Wisps of You

You

dance in my soul,

tug on my heart.

My

tears console

no – rip me apart,

arms are empty

but memories behold-

wisps of you

going…

going…

but never gone.

12-12 Wisps of Smoke

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

I planned to do something more upbeat today, but I read something this  morning that changed my heart.  I urge you to read this amazing post by Stacy at Jonesing after 40 (the link will open the post in a new window.)  It is gut-wrenching, poignant and raw.  I’ve never met her, but have been touched by her writing for quite a while.  If you are the praying type, please keep her and her family in your prayers…

P.S. You may want to keep tissues handy, just in case.  I went through several.  You’ve been warned.

I hope you hold your blessings tight and have a beautiful day!

27 thoughts on “Wisps of You

  1. Tessa December 12, 2012 / 6:20 PM

    I loved your poem, but the story that inspired it was very sad. I cannot imagine the loss of a child.

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2012 / 11:51 PM

      I can’t either, Tessa. My younger son will soon be seven and I couldn’t imagine not having him with me, or having the strength to write about it only one month later. Thanks for stopping by!

      • Tessa December 18, 2012 / 9:05 PM

        I told you of my struggles and after the tragedy on Friday and the loss of Levi, something finally spoke to me and I have returned to church. There was a saying somewhere, can’t find it now, but it explained to me why there are bad things. I always blamed it on God, but the passage I read somewhere basically said that God does not cause the bad things, he gives us the strength we need to survive. All of that spoke to me and I went to church on Sunday and will continue. You were a part of that decision and I thank you.

        • jannatwrites December 18, 2012 / 11:02 PM

          Oh, Tessa, I’m so happy that you found a church that you’d like to attend. God is strength. The hard part for me is turning my burdens over to Him before I’ve crumbled under the weight. I hope you continue to find strength and gain peace. I’m glad you stopped by to share the good news. I’m happy to have been a part of it 🙂

        • Tessa December 19, 2012 / 3:45 PM

          I understand the turning of burdens over before crumbling. I have no real experience with this and it is all almost brand new for me. I don’t remember much from my childhood. The church is the one I was confirmed in and married in (even though now divorced).

        • jannatwrites December 19, 2012 / 10:41 PM

          Luckily, childhood memories of church aren’t necessary. I hope you feel at home there and can call them your church family, Tessa.

        • Tessa December 20, 2012 / 2:18 PM

          Thank you Janna!

  2. philosophermouseofthehedge December 12, 2012 / 7:40 PM

    Headed over. It’s been a while since I’ve been to her blog. Thanks for the link
    (Oh, solid poem…reverberates)

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2012 / 11:52 PM

      Thanks for reading, Phil. I was shocked when I read her post and cried like a baby at work.

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2012 / 11:54 PM

      It is sad, Nancy. We live assuming that our children will outlive us, but sometimes that isn’t the case.

  3. pattyabr December 12, 2012 / 10:43 PM

    Thanks for sharing your friend’s story. What a great friend you are in showing your support.

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2012 / 11:56 PM

      Thanks for reading about it, Patty. I only ‘know’ her from blogging, but I wanted to share the story because, although it is tragic and sad, I found her strength inspiring. It was another reminder that tomorrow isn’t a promise.

  4. diannegray December 12, 2012 / 11:20 PM

    What an absolute tragedy – very, very sad 😦

  5. jannatwrites December 13, 2012 / 12:00 AM

    This post has been in my thoughts all day. Still can’t believe the boy I’ve read about is gone. I gave my kiddos extra hugs tonight (even though they did their best to annoy me today!) I appreciate you stopping by, Dianne!

  6. Tori Nelson December 13, 2012 / 4:46 AM

    Crying and praying beggy prayers for her. Can’t even make my mind imagine that kind of loss.

    • jannatwrites December 13, 2012 / 9:13 PM

      I’m with you, Tori. It broke my heart and I turned into a puffy-eyed, runny nose mess at work. I hope our prayers help.

  7. Debbie December 13, 2012 / 8:50 AM

    My mind just can’t wrap around such unthinkable pain, Janna. Losing a child must be one of life’s most cruel happenings. Thank you for pointing us to what’s really important — our families — and know that you’ve caused a LOT of prayers to be sent Heavenward for that boy and his family!

    • jannatwrites December 13, 2012 / 9:15 PM

      I hope some prayers were sent because of this, Debbie. I was so moved by her post, I wanted others to read it (even though it is painful to read.) I appreciate you reading and showing your compassion for her.

  8. Jonesingafter40 December 13, 2012 / 10:52 AM

    Janna, I am honored that you wrote a piece in my son’s memory and shared my post. I consider my blog friends to be friends in the truest sense of the word. Thank you.

    • jannatwrites December 13, 2012 / 9:19 PM

      Stacy, you wrote such a heart-felt post, I couldn’t get it out of my head. It sounds like you’ve got a wonderful support system, but I figured a few extra prayers for your family couldn’t hurt.

  9. Imelda December 15, 2012 / 8:20 PM

    Your poem is beautiful and sad. I do not like partings. I’ll go check out Stacy in a few days but pray for her just the same. Yesterday’s events are still so fresh….

    • jannatwrites December 16, 2012 / 1:16 AM

      Yes, this week has been a difficult one emotionally with all the tragic events in the news. I do hope you check her post. She manages to convey sorrow and hope at the same time. Thanks for stopping by, Imelda!

      • Imelda December 16, 2012 / 8:16 PM

        I will try to this week or more likely when I am on our annual vacation. Yey!

        • jannatwrites December 16, 2012 / 9:22 PM

          Ooh, hope you have a nice vacation and safe travels, Imelda!

  10. pattisj December 16, 2012 / 9:49 PM

    Nice poem, off to visit your link.

Got an opinion? Share it!

