Covered

We’re in the middle of a cold front that has sent temperatures plunging.  Here in the desert, we are equipped to deal with scorching heat, not freezing pipes, so four straight days of expected lows around 26 degrees make us shiver in our flip-flops scramble to prepare!

We have citrus trees, morning glories and other tender plants that are sensitive to the frost.  These plants are in the elements; no natural shield from what nature has to offer.  So, we string with lights, cover what we can – anything to provide protection and a chance at life.

01-13 Covered

As I saw yard after yard of covered plants, the thought occurred to me that this is similar to how God covers those who accept His gift of grace.  I imagined God’s love like a blanket over my life.  It gave me a sense of comfort (although my toes are still so cold I cannot feel them.)

Even with the precautions taken, some plants will suffer, some will die.  It is the same with us.  Knowing Jesus doesn’t mean our suffering is over.  But it does give us the strength to arrange the broken pieces into our new self.  I’ve seen it time and again where someone’s suffering has touched others and changed lives.

We didn’t have enough blankets to cover everything, so we did what we could and will hope for the best.  With freeze warnings in effect until Tuesday, it’s likely we’ll have a springtime visit to Home Depot to revive our landscaping.  With God, we don’t have to hope for the best; we get it.  We might be beaten down, tired, ready to give up – but still, we rise.

~~~-~~~-

But the Lord is faithful, and he will strengthen and protect you from the evil one. (2Thessalonians 3:3)

So, do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God.  I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. (Isaiah 41:10)  

Have a beautiful Sunday!

16 thoughts on “Covered

  1. nrhatch January 13, 2013 / 7:15 AM

    The weather patterns have been “odd” this week . . . warmer in Chicago than in L.A., etc. Hope your plants rebound.

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2013 / 11:56 PM

      It has been strange, Nancy. I hate to ask for a little warmer…but…. 🙂

  2. suzicate January 13, 2013 / 8:12 AM

    What a beautiful analogy, Janna. Thank you for making me think this morning.

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2013 / 11:57 PM

      I found comfort in the idea. Thanks for reading , Suzicate.

  3. pattisj January 13, 2013 / 4:16 PM

    Shiver in our flip flops–LOL Time to pull out the socks, Janna! Hope everything withstands the chill. I agree with suzicate, great analogy.

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2013 / 11:58 PM

      Well, I wore socks today, and my feet are still cold! The freeze warnings have been extended to Wednesday, so I’m pretty sure we’ll lose several of our plants.

  4. Imelda January 13, 2013 / 7:16 PM

    oh, so the cold went there in your area. And here we are in the Northeast, warm with 44 degrees.

    I hope your plants survive. I like your analogy about God’s blanket of Grace. 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2013 / 12:00 AM

      I can’t believe how cold it is. It should be in the sixties right now! I’m glad you liked the analogy, Imelda – thanks for stopping by!

  5. agjorgenson January 13, 2013 / 9:34 PM

    “But still we rise”; yes indeed this is our promise that we hold to tightly! Thanks!

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2013 / 12:01 AM

      It gives hope, which makes our days here much more bearable, Agjorgenson.

  6. Debbie January 14, 2013 / 12:44 PM

    Beautiful, timely correlation, Janna! The weather everywhere has been weird, hasn’t it? We’ve hardly had any of the snow most winters bring — and that, I’m sure, will leave us facing another drought this summer. Sigh. I’m glad to know God has everything under control, though, because otherwise we’d panic!

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2013 / 12:03 AM

      I’m sorry you haven’t been getting the moisture your area needs. Our area is dry, but that’s normal for around here! I think you’re right, Debbie – if God didn’t have control, panic would be in order 🙂

  7. Carl D'Agostino January 14, 2013 / 8:27 PM

    Plant protection like this is practiced in Miami for those rare winter frosts esp in those last remains of commercial fruit and vegetable fields.But they seem fewer over these last 6 decades. Don’t tell me global warming is a hoax.

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2013 / 12:05 AM

      We have a couple of freezes a year, but usually not this many days in a row. I’m running out of sweaters 🙂 Global warming is a frightening trend – the ripples affecting all life on earth. Thanks for sharing your comment, Carl!

  8. pattyabr January 15, 2013 / 9:45 PM

    I really dislike the really cold weather below zero. We also have been in this cold snap. I don’t like walking the dog when it is this cold. The dog still wants to go for a walk though.

    • jannatwrites January 15, 2013 / 11:43 PM

      You win, you’re colder than we are here, Patty! The low is supposed to be a little higher tomorrow at 29…but they are expecting temps in the 70s within 48 hours. This explains why I stand in my closet staring at my clothes for fifteen minutes, indecisive about what I should wear 🙂 Hope you guys warm up soon because those dog walks are brutal.

Got an opinion? Share it!

