The High Price of Status Quo

Here in these parts, there’s a living legend.  If you didn’t live here, you’d think the hype was exaggerated; that he didn’t really exist.

Oh, but he does.

It’s like he’s coated in Teflon and his waste smells like roses.  It’s true.  He will tell you so, from any camera angle at any press conference he can schedule.  Sound bytes feed his hefty appetite.  Our sheriff calls himself “America’s Toughest Sheriff.”  Did I mention he’s modest?

In the past twenty years (yes, he has been elected five consecutive terms and is bidding for his sixth) he has made the news with pink underwear, green bologna, tent city, and chain gangs.  Nationally, he symbolizes the fight against illegal immigration as he conducts controversial crime sweeps in Hispanic neighborhoods (but of course no racial profiling occurs.)

He is a maverick for standing up to the Feds.   He’s earned national recognition and tons of campaign funding (nearly 80% from out-of-state).  He’s been dogged by years of accusations of abuse of power, reports of not investigating sex abuse cases, millions of dollars have been spent on defense and lawsuit payouts, and another $100 million dollars is unaccounted for.

But this elected official is a man of integrity, he says.  He’s done nothing illegal.  He didn’t know about mishandling of funds and denies misconduct.  Instead, he threw his right-hand-men under the bus.  (Oh, this sheriff is a slippery one; he knows how to operate without a trail.)

And, since he has time to spare after enforcing county laws, he’s taken to investigating Obama’s birth certificate.  He believes it’s a fraud, and of course, it is a county sheriff’s job to unravel this mystery.

Some call him a media whore with the best allies money can buy; others dub him a master at using the tools at his disposal.  Whatever you call him, Joe will be sheriff for another four years if we don’t get wise and make our voices heard.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Sorry about the political piece, but Trifecta asked for it 🙂  Well, they didn’t specifically instruct me to write a political rant, but with the weekly challenge word, I couldn’t think of a better use!  The claims here were taken from local newscasts, online articles and Wikipedia (I linked to several articles in my entry).

The Trifecta challenge this week is to write a 33 to 333 word response using the following word and definition:

Whore:  a venal or unscrupulous person.

This ends the political intrusion into my normally peaceful blog 🙂

52 thoughts on “The High Price of Status Quo

  1. Damyanti October 29, 2012 / 4:59 PM

    Your sheriff sounds like he should be in the movies. Isn’t there a law against so many re-elections?

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2012 / 8:50 PM

      Actually, he’s quite comfortable in the limelight. In fact, he had his own TV show, Smile, You’re Under Arrest for a short time a few years ago. There should be a law against so many terms, but there isn’t. The problem is he has name recognition, and he’s got the power to demolish any competitor by exaggerating any fault (and who among us is perfect?)

      Thanks for reading my rant, Damyanti!

  2. Carl D'Agostino October 29, 2012 / 5:22 PM

    Unfortunately his antics appeal to good folks that want crime stuff cleaned up. He thrives on the support of well meaning but ignorant people. Well ignorant is insulting so uninformed would be a better choice of word. His enforcement style is tainted with abuse and disregard for the rights of citizens and even incarcerated people. He tramples the Constitution under the guise of good ol’ boy justice. He is an embarrassment.

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2012 / 9:21 PM

      It’s disheartening that so many out of state people contribute to his campaign because of his ‘tough on immigration’ stance he portrays. I suspect they don’t know the half of what really goes on. There is so much more, but I had to stop somewhere to stay within the 333 word limit 🙂 I actually did vote for him in 1992 (the very first year I was old enough to vote.) It wasn’t until about 2004 that I’d had enough. (No, I did not vote for him in 2004 or 2008. Nor did I vote for him when I filled out my early ballot last weekend.)

      Thanks for reading and understanding my point, Carl.

  3. Draug419 October 29, 2012 / 5:56 PM

    Political rants are fine with me so long as they’re based in fact (: An informed voter is the best voter!

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2012 / 9:22 PM

      Thanks for reading, Draug. I know more than enough to know he didn’t get my vote.

  4. nrhatch October 29, 2012 / 6:23 PM

    So . . . are you gonna vote for him? 😉

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2012 / 9:23 PM

      Funny, Nancy. I couldn’t write my first response (no profanity on my blog :lol:) I absolutely did not vote for him.

  5. pattisj October 29, 2012 / 6:36 PM

    I’ll be glad when the elections are over. I agree with Draug419, facts are hard to come by in some of the ads we’re being inundated with. I was listening to one, all the reasons they didn’t want a particular state senator. All the things they said he did and they are against are the very things their presidential candidate promises! ??

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2012 / 9:26 PM

      Oh, those commercials drive me nuts, Patti! I quit listening to them. Many of the attacks are based on something that is taken out of context, so it’s nearly impossible to discern what’s fact or not. Thanks for chiming in on the political rant/writing challenge 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2012 / 9:27 PM

      I’m sure our lovely sheriff thinks so as well, Patty 🙂 Thanks for reading my rant!

  6. judithhb October 29, 2012 / 8:39 PM

    So – who’re you going to vote for?

    • jannatwrites October 29, 2012 / 9:31 PM

      I voted for one of his opponents, Paul Penzone. Whether or not he can change the corruption remains to be seen. All I know is that it definitely won’t change as long as Arpaio is in power.

  7. RogRites (aka BetaRules) October 29, 2012 / 11:26 PM

    Great use of the prompt. A good example of how we get taken for a ride without realising it.

    • jannatwrites October 30, 2012 / 6:53 AM

      It’s sad that this can happen; that his image can be so far from reality and people don’t realize it. Thanks for reading, RogRites!

  8. barbara October 30, 2012 / 12:14 AM

    I knew right away who you were writing about – and that it was real life whorishness of which you spake. 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 30, 2012 / 6:56 AM

      Your comment made me laugh, Barbara. He is the ring leader of a ridiculous circus. I am embarrassed that the voters in my county keep electing him. I appreciate you sharing your comment on my little rant here 🙂

  9. Widdershins October 30, 2012 / 1:54 AM

    We’ve heard of this jerk/joke up here in Canada. Perhaps you could start a campaign to limit all elected officials to two terms in office. Would that ruffle some feathers, or what!!!

    • jannatwrites October 30, 2012 / 7:00 AM

      I’m sorry his reputation had traveled so far, Widdershins. Term limits are a good idea. I think when they get too cozy in office, power gets to their heads and they forget about the real purpose of the job, which is not face time on TV. Glad you shared your thoughts!

  10. Donna Kiser October 30, 2012 / 6:04 AM

    Ahhh, Sheriff Joe. Known about him for quite a few years now. True slime and did him very well in your writing. Thanks for spreading this story even further!!

    • jannatwrites October 30, 2012 / 7:04 AM

      Thanks for your supportive comment, Donna. I wondered if this post would draw hate-filled remarks from rabid Joe fans. So glad that hasn’t been the case. There is so much more to tell, but for this, I stuck to just the publicized facts. Thanks for dropping by.

  11. cuhome October 30, 2012 / 8:45 AM

    Well stated, clearly stated and forcefully stated! Great post!! Bravo for you!!

    • jannatwrites October 30, 2012 / 10:04 PM

      Thanks for reading my rant, Janet. It’s been a while since I’ve seen you around – I hope you are doing well 🙂

  12. Debbie October 30, 2012 / 10:13 AM

    I’ve gotten gazillions of emails about your sheriff — sounds like the majority ring true. It’s sad that “public service,” which I think was begun with the idea of being a temporary assignment, has turned for many politicians into a permanent gig. They’re too lazy or inept, I guess, to bow out of the public eye and try their hand in the private sector. Good piece, Janna!

    • jannatwrites October 30, 2012 / 10:07 PM

      I agree that public service isn’t what it used to be. The sheriff is 80 right now…I kinda hoped he’d just retire 🙂 Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts on politics, Debbie!

  13. Tara R. October 30, 2012 / 10:51 AM

    I’ve heard of your sheriff. Funny, that the seamy side of his administration has been conveniently kept out of the media. Well presented and excellent use of the prompt.

    • jannatwrites October 30, 2012 / 10:14 PM

      Locally, the missteps have made the evening news, but I didn’t expect it to be known nationally. This election, the sheriff as refused to debate his opponents. I find it disturbing that he no longer feels the need to discuss what he plans to do if elected. Thanks for stopping by, Tara!

  14. Sandra October 30, 2012 / 9:19 PM

    What a great way to use the prompt, Janna. I’m always in awe of your creativity and writing. Well done!

    • jannatwrites October 30, 2012 / 10:21 PM

      Thanks for the sweet compliment, Sandra. Politics can be divisive, so I was apprehensive about posting it. I think it worked out okay here, though 🙂

  15. diannegray October 31, 2012 / 1:04 AM

    I can’t believe he had a show called, Smile, You’re Under Arrest – say no more… What a tool 😉

    • jannatwrites October 31, 2012 / 10:51 PM

      That’s a nice way to describe him, Dianne! He definitely likes his air time.

  16. Lance October 31, 2012 / 6:09 AM

    well crafted and well timed. I love the passion in your voice.

    • jannatwrites October 31, 2012 / 10:56 PM

      Thanks, Lance. It’s a David and Goliath story, but I’m rooting for the giant to fall (one vote at a time.)

  17. nrhatch October 31, 2012 / 6:28 AM

    If you have time today (yeah, right!), you might enjoy this Halloween contest.
    If you win . . . 5 shiny new autographed children’s books!

    You can find the details, and my entry, here:
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2012/10/31/halloween-drives-me-batty/

    Your story must be 100 words or less and Susannah gave us the first 3 ~ witch, bat, and “trick or treat.”

    Be judicious.
    Slash and dash.

    It is Halloween after all! 😯

    • jannatwrites October 31, 2012 / 10:58 PM

      Thanks for the heads up about this fun contest, Nancy! Of course I don’t really have time, but I have more time than sense, I guess, because I wrote a story for it anyway 🙂

  18. deanabo October 31, 2012 / 12:47 PM

    Very well written. Your feelings come across very well.

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2012 / 12:03 AM

      Thanks, Deanabo. I appreciate you stopping by to read my entry!

  19. Stephanie B. (@B4Steph) October 31, 2012 / 4:48 PM

    Excellent! I live close enough to you (CA) to know of this guy. And my boyfriend grew up in Phoenix. I love that you are taking a stance and speaking up. Unfortunately people are ill-informed. They believe what they see on TV ads. Nicely written!

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2012 / 12:24 AM

      Oh, don’t get me started on the TV ads! He has several ads running (that’s what happens when you have a several hundred thousand dollar budget) – they make me nauseous. I’m hoping this is the year voters say, “enough!” Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts on my rant, Stephanie 🙂

  20. Tina November 1, 2012 / 2:44 AM

    Awww…but he’s just doing it all for the good of the people of Arizona! He’s selfless, a paragon of virtue! At least in his own mind. Karl Rove probably claps with glee every time he hears that guy’s name. Those guys thrive on ignorance–I wouldn’t be surprised if this ‘sheriff’ has people in the Hispanic neighborhoods suppressing the vote.

    Well done, passionate, and a great example of the prompt.

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2012 / 7:45 AM

      You have a good point, Tina. He probably does have someone to make sure they don’t vote. I also wouldn’t be surprised if he had a hands in the independent that’s in the race, so the votes against him are split. I know of someone that was harassed for reporting animal abuse by a buddy of his, so there’s not much he won’t stoop to. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on my rant!

  21. Renada Styles November 1, 2012 / 9:22 AM

    ha! nice! there are far too many slithering around like that sheriff. and, unfortunately, most people don’t listen to the b.s. that spills out of the mediawhores’ mouths; they only remember the name.

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2012 / 6:08 PM

      I hope this has gone on for enough years that people finally listen rather than vote on name recognition. It’s too bad that there are too many types like this out there. Thanks for stopping by, Renada!

  22. Brian Benoit November 1, 2012 / 1:54 PM

    Ah, all too real, and you’re right, it is disheartening how many people are drawn to his stances (also strange that election law allows so much funding from outside the state — what exactly do those people have to gain, legitimately, from his election?). A nice piece of writing though, despite the subject!

    • jannatwrites November 1, 2012 / 6:11 PM

      I’m glad you stopped by, Brian. I know I’m sick of hearing his rhetoric, but whether or not other voters agree remains to be seen. Tuesday is election day. Crossing my fingers that we got wise!

  23. nrhatch November 3, 2012 / 6:06 PM

    Glad that Trifecta picked this post to feature. You go, girl!

    • jannatwrites November 3, 2012 / 11:43 PM

      Thanks, Nancy! I was actually surprised at the pick, but I did wonder if it had something to do with the new ‘no political post without a story’ rule on Trifecta 🙂

  24. injaynesworld November 4, 2012 / 9:29 AM

    Excellent, Janna. Yes, I know of whom you speak. “He-who-must-not-be-named.” When I first heard of the pink prison uniforms, I thought it wasn’t such a bad idea. Since then, he’s clearly fallen in love with his own image and keeps trying to top himself in the right-wing loon department. Hopefully, he’ll fall right off the cliff one day. Those types usually end up doing so.

    • jannatwrites November 4, 2012 / 9:44 PM

      Oops, I named him 😆

      I did support him in the early days, but then I knew too much. He is in love with his image and it disgusts me to think we could have four more years of him. He’s eighty years old, but I guess he’s not interested in retirement!

      Thanks for stopping by to read my rant, Jayne. I appreciate the thoughtful comment.

  25. karen November 5, 2012 / 4:58 PM

    Sorry I’m so late to this party. I’m so relieved to see some political steam venting somewhere other than my own blog … I worry it gets tiresome but sometimes it is all too much. But I’m hungry to read other people’s takes on the current insanity. I think this is exceptionally well crafted (and linked!)

    • jannatwrites November 5, 2012 / 7:20 PM

      Better late than never, Karen! I’m glad you stopped by and liked the piece. Yeah, I was heavy on the links, but I wanted to give access to articles supporting my statements so I wouldn’t be written off as a fanatic spouting unfounded garbage 🙂 It did feel good to get that out in the open…now to see what voters do tomorrow.

Got an opinion? Share it!

