Now I Know…

I’m fresh off a weekend Cub Scout camp out.  I didn’t post anything yesterday because I was too tired to move from the couch to my desk chair.  I couldn’t even will myself to hunt down the remote to switch TV channels.  Now that’s lazy!  The last thing I want is for this blog to be another chore, so I went with it.  And I feel better today for it 🙂

Now that I’ve had a couple of nights’ sleep in my warm, dry, fluffy bed (even able to ignore the cat hogging my pillow) I wanted to share a few pieces of Cub Scout knowledge I observed over the weekend.

  • A Cub Scout takes pride in his knowledge of nature:
My son caught these grasshoppers and showed everyone the “momma giving a baby a piggy back ride.” Yeah. We’ll go with that for now.
  • A Cub Scout is at one with nature, even when it’s on his tent:
After squealing like a Girl Scout and running away, my son was able to appreciate this praying mantis on his tent door (after I assured him the creature would not chew his finger off if touched)
  • A Cub Scout always follows directions:
This is not my son, but I chuckled at the irony of the scout standing on the “keep off standpipe” sign

 

26 thoughts on “Now I Know…

    • jannatwrites October 23, 2012 / 11:20 PM

      It was a fun (but exhausting) experience, Phil!

  1. nrhatch October 23, 2012 / 4:47 PM

    1. I always wondered how grasshoppers “did it.” Now I know . . .
    2. Praying Mantis beats rock, paper, and scissors . . . and grasshoppers too!
    3. LOL. 😉

    And good for you taking the day off. If you’re too tired to reach for the remote, you’re too tired to entertain the troops. 😀

    • jannatwrites October 23, 2012 / 11:23 PM

      The grasshoppers were hilarious. A nearby Boy Scout asked, “Are you sure that’s a momma and a baby?” I looked at him and said, “yeah, we’re going with that.” Next thing I know, this lady tells my son they were mating. My son asked what that meant and the lady told him to ask his parents. I never got the chance to properly thank her for that 🙂

      A co-worker of mine looked up the praying mantis and discovered that its closest relatives were cockroaches and termites. I was pretty disappointed because I like praying mantis’ but not the relatives.

      Thanks for stopping by and laughing with me, Nancy!

    • jannatwrites October 23, 2012 / 11:24 PM

      Wine at a cub scout camp out? Not so much!

  2. suzicate October 23, 2012 / 6:13 PM

    Oh, I remember those days so well…oh what those boys could get into, lol!

    • jannatwrites October 23, 2012 / 11:25 PM

      Yeah, some nearby Boy Scouts caught a small snake. All I could think about was the bigger ones that probably lurked nearby!

  3. jeanne October 23, 2012 / 6:52 PM

    I love the outdoors…but not so keen on the bugs!

    • jannatwrites October 23, 2012 / 11:26 PM

      I’m not a fan of bugs either, Jeanne. A lady in a tent near ours showed us her plastic jar of wolf spiders. She spent an hour checking the tent after one of the boys found one on his sleeping bag. They wouldn’t go to sleep until she finished – which she did after midnight!

  4. pattisj October 23, 2012 / 7:41 PM

    Love the praying mantis! We’ve had one hanging around the patio of late. I’m glad you had mercy on yourself and skipped the blog for a day. That sounds like quite some camping trip. I’m sure there’s a lot of fodder for a book in those memories! Couldn’t help but smile at your pictures and comments. It’s so annoying when hubby leaves the room and the remote is out of reach!

    • jannatwrites October 23, 2012 / 11:29 PM

      It must be in the husband handbook that the remote remain in their possession at all times, Patti. Apparently, relinquishing it (even when going to bed for the night) is against the rules 🙂

      My son finally picked up the praying mantis and I got some better pictures of it. He also caught a large grasshopper and a couple of toads.

  5. chlost October 23, 2012 / 8:07 PM

    Amazing how you can appreciate the “good life” after being in the great outdoors for a few days!

    • jannatwrites October 23, 2012 / 11:32 PM

      That’s the truth, Chlost! The first bath after a camping trip is extra nice. A couple days without a bed and flush toilets make me realize that I’m quite happy to be spoiled 🙂

  6. Debbie October 24, 2012 / 8:36 AM

    Better you than me, Janna! I’ve never been fond of camping — the bugs, the critters, the weather, all seem to conspire to make it unpleasant. Isn’t it fun to take a day off now and then, though??

    • jannatwrites October 24, 2012 / 10:53 PM

      I’m okay with the bugs…as long as they stay away from me 🙂 I like camping, mostly because it gives the boys a chance to run around and explore like they can’t do at home (too many crazies in the big city.) And yes, taking a day off is great fun. Wish I could do it more often.

  7. Sandra October 24, 2012 / 11:21 AM

    Hah, I love this! One time we saw some tortoises in the “mommy-giving-piggy-back-ride” stance at the amusement park. Everyone was crowding around and smirking. Hubby did his comedian “LOOK over there at those squawking parrots” deterring yell (yeah, I know). I did talk about this with DD at a later time. Apparently she had already learned about animals ‘mating’ in science in school, and I had already had ‘the talk’ with her (first installment). Praying mantis: one flew and landed on DS’ back one day in the backyard. The scream and tears that came out of him was so hysterical but I held it in and didn’t show it, and only shared it with hubby later :).

    I hope you’re catching up on getting some rest! I’m sure it was exhausting but a great experience that will become wonderful memories!

    • jannatwrites October 24, 2012 / 10:42 PM

      What would we do without those nature learning moments, Sandra?

      I’ll share something funny – I didn’t know that praying mantis’ had wings. That explains how he/she ended up on the tent 🙂 I swear if it would’ve flown, I would’ve been the one squealing like a Girl Scout, running for my life!

      I hope to catch up on rest this weekend. Scratch that…I’ll be working on Halloween costumes this weekend. Maybe next?

  8. jenniesisler October 24, 2012 / 1:24 PM

    The only praying mantis story I have is listening to one of our football broadcasters talking about one that was in the pressbox with him – you’d have never known he was a former player with the quiver in his voice. They don’t bother me but a jar of wolf spiders would have killed me dead right there lol:) Sound slike you had fun – my nephew had his first camp out a couple of weeks ago and had a blast. He got to participate in a flag retirement ceremony which was a special memory for him. Thanks for sharing the pictures.

    • jannatwrites October 24, 2012 / 10:46 PM

      The wolf spiders were kind of funny because the mom acquired that many because once they found one, neither of her sons would go back to sleep until the whole tent was searched. I can’t say I blame them, though!

      The idea of the sports announcer being that afraid of a praying mantis is amusing. Thanks for sharing that humorous mantis story, Jennie!

      The flag ceremonies are a big deal. That’s so cool he got to participate. The ones at our camp were led by Boy Scouts.

  9. Widdershins October 24, 2012 / 2:17 PM

    Mantis’es and cockroaches … ya just can’t chose your relatives!!!

    • jannatwrites October 24, 2012 / 10:48 PM

      Great comment, Widdershins! Thanks for the laugh 🙂

      I’m still a little bummed about those relationships, though.

  10. diannegray October 24, 2012 / 2:44 PM

    Haha! Love it. *piggy back* got me laughing and I just couldn’t stop 😀

    • jannatwrites October 24, 2012 / 10:50 PM

      :LOL: Glad you found the humor, Dianne. It was a funny thing to watch – especially enjoyed his innocence (until the adult ruined that!)

  11. pattyabr October 25, 2012 / 4:58 AM

    Our camping trip to Yellowstone, Montana then all the way to Glacier was 10 years ago and it was the best family trip ever! Priceless.

    • jannatwrites October 25, 2012 / 8:02 PM

      Oooh, Yellowstone would be pretty. Camping is a fun family experience because there aren’t the electronic devices around as distraction. We’ve wanted to go to Yellowstone, but we might go to Yosemite first since it’s a little closer.

Got an opinion? Share it!

