Richard and Norma (Trifecta Photo Challenge)

Norma looped her arm around Richard’s as they strolled down the tree-lined path. “Remember when I used to sneak away to meet you here?” she asked.

He chuckled. “Yes. I never forgot this park.” He stopped. “Wait. I want to take our picture.” He still couldn’t believe he would finally marry Norma on Sunday. Their shadows on the sidewalk- his arm reached out to guide her to him- had been the one thing he lived for while the Koreans held him prisoner.

Richard slid the camera into his pocket and let Norma grasp his arm again.  “I bet you didn’t know this, but I saw you in 1962.”

Norma halted. “Really?”

Richard nodded. He nudged her to keep walking. “You were leaving Thrifty with Patricia. Her pink ice cream matched her dress.”

“Her favorite color.”

“I wanted to take you in my arms… to kiss you like the last night before Korea.”

Norma sniffed and swiped her eyes with the back of her hand.

“I kept track of you all those years.  Sure, I went to work and had my hobbies, but I was just following everyone else. We’re not much different than ants searching for food, I suppose.”

“I’m so sorry, Richard.” Norma choked back a sob.

He stopped and put his hands on her shoulders. “Listen here, Norma Ann, don’t you apologize for your happiness. We both did what we needed to.”  He took her hand and led her onto the playground.

Norma grinned. “If you think I’m going down that slide, you’ve lost your mind, mister.” She patted her hip. “I just got this replaced three years ago.”

Richard led her to the slide and pointed to the corner of the lowest platform. “I’ve written this on every slide they’ve put in. It got me through until I could look in your eyes and say, ‘Norma, I’m Richard Coswell and I am completely in love with you’.”

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

The folks at Trifecta have asked us to write a 33 to 333 word response (mine is 320) incorporating the three photos shown above.  Click the tricycle picture to see the full challenge rules.  (Note:  all photos in this post are property of Trfectawritingchallenge.com)

**This is a community-voted challenge and voting starts on Sunday night at 7PM on Trifecta’s website (click the tricycle picture to get there).  If you don’t like my entry, I bet you’ll find something else you do like, please check it out. **

For some reason, Norma and Richard wouldn’t get out of my head, so they win.  These are the characters I introduced in my first ever Trifecta win – Truth of Promises.  I thought that story bordered on too sappy, but others didn’t agree.  This one, however, may just send you into diabetic shock.    Please don’t send your medical bills.  I can’t afford to pay them.

42 thoughts on “Richard and Norma (Trifecta Photo Challenge)

  1. nrhatch November 16, 2012 / 1:41 PM

    Quick . . . pass me the insulin! (. . . kidding!)

    I’m glad we got to hear more of their story, Janna. You and Draug did a good job with these odd shots.

    • jannatwrites November 16, 2012 / 9:35 PM

      Sorry, I used all the insulin when I wrote this, Nancy 😆 I laughed that the editors thought this was an easy challenge. I have the bump on my forehead (from banging my head on my desk) to prove it wasn’t that easy!

      • nrhatch November 18, 2012 / 8:43 PM

        You got my vote! Well . . . one of them.

        • jannatwrites November 18, 2012 / 9:53 PM

          Oh! Thanks, Nancy. I’m still trying to decide my votes…it’s never easy!

  2. Draug419 November 16, 2012 / 2:14 PM

    Too…sweet x3 Awww what a lovely love story ❤

    • jannatwrites November 16, 2012 / 9:36 PM

      I think I’m getting soft…it’s time to write a mystery where someone dies 🙂 Only kidding, but I am beginning to wonder about myself. Thanks for reading, Draug!

  3. clarbojahn November 16, 2012 / 4:43 PM

    Way to go, Janna. I’ll vote for you if you tell me how. I think it should win. 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 16, 2012 / 9:38 PM

      That’s so nice of you, Clar. On Sunday evening at 7PM eastern, the Trifecta site will have each of our entries up and there will be a ‘vote’ link under each entry. (Mine shows a photo of my cat, Cybil) You can get to Trifecta’s site by clicking on the tricycle picture at the end of my post. You can vote for 3 different stories, which is nice because I could never narrow it down to just one!

      • clarbojahn November 17, 2012 / 11:06 AM

        Thanks, I’ll try and get over there on Sunday. 🙂

        • jannatwrites November 17, 2012 / 9:32 PM

          Thanks, Clar. I appreciate the thought!

    • jannatwrites November 16, 2012 / 9:39 PM

      Thanks, Phil! I’m glad Norma and Richard came through because I didn’t know what else to do with those pictures 🙂

  4. Lumdog November 16, 2012 / 7:02 PM

    This is a very sweet story and you managed to work in the photos in a very natural way. Not an easy task!

    • jannatwrites November 16, 2012 / 9:40 PM

      I appreciate you reading, Lumdog. I’m glad it was believable (the hardest one was the ant picture.) I like your humorous take, though. Insane 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 16, 2012 / 9:40 PM

      Thanks, Ruby! I appreciate you reading it.

  5. Imelda November 16, 2012 / 8:52 PM

    Oh my goodness! Just the perfect continuation to the Norma and Richard saga and excellent use of the picture prompts. This is very wonderfully done, Janna. Will this be another Ellie story. It has the makings. It reminds me of Nicholas Sparks’ The Notebook (it’s the one with the elderly couple, right?) Sorry, I read it ages ago but I remember it as a sweet love story.. I hope you continue with this. 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 16, 2012 / 9:47 PM

      Well, I didn’t intend for this to be a continuing story (especially since I can’t get Ellie’s story written) but I’ll see what happens, Imelda! I appreciate you reading and your enthusiasm – it’s definitely encouraging. The Notebook was a sweet love story, but I cried like a baby 🙂

  6. rashmenon November 16, 2012 / 10:34 PM

    aww, sweeet! i love it and i love them

    • jannatwrites November 17, 2012 / 9:10 PM

      So glad you like them, Rashmenon! I appreciate you stopping by to read the story.

  7. pattisj November 16, 2012 / 10:54 PM

    You may have a bump on your head, but apparently it worked! lol Another great job–and incorporating those pictures?!

    • jannatwrites November 17, 2012 / 9:12 PM

      Well the bump on my head is getting better…small price to pay if it makes for a decent story 🙂 I’m glad you think it worked, Patti.

  8. GodGirl November 17, 2012 / 1:59 AM

    Very creative use of those pictures, especially the last one 🙂 Very sweet.

    • jannatwrites November 17, 2012 / 9:15 PM

      Thanks, GodGirl. When I first saw the pictures I thought for sure I’d be sitting this weekend out again. I appreciate you taking time to read it.

    • jannatwrites November 17, 2012 / 9:16 PM

      Yes, they had spent over sixty years apart before coming together again. Thanks for reading, Under the Skies of Arkansas!

  9. pattyabr November 17, 2012 / 6:36 AM

    I like Richard and Norma 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 17, 2012 / 9:23 PM

      Yay! I’m so glad you like them, Patty. These two are a fun romantic couple to write 🙂

  10. Debbie November 17, 2012 / 7:50 AM

    Aww, this is too sweet…in a good way! Kind of gives one hope that true loves find their way back together, and we’re all suckers for a great love story! Well done, Janna!

    • jannatwrites November 17, 2012 / 9:32 PM

      I’m glad you found it sweet in a good way – not the I-need-insulin-now way, Debbie! Thanks so much for reading 🙂

  11. Tina November 17, 2012 / 1:33 PM

    This would be one of those movies where you cry happy tears all the way through!

    • jannatwrites November 17, 2012 / 9:36 PM

      🙂 Thanks, Tina! Happy tears are a good thing.

  12. diannegray November 17, 2012 / 2:23 PM

    Wonderful, Janna! You’ve certainly got my vote 😀

    • jannatwrites November 17, 2012 / 9:38 PM

      Aw thanks, Dianne. I appreciate it 🙂

  13. Trifecta November 18, 2012 / 12:21 AM

    We said simple, not easy. 🙂 Still, you managed to pull it off. Thanks for linking up!

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2012 / 8:29 PM

      I stand corrected 🙂 Challenging is what it was!

  14. Stephanie B. (@B4Steph) November 18, 2012 / 12:40 PM

    I enjoyed the continuation of the story. If you really think about it you wonder if this love that lasts through the ages is sort of a fountain of youth. They remember themselves as young people and take it up from there. A way to begin anew. Probably will add years to their lives. Beautiful story.

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2012 / 8:30 PM

      It just might add years…happiness has a way of doing that, Stephanie. Thanks for reading their story. I appreciate it!

  15. Linda Vernon November 18, 2012 / 1:11 PM

    This is a lovely story and isn’t trying too hard to connect the unrelated prompts. Excellent! 😀

    • jannatwrites November 18, 2012 / 8:31 PM

      Thanks so much, Linda! I’m glad you enjoyed the story.

  16. KymmInBarcelona November 19, 2012 / 3:55 AM

    Sweet! I especially like his painting all the slides!

Got an opinion? Share it!

