One of Many

12-19Collage1

12-19Collage2~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

I’ll be online a little less over the next couple weeks.  My lack of novel writing is nagging at me and my Christmas gift to myself is to devote some time to it (you know in all the spare time I’m bound to have with family obligations and the kids out of school :)).  I can’t promise l won’t do some reading, maybe even a writing challenge, but I wanted you to know this blog hasn’t been abandoned…it’s just resting.

Do you take blogging breaks?  If so, do you unplug completely? 

36 thoughts on “One of Many

  1. nrhatch December 19, 2012 / 10:19 PM

    Enjoy your break.

    Use that spa certificate. You’re worth it.
    If you enjoy it, ask for another one sometime.

    Cheers!

    • jannatwrites December 19, 2012 / 10:42 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! I doubt I’ll take a full break. Maybe just a pause 🙂

  2. diannegray December 19, 2012 / 10:47 PM

    I’m not sure how much time I’ll have to spend on blogging in the next few weeks. If I don’t catch-up with you have a beautiful and safe Christmas and New Year 😀

    • jannatwrites December 19, 2012 / 10:56 PM

      Thanks, Dianne! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and New Year as well. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  3. Carol Ann Hoel December 20, 2012 / 4:23 AM

    We have to do what we have to do. When you accomplish your writing task that’s on your heart, you will return refreshed. Blessings in all that you do, Janna…

    • jannatwrites December 21, 2012 / 10:30 PM

      Thanks so much for the words of encouragement, Carol Ann. With any luck, I’ll get some momentum going and actually make it to the finish.

  4. pattyabr December 20, 2012 / 5:50 AM

    Merry Christmas Janna
    I haven’t been online much lately either mostly because life has intervened with meeting deadlines with a certificate class, a work certification review, parties, baking, and a spiritual evangelization mixed in. I am taking 2 weeks off to see my mother and father and hopefully rejuvenate. Happy writing

    • jannatwrites December 21, 2012 / 10:32 PM

      Your life is very busy, Patty! I hope you enjoy your two weeks off as you visit your parents. Thanks for stopping by. I look forward to your next Fearless Cooking post to see what you tackled over the holidays 🙂

  5. newwhitebear December 20, 2012 / 9:23 AM

    Wonderful. Good words, beutiful images. Follow the star becouse you will find a Children.
    Merry Xmas

    • jannatwrites December 21, 2012 / 10:33 PM

      Thank you so much for reading, Newwhitebear!

  6. Debbie December 20, 2012 / 10:51 AM

    Enjoy your break, Janna. I can assure you, even a few days will prove worthwhile (this, spoken from someone who knows, ha!)

    • jannatwrites December 21, 2012 / 10:46 PM

      My break starts tomorrow, so I’m hoping I don’t waste it on procrastination. I’m feeling motivated, so I have hope! Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words of encouragement, Debbie!

  7. Tessa December 20, 2012 / 1:35 PM

    Enjoy what break you take. I only write when I “feel” it. I don’t force it. Some weeks I am very quiet, none of the prompts will strike a nerve or idea and I don’t write much else about my life. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

    • jannatwrites December 21, 2012 / 10:49 PM

      That’s a good rule, Tessa. I don’t want this blog to become a chore, so I also don’t post unless something moves me to do so. I’m looking forward to getting back into my novel. I hope you have a merry Christmas (if I don’t comment on any of your posts before then :))

      • Tessa December 22, 2012 / 1:59 PM

        Once it becomes a chore, it is over. Something forced is usually not very good, needs spontaneity with a little discipline. You may see a post or 2 before the new year. Working on a few right now. Just don’t know where they are going yet. 🙂

        • jannatwrites December 22, 2012 / 3:36 PM

          I may be a day or two behind reading, but I will definitely get around to reading your posts, Tessa. Have a merry Christmas!

        • Tessa December 22, 2012 / 4:11 PM

          I just finished 2. Merry Christmas to you and yours! And a Happy New Year!

        • jannatwrites December 24, 2012 / 11:36 PM

          Thanks, Tessa! I read them tonight (the emails mounting in my In box got the better of me :)) Merry Christmas to you as well!!

  8. philosophermouseofthehedge December 20, 2012 / 5:40 PM

    Merry Christmas! The nativity scene is lovely. Although you are one tiny of billions and billions – don’t ever doubt that you do make a difference.
    Recognizing priorities is so important.
    Hugs to all and splash around in all the joy surrounding you during the holidays!

    • jannatwrites December 21, 2012 / 10:52 PM

      Thanks, Phil – I hope you have a merry Christmas as well 🙂 I’m okay with being one of billions. I don’t need a spotlight on me, that’s for sure! We’ve got lots planned for the next few days, but I’m still going to do my best to claim some ‘me’ time for writing.

    • jannatwrites December 21, 2012 / 10:52 PM

      Thanks, Widdershins…I’m looking forward to it!

  9. pattisj December 20, 2012 / 10:30 PM

    By all means write! I’ve not taken a real “break” from blogging. I don’t post when on the road, but I do try to read what others write (if I have internet).

    • jannatwrites December 21, 2012 / 10:54 PM

      I don’t post on the road, either…mostly because we’re usually at a hotel and I don’t trust the free Wi-Fi 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful Christmas with your family!

  10. Sandra December 21, 2012 / 2:43 PM

    Happy blogcation, and enjoy your time off, Janna! Take this holiday break to rejuvenate and do something for yourself. You deserve it! And, I wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas! I am so glad to have you as a “bloggy friend”! Thank you for always being there for me!

    • jannatwrites December 21, 2012 / 10:59 PM

      ‘Blogcation’ – I like that! I may not be able to stay away completely, but I’m letting myself off the hook for my ‘normal’ 3 to 4 posts a week.

      Thanks for the Christmas wishes. I hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas, too. I am so happy you are a ‘bloggy friend’, too, Sandra. I have so enjoyed getting to know you through your posts over the last several months (thanks to Trifecta!)

  11. GodGirl December 22, 2012 / 12:34 AM

    I love these images and thoughts. Often I struggle with the question of our individual impact, but this makes beautiful sense.
    Enjoy the blogging break, family time, and the space to write more of that novel.
    God bless,
    GodGirl

    • jannatwrites December 22, 2012 / 3:35 PM

      Thanks for stopping by, GodGirl. Today has been mostly last minute errands, but am looking forward to some novel time tonight (won’t even open the internet or I’ll get pulled into blog land…I just know it 🙂

  12. Sandi Ormsby December 24, 2012 / 9:59 AM

    It’s okay to take a break…I certainly did. Of course, I had a job, that I just quit! It’s nice to be home for the holidays. The kids just went on winter break, so my husband appreciates that I’m home! 🙂 Darn, our timing is off, but I’ll scroll through and read some of your older material to catch up on things.

    • jannatwrites December 24, 2012 / 11:39 PM

      Oh, sometimes I wish I could quit my job, Sandi. It’s not that it’s horrible or anything, I just get tired 🙂 Glad to see you’re back blogging…I’d wondered what happened to you. My ‘break’ lasted a whole five days…I’ll check back in a few more days to catch up some more! Glad you stopped by.

  13. Imelda December 24, 2012 / 2:57 PM

    Hi Janna. I am dropping by to greet you and your family a Merry Christmas and a blessed wonderful new year. I am glad to have met you. 🙂 I will come back to catch up with reading. I have serious catching up to do but I am so thankful to have so many friends to read and greet. 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 24, 2012 / 11:40 PM

      Thanks so much, Imelda! I’m happy to have met you, too 🙂 Sometimes I think ‘catching up’ is an impossibility. My new goal is keeping my in box to one screen. Have a merry Christmas!

  14. Imelda December 30, 2012 / 9:10 PM

    Enjoy your break, Janna. I look forward to the characters that will come out of your pen. Have a wonderful blessed new year. 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 30, 2012 / 10:07 PM

      Thanks for continuing to read my blog, Imelda. I hope you have a wonderful new year as well 🙂

  15. coyotero2112 January 23, 2013 / 10:57 PM

    Janna, you so got the prose poet’s touch. I don’t mean to sound like a know-it-all, but this seems to be where you really excel. I don’t know how badly, or if, you want to be noticed by a larger audience, but prose poetry is your path…I think. Keep it up.
    Later…

    • jannatwrites January 25, 2013 / 9:16 PM

      Thanks so much for your kind words of encouragement, Coyotero. I appreciate you taking time to read my writings!

Got an opinion? Share it!

