Sticks and Stones

 “Different.”

“Unique.”

Shunned by all;

A black sheep.

Each hateful word-

A stick and a stone-

Struck her deep,

Battered her soul.

Betrayed.

Beaten.

Bruised.

Now, like her Savior:

Risen.

Their transgressions?

Forgiven.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

TrifectaPicture11-1This is my response to the Trifecta weekend writing challenge which was to:  “This weekend, we want you to give us a thirty-three response using the word stone as one of your thirty-three words.  You can use any definition of the word that you’d like, but we are specifically looking for serious, well-conceived entries.”

Edit:  I forgot to state constructive criticism is welcome…it always is 🙂

Click on the tricycle picture to check out the complete instructions, or to read others’ responses to the prompt.

Growing up, adults liked to remind me “sticks and stones may break my bones, but names will never hurt me.”  As a mom, I can promise I will never utter those words to my children because they are a lie.  I venture to say that the words hurt worse than an actual beating.  It’s curious to me how all of us as sinners feel we have the right to ostracize and torture another person because they may not blend into the crowd.  This poem was inspired by the recent death of a 12-year old boy which was blamed on bullying.  My prayers are with that family, and anyone else experiencing this torment.

Can we drop the stones and try love instead?

103 thoughts on “Sticks and Stones

  1. Draug419 March 8, 2013 / 8:18 AM

    I can’t believe people still toss that saying around with the overwhelming evidence of what bullying can do. I was bullied as a kid for being a geek and even though I knew I was smarter than my bullies, the words still got to me ): Your words on the subject are very powerful!

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 8:27 AM

      I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks that saying is ridiculous, Draug. You’re like a Trifecta all-star champion, so the joke’s on all those who picked on you 😀

      I was also picked on relentlessly in my early school years. My hair was too curly…my skin too white…grades too high…athletic ability too low…you name it, it was all wrong. Even now, knocking on forty’s door, I struggle with worrying too much about what’s not right with me 🙂

  2. mindofshoo March 8, 2013 / 8:41 AM

    This is very well done. Heart wrenching. TY for sharing.

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 9:19 AM

      Thank you for reading, Shoo. Trifecta asked for serious, and I think they got it.

  3. tedstrutz March 8, 2013 / 9:05 AM

    Oh, JannaT… this work is special. I would vote for this in a heartbeat, and I have not read any others. In fact, I came from your comment on my page and thought this was the ‘juggle’ one. I couldn’t find ‘Juggle’, then realized it was the new 33. I had to read 3 times to ‘get’ it, and boy I did. A+ for the use of the prompt… and the message. Yes, bullying is a terrible thing and points out what we should really teach our children.

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 9:24 AM

      I appreciate your thoughtful comment, Tedsrutz. I imagine this was a bit confusing since you came expecting “juggle” 🙂

      Bullying frightens me because sometimes it’s a silent struggle that the kids don’t share with parents. (A parent running to the school to ‘fix’ it would just make things worse.) I just hope if my kids have issues they will be able to talk to me and I pray that if they talk to me, I can give them support however they need it. And yes – it’s a whole lot about teaching!

  4. pattyabr March 8, 2013 / 9:07 AM

    bullying is the result of insecurity and fear and sadly still present today even with adults. I was bullied at my work place by the chief of the department.

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 9:27 AM

      I’m sorry you’ve gone through this, Patty. I agree that it’s a result of insecurity, but as adults, we should have the skills needed to manage that. It’s upsetting that it appears to not be the case. (I’ve known other adults that have been singled out at work.)

  5. Debbie March 8, 2013 / 9:09 AM

    Well said, Janna! This little poem should be the “poster child” of the anti-bullying movement. It conveys so clearly what we need — more empathy, less meanness. I, too, always disliked that “sticks and stones” thing. Why some people feel a need to throw sticks and stones (whether actually or via words) is beyond me.

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 9:32 AM

      Thanks, Debbie! Some people are ‘different’ or ‘odd’ but I think there is something to love in almost every person – if we take the time to pay attention. I have to wonder – if we all looked for that something in everyone, would there be as many violent incidents or mass shootings? Would people have as much pent up aggression if they felt valued or understood? I guess there’s no way to know, but it is something to think about.

  6. Katie March 8, 2013 / 9:27 AM

    Bullying is unforgivable is what I still think. Schools and parents should be more proactive, I am glad it is given importance lately. This is good and heartwrenching.
    Katie atBankerchick Scratchings

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 9:35 AM

      I think bullying is even worse these days because it doesn’t just stop on the playground. With the internet, hate can be perpetuated beyond the walls of the school. I hope that parents will become more involved in the happenings and take advantage of the ‘teaching moments’ that waiting for attention.

      Thanks for reading and sharing your comment, Katie!

  7. Carol Ann Hoel March 8, 2013 / 10:03 AM

    A striking verse, Janna. You are very talented.

    The bullying crisis in this country needs to be confronted and stopped. I suppose to some degree it will always happen in our sin cursed world. You are right about the old saying that acknowledges none of the psychological damage done by hurtful words. Blessings to you…

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 2:18 PM

      I don’t think bullying will ever go away, but I do think more adult involvement would help. Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts on the poem, Carol. I’m glad you stopped by!

  8. Gina March 8, 2013 / 10:54 AM

    Words are more hurtful any day. We heal physically but carry pain in our hearts far longer. It’s tough as parent to go through but tougher still to see your child experience the unfairness and hurt. It sucks big time. Great message, Janna.

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 2:22 PM

      Thanks for reading, Gina. I don’t want my kids to be bullied…but I also don’t want to be a want to find that either of them are bullies – that would be so disappointing. Childhood is hard, but if we can teach our kids compassion, it might be a little nicer.

  9. Sandra March 8, 2013 / 11:03 AM

    The more I read the faster my heart started to beat! This is really moving, well done.

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 2:22 PM

      Thanks, Sandra. I appreciate you taking time to read it.

  10. Kir Piccini March 8, 2013 / 11:04 AM

    “each hateful word, a stick and a stone”
    only 8 words you needed to bring me to tears. This is so well crafted that I want to hug this girl..to remind her on this International Women’s Day, how extraordinary she is, for just being here.

    as always your words are just right.

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 2:23 PM

      What a sweet sentiment, Kir. I’m glad you felt something while reading this poem…that comment does make me feel like my words were chosen well. Thanks 🙂

  11. pattisj March 8, 2013 / 11:36 AM

    Drop the stones and try love. Perfect ending.

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 2:25 PM

      Thanks, Patti. I’m all for more kindness, less hate.

  12. Sam Edge March 8, 2013 / 11:49 AM

    Transgression? forgiven – I love it!!! That was sone cold awesome

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 2:25 PM

      Thanks, Sam! I’m glad you liked the ending 🙂

  13. christina March 8, 2013 / 12:09 PM

    oh this hurt my heart. awesomely done.

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 2:26 PM

      It is ‘heavy’ but the editors asked for it, Christina 🙂 Glad you stopped by.

  14. Christine March 8, 2013 / 12:32 PM

    “Each hateful word- A stick and a stone-” *Love* this phrase (if not the reality of it). I find this a very uplifting piece, though – a story of overcoming the hatefulness. Lovely.

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 2:27 PM

      I suppose it could be interpreted as uplifting if we focus on the the release from the pain. Thanks so much for reading and sharing your point of view on this one, Christine!

  15. deanabo March 8, 2013 / 1:11 PM

    I could feel her pain. This is very well written. Your writing is always so meaningful.

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 2:29 PM

      Thanks, Deana. I appreciate you reading and sharing your comment. I also wanted to thank you and Lance for the awesome Featured Trifectan write-up you did. Great job – especially since I gave such mediocre answers 😀

      • deanabo March 8, 2013 / 3:49 PM

        You are so welcome! Your answers were perfect. Thank you for letting us write about you.

  16. Suzanne March 8, 2013 / 1:30 PM

    So well written Janna! Love the way you’ve twisted that saying into something so brilliant and moving. Beautifully done!

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 2:29 PM

      I appreciate you stopping by to read it, Suzanne. Thanks!

  17. Scriptor Obscura March 8, 2013 / 1:54 PM

    I was bullied like *bleep* all through school. I don’t even want to remember how AWFUL that felt. I don’t even want to remember it at all. I want to pretend it never happened…I want to ignore and forget. People are just too horrible. I admire your sentiments and your call for love, etc. but I am too much of a pessimist and a cynic and a realist and I despair about the state of human beings and the world too much to believe that it will ever happen. I dunno. Anyway, your call for more love, etc. reminded me of this song:

    Also reminded me of this song though its too vomitously sappy and highly pollyannaish and rose-colored-glasses view of the world for my tastes and for my cynical self to believe:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TlFCfkyuQM0

    Sometimes you just can’t forgive people, you know. There are times when you just can’t forgive people. Its nice to be all forgiving and all that but people aren’t really like that. Rare person that can forgive like that, and I think sometimes there are times you SHOULD’NT forgive people, depending what happened.

    • Scriptor Obscura March 8, 2013 / 1:56 PM

      Dunno why the other one didn’t post. Here it is:

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 2:46 PM

      First of all, I’m so sorry that your school years were so miserable, Scriptor. No one should have to endure that. I’m not a Pollyanna type, so I’m not deluded into thinking that with the snap of our fingers, the world will turn into a big group hug. But I do believe that if we’re all mindful of our words, and accepting of those who are different, the world will be a kinder place. This is a difference we can all make.

      Now, about forgiveness….I think we have to forgive, Scriptor – for us, not for them. Not easy and it’s often a repeat process, but if we don’t, we carry the hurt, bitterness, anger, etc. in our hearts. We let the wrongs harden our hearts with hatred. This does nothing to those who have wronged us, but it harms us greatly. For many years I HATED the people who made elementary school a nightmare. I wished horrible things would happen to them and that they would be miserable. It wasn’t until I was in my twenties that I let it go. By ‘let it go’ I mean that I didn’t dedicate my energy to negative thoughts about them. Have I forgotten what they did? No way. But that’s okay because it reminds me constantly that I want my words to build people up – not tear them down. I’ve turned what they intended to hurt me into something good, so the way I see it, I win 🙂

      P.S. I agree that the Ingrid Michaelson song is too sappy…couldn’t finish it 🙂 Here’s a link to a song I like to listen to when I struggle with holding onto an anger I really should let go. I hope you’ll give the song a listen all the way through.

  18. Tom MacInnes (@cobourgcobbie) March 8, 2013 / 5:15 PM

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this matter. It is a very important issue in our world. I almost don’t know what to say about this that doesn’t sound cliche. In a world where courage and love seem in short supply, poems like yours provide a beacon of hope for those alone in darkness.

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 9:00 PM

      I’m optimistic that it’s possible for things to get better. I’m encouraged every time I hear a story about kids coming to the rescue of someone being picked on. I feel hope every time I go to a “field day” at the kids’ school and the kids circle around and cheer as the boy in the wheelchair crosses the finish line.

      Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts on it, Tom!

  19. Lance March 8, 2013 / 5:59 PM

    dude! your answers were great. I loved it. I also enjoyed how you went so deep with the “sticks and stones” axiom. This was terrific.

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 9:03 PM

      I still can’t believe that you and Deana chose to interview me – thanks again. I had fun! Thanks for reading my 33 words today, Lance. This is a serious weekend (with a lot of seriously good entries so far.)

  20. Eric Alagan March 8, 2013 / 6:06 PM

    Key words and phrases captured the theme – and finished with a flourish brimming with Love and Wisdom.

    Well done Janna – I appreciated this,

    Eric 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 8, 2013 / 9:04 PM

      Thanks so much for reading, Eric. It’s a difficult subject but it’s one we can’t ignore.

  21. joetwo March 8, 2013 / 8:24 PM

    A very apt piece. It happens far too much! Nice write!

  22. Sharp Little Pencil March 9, 2013 / 12:02 AM

    Janna, I want to do that Tenth Avenue song with our praise band. The final chorus is so, so powerful.

    “Unique,” now that’s a stone I could have borne when I was on a cane in high school; they also assumed I was lesbian because as a sexually abused daughter, I wore the “denim armor” of “don’t touch me, don’t ask me out, I’m unworthy.” This was in the mid-70s. We lost 12 grads to HIV, and I’ve been an LGBT activist and am a PFLAG mom.

    Your take on this powerful subject is powerful, to say the least. I don’t usually come back for comments on my comments, sorry, I’m so behind. Truly great, thanks. Peace and love and standing up for the little guy, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2013/03/09/stone-cold-trifecta/

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2013 / 11:50 AM

      That song is one of my favs, Amy. The first time they played in in church, I actually cried. Turns out I was holding onto something that I didn’t even realize I hadn’t let go (if that makes any sense…) Anyway, since then, it’s been my ‘go-to’ song when I need extra encouragement to release a grudge.

      Your childhood sounds like it was difficult, but you’re a shining example that circumstances can be overcome. You’re strong and you fight for your beliefs…and, from what I’ve read of you, you don’t perpetuate hate, but instead, call it out for what it is.

      Thanks so much for reading and sharing your story. I do appreciate your thoughtful input. Have a beautiful weekend!

  23. helen1950 March 9, 2013 / 1:42 AM

    I often read the entries before I write contributions. But this time I thought first about that cruel and thoughtless adage you refer to so thoughtfully in your 33 words. So your post was like a hymn of the best kind and I honour you and your blog and the responses you have justly received … mine will not match it _/\_

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2013 / 11:51 AM

      I figured that others would latch on to that adage as well, but I couldn’t get it out of my head, Helen! I don’t know what to say to your comment, except, ‘thank you’ and I’m sure you wrote a wonderful tribute to the subject, which I will certainly read later today.

  24. kymminbarcelona March 9, 2013 / 1:53 AM

    Each hateful word-
    A stick and a stone-
    Struck her deep,
    Battered her soul.
    This is really lovely, Janna.
    Each of us has his or her own way with this, i guess. I remember a youth councelor telling us: they just lay those sticks at our feet; we’re the ones who pick them up and hit ourselves over the head with them! Stayed with me.

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2013 / 11:53 AM

      Thanks, Kymm. That’s an interesting view of what to do with what’s given to us that we don’t want. It gives the picked on person control over a situation that could easily be out of control. Thanks for sharing that!

  25. Mike March 9, 2013 / 3:52 AM

    A forceful piece of writing Janna.
    To me the most compelling lines were:
    “Each hateful word
    A stick and a stone…”
    As Draug said at the beginning of this great list of comments and replies, that old saying about ‘Sticks & stones …” is rubbish. It is the words that hurt the most, because once they’ve been said we then repeat them to ourselves over and over again and each time ‘Batter the soul” even more.

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2013 / 11:55 AM

      You’ve got it exactly, Mike. I know for me, I remember/replay the mean comments over and over and convince myself that I’m no good. A hurtful comment twists in our mind and can suppress hundreds of kind words. I guess we are our own worst enemy (to quote another over-used saying :))

  26. trifectawriting March 9, 2013 / 4:27 AM

    Holy cow with the commentary! Nice job getting your audience engaged. I try to tell my kids that their words can hurt others but to try their damnedest to not let others’ words hurt them. I guess we say that in order to try to build our kids up with so much confidence that it forms a shield around them. Great post.

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2013 / 12:02 PM

      The comments are awesome (I think Trifecta editors get credit for making us go “serious” :)) I’m glad that my poem was able to get people writing on the subject.

      As for my kids, when they are bothered by something someone did/said, I remind them that they can’t control what others do and say, but they have complete control over how they react to it. This works for minor squabbles…thankfully they have not been targets for bullies.

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2013 / 12:03 PM

      Thanks for reading, Renee. Sometimes I think adults aren’t setting a good example for our children. I see hate spewed online in the form of comments to news articles- I mean comments that personally attack others with zero respect. Sad. So sad.

  27. ramblingsfromamum March 9, 2013 / 6:10 AM

    Bullying comes in so many forms and crosses the ages from child to adults in the work place. 6 women have left in 6 years at this new position I am in (for 2 months) because of a woman who talks tersely, who only gets involved with those she cares to and has been described by Work Place Authorities as a Vixen. I do not think I shall remain. Very well written indeed Janna.

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2013 / 1:05 PM

      I do wish it were only a childhood problem, Ramblings. I’m sorry you have to deal with that…it can be stressful. I’ve worked in places where I’ve been excluded from the clique. It can make for some long days.

  28. Valerie March 9, 2013 / 8:13 AM

    I grew up with that trite saying too, but you are so right-it’s a lie. It appalls me that with all of the anti bullying education in schools that bullying is still a huge problem, and I don’t have to look far to find people whose lives have been shattered by it. I just wish there was an easy way to end bullying once and for all.

    Your piece is so beautifully written-the ending shines!

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2013 / 1:07 PM

      Very true. I guess if it were easy to fix, it would be done 🙂 Thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts today, Valerie!

  29. Amanda March 9, 2013 / 9:18 AM

    Amazing how neutral/positive words like “different” & “unique” can be used to harm – tone is everything.

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2013 / 1:08 PM

      You’re right, Amanda. Sometimes it’s easier to read negativity into the words too, instead of taking them as compliments they may be.

  30. steph March 9, 2013 / 10:13 AM

    Wow, this struck a chord in the community – and rightly so. Very strong piece, to say the least. For me, at least, I feel bullied every time I turn on the news programs and hear all the pundits screaming in their condescending manner shoving their ideology in our faces. Bullying is everywhere these days. Your piece is very moving!

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2013 / 2:42 PM

      Haha…yes, the media can be a bully. We’re fed slanted information and represented by finger-pointers who make careers out of running the other party down. Great example for the kiddos, right? Thanks for stopping by and adding your take on the bullying issue we have today, Steph!

  31. atrm61 March 9, 2013 / 12:27 PM

    Bullies are such insecure cowards inside & most run at the first sight of opposition.I wish there was a magic wand that could do away with these vermin!As we “progress” I find that it is becoming rampant & more people are finding pleasure in bullying others-wonder what’s happening to our world?I feel that as a parent we must not only teach our kids not to bully or be bullied but also stand up against anyone else being bullied.In India,its less in schools but colleges-specially professional ones are another story-its called “ragging” & has been the reason for many tragic ends to young lives.

    You have done a wonderful job writing this one Janna-from the heart & very powerful:-)

    • jannatwrites March 9, 2013 / 2:46 PM

      I couldn’t agree more that our kids need to know how to stand up for themselves, Atreyee! I’m disappointed to hear about the bullying at the college level. I’ve been out of college for…let’s just say “a while” 🙂 but I didn’t feel a sense of bullying then. Sad to hear that things may have changed. I can’t help but think if we just treated others with respect, some of these problems would ease. We don’t have to like everyone, and we don’t have to agree with their clothing or beliefs, but I do think it’s possible to express our opinions and then coexist in peace.

      • atrm61 March 9, 2013 / 2:55 PM

        Absolutely Janna.When we were in school or college,these things were unheard of-at least where I come from but as we age,we are hearing horrific happenings everywhere-a sad state.

        • jannatwrites March 10, 2013 / 12:19 PM

          It does seem more prevalent because it makes the news more. I wonder if it’s an increase in occurrence or if media’s tendency to sensationalize the most brutal events accounts for some of it…

        • atrm61 March 10, 2013 / 12:22 PM

          That may be one reason too but personally, I feel that we as a human race are becoming more violent,more intolerant & more barbaric:-(

          On a positive note,loved your feature-left a comment:-)Congrats once again Janna

        • jannatwrites March 10, 2013 / 1:02 PM

          Yeah, it does seem like we are becoming mean. So depressing 😦

          Thanks for reading the Featured Trifectan…I haven’t checked for comments since Friday so I’ll have to go look 🙂

        • atrm61 March 10, 2013 / 1:50 PM

          🙂

  32. Sara V March 9, 2013 / 7:18 PM

    Janna, bullying is such an awful thing. Words are so painful and that is a ridiculous saying. Your poem is a wonderful tribute. Thank you 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 10, 2013 / 12:20 PM

      Thanks so much for reading, Sara. It seems to be the consensus that words are quite damaging!

  33. tmwhickman (@fercryinoutloud) March 9, 2013 / 9:40 PM

    This was very intense, and it obviously struck a chord with a number of people. As an Army brat, I was always the new kid, and I spent the first weeks of school getting bullied. I do carry some scars from those moments, but I also carry the lessons that I learned from those times, such as how to make the bully your friend. I worry that my boy will have to deal with some of the same things I did, and I want him to learn resilience, which helped me so much.

    • jannatwrites March 10, 2013 / 12:38 PM

      I do think resilience is a necessary trait to have. I’m glad you were able to win over the bullies you encountered and can pass along how to do that to your son. I wish I had that skill – I never learned that. Luckily, we moved quite a bit as as well (not military, though) but it was discouraging when the same patterns happened with new groups of kids. For my part, I think I’d become so withdrawn that it just made me an easy target.

      Thanks for reading and sharing your experience, TMW. I’m glad you joined the discussion.

  34. diannegray March 10, 2013 / 2:48 AM

    This is a subject very close to many hearts, Janna. I hear a lot of people say they have been bullied, but rarely do I hear anyone say that they were the bully. I wonder why this is? Do people not know they bully? Maybe they use other words for it, like ‘I’m a strong person and don’t put up with any shite, etc.’ Maybe the bullies were themselves bullied and therefore ‘forget’ that they took on this opposite role and just remember how bad they felt? One of the roles in my job (before I retired) was to work with people who had been bullied. It certainly doesn’t end in the schoolyard and the ‘office psychopath’ is a very tricky creature to deal with, they have moved on from the name calling to become deadly charming and very often just outright deadly. They are usually shifted from place to place and often promoted because the hierarchy wants to get rid of them as quickly as possible. In this sense we usually end up with people in positions of power who have left a trail of devastation in their wake. The damage that these people cause is long lasting, often hidden by the ‘victim’ (sorry, I hate that word) and is never easy to repair.

    I’ve always hated those words as well (sticks and stones) because they don’t cut flesh, they cut at the heart.

    I love your work in this challenge and you did keep up the ‘serious’ side of the deal. Well done, my friend…

    • jannatwrites March 10, 2013 / 12:54 PM

      You’re right, Dianne – I’ve only met one person who admitted picking on people in school. I bet it is a lot of denial. “Bully” is an ugly term…they probably do soften it by labeling themselves as strong or determined. I’d also agree that the workplace steamroller is destructive as well. I consider myself lucky that I’ve only had to directly work with a couple of these people. With them, I learned to cover my backside (document in writing, include others in communications when relevant, and to NOT say what I really wanted to in the face of arrogance.

      “Victim” does have a helpless ring to it. How about if we call them the “recipient” or “target”? We become victims when we no longer have the will to fight back.

      Thank you so much for reading and sharing your view on the subject. I appreciate your well thought out comment!

  35. thevixenfiction March 10, 2013 / 3:11 AM

    Beautiful piece of writing and another issue that needs to be seriously addressed..xx

    • jannatwrites March 10, 2013 / 12:56 PM

      I appreciate you reading, Vixenfiction!

    • jannatwrites March 10, 2013 / 12:58 PM

      Thanks, Bjorn. I’m glad you stopped by.

    • jannatwrites March 10, 2013 / 12:58 PM

      Thank, Kelly. It’s a dream and I’ll do my part 🙂

  36. Esther March 10, 2013 / 6:26 PM

    You worked the prompt in here so deftly that I didn’t even notice it. Excellent!

  37. Stacey (@Staceysmoments) March 10, 2013 / 7:18 PM

    We were definitely on the same wavelength this week. I am glad to see the word “forgiven” at the end of yours. Forgiveness does much to heal those invisible wounds. Well done.

    • jannatwrites March 10, 2013 / 9:52 PM

      I’m glad you liked the forgiveness part, Stacey. When we can accomplish it, it releases the burden from our shoulders.

  38. Dayle Lynne March 10, 2013 / 9:03 PM

    Very powerful! I remembering trying to focus on the whole sticks and stones thing as a child, but those words are definitely weapons.

    • jannatwrites March 10, 2013 / 9:54 PM

      Yes, words are such powerful weapons. Thanks for stopping by and reading my poem, Dayle!

  39. barbara March 10, 2013 / 11:46 PM

    I have many thoughts on this piece – thank you. I do want to especially say – Preach it, sister!

    • jannatwrites March 11, 2013 / 11:20 PM

      🙂 You bet, Barbara. Thanks for reading!

    • jannatwrites March 11, 2013 / 11:20 PM

      Thanks, Barbara – I appreciate you stopping by to read this!

    • jannatwrites March 11, 2013 / 11:22 PM

      It sure would, RCM. But there’s freedom to be found there 🙂

  40. Imelda March 11, 2013 / 8:11 PM

    Beautiful take on the prompt, Janna. Why am I no longer surprised? 🙂

    • jannatwrites March 11, 2013 / 11:23 PM

      You’re too kind, Imelda – thank you 🙂

  41. GodGirl March 13, 2013 / 3:35 AM

    Loved reading this poem Janna. What a wonderful link-in with Christ’s sufferings. We really do triumph with Him when we forgive our transgressors don’t we, following in His footsteps. Thanks for prompting me to ponder this…

    • jannatwrites March 13, 2013 / 11:37 PM

      I appreciate you taking time to read it and share your thoughts, GodGirl 🙂

  42. sonsothundersonsothunder March 24, 2013 / 6:46 AM

    I can’t believe the senseless shooting of that baby in his stroller this week… There is certainly no need for criticism on this eye opening, heart felt poem of yours, constructive, or otherwise. More raising of awareness is needed. Sadly, we seem to have arrived at a place in time when no one is listening. People continue to let violent, mindless, video games serve as their baby sitters, while society plays their role in the nearly as cold, and violent, battle of the political sides. While they are allowing a political machine, ( that has only one agenda, and is not split) direct their attention to laying all the blame on inanimate objects such as guns. While the real issue is what’s happening at home, in family values, school teaching, and upbringing of children, the “General Puppets” fall for the lies of Satan, inadvertently, unaware, giving up another “God Given Right.” But, as long as we are in Christ, we are at least covered. It is after all written, that this day would come…which, thank God is when Jesus comes back.
    Bless You
    paul

    • jannatwrites March 26, 2013 / 10:04 AM

      I didn’t hear about the baby in the stroller (that’s a benefit of being out of touch this week, I guess.) The world today can be such a dark place. Sometimes it’s hard to find good in the middle of it all. But yes, one day, we will be freed from this place. Until then, we just have to put our trust in God, and His ways.

      Glad you stopped by, Paul, and added your thoughts to this post!

Got an opinion? Share it!

