Why I Write

Writing:

An outlet for my otherwise average life;

Exercise for my imagination;

Oxygen for my dreams.

I hope to inspire;

Stir emotions;

Entertain.

Or-

Perhaps, my words

are daily bread

For my delusions?

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This is my entry in the Trifecta weekend challenge.  In honor of NaNoWriMo, we were asked to write about why we write – in exactly 33 words.  I used up all my words, so I didn’t have any space to include “because it’s fun!”  If it wasn’t fun, it would be like housework and would never get done.

Good luck to those writing for NaNoWriMo – it’s a tough challenge and I’ll cheer you on from the sidelines!

66 thoughts on “Why I Write

  1. suzicate November 2, 2012 / 8:50 AM

    You never know how inspiring your words can be…you often lift others up when they are down.

    • jannatwrites November 2, 2012 / 5:43 PM

      That’s a nice thought, Suzicate! Thanks for stopping by to find out why I write 🙂

  2. Draug419 November 2, 2012 / 10:14 AM

    I like to think the delusions are the daily bread haha 😀 Great piece!

    • jannatwrites November 2, 2012 / 5:44 PM

      Maybe it’s a case of the chicken and the egg…are the delusions the daily bread that feed the words, or are the words the daily bread that feed the delusions?

      I’d think about it more, Draug, but I’ll confuse myself 🙂

  3. newwhitebear November 2, 2012 / 10:17 AM

    You write becouse you like writing, how we like to read you

    • jannatwrites November 2, 2012 / 5:45 PM

      Thank you, Newwhitebear – I do appreciate you, and everyone else who takes time to read my blog. Have a beautiful weekend 🙂

  4. nrhatch November 2, 2012 / 12:57 PM

    Regardless of our exact motivation(s) for blogging, we probably enjoy writing as a creative outlet, at least some of the time, or we would find some other way to share, create, explore, dream, discover, and spend time.

    The goal behind all goals . . . happiness. (Or so says the Dalai Lama. And I agree with him.) That’s my goal for blogging . . . to enjoy the journey and see where it leads.

    After all, as you point out, if it’s not fun, why write?

    Write on! 😀

    • jannatwrites November 2, 2012 / 5:46 PM

      There are enough “have-to-dos” in life – writing should not be one of them! Great thoughts, Nancy! I peeked at your post about WordPress’ daily blog challenge…I’ll stop by to comment on it later.

    • nrhatch November 2, 2012 / 9:49 PM

      Exactly. If blogging feels like a chore . . . we need to find another hobby. 😀

      • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 9:53 AM

        Agreed, Nancy! A hobby must be fulfilling in some way.

  5. Christine November 2, 2012 / 1:11 PM

    I love this pairing: “Exercise for my imagination; Oxygen for my dreams.”

    • jannatwrites November 2, 2012 / 5:47 PM

      Thanks, Christine! Those were my favorite lines, as well 🙂

      • Karen Parker November 3, 2012 / 10:19 AM

        And mine,too!

        • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 11:39 PM

          Aw, thanks, Karen. (or Phil!) Glad you stopped by today.

  6. Carrie November 2, 2012 / 4:27 PM

    I love your poem. It’s exactly how I feel too 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 2, 2012 / 5:48 PM

      I think a lot of us have similar feelings, Carrie. The fun part is seeing how we all express it 🙂

  7. Debbie November 2, 2012 / 6:04 PM

    I’ll be cheering on the NaNoWriMo folks, too, Janna — but NOT participating. I can’t imagine how miserable I’d feel, just knowing the possibility (probability??) of failure is so close, ha!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 7:25 AM

      Well said, Debbie, I’m right there with you! Even if I did it, I’m not sure of I’d write anything useful 😉

  8. Kenya G. Johnson November 2, 2012 / 6:25 PM

    I love “oxygen for my dreams”. I do feel rather short of breath if I need to write and can’t.

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 7:28 AM

      I’m glad you could relate to that line, Kenya. Thanks so much for reading!

  9. Carl D'Agostino November 2, 2012 / 9:16 PM

    Oxygen for my dreams

    Comes in many forms. Hard to get ahold of though.

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 9:52 AM

      I agree, oxygen for dreams is hard to get. Life is polluted with other obligations that can make it difficult…but not impossible. Glad you stopped by, Carl.

  10. Widdershins November 2, 2012 / 10:34 PM

    One person’s delusions are another person’s dreams!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 9:55 AM

      Haha! Love it Widdershins – that would make a fun bumper sticker or fridge magnet.

  11. pattisj November 2, 2012 / 10:50 PM

    All good reasons. I’m glad you do, and share your writing with us!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 9:57 AM

      And I’m so glad that you visit so often to read what I write, Patti. Comments make writing more fun.

  12. Lumdog November 3, 2012 / 5:46 AM

    I love “exercise for my imagination”! There are so many reasons that can’t fit in 33 words and you’ve hit a bunch which reasonate with me. Nice job!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 10:00 AM

      Thanks, Lumdog! There are to many reasons to fit all of them in 33 words. At least my imagination gets a workout even if my body doesn’t 🙂

  13. kgwaite November 3, 2012 / 6:46 AM

    Daily bread for my delusions! Nice!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 10:02 AM

      My delusions are well-fed 🙂 thanks for stopping by, Kelly.

  14. Cameron November 3, 2012 / 8:16 AM

    Oxygen for my dreams. Yes, that. Exactly.

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 10:03 AM

      I’m glad you can relate to it, Cameron. As long as I write, my dream has a pulse.

  15. Sandra November 3, 2012 / 8:17 AM

    Great combination of response and photos! Those pics are great! You are not delusional in my mind, though. I love your writing. 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 10:06 AM

      You’re too kind, Sandra. I borrowed photos I’d posted before because I didn’t have access to my regular computer. I’m glad you visit and read my writing…I do appreciate it 🙂

  16. Tina November 3, 2012 / 11:01 AM

    Perfect! You had me nodding my head in agreement, shouting ‘Amen!’

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 11:40 PM

      It is a good feeling to know I’m not the only one with these reasons to write. Thanks for stopping by, reading, and relating, Tina!

  17. deanabo November 3, 2012 / 11:31 AM

    Beautiful words as always.

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 11:41 PM

      Thanks so much, Deanabo. I appreciate the compliment.

  18. Lucy November 3, 2012 / 7:12 PM

    Oxygen for my dreams…. wow, that says it perfectly!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 11:44 PM

      Thanks, Lucy! I feel that as long as I’m writing something, my dream of being a writer is still alive. This is important after I put writing on ice for fifteen years or so.

  19. Grace November 3, 2012 / 10:54 PM

    I think you captured everything I wanted to say but didnt!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 11:45 PM

      Thanks, Grace! Your entry was so entertaining to read, though 🙂

  20. diannegray November 4, 2012 / 12:58 AM

    Yes, yes, yes – I always nod when I read your posts 😉 all of yours plus – I write because I can’t not write 😀

    • jannatwrites November 4, 2012 / 9:39 PM

      Funny, Dianne…I always imagined people shaking their heads while reading my posts 😆 I didn’t write at all for about ten years, but once that first poem came out on paper, I’ve been writing since. Now, I can’t imagine going for such a stretch without writing.

  21. Renada Styles November 4, 2012 / 5:54 AM

    “oxygen for my dreams” -love this line.
    And it is all true, delusions and all, why we write!

    • jannatwrites November 4, 2012 / 9:40 PM

      Thanks, Renada. Glad I’m not the only one with delusions 🙂

  22. Michael November 4, 2012 / 6:26 AM

    Writing as dream oxygen. I like that metaphor. 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 4, 2012 / 9:42 PM

      Glad you like that one, Michael. Thanks for reading 🙂

  23. Tara R. November 4, 2012 / 12:50 PM

    Yes… words feed your soul.

    • jannatwrites November 4, 2012 / 9:46 PM

      It seems many of us have the same need to write. Glad you stopped by, Tara.

  24. Stephanie B. (@B4Steph) November 4, 2012 / 5:54 PM

    I would like to say that you do inspire, and stir emotions. I loved your media whore piece and that accomplished both. And the phrase oxygen for my dreams is spot on..

    • jannatwrites November 4, 2012 / 9:52 PM

      Thanks for the kind words, Stephanie. Writing is something I do for me, but it is also nice to know that it can impact others 🙂

  25. whimsygizmo November 4, 2012 / 9:14 PM

    Oh, YES. This:
    “Oxygen for my dreams.”
    Perfect.

    • jannatwrites November 4, 2012 / 9:53 PM

      🙂 That line struck a chord with many who read it. Glad you can relate to it as well, Whimsygizmo!

  26. Cipriano November 4, 2012 / 9:58 PM

    “Oxygen for my dreams” — I like that.
    And the ultimate goal, to make writing our “daily bread” — instead of going to work at a task that is NOT writing! There’s a dream!

    • jannatwrites November 4, 2012 / 10:02 PM

      You’ve stated my dream exactly, Cipriano: writing as my only job. Oh well, for now, it’s a part-time, non-paying gig. Who wouldn’t want that? 😆

  27. agjorgenson November 5, 2012 / 9:01 PM

    “Oxygen for my dreams”: nice way to image writing. Thanks!

    • jannatwrites November 5, 2012 / 10:34 PM

      Thanks for reading, Agjorgenson. I’m glad that description caught your attention.

  28. Imelda November 7, 2012 / 8:51 PM

    Love this, Janna. You put your sentiments in very creative words. 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 8, 2012 / 12:46 AM

      I liked this challenge because distilling my reasons for writing down to 33 words really was a challenge. Brevity is not my strong suit 🙂

  29. GodGirl November 9, 2012 / 2:11 AM

    “Daily bread for my delusions” – haha, really like that and have had similar thoughts/questions about writing/art, with a smile on my face. The ponderings of a true artist 🙂

    • jannatwrites November 9, 2012 / 8:16 PM

      I’m happy you got a laugh from that line, GodGirl. I’d like to think my reason for writing is deeper than that, but hey, I could be delusional 🙂

  30. pattyabr November 10, 2012 / 6:09 AM

    An escape when there is no control. Nice post

Got an opinion? Share it!

