 333) using the following word/definition:

LUCKY (adjective):  producing or resulting in good by chance; favorable

This continues Darlene’s story (if you haven’t read the other parts and are curious about what has transpired so far, here are the links:)

First Part (Dead Flowers)    Second Part (Investigation)    Third Part (Unknown Path)

Fourth Part (Missing)    Fifth Part (Facing Memories)    Sixth Part (Hunted or Hunter?)

Seventh Part (Indecision)     Eighth Part (Ties That Bind)     Ninth Part (Skeletons)

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

I’ve been without internet access for much of the past week.  Due to the fact my smart phone frustrates me, I haven’t done much blog reading, or any updates around here.  I have limited access now and am working on catching up on what I missed.  Please be patient…I swear I will stop by soon 🙂

60 thoughts on “Truth or Lies

  1. Sandra March 25, 2013 / 2:08 PM

    But what if he’s telling the truth? Is her father a mob boss? Is her husband the under-boss? I can’t wait to find out!

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2013 / 10:42 PM

      Good point, Sandra – she doesn’t know who is telling the truth (yet) 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2013 / 10:43 PM

      Sheesh, I wish, Yerpirate! I do hope to develop this further, but I need to get better at squeezing time in to write.

  2. Michael March 25, 2013 / 2:27 PM

    Ooh, dramatic revelations….this is getting good.

  3. diannegray March 25, 2013 / 2:28 PM

    I love this “Jeff grinned with the smugness of a gambler laying down a royal flush” – what a great image! 😀

    I hope your internet access comes back to life completely soon 😦

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2013 / 10:45 PM

      Thanks, Dianne! I do hope life will someone resume normally in a couple weeks or so.

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2013 / 10:46 PM

      Your comment made me smile, Renee. Seriously, I do appreciate your enthusiasm!

  4. philosophermouseofthehedge March 25, 2013 / 3:35 PM

    Can’t wait to see what’s down the road….
    Love these line – great character development – great writing
    ” Stubbornness was a family trait that only sometimes worked to her advantage. This would be one of those rare instances.”

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2013 / 10:47 PM

      Stubbornness often brings on trouble, so it’s refreshing when it’s a help rather than a hindrance 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to read this, Phil!

  5. Sean March 25, 2013 / 3:42 PM

    Now where did you get the saying “Two in the Chest and One in the Head”? I’ve heard that a lot from when I was in the Army. You’re writing always has something that I was not expecting.

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2013 / 10:48 PM

      Hmmm…can’t tell you, I’d have to kill you 🙂 Only kidding. But I can’t reveal the source here, though.

      • Sean March 26, 2013 / 1:30 PM

        Maybe Jeff is only lying about some of what is going on. Maybe he is part of what her father and husband is part of but doesn’t know if daughter-dearest knows anything. hmmmmmm Only the writer knows

        • jannatwrites March 28, 2013 / 12:10 AM

          You may be close on a couple points, Sean, but I can’t say for sure (then there would be no need to bother finishing the story 🙂

  6. Lance March 25, 2013 / 4:24 PM

    the royal flush line was magnificent. I love the pace of this…MORE please.

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2013 / 10:50 PM

      Thanks so much, Lance! I’m glad you’re enjoying the story, I hope I can keep it going until I reach a suitable ending 🙂

  7. tedstrutz March 25, 2013 / 5:16 PM

    I liked willing herself not to cry… she should have shot him, I never liked that Jeff. I’ve enjoyed this story, lots.

    I named one of my characters Jeff today… a bad egg too, but not this Jeff, at least I don’t think so.

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2013 / 10:52 PM

      Ha! The “Jeffs” of the world better watch out – we’re giving them a bad name, Ted 🙂

      Would be funny if they ended up being the same Jeff, right? Hehe….

  8. ramblingsfromamum March 25, 2013 / 6:05 PM

    So getting involved in this, revenge is sweet…now of course we wait until you are up and running to see what happens next…or have you left us all enticed enough and wait for your up and coming published? 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2013 / 10:53 PM

      Oh, I wish I had something to publish! I’m writing this on the fly as the prompts come out, so all I have right now are general ideas stored in my head (or on post-it notes.) Thanks for reading, Ramblings!

  9. pattisj March 25, 2013 / 6:40 PM

    HI Janna! Glad to see your absence is an internet technicality. 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2013 / 10:54 PM

      Well, it’s life and internet technicalities, but it’s difficult to distinguish where one issue begins and another begins.!

  10. Eric Alagan March 25, 2013 / 7:14 PM

    If Jeff is not lying – this family’s skeletons need more than a wardrobe. i wonder whether her father has a warehouse too.

    Looking forward to the continuation…

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2013 / 10:56 PM

      Hehe…yeah, that would be a whole lot of skeletons to dress, Eric! I appreciate you reading and taking time to comment 🙂

  11. pattyabr March 25, 2013 / 9:43 PM

    I was intrigued… want to see the next scene and the final ending. Nice job

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2013 / 10:56 PM

      I’m glad it’s holding your interest enough to want to read more, Patty. Thanks for reading!

  12. Sharp Little Pencil March 26, 2013 / 1:52 AM

    Janna, at last, a Trifectan I know! Meeting lots of new peeps this week, as I usually miss the deadline for Trifecta, and then miss coming back to judge. Why do I bother? Because it was a great prompt!

    This could go either way. Her father could be a total schmuck, or Jeff is lying. Either way, I’m glad she got out before causing anyone bodily harm, because if she landed in jail, she’d be a bigger schmuck than Daddy Mafioso, huh?!

    Well crafted, Janna! Glad to see you again. Hope computer problems are done with soon. Peace, Amy

  13. nrhatch March 26, 2013 / 7:12 AM

    Awesome writing, Janna. I’m looking forward to seeing where this leads. Good luck enduring your internet issues.

  14. Debbie March 26, 2013 / 10:32 AM

    Don’t you just HATE computer problems?!

    Interesting spin on your story about Darlene. I never saw it coming that she’d just flee the scene and let the deputies take care of Jeff! In fact, as I was reading, I was waiting for him to pounce on her, thereby preventing her escape. I know — he was tied up — but anything’s possible in this kind of story! Well done!

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2013 / 12:07 AM

      Well, it’s not just computer problems…moving problems is more accurate, Debbie! A post about the experience is simmering right now…

      I just didn’t think Darlene could shoot him…and I’m not done with Jeff yet 🙂 Thanks for continuing to follow, and share your thoughts on, this story.

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2013 / 12:09 AM

      Haha! Maybe he is a dirty, lying creep AND she’s a psycho? Nah, it’s not quite that outrageous 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to share your thoughts on the story, Ann.

  15. Widdershins March 26, 2013 / 1:01 PM

    You might want to think about combining all the episodes of this story and creating a new page for it. That way you only need a single link and it’s easier to catch up for those unfortunate few who haven’t been reading this engrossing story from the beginning.

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2013 / 12:10 AM

      You know, I’ve not done that before, Widdershins, so I’m not quite sure how to post something anywhere but the home page. When things settle down, I’ll look into it. I should probably do it for Ellie’s story that I did last year as well. Thanks for the suggestion!

      • Widdershins March 28, 2013 / 12:24 PM

        When you’ready … if you want a study-buddy, email me.

        • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:13 PM

          Thanks for the offer, Widdershins – I may just take you up on that!

  16. Sandra March 27, 2013 / 12:44 AM

    Gripping stuff. You’re on a roll here.

  17. kymminbarcelona March 27, 2013 / 3:12 PM

    Liked Jeff’s royal flush smugness.

  18. Sandra March 27, 2013 / 8:54 PM

    I can’t help but feel like he’s telling the truth and she’s blinded by her naivete? Dunno. Sorry that you’ve had problems with internet access. I know that I would go NUTS if that happened. I can’t comment on my phone cuz my thumbs just don’t type as well. I hope everything returns to normal soon!!

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2013 / 12:14 AM

      To be honest, I haven’t entirely figured out where Jeff is going (I know, I’d better do it soon!) I have a couple ideas but I’m still thinking them through to pick the best scenario. Thanks for your comment, Sandra. I don’t know when things will be ‘normal’, but I’m starting to see the light at the end of my Inbox…I’m under 100 emails now. Whoo-hoo!

  19. Draug419 March 27, 2013 / 10:03 PM

    I love the conflict of wanting to trust him and not wanting to trust him. This just gets better each time.

    • jannatwrites March 28, 2013 / 12:15 AM

      Thanks so much for reading, Draug! I think many of us have met people that we can’t decide right off whether or not they can be trusted.

  20. Brian Benoit March 28, 2013 / 6:58 AM

    Nice continuation! I really believed the pace and the tension, Darlene’s willingness to stay and listen but only for so long. Great job!

    • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:11 PM

      Thanks so much for reading and sharing your reaction, Brian. I appreciate it!

  21. Tara R. March 28, 2013 / 11:59 AM

    So many questions left to answer, this will keep me coming back for more.

    • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:12 PM

      Thanks, Tara. I don’t mean to leave so many questions 🙂

      • Tara R. March 29, 2013 / 1:28 PM

        Oh, it’s a good thing! Builds the suspense and keeps me wanting more.

        • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:29 PM

          In that case, I’ll carry on 🙂 Thanks, Tara!

  22. atrm61 March 28, 2013 / 1:48 PM

    Oh my!I am really digging this:-)Darlene has my sympathies -poor girl-has no idea whom to trust-wonder if Jeff is the real black guard or is it someone she has no suspicion about?Excellent writing once again Janna:-)

    • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:16 PM

      Thanks, Atreyee! I had hoped that readers would still be unsure of whether Jeff is a good guy or bad guy. I’m glad you are still following the story.

      • atrm61 March 31, 2013 / 3:22 AM

        Can’t not follow it,it’s so interesting Janna 🙂

  23. habibadanyal March 29, 2013 / 1:21 AM

    You know I hope against hope that this story would have a bizarre ending. Please. 😉

    • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:17 PM

      I’m not sure how bizarre you’re looking for, Habibadanyal, but I do think a ‘normal’ ending would be a bit of let down 🙂

  24. Lumdog March 29, 2013 / 1:40 AM

    I’ve been loving this series. It gets better as each chapter unfolds. Great writing.

    • jannatwrites March 29, 2013 / 1:17 PM

      Thanks for continuing to read it, Lumdog – I appreciate the feedback!

Got an opinion? Share it!

