In Due Time

I exposed my soul

For you to see,

I trusted you

To make me free.

I shared my fears,

Set my worries at your feet,

Waited for your guidance-

God, did you hear me?

*

Child, I’ve heard your prayers,

I know your heart’s concern.

You dwell on silence,

Not my gentle whisper.

Trust that I act for your good,

As God your Savior,

Father in heaven-

In due time, I’ll answer.

Sometimes we have to just find peace in the quiet places,

02-09 Peaceful Places

Look for beauty in the unexpected,

02-09 Unexpected Beauty

Hold on through life’s twists and turns,

02-09 Life's Curves

And trust that our souls will be nourished.02-09 NourishmentCollage

Yes, I’m still dealing with my impatience 🙂  I wrote the poem as an imagined conversation with God, and His response to my continued lack of patience.  One of these days I might get it through my head, right?  I sure hope so!

Have a beautiful Sunday! (It’s not quite Sunday where I live, but I’m posting early, since I haven’t posted all week).

40 thoughts on “In Due Time

  1. deanabo February 9, 2013 / 8:14 PM

    This is beautiful! Thank you for sharing!

  2. Kamlesh Oraon February 9, 2013 / 8:20 PM

    simply beauty and nicely written with beautiful pics, good to read on the morning

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2013 / 10:26 PM

      I appreciate you reading my post, Kamlesh. I’m glad you liked the pictures!

  3. suzicate February 9, 2013 / 9:56 PM

    This is lovely, Janna.

  4. Carol Ann Hoel February 10, 2013 / 2:42 AM

    Beautiful poem, Janna. I’m learning patience, too. We know we can trust our Heavenly Father. Praises to Jesus, our Lord. Your illustrations are inspiring. I’m glad I stopped in to see and read. Blessings to you, Janna.

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2013 / 10:28 PM

      I’m glad you stopped by, too, Carol Ann! Patience is a hard lesson to learn. Not sure if I’ll ever master it 🙂

  5. newwhitebear February 10, 2013 / 10:03 AM

    Wonderful poem, Janna. And Beautiful images! Brava!

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2013 / 10:28 PM

      I’m glad you liked them, Newwhitebear!

  6. Debbie February 10, 2013 / 2:43 PM

    Lovely photos, Janna (especially the unexpected shock of pink!), and I can relate to your poem/conversation with God, too. When they were handing out patience, I must have been in another line!

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2013 / 10:30 PM

      I’m glad you liked the photos – they are some of the nine hundred or so pictures I took in Maui last year. Your comment made me laugh, Debbie – I think I missed the announcement for the patience line as well!

  7. pattisj February 10, 2013 / 3:28 PM

    God’s timetable is rarely the same one we use. But when the answer arrives, it will be perfect beyond imagination. Wait and see! Loved the photos to illustrate your thoughts.

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2013 / 10:33 PM

      You’re right, Patti! The ‘wait and see’ part is still a struggle for me, but I’m working on it 🙂

  8. philosophermouseofthehedge February 10, 2013 / 4:10 PM

    Ah. Those gentle whispers. May we all find enough silence to hear them.
    Pen with truth and illustrated with insight. Well done

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2013 / 10:37 PM

      Thanks, Phil! The gentle whispers are easily overwhelmed by silence, or by our own distractions.

  9. largerthanlifeblog February 10, 2013 / 4:31 PM

    That was such a beautiful poetry. Tranquility does make us feel closer to God.

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2013 / 10:38 PM

      Thanks so much, Largerthanlife! I still feel some anxiety – a sign that I’ve not let it all go yet. I’m waiting for the tranquility.

  10. nolagirlatheart February 10, 2013 / 8:20 PM

    It helps to remember that even when we are waiting for God’s answer He is still walking with us.

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2013 / 10:42 PM

      You’re right, Jeanne. Not being alone in waiting does help!

  11. agjorgenson February 10, 2013 / 9:43 PM

    It seems that patience takes practice, and there is no lack of opportunities to engage “practice makes perfect”!

    • jannatwrites February 10, 2013 / 10:44 PM

      Boy am I getting lots of practice, Agjorgenson! Not close to perfect yet, but we’ll see 🙂

  12. Eric Alagan February 11, 2013 / 7:03 AM

    Many of us have had similar conversations with God and disappointed – not because He did not respond — perhaps we did not recognise His response.

    Just sharing my experience Janna – Peace, Eric

    • jannatwrites February 12, 2013 / 5:19 AM

      I think you’re right, Eric. His response may not be what we’re looking for. If we took our expectations out of it, we’d probably see more.

  13. jollof February 11, 2013 / 10:22 AM

    I really liked this poem and the way you used pictures is brilliant. God know’s best, I agree. And His timing isn’t bad too. It’ll happen sooner than you expect 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 12, 2013 / 5:29 AM

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the post, Jollof! Often when I look back, I can see how things worked out well…in the middle of it, I have trouble seeing the good in His timing 🙂

  14. Sandra February 11, 2013 / 1:01 PM

    It just occurred to me that you wrote a piece that answered to Trifecta’s prompt–before the prompt came out! Right? Can I tease you about being impatient? Just kidding. 🙂 Did the results ever come back for your son? (If you already mentioned it, I’m catching up on your posts going backwards… hope all is well.)

    • jannatwrites February 12, 2013 / 5:34 AM

      Haha…writing before the prompt came out would be awfully impatient! It’s the strangest thing about my son…two rounds of follow up tests came back normal, so he’s fine and we have no explanation as to what exactly happened. I’m one that likes answers, but in this case, I’m happy to accept his gift of health 🙂 I appreciate you remembering my struggle and asking about him, Sandra.

  15. GodGirl February 11, 2013 / 9:33 PM

    This dialogue ‘plays’ like a love song. Just beautiful. Speaks to me of His gentle, caring reassurance. He’s got it covered. Hope your soul has received continual nourishment this week.

    • jannatwrites February 12, 2013 / 8:27 AM

      I’m glad you liked the poem, GodGirl. So far, this week has been full of reminders to “let it go”. I don’t know why I insist on causing myself anxiety when the outcomes are really out of my control.

  16. pattyabr February 11, 2013 / 9:45 PM

    Thanks for sharing your conversation with God. I share the same sentiments with God these days and pray for love and patience waiting for God’s time.

  17. C.S. Severe February 12, 2013 / 3:37 PM

    This poem spoke to me because I’ve been trying to deal with God’s silence lately, but I’ve been reminded that He does listen and cares. Thank you!!

  18. Tessa February 12, 2013 / 6:46 PM

    Very nice. I am impatient myself, so I can understand how you feel somewhat.

    • jannatwrites February 12, 2013 / 10:38 PM

      I keep thinking that one day my “right now” will slow down to “whenever it happens”.

      • Tessa February 13, 2013 / 4:24 PM

        Point taken!

  19. Imelda February 12, 2013 / 9:54 PM

    🙂 Nice one, Janna.
    I relate to this post so well.

    • jannatwrites February 12, 2013 / 10:44 PM

      I’m glad, but I’m sorry (if that makes sense.) It’s good to know that you relate, but impatience can be miserable, Imelda.

  20. diannegray February 14, 2013 / 12:49 PM

    This is just beautiful, Janna 😉 I’ve been learning a lot about patience waiting for my house to go up. I needed this prayer today…

Got an opinion? Share it!

