Unpinned

 

For two days,

they remained

in a stalemate.

Each refused

to dismount

their high horse, or

take the high road.

Finally, “I’m sorry.”

Both forfeit position;

A draw;

A chance to start again.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

TrifectaPicture11-1This is my response to the Trifecta weekend prompt, which was to write 33 words about a new beginning.  This is a somewhat fictional piece, but I think we’ve all been locked into arguments and refused to back down because we were “right”.

P.S. I’m not a chess player, but found Wikipedia a great source for learning the lingo 🙂

If you want to try the prompt yourself, or read what others have written, you can click the tricycle picture to go to Trifecta’s site.  I’m glad you decided to stop by.  Have a beautiful weekend!

85 thoughts on “Unpinned

  1. Jennifer Dillon January 11, 2013 / 8:58 AM

    I am so stubborn that a draw is often the best I can hope for!

    • jannatwrites January 11, 2013 / 9:56 PM

      At least there’s no winner or loser that way, Jennifer 🙂

  2. Kir Piccini January 11, 2013 / 9:03 AM

    well who hasn’t been HERE before, who hasn’t felt that tug in their gut that giving in is giving up…but I find that when I bend, so do others and when I admit softness, others cover me with it.

    I’m sorry are the two most important words in any relationship. Hardest to say, but easiest to accept.
    xo

    • jannatwrites January 11, 2013 / 10:09 PM

      You’re right – they can be hard to say, but once said, it does wonders for calling a truce. Sometimes it can be hard to back down, but it’s tiring to keep a battle going. Luckily hubby and I don’t really fight (I get snarky on my cranky days, but he doesn’t bite back and I get over it 🙂 Glad you stopped by, Kir – hope you have a nice weekend!

  3. joetwo January 11, 2013 / 9:34 AM

    That is a good one!

  4. philosophermouseofthehedge January 11, 2013 / 10:32 AM

    So much meaning in so few words. Outstanding
    (Sometimes a chance to start again is the best solution!)

    • jannatwrites January 11, 2013 / 10:11 PM

      Once an argument is over, it is like a new start. Now as long as we don’t resurrect old arguments…

      Thanks for reading, Phil!

  5. Carol Ann Hoel January 11, 2013 / 11:13 AM

    Simple and provocative. I love your style, Janna. Your words brilliantly convey the message.

    • jannatwrites January 11, 2013 / 10:12 PM

      Thanks so much, Carol Ann. I’m glad you stopped by and enjoyed the poem. I hope your new year started off well 🙂

  6. Paula J January 11, 2013 / 2:22 PM

    This is so good. Exactly the way it happens. Well written.

    • jannatwrites January 11, 2013 / 10:14 PM

      Thanks, Paula. For an argument to end, one or both sides have to give a little. (Much better when both parties budge.

  7. deanabo January 11, 2013 / 2:26 PM

    I love how “I’m sorry” can change everything. Just two little words…

    • jannatwrites January 11, 2013 / 10:15 PM

      Those words are much better received than, “you’re WRONG!” 🙂 Yes, I’m sorry are beautiful words, Deanabo 🙂

  8. barbara January 11, 2013 / 2:27 PM

    stubbornness reigns supreme . . . in many households. Thisis great!

    • jannatwrites January 11, 2013 / 10:16 PM

      Stubbornness is rampant, but it’s so much more peaceful to make nice and move on! Thanks for reading, Barbara 🙂

  9. diannegray January 11, 2013 / 3:06 PM

    To some people this happens over and over again.

    An excellent piece 😀

    • jannatwrites January 11, 2013 / 10:18 PM

      I’m glad you liked it, Dianne! That would be one exhausting endless loop, wouldn’t it?

  10. Dawn Lamond January 11, 2013 / 4:57 PM

    Hehe, I was like…are they arguing or playing chess? Or both?! 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 11, 2013 / 10:19 PM

      They could be arguing over a chess game, Dawn 🙂 Your comment made me smile – thanks!

  11. chlost January 11, 2013 / 5:32 PM

    Love the phrase “refused to dismount their high horse”. Good stuff!

    • jannatwrites January 11, 2013 / 10:20 PM

      Thanks, Chlost. That was my favorite line, too (one of the first ones that came to me!)

  12. Widdershins January 11, 2013 / 7:27 PM

    There’s always the ‘third option if we choose to go looking for it. I do like this piece.

    … might you want to think about collecting all these stories together and publishing them as an anthology?

    • jannatwrites January 11, 2013 / 10:26 PM

      I like the ‘meet in the middle’ approach to conflict resolution.

      I hadn’t thought about publishing my blog stories…mainly because it’s all right here for anyone to read at any time. Also, I don’t know the first thing about publishing. It could be a challenge for 2013.

      I appreciate you stopping by and taking the time to share your comment, Widdershins!

  13. nrhatch January 11, 2013 / 7:58 PM

    It’s much better to be happy than to be “right.” 😀

    • jannatwrites January 11, 2013 / 10:28 PM

      Doesn’t Dr. Phil say something like that, Nancy? 😆 I’m glad my husband and I don’t have a lot of conflict. Arguing stresses me out – I’m all for the quickest way to get rid of it.

  14. GodGirl January 12, 2013 / 1:38 AM

    Great stuff! Really rings true of many arguments (or silent periods) I’ve experienced. I like the way you end this… what saves us is usually the motivation to simply start again – wipe the slate clean – rather than necessarily be the ‘winner’.

    • jannatwrites January 12, 2013 / 2:12 AM

      If winning is the object of conflict resolution, nothing really gets resolved. Compromise and apologies make for a smoother road 🙂 I appreciate you taking time to visit and share your thoughts on the poem, GodGirl!

  15. atrm61 January 12, 2013 / 3:28 AM

    The cold war that we often engage in because of our fragile egos-so well written Janna!There’s a lesson in this too-loved it:-)

    • jannatwrites January 12, 2013 / 7:22 PM

      You’re right – egos are a big part of why ‘I’m sorry’ can take so long to come about. I’m glad you stopped by and enjoyed the poem!

  16. sugarhighdd January 12, 2013 / 4:32 AM

    A lesson for all of us. I especially loved the structure of this piece.

    • jannatwrites January 12, 2013 / 7:23 PM

      Thanks so much Sugarhighdd…I appreciate you taking time to read my poem 🙂

  17. Carrie Rubin January 12, 2013 / 7:43 AM

    I think the above description is critical for a successful marriage. The years won’t pass by too smoothly if one is always up on his/her high horse, that’s for sure. 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 12, 2013 / 7:24 PM

      You’ve got that right, Carrie! I’ve been married over fifteen years and apologies come fairly quickly. Thanks for stopping by!

  18. Draug419 January 12, 2013 / 8:01 AM

    And I just got into an argument with a friend…But I’ve already said I’m sorry so I guess I followed your advice after all (:

    • jannatwrites January 12, 2013 / 7:25 PM

      Good job, Draug! I’ve seen friendships lost because neither side was willing to apologize.

  19. Lucid Editing January 12, 2013 / 9:38 AM

    “Each refused to dismount their high horse” – that’s fantastic! I love this piece. It’s so true and so beautifully written.

    • jannatwrites January 12, 2013 / 7:26 PM

      I’m glad you liked that line, and the poem, Lucid Editing. I appreciate your comment!

  20. Joe Quatrone, Jr. January 12, 2013 / 11:57 AM

    I love how you write! 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 12, 2013 / 7:27 PM

      Thanks, Joe….I appreciate you reading and sharing your kind comment 🙂

  21. Linda Vernon January 12, 2013 / 12:11 PM

    I like that both refused to dismount “the high horses” HA! 😀

    • jannatwrites January 12, 2013 / 7:28 PM

      Glad you got a laugh out of it, Linda. It stinks when your foot gets tangled in the stirrup 🙂

  22. Debbie January 12, 2013 / 12:38 PM

    Nailed it, Janna! Love how you’ve conveyed whole emotions in just 33 words!

    • jannatwrites January 12, 2013 / 7:28 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, Debbie! I appreciate you faithfully reading my posts 🙂

  23. Stephanie B. (@B4Steph) January 12, 2013 / 2:34 PM

    Saying I’m sorry – I wish I didn’t have such a difficult time with that. You captured this everyday scene beautifully!

    • jannatwrites January 12, 2013 / 7:29 PM

      Sometimes I’m sorry can be hard, Stephanie. But it takes some weight off our shoulders and improves relationships.

  24. cuhome January 12, 2013 / 3:25 PM

    Very nice! Sparing with words, big on message! I really like this!

    • jannatwrites January 12, 2013 / 7:30 PM

      Thanks so much, Janet! I’m glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  25. Donna Kiser January 12, 2013 / 4:35 PM

    Oh yes, been there and done that. Universal theme is few words. Good job.
    dk

    • jannatwrites January 12, 2013 / 7:31 PM

      I’m glad I have company here, Donna. It’s so much easier when apologies come quickly. Thanks for reading!

  26. mairzeebp January 12, 2013 / 8:51 PM

    I love the idea of being on a high horse but not taking the high road. I know many people like that and fear that at times, I’m that kind of person. Loved it!

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2013 / 12:38 AM

      I pondered on that, too, Mairzeebp. It is interesting that being on a high horse is bad, but the high road is good. I appreciate you reading and sharing your comment 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2013 / 12:39 AM

      I suspect many of us have once or twice (fewer might admit it, though 🙂 Thanks for reading, Rangewriter!

  27. cshowers January 12, 2013 / 11:29 PM

    I liked this… I’ve learned to love those two little words. They go a long way to restoring relationships. 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 13, 2013 / 12:40 AM

      Yes, they are soothing words. If we let go of right or wrong and don’t place blame, they are a bit easier to say. I appreciate you stopping by, Cheryl!

  28. Flood January 13, 2013 / 8:21 AM

    You put this together with great elegance.

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2013 / 11:43 PM

      Thanks for stopping by to read my poem, Flood!

  29. OldDogNewTits January 13, 2013 / 8:27 AM

    Very poetic. If only it were that easy to hit the reset button ….

    #twostubbornpeoplelivehere

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2013 / 11:44 PM

      Well, it helps if one person is less stubborn than the other, ODNT 🙂 (Luckily, my husband isn’t as willful as I can be.)

  30. Yve January 13, 2013 / 10:45 AM

    Refusing to dismount their high horses! Love it.

  31. Roxanne Piskel January 13, 2013 / 12:57 PM

    I didn’t take it as a chess game until your notes below. We can all be so stubborn sometimes, refusing to dismount our high horses. Great job!

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2013 / 11:45 PM

      I didn’t want to go too over-the-top with the chess terms. Thanks for reading, Roxanne!

  32. Stacie January 13, 2013 / 3:18 PM

    It’s so hard to back down sometimes! Love the poetic nature of this.

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2013 / 11:46 PM

      I can be hard to give in, especially when heels are dug in 🙂 Thanks for reading, Stacie!

  33. Tina January 13, 2013 / 4:04 PM

    It’s very easy to fall from a high horse! I liked this–marriage counseling in 33words!

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2013 / 11:49 PM

      That high horse is trouble, Tina 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  34. themisanthropicmuse January 13, 2013 / 6:35 PM

    Unless it’s something that goes against my moral/ethical judgements I usually end up forfeiting just so I don’t have to deal with someone else’s attitude. Awesome story, especially being that it says it all and yet it’s so short.

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2013 / 11:50 PM

      I tend to avoid conflict as well. But when I do make up my mind, watch out 🙂 I appreciate you stopping by, Muse!

  35. Imelda January 13, 2013 / 7:17 PM

    Ah, another beautifully written response to the prompt. 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2013 / 11:53 PM

      Your comment cracked me up, Amy! Sometimes it can be hard to climb down once saddled 🙂 Thanks for reading and for your funny comment!

  36. jwilliams057 January 14, 2013 / 11:20 AM

    This pretty much perfectly describes my husband and I every time we have a disagreement.

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2013 / 11:54 PM

      As long as we eventually get to the ‘sorry’ and resolution, all is well!

  37. pattisj January 14, 2013 / 11:20 PM

    And here I thought you were a genius! 😉 You can do so much with 33 words.

    • jannatwrites January 14, 2013 / 11:55 PM

      A genius…hahahaha! A genius I am not, Patti 🙂 Glad you stopped by to check out my 33 words!

  38. coyotero2112 January 23, 2013 / 11:48 PM

    I’m not going to write 33 more words in praise of you. I’ll start to sound all mushy. Wonderful, is enough, I think.
    Later….

    • jannatwrites January 24, 2013 / 7:56 AM

      Thanks for the kind words, Coyotero! I’m glad you enjoyed the poem and took time to let me know. I’ll respond to your other comments later…I’m on my phone right now, and longer comments are difficult for me to do this way 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

