In Between

03-15 Almost Sunrise

There is a hazy place,

Between moonlight and sunrise,

Where uncertainty

Feeds on shadowed fears.

There are doubtful moments,

Between thinking and knowing,

Lurking in gray

While begging truth to appear.




~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

The blurry photo is an accurate depiction of how I see early mornings.  (And I commute like this…worried yet? :grin:)  I wish I could say the blur was intentional, but it’s just the byproduct of taking a picture with a cell phone camera while driving.  It took a couple stoplights to get one with a semi-level horizon.

The lit streetlights not bowing out to the sun’s first rays made me think of this early morning time as “in between.”  “In between” is something I know well right now.  The move is on the horizon so we’re in between houses, in between cities, in between lives.  The recurring question, “are we making a mistake?” interrupts moments of peace to stir the doubt pot again.

I think the only mistake would be not finding out.

I hope you have a beautiful weekend!

31 thoughts on “In Between

  1. suzicate March 15, 2013 / 9:01 AM

    Change creates both excitement and fear. Let it all unfold. I hope the new city brings wonderful things into your life.

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2013 / 12:19 AM

      Thanks, Suzicate! It’s hard for me to ‘just go with it’, but I’m doing my best 🙂

  2. philosophermouseofthehedge March 15, 2013 / 9:23 AM

    Dawning of new! Venture on – it will be terrific!
    Can’t wait to hear all the discoveries.
    (I used to commute a long way in the dark/dawn…ugh, is all I can say to that… at least there aren’t hundreds of other cars in front of you. Shaking you to make sure you’re awake…time change is always hard…harder than moving! The adventure waits!)

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2013 / 12:24 AM

      The commute stinks – I’ve been doing it for sixteen years now. Where I took the picture was deserted, but everyone seems to find their way to the freeway. That part of the commute – the stop and go – is annoying.

      Thanks for giving me a nudge, Phil…I’m awake…I swear 🙂

  3. nrhatch March 15, 2013 / 10:07 AM

    Beautiful poem and post, Janna. Here’s to all good things for you in your new abode.

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2013 / 12:26 AM

      Thanks, Nancy! I’m looking forward to things settling in. I just might sleep for a week when it’s done 🙂

  4. Imelda March 15, 2013 / 10:30 AM

    Lovely poem and post, Janna. 🙂 I wish you and your family well on your move. Fear is normal in every undertaking, especially in one as big as you’re making. Trust in the Lord. especially when the road seems so rocky and difficult and disappointing.

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2013 / 1:20 AM

      Thanks so much, Imelda! Your comment gave me some comfort during the uncertainty. I appreciate it 🙂

  5. Widdershins March 15, 2013 / 12:24 PM

    You’re right about that … if we never go, we’ll never know!

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2013 / 1:43 AM

      Going with the change is the hard part, Widdershins 🙂

      • Widdershins March 16, 2013 / 1:29 PM

        Heh … I reckon we’re allowed to kick and scream all we want … just so long as we go in the end!

        • jannatwrites March 17, 2013 / 9:19 PM

          True enough, Widdershins 🙂

  6. pattyabr March 15, 2013 / 12:31 PM

    good luck with your in-between.

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2013 / 1:45 AM

      Thanks, Patty! Appreciate you stopping by.

  7. Debbie March 15, 2013 / 5:47 PM

    “I think the only mistake would be not finding out.” Well said, Janna. Life is full of in-betweens. The unpredictability is what keeps the journey interesting. (I know, easy for me to say that when I’m not facing a major move right now!). Still, it’s kind of nice to stir things up once in a while, don’t you think?!

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2013 / 1:53 AM

      I like your attitude toward change! You’re right, Debbie…life really is full of in betweens. While change can be a nice break, it can be tough to embrace. I’m working on it 🙂

  8. BCIJo (aka Joanne Edith) March 15, 2013 / 7:48 PM

    Beautiful, troubling and entrancing. Reminds me of a book I read after I’d been “early retired” from a company I’d worked for for 25 years…”between Trapezes”. The cover depicted a person flying through mid air, having let go of one trapeze and looking toward the one one he hoped was winging his way at the right time. It was an image that I found to be helpful, as I faced the next phase of my life ( though I didn’t know where it would lead me). I knew only that I’d let go and was in mid air, hoping, knowing trusting that my outstretched hands would catch the next trapeze. They did, as yours will. Or more simply, when one door closes, another opens. Thank you for a lovely and thought provoking piece of introspection. Time to fire up the crystal ball.

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2013 / 1:56 AM

      Oooh, crystal ball…can I have a peek?? 🙂 On second thought, I think I’d rather not know!

      I’m sorry that happened, Joanne. After 25 years, I imagine the job was very much a part of you. I’m glad you found your way through it – that’s encouraging for me in the changes we are going through.

      I’m glad you stopped by and shared your thoughts on this post.

  9. diannegray March 15, 2013 / 10:22 PM

    Beautiful poem, Janna. Best of luck with the move – I highly recommend it (it’s worked very well for me). Please keep us updated on how everything is progressing 😉

    • jannatwrites March 16, 2013 / 1:57 AM

      Thanks, Dianne! Luckily, we’re just moving…we’re not having the house delivered to us 🙂 I’m sure I’ll have more to write on this soon!

      • diannegray March 16, 2013 / 2:05 PM

        I’m looking forward to it 😉

  10. sonsothunder March 16, 2013 / 3:01 AM

    Awesome picture and poem.. not blurry at all actually…at least, not when seen through these old eyes.

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2013 / 9:01 PM

      🙂 Your comment made me smile, Sonsothunder! I’m glad you stopped by. I hope you had a great weekend!

  11. agjorgenson March 17, 2013 / 12:03 PM

    Lovely, thoughtful poem! Being between often gives new insights, a new way to view the world: both exciting and scary.

    • jannatwrites March 17, 2013 / 9:22 PM

      Thanks for reading the poem, Agjorgenson! Exciting and scary is just about right 🙂

  12. I Am Jasmine Kyle March 18, 2013 / 6:49 AM

    What a lovely poem Janna! It is a scary time. No one likes the dark!

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2013 / 10:30 PM

      Thanks for reading, Jasmine! Oh, yes – the dark is scary.

  13. pattisj March 22, 2013 / 10:45 PM

    You weighed out a lot of things before making the decision, don’t let doubt creep in and spoil the adventure. 🙂 I like you poem, too.

  14. GodGirl March 25, 2013 / 2:09 AM

    Can totally relate to the blurry inbetween that you describe so well here. As you say, if we avoid change, we’ll never really know risk, and the life and adventure that is so often birthed from it. Praying you would rest in Him, and the questions, during the period of limbo, and truly enjoy what the other side brings 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 25, 2013 / 10:33 PM

      Lovely comment, GodGirl. It’s so easy to stay in a comfortable place, but comfortable isn’t always good for us…it’s just convenient. Appreciate you offering your wisdom!

Got an opinion? Share it!

