Value of Values

I always pause when something happens at just the right time, almost like it was destined to happen at that moment.  Some call it synchronicity, others call it a “sign.”  Whatever you call it, this happened with the Trifecta writing prompt this week.

Just yesterday, the message at church was about not compromising values (using the example of Jeremiah and the Rechabites.)  The Rechabites were offered wine, but stood by their belief that they should not drink alcohol- even when offered it in a public setting, in a culture that viewed drinking wine as normal.

I’m hardly a Rechabite, but I knew right away that I would sit out the Trifecta challenge this week and skip reading others’ contributions.  Why?  The challenge is to celebrate National Erotica Day by writing a piece of erotica. I agree with the reason given:  to stretch our writing and write something we normally wouldn’t.  However, my personal choice is to not stretch my writing in that way.

People I normally read may choose to do this challenge.  I will still read them…just not this week.  I hope they understand and respect my decision.  There’s a chance some may call me closed-minded.  Fine.  I just think there is too much in this world that steals innocence and corrupts hearts.  I cannot in good conscience intentionally contribute to it.

So, instead of a story today, I leave you with a couple of sunset pictures that I took over the weekend.  We drove all over town looking for a cool spot to take some family pictures for our Christmas cards (yes, I still do those :))  We managed to get pictures of us and I was able to sneak in several landscape photos as well.  Perhaps I’ll post more of them soon.

Have a beautiful day!

I love Saguaros at sunset
The Cholla cactus makes for an interesting silhouette as well
26 thoughts on “Value of Values

  1. nrhatch November 19, 2012 / 9:30 AM

    clap . . . claP . . . clAP . . . cLAP . . . CLAP . . . wild applause!

    Good for you, Janna. This week’s prompt isn’t titillating enough for me. 😉

    • nrhatch November 19, 2012 / 9:34 AM

      Oops . . . meant to say, “Good for you, Janna. Same here . . . ”

      And the prize is no draw . . . what would I do with a book of erotica? 😳

      • jannatwrites November 20, 2012 / 5:12 PM

        What, you’re not going to give it a go? I thought the prizes would be right up your alley 🙂 (Only kidding, Nancy!)

    • jannatwrites November 20, 2012 / 5:11 PM

      I was a bit surprised to see that kind of challenge, but I have plenty of other things to do this week 🙂

  2. philosophermouseofthehedge November 19, 2012 / 10:52 AM

    Always fine to sit something out if you want.
    And besides the sunset shots are totally spectacular!

    • jannatwrites November 20, 2012 / 5:13 PM

      Thanks, Phil. I thought the sunset photos turned out okay. I was excited because I haven’t caught a sunrise or sunset in quite a while.

  3. Tori Nelson November 19, 2012 / 11:05 AM

    Good for you! I write about pretty close to ANYTHING, but even I’d be pretty darn uncomfortable writing that style. I think it’s cool you’re confident enough to say no thanks, not for me.

    • jannatwrites November 20, 2012 / 5:15 PM

      I don’t know which would be more uncomfortable for me: writing it or reading it. Glad I’m not alone on this one, Tori.

  4. Debbie November 19, 2012 / 12:35 PM

    GOOD for you, Janna — if I were doing the Trifectas, I’d be right there beside you! There’s enough of that sort of thing in our world today; no sense encouraging people to write it. It’s always best for you to know yourself, and if that isn’t “you,” you’re wise to say so. Besides, I totally love your sunset pictures — we don’t have that kind of scenery here in the Midwest, and I find cacti fascinating!

    • jannatwrites November 20, 2012 / 5:17 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures, Debbie! Sunsets (and sunrises) are so fun to me because God paints the picture – all I have to do is capture it.

  5. rebecca2000 November 19, 2012 / 2:35 PM

    I totally understand your stance on that. You should be proud to stand up for what you believe in. ((hugs))

    • jannatwrites November 20, 2012 / 5:19 PM

      Hmmm…you could always try it just to show Google who’s boss, Rebecca 🙂

  6. Tessa November 19, 2012 / 8:20 PM

    Nothing wrong in standing up for your beliefs.

    • jannatwrites November 20, 2012 / 5:19 PM

      I’ll miss it this week, but there is a lot of other stuff to get done (like my regular blog reading.)

      • Tessa November 20, 2012 / 7:36 PM

        I have lots of prompts to pick from. I participate in many sites.

        • jannatwrites November 21, 2012 / 3:17 PM

          I might look into others, but I’m afraid of finding too many I like, or I’ll never get anything else done!

        • Tessa November 21, 2012 / 4:48 PM

          I am disabled. I have nothing better to do. My time is my own!

        • jannatwrites November 21, 2012 / 9:08 PM

          Well, I think writing is a fine way to spend your time!

  7. Damyanti November 20, 2012 / 7:41 AM

    Those pics are gorgeous. And I applaud your stand.

    • jannatwrites November 20, 2012 / 5:20 PM

      Thanks, Damyanti. So glad you enjoyed the pictures!

  8. rerodan November 21, 2012 / 1:45 AM

    Wonderful pictures, I can just imagine a cowboy riding into the sunset….Well you could have written something out of or inspired by the Songs of Solomon….
    Its great to stand by what you believe.

    • jannatwrites November 21, 2012 / 3:18 PM

      Oh, a cowboy would’ve made a nice silhouette. I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures, Rerodan. Thanks for stopping by!

  9. pattisj November 27, 2012 / 9:56 PM

    I’m glad you stuck by your principles, Janna. You do have some interesting landscapes, especially in silhouette. Can’t wait to see the Christmas card photo. You will be sharing it with us, right?

Got an opinion? Share it!

