New Growth

Every

winter, they bear

Frigid temperatures, icy winds,

The weight of snow- alone in the elements.

Every spring, they thrive again, soaking in sunshine,

As temperatures gradually rise; another ring added to their

Weathered trunks.  I want to be like an evergreen: a sign of strength,

Life, during a barren winter; emerging on the other side, stronger than when

The season began; grateful enough to welcome the warmth, rather than curse the sun.

Blessings

Counted.

22 thoughts on “New Growth

  1. mairzeebp September 27, 2012 / 6:41 AM

    Janna, I loved this.

    • jannatwrites September 27, 2012 / 10:08 PM

      Thanks, Mairzeebp. I appreciate you stopping by 🙂

  2. mairzeebp September 27, 2012 / 6:42 AM

    …or should I say, I love it. No past tense :)…

    • jannatwrites September 27, 2012 / 10:08 PM

      🙂 Thanks! You’re clarification made me smile.

  3. newwhitebear September 27, 2012 / 7:14 AM

    Wonderful poetry in the shape of Xmas tree.You are special.

    • jannatwrites September 27, 2012 / 10:09 PM

      Thanks so much, Newwhitebear. I appreciate you reading, and also the nice compliment.

  4. nrhatch September 27, 2012 / 10:20 AM

    Lovely thoughts and shape. 😀

    • jannatwrites September 27, 2012 / 10:12 PM

      Thanks, Nancy. I don’t normally do ‘shape’ poetry, but I thought it would be fun to try one.

    • jannatwrites September 27, 2012 / 10:12 PM

      Thanks, Widdershins. I appreciate you stopping by 🙂

  5. Debbie September 27, 2012 / 11:26 AM

    Janna, this is truly beautiful and so cleverly formatted!

    • jannatwrites September 27, 2012 / 10:13 PM

      Thanks so much, Debbie. I’m glad you stopped by 🙂

  6. pattisj September 27, 2012 / 3:48 PM

    You did a great job on this, Janna! Love the tree formation. Blessed, indeed.

    • jannatwrites September 27, 2012 / 10:18 PM

      Thanks, Patti! I wanted to try something a little different and had some fun with it. I’m glad you liked it 🙂

  7. Tessa September 27, 2012 / 10:10 PM

    Beautiful and I love the format, how clever!

    • jannatwrites September 27, 2012 / 10:21 PM

      Thanks, Tessa! I planned on getting some work done last night, but I lacked motivation. I decided to play with words instead 🙂

  8. diannegray September 29, 2012 / 1:18 AM

    Beautiful, Janna. You are artistic on so many levels!

    • jannatwrites September 30, 2012 / 8:28 PM

      Thanks so much for reading, Dianne. Just having a little fun here 🙂

  9. Sandra October 3, 2012 / 9:10 AM

    Lovely visuals and words, Janna! I took pics of fall colors and also noted the strength and perseverance of the evergreens. They sure do stand out now among the non-green trees out there!

    • jannatwrites October 3, 2012 / 10:07 PM

      Fall colors are so pretty. I hope you share some pictures on your blog, Sandra. Evergreens do have a way balancing out the starkness of bare trees in the winter.

      • Sandra October 4, 2012 / 6:37 AM

        Hi, Janna, I did post some fall pics to my Promptly blog. Please check there, and I hope you like them! ~Thanks!

        • jannatwrites October 4, 2012 / 10:11 PM

          I’ll definitely stop by tonight, Sandra. Thanks for the heads up!

Got an opinion? Share it!

