Roadside Art

I wouldn’t say the drive from Phoenix to Albuquerque is exciting, but I found that if I pulled my nose out of my book long enough, there were a few sights that moved me to pick up my camera.  Mostly, it was my husband elbowing me, saying, “hey, look at that.”  He found some pretty good sights.

The pictures aren’t perfect, but they’re the best I could do at…well, I won’t say exactly how fast hubby was driving 🙂

Cholla Power Plant – one of several plants generating electricity in AZ
It’s not every day you see teepees and dinosaurs beside the interstate!
Giant Navajo pottery beside I-40 near Gallup, NM
Art by the interstate in Albuquerque. Wish I had a better picture, but we couldn’t exactly stop 🙂

I guess the point of the post is: travel with a “spotter” willing to seek out interesting things to photograph.  It also helps if he/she is susceptible to begging in case you need to backtrack for a second chance at a photo.

21 thoughts on “Roadside Art

  1. diannegray October 10, 2012 / 5:20 AM

    I love the teepees and dinosaurs – and those pots are fantastic!

    You’re like me on a roadtrip, I’m too busy reading to notice anything 😉

    • jannatwrites October 10, 2012 / 8:35 PM

      Those were my favorites as well, Dianne! I usually sleep or read to pass time, otherwise I get stir crazy in the car 🙂

  2. pattyabr October 10, 2012 / 5:53 AM

    I have minature size versions of the pottery at my house. Crazy how giant those are.

    • jannatwrites October 10, 2012 / 8:39 PM

      I liked the oversized pottery pieces, too. Thanks for stopping by to check out the photos, Patty.

  3. braintomahawk October 10, 2012 / 6:30 AM

    Did you make that left turn at Albuquerque? 😉

    • jannatwrites October 10, 2012 / 8:43 PM

      We made all kinds of turns and backtracks in Albuquerque, Braintomahawk 🙂

  4. Debbie October 10, 2012 / 7:58 AM

    What neat pottery! There’s nothing like that in my section of the country. I’ve only been to New Mexico once, but I enjoyed it and would gladly go back for a visit. Good for hubby, pointing out the interesting sights!

    • jannatwrites October 10, 2012 / 8:47 PM

      You know, I’ve seen this kind of thing all my life, so it doesn’t really phase me. It’s only since I started this blog that I’ve tried to look at things like a tourist 🙂 I’m glad you stopped by to check out the pictures, Debbie!

  5. nrhatch October 10, 2012 / 8:09 AM

    I love the giant pots . . . just sitting out there baking in the desert kiln. 😀

    • jannatwrites October 10, 2012 / 8:48 PM

      They were really interesting, Nancy, There were a couple I didn’t get pictures of, but at least you get the idea. I’m glad you stopped by, Nancy!

  6. newwhitebear October 10, 2012 / 8:51 AM

    They are sights of travel. Few but good.

    • jannatwrites October 10, 2012 / 8:49 PM

      I’m glad you stopped by today, Newwhitebear 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 10, 2012 / 8:52 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed them, Nick – they are a fun sight to break up the monotony of the drive.

  7. Barb October 11, 2012 / 1:44 AM

    That giant pottery is so cool. I have a teeny tiny wedding vase, but I’d definitely have to get out and have a picture with that. Thanks for sharing these.

    • jannatwrites October 12, 2012 / 12:22 PM

      That would’ve been fun, Barb. Perhaps if he hadn’t already passed so many semi trucks, hubby might have pulled over to take a picture of me next to the art 🙂 I appreciate you stopping by, Barb. I’ll check out your blog this weekend!

  8. xoEvelynOrtizHasSpoken October 11, 2012 / 9:30 AM

    Wow these pictures are awesome especially the tepees and navajo pottery.

    Great sightings 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 12, 2012 / 12:23 PM

      Thanks, Evelyn! These are things I’ve seen before, but just haven’t paid much attention to them. I guess one good thing about my blog is that I work to keep my senses open for new things to write about 🙂 Glad you stopped by!

      • xoEvelynOrtizHasSpoken October 12, 2012 / 2:20 PM

        Yeah, as I can see. You come across some quite interesting things 🙂

  9. pattisj October 18, 2012 / 10:02 PM

    You have much different roadside attractions. I love the Navajo pottery. You got great shots for “fly-bys!”

    • jannatwrites October 19, 2012 / 9:51 AM

      Thanks, Patti. Yep, hubby won’t stop the car for much of anything! I’m glad you enjoyed the pottery picture. I’m just surprised the art was respected and hasn’t been vandalized.

Got an opinion? Share it!

