Moments of Peace

This has been one of those weeks that remind me of an ocean’s tide; how the waves crash into sand, recede, and then stretch across the beach again.  Guessing and second-guessing rolls much the same way.  And it’s just as exhausting as swimming against the current.

When I thought the stress, worries and big decisions would surely pull me under, something would come along and lift me up long enough for me to catch my breath and remind myself that God is bigger than all of it.

I found my first uplifting moment in my mailbox.  No, it wasn’t my mortgage statement or phone bill that made me smile – it was a package from Barbara at Purple Moose Gazette.  Get this – for her birthday, she randomly chose several people to mail gifts to…and I was one of them.  How fun is that?

Cool stuff from Purple Moose
Cool stuff from Purple Moose

A second uplifting moment came in my email box.  Nancy (Spirit Lights The Way) included me as one of seven finalists in her Writer’s Desk contest.  Voting began on Saturday and each person can only vote once.  If you have a moment, please click here to check out the entries and vote for your favorite.  I hope it’s mine (titled Look If You Dare) but if it isn’t, that’s okay – you’ve done your civic duty by casting your vote 🙂

Of course, there were hundreds of other moments that lifted me  up this week.  I think of them as God’s way of sending me a life raft when I’m too weary to swim.  These are blessed moments of peace in a world rife with evil and turmoil.  They are small things that work in a big way to keep me from being swallowed by our broken world.

I pray that everyone reading this has a heart willing to recognize their own moments of peace this week.  Maybe this image will help:

Take in the beauty of the day
Take in the beauty of the day
44 thoughts on “Moments of Peace

  1. bridget whelan February 3, 2013 / 5:42 AM

    Thanks for this post – I read it at the end of a very troubled week and is just what I needed. But hey! what an extraordinary friend (I presume friend – she just didn’t pick you out of a telephone directory, did she? ) who sends other people presents on her birthday. Quite frankly over this side of the Atlantic that would be described as something a little more than eccentric (we’re just meaner, I guess). Anyway thanks and when I ahve time I want to browse your writing promots.
    PS Sammy & Lizzty – the breed is on teh tip of my tongue. Not Maine Coon is it?

    • jannatwrites February 3, 2013 / 10:43 PM

      I’m glad my post helped you after a tough week, Bridget!

      I’ve never met Barbara – only commented on her blog. She randomly picked several people to send gifts to. I’ve never had this happen, but it was lots of fun!

      I appreciate you stopping by, and I hope you do come back to check out my other writing 🙂

      P.S. I honestly don’t know exactly what Sammy and Lizzy are – Sammy is an orange tabby mix, I know that much. Lizzy is a littermate and I haven’t been able to determine her breed. I think they are too small to be Maine Coons.

    • jannatwrites February 3, 2013 / 10:43 PM

      Great! I wish I had ‘voted’ pins to hand out.

  2. nrhatch February 3, 2013 / 7:08 AM

    Barbara’s surprise gift package to you is so vibrant. What a great idea!

    And this is a WONDERFUL way to invite folks round to read and vote! Thanks for playing along and sharing a bit of your writing life, Janna.

    Remember to keep breathing . . . whenever the chance arises. 😀

    • jannatwrites February 3, 2013 / 10:46 PM

      The contest has been fun, Nancy. I want people to vote for their favorite – even if it isn’t mine. (I saw a few I liked better than mine, too!)

      I will try to remember the breathing part 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 3, 2013 / 10:49 PM

      Glad you took time to vote, Coyotero – thanks!

  3. coyotero2112 February 3, 2013 / 7:30 AM

    Didn’t get to see the invitation to the contest. Liked the idea though. Jill Krementz is the widow of one of my favorite writers, Kurt Vonnegut. His picture with his manuscript for “Slaughterhouse Five” (It’s on one long sheet of paper, spilling all over the floor around him) is the centerpiece of my clutter.
    Later…

    • nrhatch February 3, 2013 / 7:40 AM

      There’s a wonderful photo of Vonnegut in the book . . . working a crossword puzzle on his lap while wearing his PJ’s. His desk is a cluttered narrow ledge, barely wide enough for his typewriter, littered with matches, ashtrays, and forgotten mugs of coffee.

      • jannatwrites February 3, 2013 / 10:53 PM

        I admire people who can work like that. I need a little less clutter!

    • jannatwrites February 3, 2013 / 10:51 PM

      I think this may have been before you stumbled upon my blog, Coyotero. That picture of Kurt Vonnegut sounds cool…I’ll have to search online to see if I can find it.

  4. Lance February 3, 2013 / 7:37 AM

    voted, good luck. also, we got a pot holder and beautiful postcard from Alaskan Barbara too.

    • jannatwrites February 3, 2013 / 10:52 PM

      Thanks for voting, Lance. Her gift was so cool…I’m glad you and Deana got one as well 🙂

  5. agjorgenson February 3, 2013 / 11:40 AM

    I love how the tiny unexpected joys weigh thousands of pounds more than orchestrated pleasures. It can inspire us to inspire others! Thanks for the post.

    • jannatwrites February 3, 2013 / 10:54 PM

      True, the unexpected joys are weighted heavier. I appreciate you taking time to read, Agjorgenson!

  6. Debbie February 3, 2013 / 1:27 PM

    Neat photo — I love rainbows and am always lifted up by the sight of one! Glad you were open to some blessings this week; sometimes they’re harder to pinpoint than others!

    • jannatwrites February 3, 2013 / 10:56 PM

      Thanks, Debbie. I also have a picture of a double rainbow that I will post sometime. (If you look closely, you can see a hint of it in this picture…or maybe I can see it because I know it’s supposed to be there!)

  7. diannegray February 3, 2013 / 1:34 PM

    What a lovely thought that ‘surprise package’ is! Very uplifting 😉

    Well done for being a finalist in Nancy’s ‘Writer’s Desk’ contest! I voted yesterday – best of luck 😉

    • jannatwrites February 3, 2013 / 10:57 PM

      I’m glad you voted, Dianne! Thanks 🙂

  8. GodGirl February 4, 2013 / 2:55 AM

    Beautiful, Janna. I agree – it is the small things that keep us afloat when we’re struggling, if we have the heart to see them, as you say. I remember when my husband went away for two weeks and I was left alone with the kids. It was so hard but the simple gesture of a lady from church dropping a meal in was so touching that I felt I could cope just that little bit better.
    Hope you’re ‘swimming’ freely again soon.
    PS I voted for you 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 5, 2013 / 7:59 PM

      That was a nice gesture – I’m glad you had people to help you out. Thanks for sharing your story related to this…I think we all have uplifting moments like this but sometimes forget to count them as blessings. Oh, thanks for voting for my writing desk, GodGirl!

  9. Katherine Checkley February 4, 2013 / 6:37 AM

    Wonderfully written. All too often I don’t take stock of those weekly, uplifting moments. This is something I should work on. Thanks for the reminder.

    • jannatwrites February 5, 2013 / 8:00 PM

      When we’re busy, it’s easy to overlook the pick-me-ups, Katherine. Thanks for stopping by!

  10. Sean February 4, 2013 / 6:51 AM

    Saw your rainbow and it reminded me of what the Bible says: 12 And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant I am making between Me and you and every living creature with you, a covenant for all future generations: 13 I have placed My bow in the clouds, and it will be a sign of the covenant between Me and the earth. 14 Whenever I form clouds over the earth and the bow appears in the clouds, 15 I will remember My covenant between Me and you and all the living creatures:[b] water will never again become a flood to destroy every creature. 16 The bow will be in the clouds, and I will look at it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all the living creatures[c] on earth.” 17 God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant that I have confirmed between Me and every creature on earth.” Gen 9:12-17

    • jannatwrites February 5, 2013 / 8:03 PM

      Nice passages, Sean! Thanks for sharing them. I was actually able to catch a double rainbow that day (the second one faint but still visible.) I’ll post that another time because the picture actually turned out to be funny because of what else ended up in the frame. Okay, I thought it was funny but everyone else might think it is lame 🙂

  11. Diane Turner February 4, 2013 / 1:39 PM

    Love the rainbow! Voted. I, too, find lovely little moments bounce in and suddenly life becomes a little lighter. Thanks for the reminder.

    • jannatwrites February 5, 2013 / 8:06 PM

      Thanks for stopping by to cast your vote, Diane! Here’s to those little moments that lift our spirits 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 5, 2013 / 8:21 PM

      It brightened the day of several people, from what I’ve heard, Connor.

  12. rerodan February 6, 2013 / 12:01 AM

    You’ve got my vote. It’s good to know God gives us streams when we are in a desert

    • jannatwrites February 7, 2013 / 7:46 AM

      Thanks, Rerodan! Yes, streams in a desert…that is good….

  13. Eric Alagan February 6, 2013 / 8:14 PM

    You write from your heart Janna.
    Peace and all good wishes,
    Eric

    • jannatwrites February 7, 2013 / 7:47 AM

      Thanks for reading, Eric! I feel I can be most candid in my Sunday posts…my day to be free 🙂

  14. Imelda February 6, 2013 / 8:17 PM

    I might have missed the voting, but I will check. 🙂 I am glad you have those little things to lift you up. May you have many more. 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 7, 2013 / 7:47 AM

      Thanks, Imelda! A bunch of little things equal one big lift 🙂

  15. Imelda February 6, 2013 / 8:19 PM

    I got to vote. 🙂

    • jannatwrites February 7, 2013 / 7:49 AM

      I appreciate you stopping by to vote, Imelda. I checked the stats a few days ago and was last place (ha,ha) – good thing my ego isn’t invested into this contest!

  16. fellow traveler February 6, 2013 / 10:42 PM

    Inspiring note Jannat. I feel energized and charged up to embrace all the good things in my life, I am counting you in ! 🙂 Love

  17. jannatwrites February 7, 2013 / 7:50 AM

    And I hope you do embrace the good, Fellow Traveler. Celebrating the good things is what makes life “full” 🙂

  18. Sandra February 11, 2013 / 1:11 PM

    How so very nice of Barbara! But we knew she was a special person already! And I voted!! Best of luck to you, Janna!! “Did I mention I have a blog?” sounds so funny to me, because that part of my life seems to have been put on the back burner, much to my dismay. Sigh.

    • jannatwrites February 12, 2013 / 8:25 AM

      Thanks for voting, Sandra. I checked last week and I was in last place, so I’ve vowed not to look again 🙂

      Sometimes life gets in the way of blogging, and other times it inspires it. It’s a cycle, so I wouldn’t worry about it too much. I do like your Muse posts, but if I have to wait a little longer in between posts, it’s okay because it’s worth the wait.

Got an opinion? Share it!

