A Child’s Prayer

Dear Lord,

I swear,

I’ll feed the cats

 Every day.

I won’t talk back…

Today.

I promise,

To be a good boy-

Perfect.

If you give me this one

Object.

This intention

Is my only need;

I’ll never ask for anything again…

Please, please, please.

Oh, yeah.

Amen.

Can you hear me, God?
Can you hear me, God?

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

TrifectaPicture11-1This is my response to the Trifecta writing prompt challenge.  It is inspired by, and in honor of, my younger son who turns seven this week.  Kids his age used to want their two front teeth for Christmas (he didn’t get that…in fact he lost two more teeth), but nowadays, they want expensive things.  He’s been begging for an iPod Touch for over a year.  Of course we can’t afford to buy one, so we told him to start saving.  He did and, with his birthday and Christmas money, he will finally have enough money to buy it.

I remember making bargains with God (promises I never could keep) if He’d just give me what I wanted.  I know now that all the “prayers” that were ignored, were really just “no’s” given in my best interest.

For the challenge, we were asked to write a 33 to 333 word response using the following word and definition: Intention (noun): (a) what one intends to do or bring about; (b) the object for which a prayer, mass or pious act is offered.

If you want to try the challenge yourself, or if you want to read other responses, click on the tricycle picture to go to Trifecta’s site.  I appreciate you reading.  Have a beautiful day!

77 thoughts on “A Child’s Prayer

    • jannatwrites January 7, 2013 / 10:42 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! I doubt it will place, though…but that’s not why I wrote it 🙂 Couldn’t resist imagining my son’s prayer.

  1. GodGirl January 7, 2013 / 6:11 PM

    Haha! it’s a wonderful poem. You really capture the pleading, bargaining ‘voice’ of a child that age! It’s great he’s had the change to learn about saving and working hard for the object of his affection. I’ll bet the gift will be much enjoyed!

    • jannatwrites January 7, 2013 / 10:46 PM

      I’m glad you liked the poem, GodGirl! We celebrated his birthday with family over the weekend, so he was able to get his iPod yesterday. Now, it’s all about limits and boundaries! I do hope he will take care of it better since he knows how long it took to get the money for it in the first place.

  2. Corinne January 7, 2013 / 6:21 PM

    I love the childlike needs and wants. Lovely.

    • jannatwrites January 7, 2013 / 10:46 PM

      For a child, the line between needs and wants is definitely blurred 🙂

  3. Tessa January 7, 2013 / 6:40 PM

    Perfect! Even my 3 year old grandson is into ipods and ipads and mommy’s iPhone. They learn young now.

    • jannatwrites January 7, 2013 / 10:48 PM

      Things are so much different now than even twenty years ago. My older son has been bugging me for a phone and the answer is ‘no’. Not yet. Thanks for reading, Tessa!

  4. Imelda January 7, 2013 / 7:37 PM

    oh, you captured the heart of a child with your entry, Janna. 🙂 Your photo is lovely, just so perfect for your poem/prayer.

    I admire your little boy for being able to delay gratification and work for his goal by saving all his money for it. I bet that this little treasure will be all the more valued because he worked for it.

    • jannatwrites January 7, 2013 / 10:49 PM

      Thanks, Imelda. I actually wrote the poem at work but waited to post it because I wanted to get the picture to go with it. He is excited to finally have it.

  5. Carl D'Agostino January 7, 2013 / 7:53 PM

    And it’s not selfish and demanding attention. It is the desire to be loved, nurtured and paid attention to. I saw the lack of it in my students 33 years high school teacher. Parents so busy. Single parent, two working all the time parents and me generation don’t wanna be bothered parents.

    • jannatwrites January 7, 2013 / 10:58 PM

      Life is busy and parenting is hard. I think most parents put an honest effort into doing their best…but of course, there are those that don’t. We both work, but the kids aren’t showered with gifts and money. They need to learn early that sometimes we have to wait for what we want. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your 2 cents, Carl. Hope your New Year is off to a good start 🙂

  6. Diane Turner January 7, 2013 / 8:02 PM

    Perfect!

    Sent from my iPhone

    • jannatwrites January 7, 2013 / 10:59 PM

      Thanks, Diane. I’m glad you liked the poem!

    • jannatwrites January 7, 2013 / 11:00 PM

      Thanks for reading, Phil. Sometimes I feel young at heart…other times, not so much 🙂

  7. diannegray January 7, 2013 / 8:59 PM

    I love the child’s prayer – so different from the parent’s prayer! 😀

    • jannatwrites January 7, 2013 / 11:01 PM

      That’s the truth, Dianne! My prayers are more about keeping them safe and and in one piece 🙂

        • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 10:48 PM

          So far, so good (fingers crossed)…

  8. Draug419 January 7, 2013 / 9:33 PM

    This is adorable (: I love it!

    • jannatwrites January 7, 2013 / 11:01 PM

      Thanks for reading, Draug – I appreciate it!

  9. themisanthropicmuse January 7, 2013 / 10:51 PM

    My two little ones won’t stop harassing me for one of those. They say their friends have them and bring them to school. The are six and seven… oy vey.

    • jannatwrites January 7, 2013 / 11:05 PM

      It’s insane, Muse! Mine started in about that age, too. I’ve stood firm on the absolutely not taking them to school. They don’t need the distraction, and frankly, it’s just an invitation for it to get stolen. Sure, I want my kids to fit in, but I’m not going into debt to keep up with the Jones’. Just wait til they start in on a phone. My ten-year-old started that last year 😦

      • themisanthropicmuse January 8, 2013 / 5:53 AM

        Mine want ipads and iphones too. My daughter’s classmate brings an iphone to school (according to my daughter). Who hands over an iphone to a kid who is six?! My kids can’t even faithfully remember to bring home their mittens!

        • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 10:38 PM

          I thought it was just our area – I’ve been told by both kids that other kids bring this stuff to school (even in first grade.) I don’t get it! I had to crack up at the mitten comment…so true, but our lost object is usually water bottles 🙂

  10. Tori Nelson January 8, 2013 / 4:55 AM

    Ha! This is awesome, Janna. I remember when I first heard that you could pray to God, really understood it. I was pumped, thinking of this mysterious Santa figure just waiting to give me what I wanted. Took me years to understand why I never got that pony 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 10:36 PM

      Funny! Maybe one day you’ll get that pony, Tori 🙂 I used to pray all kinds of deals to God. Whether he delivered on my request or not, I invariably didn’t hold up my end of the bargain.

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 10:38 PM

      Thanks, Kelly. I appreciate your comment!

  11. Catherine Johnson January 8, 2013 / 8:13 AM

    Awesome!

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 10:48 PM

      Thanks, Catherine! I’m glad you enjoyed the poem.

  12. Jennifer Dillon January 8, 2013 / 8:36 AM

    This totally brought back the fierceness of wishing when his age, the ability to wish with every single little fiber of ones being. Great fun read!

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 10:54 PM

      I’m glad you could relate and had fun reading it, Jennifer. Light-hearted is what I was going for this time around!

  13. braintomahawk January 8, 2013 / 8:55 AM

    I sorta still do this, but the object is a winning lottery ticket. Also add in that I will do great things FOR OTHERS and well you have my prayer 😉

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 10:55 PM

      So, how are the prayers working for you, BT? 😀 I have to admit, I’ve said a prayer once or twice for that!

  14. pattisj January 8, 2013 / 9:53 AM

    Haha, this was a fun post, Janna. How often do we do this? LOL

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 10:39 PM

      Hehehe…yeah, sometimes my prayers are selfish and not for the good of others, Patti. Still haven’t won the lottery, though 🙂

  15. humanTriumphant January 8, 2013 / 10:04 AM

    most adults still pray that same way, don’t they?

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 10:41 PM

      Maybe at one time or another, HT. I’d like to think it’s not all the time 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 10:41 PM

      Thanks, Newwhitebear. I’m glad you like it 🙂

  16. Debbie January 8, 2013 / 12:34 PM

    Aw, Janna, this is so sweet. Kids’ wants sure have changed, though, haven’t they? I remember Domer wanting lots of video games and gaming systems that in my “wisdom” I didn’t give him. It doesn’t hurt kids to live with a bit of disappointment, once in a while!

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 10:57 PM

      Debbie, I think it was around seven that I just wanted a new Barbie. It took a while to get that, even! We don’t have any gaming systems, either. No Wii, Xbox, Nintendo, etc. Isn’t that why they go to friends’ houses?

  17. Jennifer January 8, 2013 / 12:37 PM

    Perfect. You captured the child voice fantastically.

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 11:00 PM

      Thank you, Jennifer. I’m really glad you stopped by to read it!

  18. atrm61 January 8, 2013 / 12:52 PM

    It made me go aww:-)Loved the child’s plea-very well written Janna

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 11:02 PM

      I’m glad you liked it, Atreyee. It was fun to write because I can imagine my son making that prayer 🙂

      • atrm61 January 9, 2013 / 6:30 AM

        No wonder it was great ‘cos it came from a mother’s heart:-)

        • jannatwrites January 10, 2013 / 7:28 AM

          You’re very sweet…Thanks, Atreyee 🙂

        • atrm61 January 10, 2013 / 8:11 AM

          Janna,it is the truth:-)

        • atrm61 January 10, 2013 / 8:12 AM

          Oh,i meant what I commented re yr writing & not that I am sweet,lol!

  19. deanabo January 8, 2013 / 1:55 PM

    And then, like my kids would, He will start praying for something else. Great job!

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 11:03 PM

      You got that right, Deanabo. Once they get what they wanted, there’s always something to take its place.

  20. ReallyGina1 (@ReallyGina1) January 8, 2013 / 4:49 PM

    Oh the bargains we strike with God when we are young. I remember wishes along these lines by me and my kids. It’s so hard to teach needs and wants. My kids still don’t get it and they’re almost adults!

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 11:05 PM

      Haha – I can relate to the blurring of the line between needs and wants. I’m so spoiled that when I had to evaluate them last year, it took a couple of rounds before I was able to trim the excess. Glad you stopped by, Gina!

  21. Tara R. January 8, 2013 / 5:03 PM

    This made me laugh out loud, nicely done.

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 11:06 PM

      Yay! I’m glad the humor came through because that’s definitely what I hoped for this week. Thanks for reading, Tara!

  22. KymmInBarcelona January 8, 2013 / 5:04 PM

    Sounds like someone has had enough of the holidays? I know I have!
    Oh, and promises, promises…

    • jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 11:08 PM

      When our son’s birthday is done, we can finally rest. It’s so close to the holidays, I’ve had to retrain myself to stay focused for another couple weeks after the holidays.

  23. pattyabr January 8, 2013 / 10:20 PM

    Good for him saving his money to buy one. I still bargain with God with prayers sometimes.

  24. jannatwrites January 8, 2013 / 11:11 PM

    It’s so easy to do, Patty. His brother got an iPod Touch in September, so it made getting one even sweeter. (My older son actually got his at an estate auction. It’s an older generation without a camera, but he picked it up for $90. He was so proud of that!)

  25. rashmenon January 9, 2013 / 6:12 AM

    i think we have a winner here 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 10, 2013 / 7:29 AM

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, Rashmenon! The family ones are always nearest and dearest to my heart.

  26. Stephanie B. (@B4Steph) January 9, 2013 / 1:30 PM

    I won’t talk back…today. I love that. I remember well making these promises, though I don’t remember what I wanted. Wonderful piece! It captures that bit of childhood perfectly!

    • jannatwrites January 10, 2013 / 7:30 AM

      Isn’t that funny how we can’t remember what it was we thought we’d “die” without? I remember similar prayers (and crushing disappointment when I didn’t get it.) Luckily, as an adult, I can see that it was better for me that I didn’t get everything. Thanks for stopping by, Stephanie!

  27. muZer January 9, 2013 / 4:44 PM

    That’s such a cute prayer which God will sure listen to! 🙂 I love the way it starts though with feeding cats everyday and won’t talk back.. today… The contrast in what can be done everyday and only today! 🙂

    • jannatwrites January 10, 2013 / 7:32 AM

      Oh, I hope God doesn’t start answering these prayers…our house isn’t big enough for all of the kids’ wants! Glad you noticed the difference, MuZer….tasks are easier for them to manage than their own behavior.

  28. mindofshoo January 10, 2013 / 2:24 PM

    This was OUTSTANDING! Oh, I could easily see my kids doing that! How fun!

    • jannatwrites January 11, 2013 / 9:32 PM

      I’m glad you liked it, Mindofshoo! Kids are funny this way.

  29. lumdog January 10, 2013 / 2:27 PM

    This is so cute. Any you captured the words and mind of this little boy perfectly!

    • jannatwrites January 11, 2013 / 9:39 PM

      Thanks, Lumdog, I appreciate you reading!

  30. Linda Vernon January 10, 2013 / 6:41 PM

    Hahaaaa! Reminds me of a modern day boy Ann Shirley! 😀

    • jannatwrites January 11, 2013 / 9:43 PM

      Glad you enjoyed it, Linda! I always liked Anne of Green Gables 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

