Ample Attitude

At my age

I should be

Admired.

Feared.

Revered.

I see you

huddled in conspiracy.

Mocking.

Jeering.

Sneering.

My ample girth

doesn’t make me

Slow.

Lazy.

Defenseless.

You. Me.  Behind the litter box!

~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-~~~-

Written from the point of view of my cat, Cybil (a.k.a. “Cybil the Psycho Cat”) about our now three-year-old ‘kittens’, Sammy and Lizzy.  Cybil is twelve and doesn’t move as fast as she used to, but she’s tough as ever 🙂

This is my response to the Trifecta weekly writing challenge, where we were asked to write a 33 to 333 word response (mine is 33 words; 42 with the picture balloons) using the following word:

AMPLE (adj.):  buxom, portly <an ample figure>

This week, I decided to go with what I hope will be a unique take on the prompt.  It’s all intended to be in good fun and no kitties were harmed in the writing of this poem (but one was slightly irritated with the photography.)

58 thoughts on “Ample Attitude

  1. nrhatch September 17, 2012 / 7:54 PM

    Bwahaha! Cybil is an intense looking cat. 😀

    • jannatwrites September 17, 2012 / 9:40 PM

      “Intense” is a nice way to put it, Nancy. My aunt calls her scary 🙂

  2. pattyabr September 17, 2012 / 9:43 PM

    Cybil you are fierce.

    • jannatwrites September 17, 2012 / 10:42 PM

      She’s glad you recognize that, Patty 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 17, 2012 / 10:43 PM

      We underestimated Cybil, Widdershins. We thought she’d eventually ‘get over it’ when we brought the kittens home. Three years and counting…she’s not over it yet 🙂

  3. Yvonne Root September 17, 2012 / 10:06 PM

    Your poem is so good because anyone who has ever experienced multiple cats in one household says, “yep,” when they read it.

    I should be working and am instead having fun (again) with your writing.

    • jannatwrites September 17, 2012 / 10:46 PM

      I’m glad you took a break from working and stopped by, Yvonne! I thought they’d eventually get along, but I don’t think that’s ever going to happen. I have to keep the newest cats away from Cybil…there’s always a closed door inside our house 🙂

  4. pattisj September 17, 2012 / 10:13 PM

    I thought she was challenging you, glad to know it was the “younger crowd.”

    • jannatwrites September 17, 2012 / 10:47 PM

      Well, she wasn’t sure why I disturbed her slumber, sticking that clicky thing in her face. She didn’t hiss or bite, so I considered her quite jovial today 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Patti!

    • jannatwrites September 17, 2012 / 10:51 PM

      Thanks for the kind words, Amy. I was a bit surprised when no one else posted. Glad you liked Cybil’s POV 🙂

      Gable is a unique cat name – I like it. It must be strange looking at a picture that resembles you cat so much.

  5. unevenstevencu September 17, 2012 / 11:26 PM

    yep i’ve had multiple cats before and you nailed it. 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 18, 2012 / 9:51 PM

      I’m glad it’s accurate, but I’d really hoped the animosity was just our cats. Wishful thinking on my part, I guess 🙂 Thanks for reading, Unevensteven.

  6. dk September 18, 2012 / 7:57 AM

    This IS very unique…and you Cybil looks a lot like my “ample girth” Rocky.
    dk

    • jannatwrites September 18, 2012 / 9:53 PM

      Let’s hear it for the ample kitties 🙂 Thanks for stopping by to read my poem, dk!

  7. Wisper September 18, 2012 / 8:07 AM

    I love it! I hadn’t expected it to be about a cat at first. Great job.

    • jannatwrites September 18, 2012 / 9:54 PM

      That’s good. I’d hoped it wouldn’t be obvious until the end. Thanks for taking time to read it, Wisper (especially with a new baby…I’m impressed :))

  8. Jeanna September 18, 2012 / 8:10 AM

    I thought only having one cat would be ok but he even brawls with our little dog. Love your story.

    • jannatwrites September 18, 2012 / 9:56 PM

      Thanks, Jeanna. Cats are funny creatures. Cybil and the dogs don’t really interact…but the dogs know that Lizzy loves to be chased. Maybe you need to get a bigger dog? (only kidding!)

  9. braintomahawk September 18, 2012 / 8:56 AM

    I knew I should have trimmed their nails when I had the chance!

    Well done- I really should stop calling the B&W fella ‘The Panda’

    • jannatwrites September 18, 2012 / 10:01 PM

      Ha! You really shouldn’t make fun of them…they will find a way to repay you. Thanks for stopping by, Braintomahawk!

  10. Debbie September 18, 2012 / 10:43 AM

    Eeee, if I’d seen her snarl at me like that, I’d have been running — in the opposite direction! Sure wouldn’t want to irritate her!

    • jannatwrites September 18, 2012 / 10:02 PM

      She’s not that scary, Debbie. The first picture was actually just a yawn. Still, it is wise not to irritate her because she bites 🙂

  11. newwhitebear September 18, 2012 / 11:41 AM

    Qeen cat spoke. You must pay tribute to me.

    • jannatwrites September 18, 2012 / 10:03 PM

      She is definitely queen of the house, Newwhitebear. She doesn’t let us forget it, either!

  12. Annabelle September 18, 2012 / 1:38 PM

    Ha! I love it. My cat is maybe also a little on the ample side, but he doesn’t let it stop him from getting what he wants.

    • jannatwrites September 18, 2012 / 10:07 PM

      I think a cat of any size knows how to get what he/she wants (part of their personality), Annabelle 🙂

  13. kgwaite September 18, 2012 / 2:16 PM

    Very cute – Our indoor cat is quite ample. The outdoor one, much less so.

    • jannatwrites September 18, 2012 / 10:10 PM

      I think outdoor cats are much more active, so obesity isn’t as much of a problem. I guess they’re a lot like people in that respect 🙂 Thanks for reading, Kelly!

  14. diannegray September 19, 2012 / 2:58 AM

    I loved the poem (and at first didn’t see the pictures of the cat) 😀 – Caused by a lap top that is on it’s last legs!

    I laughed so much when the pics came though – just love Cybil the Psycho Cat 😀

    • jannatwrites September 19, 2012 / 8:08 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, Dianne. I was having fun with Cybil, and luckily she allowed it 🙂 She’s got a lot of personality, that’s for sure!

  15. Trifecta (@trifectawriting) September 19, 2012 / 5:22 AM

    I’m impressed by how seamlessly you crafted together a funny piece about your pets with honestly good writing. I’m not always a huge fan of the pet story genre, but you’ve made it incredibly likeable here. Thanks for linking up!

    • jannatwrites September 19, 2012 / 8:11 PM

      Thanks, Trifecta editor. Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  16. Stephanie B. (@B4Steph) September 19, 2012 / 8:26 AM

    As an owner and lover of cats I think you captured their essence nicely. And with good humor…

    • jannatwrites September 19, 2012 / 8:12 PM

      Thanks, Stephanie! Cats are interesting creatures.

  17. deanabo September 19, 2012 / 4:59 PM

    How great! This reminds me of my cat.

    • jannatwrites September 19, 2012 / 8:12 PM

      I hope your cat isn’t as crazy as Cybil 🙂 Thanks so much for reading, Deanabo.

    • jannatwrites September 19, 2012 / 8:13 PM

      That’s what I’d hoped, Rog Rites 🙂

  18. lumdog September 19, 2012 / 6:28 PM

    As someone from the upper end of the middle age bracket (i don’t believe I just said that), I really identify with your feline character. Behind the litter box is just fine! I enjoyed this.

    • jannatwrites September 19, 2012 / 8:15 PM

      Hahaha! You’re too funny, Lumdog. Don’t take any grief from the young ones. If a beating, I mean, meeting behind the litter box is what it takes, so be it 🙂

  19. Brian Benoit September 19, 2012 / 6:54 PM

    Haha, well played – I wasn’t expecting the cat’s perspective! And the visuals were a nice touch, ha

    • jannatwrites September 19, 2012 / 8:16 PM

      Glad you enjoyed the humor, Brian. This post was intended to be pure silly 🙂

    • jannatwrites September 19, 2012 / 8:19 PM

      They always seem to be messing with someone, Paula. What’s bad is when they all get together and decide to mess with me. They have an unfair advantage 🙂

  20. Gina September 20, 2012 / 5:28 AM

    Hee hee! There’s something about cars that makes me a little nervous and tentative. I cry uncle if he invited me to take it up behind the litter box 😉 Very fun, Janna!

    • jannatwrites September 20, 2012 / 10:20 PM

      Ha! I’m not sure I’d meet behind the cat box either, Gina 🙂 I appreciate you taking time to read and leave your comment.

  21. Victoria KP (@vic39first) September 20, 2012 / 8:37 AM

    Oh I love it! We were taking care of a kitten who escaped from neighbor’s house last week for a couple of hours and my sixteen year old (and NOT aging gracefully) cat was all “up in his face” like that.

    • jannatwrites September 20, 2012 / 10:21 PM

      That’s funny! Poor cat wanted to make sure you understood that the young ‘un wasn’t welcome. I think he made his point 🙂 Thanks for sharing your cat story, Victoria.

  22. Renada Styles September 20, 2012 / 10:14 AM

    haha, too cute. i wish i could be fat and lazy lol

    • jannatwrites September 20, 2012 / 10:24 PM

      A cat’s life isn’t bad, but I think it would get boring after a while. It’s sure be fun to find out for sure 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Renada!

  23. Imelda September 20, 2012 / 7:38 PM

    Ha! You just reminded me of that cat- Garfield! 🙂 Your cat has the look that kills. :-))

    • jannatwrites September 20, 2012 / 10:29 PM

      Cybil can be intimidating to those who don’t know her, but to me, she’s just a big softy (with a bit of an attitude!) Glad you could stop by to check out the poem, Imelda.

  24. GodGirl September 20, 2012 / 7:47 PM

    Love it! At first I thought you were talking about an elderly person, then got a cute surprise with the cat picture. Very funny!

    • jannatwrites September 20, 2012 / 10:40 PM

      I’m glad you enjoyed this one, GodGirl. Sometimes it’s fun just to lighten up and write something silly 😆 I appreciate you stopping by!

  25. Sandra September 26, 2012 / 9:32 PM

    Awww, thanks for the chuckle, Janna! I had a cat who was ‘ample’ in girth but had a tiny head. He was very funny-looking. Yes, take it to the litter box, fighting cats! Enjoyed this!

    • jannatwrites September 27, 2012 / 10:07 PM

      Your description of the cat made me smile, Sandra. Sounds almost cartoon-ish. Thanks for stopping by to read this…glad you liked it!

Got an opinion? Share it!

