Now What To Do? (A Trifecta Challenge)

In her youth, she wished to

Marry “the one”,

Have many children,

Have a cozy home.

Her husband ran off with the nanny.

Her children stole her sanity.

Her ‘Made-in-China’ shoe is leaking.

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

This silliness is my entry in the weekend Trifecta Challenge.  I’m sure you can guess which nursery rhyme I took liberties with.  No offense to the Mother Goose nursery rhyme and the old woman; I don’t know what happened to her husband- for all I know she never married.  She may also be quite sane and even pleased with her life’s path…but she lives in a leaky shoe, so I just figured… And this fictional account of Chinese manufacturing quality in no way implicates that it is sub-par in reality.

Here’s the Trifecta weekend challenge prompt:

On to the weekend challenge.  The Monkey’s Paw, a short story by W.W. Jacobs, is about the strings that come with granted wishes.  We are asking you to write 33 words exactly about three wishes that come at a high price to the wisher.

If you’d like to write your own non-offensive (or highly offensive) entry to the prompt, click on the tricycle picture to view Trifecta’s website for the complete instructions.  Thanks for reading!

42 thoughts on “Now What To Do? (A Trifecta Challenge)

  1. Draug October 19, 2012 / 9:30 AM

    I feel stupid because I didn’t get the shoe reference until I read your little blurb beneath it. Now it makes sense and it’s great 😀

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2012 / 9:52 AM

      That makes me feel a little better, Draug. I thought I’d been too obvious 🙂

  2. Gina October 19, 2012 / 10:06 AM

    I hear you on the theiving children and “made in China” shoe was funny! Good stuff.

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2012 / 1:46 PM

      My children have a firm grip on my sanity…then again, do the insane even realize they’re insane?

      Thanks for reading…I’m glad you got a laugh out of it, Gina!

  3. Zoe October 19, 2012 / 10:07 AM

    LOL! and the silliness and Draug. I got it. But you weren’t obvious, I swear 😉

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2012 / 1:47 PM

      Thanks for stopping by for a laugh, Zoe. His comment made me chuckle as well 🙂

  4. kgwaite October 19, 2012 / 10:24 AM

    Love the shoe! Nice piece.

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2012 / 1:48 PM

      Thanks, Kelly! I firmly believe that shoes do not make good homes.

  5. nrhatch October 19, 2012 / 10:40 AM

    Cute! I think Mother Goose will forgive you. . . not sure about China, though. 😀

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2012 / 1:49 PM

      Hehehe… China is blocking my URL right now 🙂

  6. Christine October 19, 2012 / 10:58 AM

    *hahaha* I like your disclaimer almost as much as your post! 🙂 Very well done.

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2012 / 1:49 PM

      Thanks, Christine. I had fun with this one and couldn’t resist running with it 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2012 / 1:50 PM

      She could’ve at least picked a rubber rain boot 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2012 / 1:52 PM

      I left out the part where she spanks them all and puts them to bed, Phil. (What is it with old nursery rhymes? This lady is scary, the old lady who swallowed a fly is just as frightening. I’m surprised I don’t have a phobia of old women :))

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2012 / 1:53 PM

      Thanks, Widdershins! Feeling like laughing today 🙂

  7. braintomahawk October 19, 2012 / 1:29 PM

    Cozy little shoe huh? Did you take that blurb from the real estate agent’s description? 😉
    Great one as always

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2012 / 1:56 PM

      Well, Braintomahawk, if I were going the real estate ad route (and didn’t have a word limit) I would write something like, “quaint lace-up on a sprawling ranch, great starter home in need of a little TLC.” Translated, this means: home isn’t fit for habitation, but the land is okay 🙂

      Now, can I interest you in some land I have in Florida?

  8. pattisj October 19, 2012 / 9:06 PM

    Thanks for clearing that up, Janna. 🙂 I wasn’t thinking of the nursery rhyme. I was picturing her standing in the pouring rain…everything else went wrong, it might as well rain, too!

    • jannatwrites October 21, 2012 / 9:24 PM

      Well, she essentially was standing in the rain (turns out a lace-up boot takes on lots of water.) Thanks for reading my silly tale, Patti!

  9. unevenstevencu October 19, 2012 / 10:31 PM

    took a while to get it… her made in china “sole”??

  10. FKC October 20, 2012 / 1:11 AM

    Love the Mother Goose! I did a revisited Tortoise and Hare a few weeks back. Fun!

    • jannatwrites October 21, 2012 / 9:12 PM

      Thanks, FKC. Mother Goose has a lot of interesting material we can use 🙂

  11. Carl D'Agostino October 20, 2012 / 3:45 AM

    That China junk crap they makes ruins everything.

    • jannatwrites October 21, 2012 / 9:16 PM

      My leaky hiking boots were made in China, too. But it didn’t ruin my camping…I had extra socks (made in Mexico :))

  12. Lumdog October 20, 2012 / 4:29 AM

    Thanks for the update on the old nursery rhyme! This is much more interesting.

    • jannatwrites October 21, 2012 / 9:17 PM

      Thanks, Lumdog. It’s a fictionalized behind-the-scenes look at the woman in the shoe 🙂

  13. dk October 20, 2012 / 5:40 AM

    Quirky and fun. Great early morning read. Good job.
    dk

    • jannatwrites October 21, 2012 / 9:18 PM

      Thanks, DK, I’m glad you liked this one 🙂

  14. Michael October 20, 2012 / 8:52 AM

    Living in a shoe generally isn’t the best life choice, I expect. 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 21, 2012 / 9:19 PM

      That’s, right Michael. Have you ever seen a shoe with a roof? I haven’t

  15. pattyabr October 20, 2012 / 9:52 AM

    cute and quirky! I like it!

  16. deanabo October 20, 2012 / 1:08 PM

    Ha! it sounds like she has my luck!

  17. karen October 20, 2012 / 6:42 PM

    I think it is brill, and definitely not too obvious (but then, I’ve never been good at indirect) … I needed your hint to take a look at the story for the tale. Either way, I thought it was fun.

    • jannatwrites October 21, 2012 / 9:27 PM

      I’m glad I had the disclaimer/source reference, then 🙂 Thanks so much for reading and sharing your thoughts, Karen.

  18. GodGirl October 21, 2012 / 3:11 AM

    At first I thought she was comparing her cheap shoes leaking to the other tragedies, which made me smile… but then I got it 🙂 Very clever, I like it.

  19. jannatwrites October 21, 2012 / 9:29 PM

    In her state, leaky shoes would likely send her over the edge 🙂 I’m glad you liked this one, GodGirl 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

