Tell Me A Prophecy

He is the light of the world...
The light of the world…

The child sat on her grandpa’s lap, fingers stroking the man’s beard.  “Can you tell me the story again?” she asked.

Isaiah laughed, and responded in a hushed voice, “dear child, you must know the words I speak are not mere tales; they are glimpses of what will be, as revealed by the Spirit.”

The girl frowned and shifted her gaze to the floor.  “Saba, people in town say you’re crazy.  That’s not true, is it?”

Isaiah’s brow furrowed.  “I speak the truth.”  He shook his head.  “Their disbelief and mockery of me may be out of fear, or it may be the work of Satan.  Either way, Babylon will be defeated and will become a land of swamps.”

The girl giggled.  “And the Jews will return to the Promised Land.”

“One day, child.  One day.”

“I like that.  But tell me about the baby.  He’s my favorite.”

“Ah, the Messiah.  The day will come when the Lord himself will give a sign: The virgin will be with child and will give birth to a son, and will call him Immanuel.  The world’s weight will be on his shoulders.  And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.  He will be rejected by men, but by his wounds, we will be healed. ”

“He sounds amazing.”  The child sighed.  “Will I meet him, Saba?”

Isaiah thought for a moment.  “Well, child, my anticipation does not tell me the when, only the what.  It may be generations before the Messiah walks among us.  If we don’t see him on Earth, I believe we will meet our Savior in Heaven.”

“Amazing,” the child whispered.

Isaiah hugged the child and kissed the top of her head.  He thanked God that through the Holy Spirit, her ten-year-old heart knew what many elders refused to see.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This was written for this week’s Trifecta challenge.  It is based on the prophecies of Isaiah, as written in the Bible in the book of Isaiah.  Disclaimer:  This is a work of fiction, not an account of an actual event.  Contrary to my older son’s opinion about my age, I wasn’t there, so I don’t know if Isaiah had any such conversation.  I don’t even know if he had a granddaughter.  I don’t know much at all! (That last one, my son guessed :))

TrifectaPicture11-1Now for Trifecta’s prompt:  Write a response between 33 and 333 words (mine is 306) using the following word and definition:

ANTICIPATION (noun)a : visualization of a future event or state; b : an object or form that anticipates a later type.

If you want to join the fun and write your own response, check out the the Trifecta website by clicking the tricycle picture above.  Thanks for reading!

50 thoughts on “Tell Me A Prophecy

  1. Catherine Johnson December 10, 2012 / 11:45 AM

    Brilliant! I shouldn’t laugh but it was funny when you said you weren’t there.

    • jannatwrites December 10, 2012 / 8:19 PM

      Thank you so much for reading, Catherine! My son is always making fun of my age…a couple weeks ago he asked me if cars were around when I was a kid. Nice, right?

  2. Kir Piccini December 10, 2012 / 11:55 AM

    You had me from the title,”Tell me a Prophecy” such a great way to tell a story isn’t it?

    I could see this whole scene in my head and hear the words spoken. It was so good Janna and so well put together.

    (lately, My sons are asking for “stories”..”Mommy? can you tell us the story of Baby Jesus? And start at the beginning, is Nestor there? (from Nestor the Long Eared Christmas Donkey movie that I love..)

    I love stories, don’t you??? 😉

    • jannatwrites December 10, 2012 / 8:22 PM

      Thank you for your kind comment, Kir – it made me smile 😀

      I cracked up with the Nestor question. I’ll have to look up Nestor the Long Eared Christmas Donkey…I haven’t heard of it. (I don’t get out much…)

      Stories are wonderful. I like writing them, reading them and retelling them!

      • Kir Piccini December 14, 2012 / 8:52 AM

        oh my goodness, NO NESTOR? Say it isn’t so 😉

        • jannatwrites December 15, 2012 / 12:47 AM

          Sorry…it’s so 🙂

  3. cuhome December 10, 2012 / 12:27 PM

    Haven’t been around for awhile, but I check in from time to time…. you are such a talented writer, Janna! I hope you move onto a book, soon–I know it would capture me from beginning to end!

    • jannatwrites December 10, 2012 / 8:23 PM

      I’ve missed you, Janet! I hope you’ve been busy with things you enjoy. Thanks so much for reading and offering the encouragement. I’m about ready to get moving on the Ellie story again. So much I want to do with that one 🙂

  4. Tessa December 10, 2012 / 12:36 PM

    Another great story. Great job!

    • jannatwrites December 10, 2012 / 8:24 PM

      Thanks, Tessa! I appreciate you stopping by to read it.

  5. Draug419 December 10, 2012 / 1:13 PM

    This is a strong story of faith (: Very powerful. (I’ll be nice and say nothing about your age ha-ha)

    • jannatwrites December 10, 2012 / 8:25 PM

      You can razz me about my age…I won’t remember it tomorrow anyway (one of the amusing side effects of age + lack of sleep!) Thanks for reading the story, Draug 🙂

  6. rerodan December 10, 2012 / 1:23 PM

    Great story…well we must be like little children to enter the kingdom

    • jannatwrites December 10, 2012 / 8:27 PM

      A little child-like wonder and appreciation of the the awesome gift of God wouldn’t hurt 🙂 Thanks for reading, Rerodan!

  7. Tara R. December 10, 2012 / 3:41 PM

    Wonderful dialogue. Storytelling at it’s finest.

    • jannatwrites December 10, 2012 / 8:28 PM

      Thanks, Tara! I appreciate your comment 🙂

  8. kgwaite December 10, 2012 / 3:56 PM

    Love your comment about your age! I know how that goes. This was my favorite line of all: …does not tell me the when, only the what – that’s just perfect.

    • jannatwrites December 10, 2012 / 8:34 PM

      I’ve always found the prophets fascinating…average people with extraordinary messages. Thanks for reading, Kelly!

  9. Debbie December 10, 2012 / 6:15 PM

    Splendid, Janna! And your son really must have guessed by now that you’re not as old as dirt, ha!

    • jannatwrites December 10, 2012 / 8:36 PM

      Thanks, Debbie! No, he still thinks I’m older than dirt. Right now, I’m thinking of all the ways I can embarrass him throughout his teen years 🙂 (Not really….me embarrassing him will come naturally – no thought required!)

  10. Diane Turner December 10, 2012 / 9:41 PM

    Wonderful story and writing. You really have a talent. My 6-year old granddaughter said to me: Grandma, you are really old! You must be a least 20! Out of the mouths…
    Thanks for sharing your excellent tale.

    • jannatwrites December 10, 2012 / 10:42 PM

      Thanks so much for the encouraging words, Diane. I appreciate you reading and sharing your thoughts. That’s funny about your granddaughter – my son will err the other direction (I think on purpose to tease me!)

  11. diannegray December 10, 2012 / 10:29 PM

    Another wonderful story, Janna 😉

    My nephew once asked me what the world was like when I was young and everything was black and white. I didn’t realise what he was talking about until he pointed out the old black and white photos my father used take! 😀

    • jannatwrites December 10, 2012 / 10:51 PM

      Thanks for reading it, Dianne!

      Funny about your nephew…technology has a way of dating us, doesn’t it? I remember telling my son about having to get film for my camera and then taking it to the drugstore to wait five days for it to be processed (unless I had the money for one-hour) only to find out most of the shots were blurry. He looked at me weird and then said, “that’s stupid. Why wouldn’t you just look at them on the screen and delete the blurry ones?” My son was also shocked to find out we didn’t have a computer in the house and I made it through high school without a cell phone because they weren’t even around yet!

  12. Tori Nelson December 11, 2012 / 5:11 AM

    This is wonderful, Janna. The last line is absolutely breathtaking.

    • jannatwrites December 11, 2012 / 11:57 PM

      Thanks so much, Tori. I do appreciate you reading the story!

  13. deanabo December 11, 2012 / 8:28 AM

    this touched me in so many ways. It was a beautiful story. It mad me miss my dad even more. Watching him tell my kids stories was a large part of our Christmas time.

    • jannatwrites December 11, 2012 / 11:58 PM

      I’m glad the story brought back warm memories (but am sorry for your loss and you missing your dad more). The memories keep our loved ones alive in our hearts, though. Thanks for reading, Deanabo!

  14. Linda Vernon December 11, 2012 / 10:54 AM

    This was perfect. I imagined Isiah as having a white beard and wearing a red suit.! 😀

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2012 / 12:00 AM

      Hmmm…maybe he did have a white beard (I think so!) and who knows – red could’ve been the “it” color at the time 🙂 Glad you stopped by, Linda!

  15. Annabelle December 11, 2012 / 1:46 PM

    How seasonal! I like the glimpse of what it would have been like for them; it’s normally so hard to imagine biblical figures as having been real people.

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2012 / 12:02 AM

      Thanks, Annabelle. I have trouble seeing prophets as the average people that they were, which is why I have fun incorporating them into fictional stories. I appreciate you reading it!

  16. Stephanie B. (@B4Steph) December 11, 2012 / 4:17 PM

    A story for the season. Wonderful. Better than sitting on Santa’s lap and asking for the latest nintendo game. Beautiful story of a child rapt with attention. And I’m glad I finally figured out you have snow turned on. I thought there was something wrong with my vision for a minute or two.

    • jannatwrites December 12, 2012 / 12:05 AM

      Sorry about the snow. I saw it a couple days ago when I was reviewing a scheduled post. I know there is a setting for it but I forgot where, so I’ve not gotten around to stopping the snow.

      The girl had her priorities straight and knew what was important. I appreciate you reading the story, Stephanie!

  17. KymmInBarcelona December 12, 2012 / 4:29 AM

    Nice take on telling stories the old-fashioned way. And glad to see you’re taking your fall into senility well – yours will be much longer than mine, though.

    • jannatwrites December 13, 2012 / 12:03 AM

      Who says I’m taking it well, Kymm? 😀 I think I’m just to crazy to realize the path I’m on! Thanks for reading the story.

  18. Tina December 12, 2012 / 10:35 AM

    How wonderfully this unfolded. They say that children are born knowing the way to heaven–perhaps that is why the little girl heard the prophecy?

    • jannatwrites December 13, 2012 / 12:04 AM

      Could be, Tina. Kids are more ready to accept what they don’t fully comprehend. As adults, we tend to analyze and believe by hard evidence only. Thanks so much for reading!

  19. lumdog December 12, 2012 / 2:16 PM

    This is a wonderfully written piece. I love how you had him tell the tale to a 10 year old so the words were clear and understandable.

    • jannatwrites December 13, 2012 / 12:08 AM

      Thanks, Lumdog. I appreciate your kind words. I was actually a bit hesitant to post a biblical story 🙂

  20. Brian Benoit December 12, 2012 / 6:43 PM

    Nicely done – I love the voice of the granddaughter!

    • jannatwrites December 13, 2012 / 12:09 AM

      Thanks, Brian! I appreciate you taking time to read the story.

  21. pattisj December 14, 2012 / 1:05 PM

    Great perspective and message. Love the disclaimer!

    • jannatwrites December 15, 2012 / 12:48 AM

      Thanks, Patti. It was a fun exercise writing about this subject from Isaiah’s point of view.

  22. Imelda December 15, 2012 / 8:25 PM

    Nice take on the prompt, Janna. What could be a better event to anticipate? 🙂 Ha! Them children – they a;ways think their parents are too old. 🙂

    • jannatwrites December 16, 2012 / 1:19 AM

      I thought it was perfect for the season, and I had fun interpreting Bible passages into this story. My son makes fun of my age to try to bother me, but it doesn’t work (yet!) I appreciate you taking time to read it, Imelda!

      • Imelda December 16, 2012 / 8:15 PM

        Funny that. My son sometimes call me either ‘antique’ or ‘very old’. 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

