Full of Hot Air

You may or may not have noticed that I haven’t posted or commented on blogs since last Thursday.  It’s quite possible that you’ve enjoyed the silence, but I’m back now!  I have a good excuse.  Really, I do.  We were out of town for an event that even I was surprised I wanted to see:  the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta.

When I made these plans back in May, I thought it was my sense of adventure developing.  Now, I realize it was more likely temporary insanity.  Had I been in my right mind, I would’ve thought twice about attending an event that can draw up to 100,000 people a day (I normally go out of my way to avoid crowds.)

Tons of people, but anxiety didn’t get me

If I’d been thinking straight, I would have realized seven hours in the car with our two argument-prone sons would have tested what little patience I claim to have.  I confirmed without question that the drive home from vacation is longer than the drive to the destination.  (As we passed through the town on our way home, we halfway joked about leaving our whiny, cranky, younger son standing on a corner in Winslow, Arizona.)

Although we went to see balloons- lots of them, we ended up doing much more than that.  I’ll write about the highs and lows of the trip in several upcoming posts.  We just got home today and I’m exhausted, so I’ll just leave you with one more picture, ‘til next time 🙂

Mass ascension of balloons in early morning
25 thoughts on “Full of Hot Air

  1. Readers Cafe October 9, 2012 / 4:49 AM

    Really like the overall look of your blog. Like the way you have touched on different topics related to travelling. We here love travelling as well and writing about our travel experiences.

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2012 / 8:11 AM

      I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, Readers Cafe. My blog is a little bit of everything, but I love to write about sights I see. I appreciate you stopping by and I will definitely check out your blog tonight to see what you’re about!

  2. newwhitebear October 9, 2012 / 5:17 AM

    Baloon fiesta? It’s wonderful! It’s nice showing the sky doted with rhe coloured baloons.

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2012 / 8:12 AM

      It’s really amazing in person. We got up close when they were getting the balloons ready and we happened to be near a landing zone and got to see some land right by us. I’ll post more about it this week. Thanks so much for reading, Newwhitebear!

  3. pattyabr October 9, 2012 / 5:19 AM

    so what is the program you are using to get your blog name on your pictures?
    Nice that you got to the Balloon Festival and nice pics.

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2012 / 8:15 AM

      I use PicMonkey to edit pictures. It’s a free website that you can upload your picture, add effects/edit, then save to your computer – you don’t have to purchase or download any software onto your computer. Until I have time to research programs, it works for me 🙂

      The Balloon Fiesta was something I’d wanted to go to for a long time. I lived in NM for many years as a child, but we never went. Then, after the kids got in school, it just didn’t work out- until this year when they had Fall Break. Thanks for checking out the pictures, Patty!

  4. nrhatch October 9, 2012 / 6:37 AM

    We’ve been to a Balloon Festival or two . . . what great photo ops!

    And LOL at “standing on a corner in Winslow, Arizona” . . .

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2012 / 8:18 AM

      Yep, that song popped into mind when we passed through Winslow, Nancy. How could it not? 😆 Being in the air would’ve given us even better opportunities, but it would’ve cost over $1,000 for us all to ride. Too rich for us. The rates might be more reasonable in town…we may check on that.

  5. Michael October 9, 2012 / 6:52 AM

    Ooooo….ahhhhhh….:)
    I generally avoid crowds myself; my city has a huge fireworks deal every year and I never go. but someday I will. and a balloon festival would be fascinating to see.

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2012 / 8:20 AM

      It was spectacular to see, Michael. Luckily the grounds were fairly large and it didn’t feel like people were closing in on me. I don’t think there were quite as many balloons as normal because the conditions weren’t great. I’ll write about that in a later post. Glad you stopped by 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2012 / 8:21 AM

      I read your comment to the tune of “Twinkle,Twinkle Little Star”. Very cute comment, Sayori 🙂

      • largerthanlifeblog October 9, 2012 / 8:35 AM

        Nostalgic about kindergarten days!
        🙂

        • jannatwrites October 9, 2012 / 1:58 PM

          Some days coloring, cutting, and pasting sounds pretty good 🙂

  6. suzicate October 9, 2012 / 4:28 PM

    Awesome! There were supposed to be balloons at a festival we went to recently but the wind was up and that part was cancelled…I was really bummed out about it.

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2012 / 10:12 PM

      I’m sorry the balloon portion was cancelled, Suzicate. Mother Nature tends to wield her power that way. She wrinkled some of the happenings at the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta as well.

  7. Debbie October 9, 2012 / 5:08 PM

    Janna, I can’t wait for your account and photos of the balloon festival. It’s something I’ve wanted to see for a very long time; I’ll be traveling vicariously with you (and enjoying the whiny-kid-free zone, ha!)

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2012 / 10:14 PM

      I actually thought of you when we went because of your story about your balloon ride.

      I’m going to do several posts on it within the next 2 weeks, Debbie. I figured I’d better get the posts done sooner than later or they won’t get done. (I had about eight more Hawaii posts I planned to do but never got to it.)

  8. pattisj October 9, 2012 / 7:05 PM

    Can’t wait to hear about your adventure, Janna. Winslow, Arizona brought that song to my mind, too. Scary, huh? lol

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2012 / 10:15 PM

      I can’t hear “Winslow” without that tune coming to mind. It is scary, Patti! I thought they had a statue on “the corner” but my younger son was too cranky for us to spend time looking for it. Bummer…would’ve made a cool picture, I’m sure.

  9. Imelda October 9, 2012 / 7:38 PM

    How nice. Good thing the weather cooperated. Your photos are very lovely too. 🙂 I am happy for you that you had this time out. The other day, my husband just had to take me (and the children out) because I am already suffering from an acute case of cabin fever. Breathing fresh air, new surroundings and being with the mass of humanity seemed to have cleared the cobwebs in my head for a bit. It is nice to have a change of pace every now and again. 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 9, 2012 / 10:18 PM

      A change of pace is sometimes a good thing, Imelda. Thankfully, we had credit card points that paid for the hotel, so we basically had to cover food and gasoline (which is about twenty cents a gallon less than where we live.) In three days, we drove over 1,100 miles. No more road trips for a while 🙂

      I’m glad you got out of the house and could fend off cabin fever – much to early in fall to suffer from that 🙂

  10. GodGirl October 10, 2012 / 3:12 AM

    Sounds – and looks – awesome!

  11. Sandra October 13, 2012 / 10:05 PM

    Good for you for not letting anxiety get to you in a big crowd! Since I read your posts from newest backwards, now I know what you guys went to go see! So you also spent some time on the road last week with two kids… Yes, that can be very interesting, no? We took full advantage of Red Box (DVD rentals), put a huge snack box between the kiddos’ seats, and encouraged napping of any kind. They had some moments of arguing, but we survived it. 🙂

    • jannatwrites October 13, 2012 / 10:47 PM

      Road trips with the kids are interesting, mainly because things can go from okay to rumblings of WW III in a matter of seconds. We had our own movies and snacks as well…and an offer of $10 spending money each if they got through the car ride without fighting. (We are not above bribery.)

Got an opinion? Share it!

