Finale: Glowing

I’ve read a book or two where the beginning captures my interest, but it loses momentum in the middle of the story.  I found myself itching to flip to the final ten pages or so to discover how the story ends.  I feel like my Albuquerque posts were going at that pace, so I cut out two of the posts I had planned, and am taking you to the last chapter; my favorite part of the whole trip: the evening balloon glow.

If you see only one thing at the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta, this should be it.  As balloonists prepped their balloons to inflate, spectators walked right up to them- no barriers or signs restricting access.  To make the interactions even more fun, many of the balloonists handed out trading cards .  (Which was great until they ran out of cards!)

I could tell you all about the experience, but I’d rather just show you.  I hope you enjoy the pictures!

Up close at balloon inflation. Good for photo op and warmth 🙂
This balloonist let people climb in the gondola. I’m sure the lady climbing in would be pleased with this photo. (Sorry!)
Inside of the balloon (yes, I see that I might be a little obsessed with balloons)
It was like watching a fire breathing dragon!
Cluster of balloons *almost* lit up
They tried to coordinate the lighting, but a couple of them had technical difficulties (that sounds better than getting tripped up on “three”).

So, what do you think….does it look like fun?

24 thoughts on “Finale: Glowing

  1. suzicate October 17, 2012 / 9:39 AM

    Absolutely awesome! Thanks for sharing these photos!

    • jannatwrites October 17, 2012 / 10:49 PM

      Thank you for sticking around through all the posts, Suzicate 🙂

  2. chlost October 17, 2012 / 10:11 AM

    This is something I’ve always wanted to see. Thanks for sharing it.

    • jannatwrites October 17, 2012 / 10:50 PM

      If you do ever get a chance to go, I think you’ll enjoy it. Thanks, Chlost.

  3. Imelda October 17, 2012 / 11:08 AM

    Like magic. That must have been quite a sight, Janna. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 17, 2012 / 10:53 PM

      It was so pretty, Imelda. There were hundreds of balloons and no way to get a picture that could do it justice. Thanks for stopping by, Imelda.

  4. newwhitebear October 17, 2012 / 11:30 AM

    Wonderful! This images are awesome. On September in Ferrara-Italy- there was the yearly Balloon Festival.

    • jannatwrites October 17, 2012 / 10:56 PM

      I’ve never been, but I imagine Italy would make for some beautiful scenery for a Balloon Festival. I’m glad you liked the pictures here, Newwhitebear!

  5. nrhatch October 17, 2012 / 6:35 PM

    Loved the shots, Janna.
    And everything you shared about the trip.

    • jannatwrites October 17, 2012 / 10:57 PM

      Aw, thanks, Nancy! Thanks for following along on the trip. Now I’ll have to think of what we can see next 🙂

  6. philosophermouseofthehedge October 18, 2012 / 12:58 PM

    Just wow! Like light bulbs made out of stained glass. Were all the balloons “normal” shaped or were there some “novelty” shapes?

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2012 / 9:47 AM

      They had several odd-shaped balloons, but we didn’t get really close up because the kids wanted to go eat. I have a couple pictures I’d hoped to add to this comment, but I don’t think I can do that 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Phil!

  7. Widdershins October 18, 2012 / 3:23 PM

    fabulous!!! . . . did’ja get to go up in one?

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2012 / 9:49 AM

      Oh, I wish! We did check on the pricing and it was going to be over $1,000 for all of us to go. With hubby just getting back to work, there was no way I’d consider doing it. I think it might be less expensive in town, where there isn’t an event to drive prices up.

  8. pattisj October 18, 2012 / 10:04 PM

    I imagine those are even more beautiful in person. Thanks for sharing!

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2012 / 9:52 AM

      You’re right. Pictures can’t capture the enormity of it all. I’m glad you stopped by to check out the pictures, Patti!

  9. pattyabr October 20, 2012 / 10:43 AM

    lovely via pictures. in person – priceless experience

    • jannatwrites October 21, 2012 / 9:09 PM

      It is much more amazing in person, Patty. I knew the trip was okay when my older son told me, “Mom, this wasn’t as boring as I thought it would be.” That’s a huge compliment from a ten-year-old 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 21, 2012 / 9:10 PM

      It was beautiful. Unfortunately photos don’t begin to capture the enormity of all those balloons. Thanks for visiting, Mike!

  10. Debbie October 22, 2012 / 4:19 PM

    Speaking from personal experience, Janna, it IS fun! Thank you for bringing it all back for me — sadly, I didn’t take a camera along on my balloon flight.

    • jannatwrites October 23, 2012 / 11:18 PM

      You didn’t have a camera? I guess that means you’ll have to go again so you can photograph the ride, Debbie 🙂

  11. Sandra October 24, 2012 / 10:57 AM

    Beautiful! I’m so glad to see these pictures. I hope to visit Albuquerque one day and see this myself. But I’m pretty sure I’d be a spectator and not a rider. 😉

    • jannatwrites October 24, 2012 / 10:28 PM

      I hope you do get to visit someday, Sandra. It really is pretty, even if you stay on the ground 🙂

Got an opinion? Share it!

