Faith Recognition

This is not me.  Well, technically, it is…let me explain…

My hair in its natural state is a crazy, curly mess.  As a child, I fought to get my hair to be something it wasn’t:  straight and fine and willing to succumb to feathering (Farrah Fawcett style.)  As I grew older, I became weary of the struggle and just let it be.  Wash-and-go became my style, if you can call that a style.

Last year, I discovered the Chi flat iron.  A friend swore it could tame even my unruly hair.  I had doubts, but it worked.  I was left with a head of straight hair that didn’t feel like mine.  I could run my fingers through it when dry.

The first time I wore my hair straight to work, people mistook me for a new employee.  But as soon as I spoke, they recognized me, and we all had a good laugh.

I want my faith to be like my voice.  I don’t want to tell people “I’m a Christian.”  I want God’s presence in my life to be apparent.  I’m not perfect and there are times I feel far from this goal.  I misstep and pray for guidance to get right again.

I’m flawed, but I trust God has a perfectly wonderful plan for me.

During my reading this week, I found this scripture:

You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness. (Ephesians 4:22-24)

My Study Bible included text related to this verse, which answers the question:  Why do believers still sin?  “They are people who live in the flesh- still vulnerable to the weaknesses and temptations that affect all humans.  To live in the flesh is to be influenced by habits and patterns of thinking acquired before coming to Christ.  The more we rely on the Spirit, the more we will defeat those inner sinful impulses.”

This fills me with hope.  May you be filled with hope as well.  Have a beautiful Sunday 🙂

18 thoughts on “Faith Recognition

  1. mairzeebp November 11, 2012 / 7:04 AM

    You know, I’ve often discovered that in life, it’s when someone has to insist that they are something that they often aren’t. I’m so nice or I’m really honest or I’m never unkind. I don’t think they always realize it but, the thing is, when you are something, you just are and people just know it when they speak to you or deal with you. You are recognizable for who you are and how you act. I have to remind myself of that sometimes and find my way back to me. My faith helps me with that. Lovely post. Hope your Sunday is beautiful as well. 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2012 / 6:16 PM

      I’ve seen this, too Mairzeebp. Faith does help to trust that who we are will speak for us. Sometimes it’s hard, especially when it feels like others seem to ignore the good that we are and instead, focus on our faults. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughtful comment!

  2. suzicate November 11, 2012 / 7:38 AM

    Very wise words. I think faith like character are portrayed through every day living.

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2012 / 6:17 PM

      I try not to smile when I someone tells me what they are. Thanks for stopping by, Suzicate!

  3. Yvonne Root November 11, 2012 / 7:39 AM

    ” I don’t want to tell people “I’m a Christian.” I want God’s presence in my life to be apparent.”

    Me too.

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2012 / 6:20 PM

      It’s a good goal, Yvonne. To go cliche, ‘actions speak louder than words.’

  4. Katie Checkley November 11, 2012 / 10:07 AM

    Great thoughts for today. We are what we put out there, and we attract others just like us. It doesn’t hurt once and a while to re-evaluate. Thanks for new insights. 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2012 / 6:22 PM

      Thanks so much for stopping by, Katie! When we are our natural selves, we do tend to attract those with similar values.

  5. agjorgenson November 11, 2012 / 10:18 AM

    Thanks, I agree that habits are a big part of the picture: both good and bad!

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2012 / 6:23 PM

      I’m glad you see the point here, Ajorgenson. Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Debbie November 11, 2012 / 2:11 PM

    Janna, this reminds me of the time I got a “body wave” so I could bring some life to my stick-straight hair — every time I’d reach up to my head, I felt like it was somebody else’s hair I was touching! What a lovely thing to say, about not wanting to have to tell people you’re a Christian but letting your actions shout it for you! I imagine this is one of those life-long things to strive for. Hope and trust are good places to start!

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2012 / 6:30 PM

      Sometimes it’s fun to try something new with our hair. I don’t know about you, but after a day or two, I’m glad to get back to my abnormal ‘normal’ hair 🙂 I do think making my actions my voice will be a lifelong journey, Debbie. Thanks so much for relating through your ‘other hair’ experience 🙂

  7. nrhatch November 11, 2012 / 5:37 PM

    Whenever I’m not yet where I want to be . . . I claim what isn’t, as if it were, until it becomes. 😀

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2012 / 6:32 PM

      That’s funny, Nancy! As long as it works and you ended up where you wanted to be 🙂

  8. pattisj November 12, 2012 / 12:23 AM

    Good comparison, and encouraging words.
    My hair has been a character-building experience, too. LOL I bought an inexpensive flat iron and it died trying.

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2012 / 7:05 PM

      Ah, someone else with the the curly hair curse? 🙂 I’ve tried flat irons before, but Chi is the only one that could handle the task. It’s just so much easier to not fight my hair – there are more important things to spend time on. Thanks for relating, Patti!

  9. Imelda November 12, 2012 / 12:42 PM

    As long as we are in this earth, we are prone to sin. It is always a struggle, a choice to do good, what pleases God, or to do that which is not pleasing to Him. There is this passage from one of St. Paul’s epistles which says – the good that I want to do, I don’t do; and the evil I don’t want to do, I manage to do – or something to that effect. Each minute, we need to rely on the grace and strength of God to avoid sin.

    • jannatwrites November 12, 2012 / 7:11 PM

      The passage is so true. It seems it is so much easier to do wrong that to stay right, Imelda.

Got an opinion? Share it!

